You are here: HomeNews2015 09 17Article 382385

Mahama's free SHS policy begins today

Read Comments Comments (115)

• Offei 8 years ago

The most useless "President" in the history of Ghana. He has ran out of ideas and good at stealing other people`s ideas....was it not this same dead goat who spoke against Free SHS education in Ghana? Come what may, InshaAlla ...

• BERT 8 years ago

WELL DONE MR: PRESIDENT

• ATSU, HO 8 years ago

I CANNOT APPRECIATE ESTABLISHING SECONDAY SCHOOLS JUST TO FULLFIL CAMPAIGN PROMISE WHILE OTHER SECTORS OF THE ECONOMY ARE SUFFERING; UNCOMPLETED ROADS, POORLY MAINTAINED INFRUSTRUCTURE? WE NEED A WHOLISTIC APPROACH TO NATIONA ...

• VOLTA 8 years ago

EDUCATION IS NOT PART OF OUR PROBLEMS IN GHANA?
    YOU MAUS BE AN ASHANTI MAN

• ATSU, HO 8 years ago

CAN SOME ONE JUSTIFY THE NUMBER 200 SSH PROPOSED? CAN WE HAVE POPULATION STUDIES THAT SHOWS HOW WE ARRIVED AT THAT FIGURE. I DO NOT NEED TO BE AN ASHANTI BUT JUST A GHANAIAN TO SAY WE SHOULD DO THE RIGHT THING. IT IS HIGH TIM ...

• VOLTA 8 years ago

PLEASE- SHS WAS ONE OF OUR DEVELOPEMENT AGENDA SINCE YEARS; SO IF HE DECIDED TO IMPLEMENT IT NOW ; WHAT IS YOUR CONCERN BY COMPARING EDUCATION TO ECONOMY???
    ASHANTI MAN RATHER LOVES MONEY THAN EDUCATION

• VOLTA 8 years ago

OH YEAH; NANA ADDO IS LEFT WITH NOTHING TO GO CAMPAIGN

• Kizito 8 years ago

look at this foolish goat. u just open ur mouth at any radius and talk. a fool

• con 8 years ago

I don't know the type of human be u people u are. Stupid people will praise this government upon all these hardship and chop chop

• MUKARFA 8 years ago

GLORIFYING A THIEF,WHO FIRST MUTED THIS FREE SHS IDEA,I CAN'T FIRGURE OUT WHY THERE ARE JUST TOO MANY IDIOTS LIKE YOU IN GHANA

• Lartey 8 years ago

Does anybody notice how the building is in the shape of an M ? The ego on this foolish president

• ???-Dede(the real deal) 8 years ago

GO FISHING

• Cockroach 8 years ago

Repent. For if you don't know that there is a ruling party call ndc and a fine president call Mahama? Then you will die in your sin. John 24:8

• Omanba Pa, Islington-London! 8 years ago

Why is it that NDC and the stupid president have chosen just few people to have free SHS? Nana Addo promised every Ghanaian free SHS but not few. This shows that Mahama has no idea about what Nana Addo wanted to do. NPP can d ...

• joe 8 years ago

If your father or uncle is the president , l don't
    think u call him useless ,your stupid father who give birth is useless

• sokoo 8 years ago

perhaps his uncle or father won't be a useless prez

• Che Andrew 8 years ago

With such a brainless idiot his father surely did not teach him/her right and so cannot even be voted to be a village gong-gong beater.

• Akoto 8 years ago

Offei you are on point ..Mahama is masturbating thief bereft of ideas and full of BS

• Sankofa 8 years ago

And you, Akoto,are worse than a fool for saying that.

If you cannot see Mahama's incompetency then something must be wrong with you. Indeed, he's useless as a president. He has no vision. No ideology. No brains.

• zion 8 years ago

Fool aboa can u call your father useless

• Francis 8 years ago

Is ur who is stupid n useless not the pres stupid he goal....

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 8 years ago

My friends, my family's , my neighborhood and myself would Vote for PRESIDENT MAHAMA again.

• read i 2 dye 8 years ago

country is broke, in HIPC, NO POWER, GOVERNMENT OWES ECG BILLIONS, OWES NHIS, SCHOOL FOOD PROGRAM, NURSES AND TEACHERS PAID 3 MONTHS WITHIN TWO YEARS. 200 SCHOOLS PROMISED IS A MIRAGE. 100 BIL IN LOANS WITH NOTHING TO SHOW FO ...

• sule 8 years ago

You cant even pay for the three northern regions schorlaship

• MAYOR 8 years ago

WELL DONE MR. PRESIDENT, YOU'RE UNLIKELY NPP ADMINSTRATION. WE LOVE YOU...

• kofi 8 years ago

thank you mr prez.let them critisized you ,but we will vote and dont talk

• BERT 8 years ago

WE HAVE A BETTER ONE NOW

• Abdul kamara 8 years ago

Npp we all understand you now. Ndc can lie paa

• Emmanuel 8 years ago

I can't imagine how deeply some of youhave sunk with this ndc.What is better about mahama's free shs as compared to that of nana Addo?hypocrisy will bury you before your death.

• Bozango 8 years ago

I can bet on my bottom dollars that he has a very best one to get our economy back on on track but he"s not gonna say it for people who wanna steal everything including ideas to pounce on it a their own. Sunshine, do you th ...

• Bongo Lion 8 years ago

I can bet on my bottom dollars that he has a very best one to get our economy back on track but he"s not gonna say it for people who wanna steal everything including ideas to pounce on it as their own. Sunshine, do you think ...

• Kweku 8 years ago

NDC shame on you. Now NPP idea is possible.

• MUKARFA 8 years ago

YOU CAN SAY THAT AGAIN MY DEAR BROTHER.

TRANSFORMATION LIVES

• English is tough 8 years ago

ls this the Mahama free SHS kind of English?

• concerned la 8 years ago

Just look at the english you have written I am not suprised you are an ndc member. Transformation lives indeed. You need free education. FOOL

• kofy 8 years ago

Does these media houses check their facts right before putting them up....go to the GES website... there is nothing like free Shipping

• blessing Samuel 8 years ago

is this thing real? and if it is real ah will everything be free or is going to be only the school fees? if is the school fees along ah than in my opinion I don't think is free cuz on the bill sheet the the is not even up to ...

• Akoda 8 years ago

So bob okala , lil win and mahama, who is a more joke.this joker of a president shd stop fooling and get serious.

• JERRY 8 years ago

UNFORTUNATE AKODA, IF I AM RIGHT THE LITERAL MEANING OF YOUR NAME SUGGEST YOU ARE A PARANIOD "A KID". IF ANYBODY SHOULD BE SERIOUS THEN IT SHOULD BE NANA AKUFO ADDO AND HIS DRUGS CARTEL THE NPP .THEY SHOULD STOP THAT JOKE O ...

• Akoda 8 years ago

Jerry..i still maintain my stance. Jon mahama is a joke of a prez. There are many secondary schools that have not seen any proper renovation since they were built and yet this joker (mahama) is building new ones?Tell me if th ...

• Adams 8 years ago

so is the incoming( S.H.S 1) among of the free shs?

• Kofi Acheampong, USA. 8 years ago

You guys are happy, start expecting petrol prices to go up, because that is what is going to fund that school. The country's tax system is not good, so he will Robb Peter to pay Paul. He could not pay doctors, he is building ...

• JERRY 8 years ago

WHY ACHEAMPONG YOU CAN DO BETTER, MAHAMA DOESN'T THINK OF SHORT TERM THINGS. THE FUTURE OF GHANA LIES IN THE HANDS OF THOSE COMING UP, THEREFORE JDM'S VISION ."A FULLY EDUCATED MAN WILL LIVE A RESPONSIBLE LIFE AND BE HEALTHY ...

• Apuu 8 years ago

This Mahama is a joke and for that matter takes Ghanaians for a koke. God will not forgive this man deceits

• Apuu 8 years ago

Indeed this president is useless

• Lucien Reinhold 8 years ago

well done Mr.President for works

• Abdul 8 years ago

One of the best president Ghana ever had
    May Allah guide u through ur work

• joe 8 years ago

give it three months, they will not pay teachers and suppliers.

• Abdul 8 years ago

Best president of Ghana

• OBIKYIRE 8 years ago

Does it make sense to anyone to call this free SHS policy.With 591 schools and 6 student per school gives you approx 3000. However it is called FREE SHS POLICY. Ghana needs a better understanding of the word POLICY.

• Maame Abena 8 years ago

The last year of his mandate all of a sudden a free SHS. This is just to win another election and after he is elected come with another policy that Ghana cannot afford a free SHS. Ghana must be wise and ask why now? Can Ghana ...

• fredsaid 8 years ago

Mahama should stop the propaganda SHIT. You can't pay teachers doctors sand others. The country is now gone HPIC. THE country Is broke n now you are offering free education something u claimed could not be done. You need your ...

• Ghanaman 8 years ago

It is a lie. Public schools don't charge tuition fees. If you mean business then remove the feeding fees

• Mallam Tula. 8 years ago

Massa; What 419 is this against Ghanaians ; there are about over two million children attending SHS in Ghana today and all Jon Mahama can provide is only 3000 places for the children WHAT ABOUT THE OTHER CHILDREN !!!!!COME ON ...

• Francis 8 years ago

Is ur father who is stupid n useless not the pres, stupid he goal..

• Hassan Obeka 8 years ago

The most hardworking and fantastic president our obviours choice for 2016 to fill all our obligations

• Randy Penndy 8 years ago

Irrespective of de fact dat our president might not be doin so well.....it really out of place,disrespecting, and naturally insane 2 call a whole president stupid. We will always pay for it people. Pls make ur concerns and su ...

• Weah 8 years ago

he is stupid to call the President stupid.Atleast he should have called him foolish.foolish president should have been better.

• Gordon Gyasi 8 years ago

we thank the president for this idea. My problem is that is there available facilities to do that? Free SHS will call for Many students to enter in our rural SHS and if no facilities, this idea will be nonsense.

• a.k, amsterdam 8 years ago

Mahama and his team "B" are thieves. Now Allotey Jacobs own a filling station.

• Gordon 8 years ago

if the president cannot pay the allowance of Only 38 college how much more about 520 SHS going to get free education . This is a tricks, a ly

• Criminal mahama. 8 years ago

The useless guy mahama.

• African queen 8 years ago

eei its Akuffo Addos ideas...theives ooo are they not the same people who were against the free education AkuffoAddo proposed? Ndc dont hv any ideas and plans for Ghana shame Ndc mahama

• Okponglo Guy 8 years ago

Akuffo-Addo, stamp your authority and kick this incompetent guy out. Ghanaians deserve better leadership.

• Samuel 8 years ago

Only fools will follow this foolish president

• Porsha 8 years ago

Some of us have critically reviewed our educational system and wrote articles to alert both NPP and NDC Governments. This was meant to make them listen to that strategic thinking which most African leaders sadly lacked. To ...

Do check the ghanaweb.com or morddern ghasna.com to find out those concerned citizens who passoinately wrote about Ghana's dare educational system. Today Mahama and his party are taking credit and get merits for somethings th ...

• Mrs. Rebecca Akufo-Addo 8 years ago

Insulting your President and calling him names do not change the name. He is still your President. Even when he dies, his social status as President would be acknowledged. So why not address him and discuss issues.

• Akoto 8 years ago

What is your fucking point idiot ..the presidency is respected not the buffon in it now

• hajia 8 years ago

is it not de same mahama who said nanas free shs was a mere propaganda. how was it possible now.

• Sarah 8 years ago

How can free education in any form be possible in a fragile economy...?

• abba 8 years ago

THIS WILL NOT GIVE YOU A POINT TO WIN THE 2016 ELECTIONS BECAUSE YOU ARE KNOWN TO BE THE ONALY PRESIDENT WHO HAS TAKEN THE COUNTRY A HOSTAGE AND LOOTED ITS COFFERS. NOW THE BLOOD OF GEN.I.K.ACHAMPONG AND THE OTHERS WHO WERE E ...

• abba 8 years ago

THE OIL DESCOVERY HAS BEEN THE PERSONAL PROPERTY OF NDC CRIMINALS. EVEN GOING TO IMF AND HIPC TESTIFIES.

• Kpega 8 years ago

This is the problem with NDC, they don't understand what they are doing. What is being here is not FREE SHS POLICY. This is a scholarship scheme as had been existed in the past. If it were a free SHS policy, all Ghanaians st ...

What did the NDC say about free education? They said it wasn't possible. So how can it be possible when Ghana has entered HIPIC? Liars.

• con 8 years ago

So far how many days school they built. In fact this government and his administration are stupid and lies to Ghanaians. How many years now we expect 150 day school not just one.

• Mbawini Jonas at Garu/Tempane 8 years ago

Een Mr prez Mahama paa enie infact u have disappointed northerners as well as upper east n Garu tempane u come out with your ideas becos our bros npp will sit on it hammer more allegation which may affect ur campaign plans o ...

• DUNGEON 8 years ago

We hope is not political game for votes to vote for him again.

• ABU,USA 8 years ago

Animal president

• Senior Citizen Braunschweig Germany. 8 years ago

NDC and their co horts wrigged the last elections held in 2012 against NPP,led by Nana Akuffo Addo and again stole their free secondary school education system as part of their manifesto.These empty headed polititians will no ...

• EVELYN 8 years ago

I BELEIVE THIS POLICY IS A GOOD ONE. IT WILL GO A LONG WAY AT LEAST HELP THE DEPRIVED SHS STUDENTS IN THE COUNTRY.. I PRAY THE LEADERSHIP WILL BE ABLE TO MANAGE IT WELL FOR ALL BENEFICIARIES.

• Adamu 8 years ago

mahama numbers are limited! Criticizing Nana`s free educational ideas and turning around to steal proved mahama no vision with future road map for Ghana. mahama is follow the mass president. Ghana deserve a president with vi ...

• Obiri Yeboah. Lond 8 years ago

You always promised and failed yet you continue to give promises,are you not ashamed of yourself? I want to tell you point blank,that nothing better will ever come from your government,Mark my word.If you want to do somethin ...

• Raymond Agbeli 8 years ago

Over three hundred thousand,not three thousand!

• inercycl 8 years ago

This is ill-timed.At a time when the national debt is soaring, our government is still spending money on freebies? Free shoes, free meals, free tuition all adding to the national debt...how sustainable is this approach? ...

• Mr. Akuffo Addo. 8 years ago

I Nana Addo promised to implement free SHS but NDC has taken the wheel.BRAVO, WELL DONE!!

• .. 8 years ago

tHIEF

• Nkrumah Isaac 8 years ago

We thanks you

• Kofi, USA 8 years ago

Our Nana Addo ugly Who art in Ghana Loser be your name Thy defeat come again Your free education be done by NDC As it is in your promise Give us this day our all die be die plan And forgive us our supreme court verdict As we ...

• Kofi, USA 8 years ago

HAHA HAHA, THE WAR DRUM IS ONCE AGAIN SOUNDED. CHAIRMAN PAUL AFOKO REFUSED TO SHOW UP IN THE INVISIBLE FORCES DICIPLINARY, COMMITEE, MEETING. FUCK IT WHO IS WHO.

• kolan Abudu 8 years ago

We are happy hear that

• NANA KWAKU BOATENG KARIKARI 8 years ago

Naagodey Mr Prez!I have got enthusiastic abt the rapid improvement that inspired me to think,you could be really good by "lighting free SHS tomorrow with today".However,"the best time to do dis was 20yrs ago and the second b ...

• eo 8 years ago

Try to buy chalks for the teachers to use it in their various school. Don't forget to pay the SHS account office their money for buy foodstuffs to carter for the boarding students.

• Sixtus 8 years ago

The truth of the matter is will it be successful, sustained n continued. When our public debt had reached 71% which means that every Ghanaian is supposed to paid Gh3,600.00. Let this resources n developed our tertiary institu ...

• JH. New York 8 years ago

Is the idea to build 200 High Schools in less than 4 years a well thought through Plans in Commensurate to population growth,or on the Spot decision to appease the electorate, irrespective of lacks of funding,or just b'cos y ...

• WAITING TO VOTE NDC OUT 8 years ago

When the NPP and Nana Akufo Addo started to talk about free SHS, the inept John Mahama NDC gov't with no intelligence to grasp visionary approaches to development, said it was not possible, there was no way it was going to be ...

• ASASCO1 8 years ago

Ogwan

• 'and Jesus wept' 8 years ago

Next on the agenda is free housing cum utilities for all citizens just like in some parts in the Middle-East. "do not conform but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind". All we need is good management of our resource ...

• latif adams 8 years ago

Mr president you lack ideas paaa.now I understand Lydia forson.she says you are always last in class

• Kanga 8 years ago

Nana all way the man brought Ghanaians out of culture of silence by repealing libel charges of the citizens, by giving Ghanaian free speech and freedom to assembly. Akufo Ado the champion of freedom Ghana deserve your leaders ...

• MOHAMMED ,ASAWASI 8 years ago

HA HA,FREE SHS MY FOOT. TWEEAAA.GRANT AND SUBSIDY FOR LAST TWO TERMS NOT PAID AND SCHOOLS HAVE RE-OPENED FOR ANOTHER TERM. THEY ARE ALL LIARS, THIEVES.IT HAS COLLAPSED ON ARRIVAL.ONE TIME NHIS IS FRESH IN OUR MINDS.

• latif adams 8 years ago

Mr president Ghanaians are wise up.we will show you the exit come 2016

• Kenneth 8 years ago

God bless you , President John D Mahama for your good ideas concening Education. Now it over to NPP to have a compaign messages, He is also on the development of poor roads and even men are at work at Ekumfi Otuam

• humble man 8 years ago

Mpp they always using patapaa on the people to vote for them, but they shd know we the NDC members are still there to retain jmd as prez coming 2016 . Mob3u bio.

• Ghanaba 8 years ago

Ei Free SHS in HIPC? Mr President you are not managing the Country well at all. It looks as if you were not prepared for the Presidency. Ghanaians should vote NDC out. The President told Ghanaians that some countries in A ...

• Mawusi Modey 8 years ago

He and his boys said Nana Addo couldn't do it but just saying it to influence voters. Now it is possible? Hahaha, look at the state of our economy. This will just further collapse it because from where would he fund it? Loans ...

• yussif 8 years ago

like that my president

• EDEM 8 years ago

useless president in the history of GHANA with his shamful propagander.u better focus on how to improve the living standard of ghanaians inteed of hopeless manifesto

• abigail enyonam 8 years ago

wat abt de continiuoin students

• KK 8 years ago

Please Gladly present listed of beneficial schools.

• GYAKARI 8 years ago

NANA ADDO and NPP are ORIGINAL THINKERS!!!!!!!!

NPP is FULL of ORIGINAL IDEAS(FOOLS)

• FRIENDS OF NANA ADDO 8 years ago

NANA ADDO IS THE ORIGINATOR, BEGINNER, FOUNDER AND A THINK TANK TO INITIATE FREE S,S,S CONCERT IN GHANA . ALL GHANA PEOPLE MUST GIVE CREDIT TO NANA, NANA ALL THE WAY .

• Mustapha 8 years ago

Ayekoo