You are here: HomeNews2015 09 15Article 381967

Chief Justice asked to resign amidst judicial scandal

Read Comments Comments (125)

• kwame kofi 8 years ago

she must resign..i bet she is more corrupt than those caught on tape..she is even banging one of the supreme court judges call dotse

• efo 8 years ago

If ghana is not very careful with this corruption thing, there might be military intervention. prosecute those involved to create fairness in the system else military might stage coup d'etat

• ATSU, HO 8 years ago

WHERE DOES THE REIGNSTION OF THE CHIEF JUSTICE COMES IN, WHEN IT IS CLEAR THAT SHE IS NOT CONDONING WHAT IS HAPENNING. MAY THE TRUTH PREVAIL! NO MILLITARY INTERVENTION WILL BE TOLERATED

• efo 8 years ago

this was very exact thing that brought JJ into the system to kill all of them. Ghana MUST be very very very careful,i foresaw it coming

• Omanba Pa, Islington-London! 8 years ago

To me JJ just wasted his time in that it is his own party that he formed now taking Ghana into hell. So, what was the purpose of killing those Judges for? He should have sentenced them so that Ghanaians would learnt lessons f ...

• Agya 8 years ago

So she did not know about all the corrupt practices ? That is hard to believe...terrible culture needs to be nipped from root for real change

• Ali 8 years ago

This rot was there years ago and this animal who probably taught these judges and magistrates how to accept bribes is calling on and innocent Attorney to resign. She will resign if his mother stops her prostitution.

• Omanhene 8 years ago

PROFESSOR YOU ARE FAR USELESS AND STUPID BEYOND DESCRIPTION. IDIOTS LIKE YOU MAKE NATION BUILDING HARD.

• Mensah 8 years ago

At this point I am so pro military intervention you wouldn't believe it.Why have those judges not been arrested and charged yet? We have a video smoking gun showing these individuals clearly breaking the law and yet no arrest ...

• GHANA4U 8 years ago

You are in for a big shock if you have forgotten the examples of the past. How many govt officials did CHRAJ ever convict?

Anane went free. Woyome went free. Jake Obetsebi Lamptey had the right to buy his state residence. ...

• John The Truth 8 years ago

These ndc's are stupid beyond belief. They have been after the Chief Justice for so long, now they think they have the chance. Massa, President Mahama himself should resign by the analogy of this man. Nonsense. After Woyome, ...

• Yaw 8 years ago

You are right. By the analogy Mahama should have resigned long ago. Look at all the corruption happening under his watch.

• Luther King 8 years ago

Poor u John the truth. Chief justice is occupying an administrative position. If ndc wanted her out they would've done so when her first contract expired under Prof mills. Be fair

• Kwaku Manu 8 years ago

Who told you being a Chief Justice is a contract with a sitting President? It is only retirement that removes a CJ. If he/ she did not do anything wrong to be removed successfully by an impeachment, only resignation can. Wher ...

• DR TRUTH 8 years ago

NONSENSE PROF! THIS IS GHANA, IF YOU MESS UP THE JUDICIARY WITH POLITICS IT COULD LEAD TO CHAOS AND COUP D'TAT. HAVE UK & US EXPERIENCED COUP BEFORE?

• DR TRUTH 8 years ago

WASP MINDED PROFESSOR. IT IS THE JUDICIAL COUNCIL AS A BODY THAT REGULATES TTHE JUDGES NOT THE CHIEF JUSTICE AS AN INDIVIDUAL. WHY DIDNT THIS NDC LECTURER CALL FOR MILLS OR MAHAMA RESIGNATION WHEN WAYOME N BETTY MOULD DEFRAUD ...

• KOO DWOMO 8 years ago

This is a truthful call from God, not Kwaku Asare. Chief Justice Wood must resign in shame, together with the Judicial Service Council and the Judicial Secretary. The reason is that, the office of the Chief Justic.,and the Ju ...

• Yaw 8 years ago

Mahama must first resign. Look at all the corruption unearthed under his watch. Wayome, SADA, SUBA, Geeda,etc. etc

• Dabo 8 years ago

Your are right! This scandal proves that corruption is endemic in the judicial service. She has been Chief Justice for over 10years and could not institute any effective checks and balances to detect and flag up such unhealth ...

• big mouth 8 years ago

you are a fool to say that chief justice is sleeping with someone. she must not resign. she should deal with the corrupt judges

• jo t 8 years ago

This r the kind of idiots we have in gh.

• Talisman 8 years ago

Ansa Asare has no moral authority to call anyone to resign so far as corruption is concern.Ansa Asare is the head of the corruption gang at the Ghana school of law. This is the man who was using fictitious book store to sell ...

• Nokware_ Asa 8 years ago

Ghana School of Law follow the line he is vigorously recommending to the CJ, when corruption scandals broke[involving people like that loudmouth Gabby Asare Otchere Darko], during his tenure? "Etua wo yonko ho a, wose etua du ...

• LARYEAH 8 years ago

KWASIA!

• Joseph Abugri 8 years ago

What an interesting joke in Ghana. A committee of thieves investigating 34 thieves. Haahaaaa haaaa. The outcome of the investigation is obvious.

• Real African 8 years ago

Abugri ! U make my day. Hw can thieves investigate thieves. Im 100% sure she will take bribe and everything will go under the carpet trust me , I understood someone made a comment that she is banggin one of the judges.

• jo t 8 years ago

This is a serious matter. Not for jokes and and false allegations

• Mrs. Rebecca Akufo-Addo 8 years ago

Former President Kufuor just appointed the rot to head institutions so that whilst on retirement they can feed him. Shameful Kufuor and his Appointees. Resign and go away, Georgina Wood

• Asempa 8 years ago

Why is that some people just can't reason? Where is the indication of which judge was appointed by which president? Georgina Wood was appointed by Kuffour but she is not implicated here. She should resign if she fails to clea ...

• Asare 8 years ago

We can vote out Mahama for lack of leadership but in Woods 'case she must be removed immediately. She has already failed in her duties to ensure a strong and independent judiciary. What type of leader is she if her judges are ...

• Kaaji 8 years ago

You are simply an idiot. Do you know who initiated and financed the investigation ?
    Be smart.

• Omanhene 8 years ago

MOST OF THE JUDGES ARE NDC APPOINTEES.

• Offei 8 years ago

The woman must resign as soon as possible....they have no shame or whatsoever at all...all of them including the stupid president john mahama

• James Adom Tamale 8 years ago

What about all the bodies like CID ,BNI and others if a person plus its group have detected this than such bodies should also be closed down

• Ampofo 8 years ago

They are too busy chasing after illegal toll operators and cable thieves to bother themselves about national security affairs.

• C0MPILLER COMPILLER. 8 years ago

She would have taken the honour if the Jurdges have been congratulated,why is she attempting to prosecute them in case of distress.

• NDC 8 years ago

Tell John Mahama to resign for taking Ghana back to HIPC.

• Ernest 8 years ago

The whole thing is a symptom of the lawlessness in our society, which was initiated by JJ Rawlings and promoted actively by Kufour and all subsequent presidents. So long as in Ghana there is no consequence for wrong doing and ...

• Victor A. Young 8 years ago

Why should the CJ resign; was her name in the list of bribe-taking judges? These days you can't really know who'll be making bogus demands or suggestions. I'd expect this kind of opinion to come from an ordinary person in the ...

• Kofi (USA) 8 years ago

She must resign after cleaning up the mess.When all these 34 and accomplices are dealt with then she must leave and hand over to another clean CJ.She can't leave the ROTTEN judges behind. It will be disaster. She goes home a ...

The CJ cannot be blamed in any way for this!

• Aku 8 years ago

No why should she resign? What has she got to do with judges collecting their bribes . You do not copy blindly without knowing much about how the judicial services operate in the western world.Regulation? How possible is it ...

• Max 8 years ago

Nonsense. President Mahama has presided over massive corruption in Ghana and he hasn't resigned. Spare as that bull crap

• PROVERBS 28:28 8 years ago

ACTUALLY READ THE WHOLE CHAPTER PROVERBS 28.

• Vicky 8 years ago

How can she probe anyone whilst she is corrupt herself ? She ought to be probed, she was a very cunning woman under Kufour's regime. A thief cannot investigate another thief.

• Kwaku Manu 8 years ago

We know Betty Mould connived with Woyome to steal from Ghana's coffers. She was promoted to Vice Chairperson of the NDC. EBO BARTON ODURO was also involved in these deL. He was promoted to Deputy speaker of the NDC dominated ...

• SIMON 8 years ago

Learn how to change $18 to over $300,000 in less than 12 months. contact us via wassup only on +233547489948

• Kwabena Yeboah 8 years ago

Why this CJ is still at her post is beyond me. But interestingly, the government of John Mahama has been mute since the report of judicial corruption broke.

If John Mahama is not corrupt himself, and he wants to clean up c ...

• kodjo 8 years ago

Mahama cannot be seen to be interfering in the judiciary. It's third arm of government and he has no control over the chief justice after he nominates her. To impeach the CJ is similar to impeaching the president, VERY VERY d ...

• Kwabena Yeboah 8 years ago

How about Mahama showing his disapproval of the scandal in the judiciary, or that is also a no go area for the President? So Kojo, who is checking whom in our democratic system? Help me out here.

• jo t 8 years ago

We have to be vigilant. The problem we have in the country is not about finding corruption per sey but that we don't give stiff punishments for deterance. I know anas has done a lot of investigations over the years. Just tel ...

• Panafric 8 years ago

Thieves and vampires!

Mahama must go first. Didn't the scandal occur under Mahama's administration?

• Banza Yaro 8 years ago

This is bull. You want her resignation so that you can lobby for the promotion? Why don't you tell the President to resign with all these corruption by his ministers and appointees going on underneath his watch? This is tim ...

• Zangina 8 years ago

If anyone should resign then it must be the President. He has presided over all this rot in his government. On the contrary, the CJ has always taken prompt action when it comes to rot in her department. You guys asking for he ...

• HARDCORE 8 years ago

the chief Justice and the attorney General should do the honourable thing and resign. Because they failed in their duties as supervisor's of the Judiciary.

• Mr. Mensah 8 years ago

If People with law education made such statement then i think we are in trouble.Will he Asare be sent to court if his finance manager collect a bribe from student for an admission? This comment is below the belt from somebo ...

• PEKI MAN 8 years ago

Mahama must go first and CJ will follow, agreed?

• kk A 8 years ago

did she take any bribe ...all dose sayn she shud resign u nt makn sense did mahama resign wen de then minister of sport mishandled de world cup money she is not responsible for their behavior but she can take actions against ...

• Concern 8 years ago

wit Such arguement from d prof he is saying dt wen minister of state is found to b currupt the president too must resign?

• Ritewing 8 years ago

I am surprised, the call for the resignation of the Chief Justice is coming from Kwaku Asare. Has he soon forgotten his past. Has the Chief Justice not act with dispatch, since the matter broke. Has there been any hint that t ...

• Kwaku London 8 years ago

A fish rots from the head and the head of the Judiciary cannot escape blame for such a rotten judiciary. The filth is too deep to ignore. That she acted with speed to investigate does not reduce the gravity of her lack of re ...

• insp we.i 8 years ago

Ansah asare, can you swear by Antoa that you did not admit and pass students without merit during your days at the helm of affairs at Mokola Law School?

• Jack 8 years ago

How can she be responsible for people who are suppose to know better. People who are paid very well with very good condition of service for this very reason. Shameless individuals. They should not only be sacked but must also ...

• Al Hajj AAA-RASHID(OH.USA) 8 years ago

Look who is talking! Is this not the same guy who was accused of presiding over the Law School when Gabby, Okyere Darko, was awarded a law certificate when it was common knowledge that he had failed his exams several times?

• inercycl 8 years ago

I believe the way and manner she handles this issue will determine if she has to resign or remain in office.Already she is promised swift and concrete response.Let's wait and see.If she has to resign, I believe the President ...

• Ghanaian 8 years ago

She will not resign if you are not happy with that you can deside not to be a Ghanaian who cares, since when have it become matter of principle in this part of our wold?, just give me one example and she would.

• BEST PRACTICE IS RESIGN 8 years ago

IN ANY CIVILISED SOCIETY ...SHE SHOULD HAVE RESIGNED LONG LONG TIME AGO...YOU CANNOT SIT ON SUCH ROT...AND CLAIM YOU ARE EFFECTIVE...AND TURN AROUND TO CLEAN THE SAME MESS

• OBINNA 8 years ago

THE CHIEF JUSTICE MUST STAY ON. THESE ROGUE JUSTICES MUST BEAR THE BRUNT OF THEIR ACTIONS. GHANA HAS CONFIDENCE IN THE ABILITIES AND CAPABILITIES OF THE CHIEF JUSTICE.

• TTK 8 years ago

IF THE CHIEF JUSTICE AND THE JUDICIAL COUNCIL WAS ACTIVE AND ACTIVELY MONITORING HOW THE JUDGES WERE CONDUCTING THEMSELVES AND HANDLING CASES AND RANDOM CHECKS ON RULINGS WOULD CORRUPTION HAVE GOTTEN THIS FAR. IT IS HIGH TIME ...

• ruddy 8 years ago

She is weeding the corrupt ones mentioned after which she will resign.She is making history as the chief judge who purged the court system in Ghana.

• George Eshun 8 years ago

Leave the Honorable Chief Justice alone.Why should she resign from her position?The whole nation is in a malice.If Anas is made to continue with the canker in the nation,every Tom,Dick and Harry will run for cover.The chief j ...

• Kwaku 8 years ago

The Chief Justice should under no circumstance resign her post. She did not appoint these judges and should therefore not be responsible for their action. When a team does not do well, it is not the captain who is sacked, it ...

• kojo Asare 8 years ago

From the chife justices, to the last person should turn they resignation letter.

• ADU SCO 8 years ago

The chief Justice during Kuffour presidency was given a parcel of government land at the AIRPORT and she accepted it. Only when she was criticized did she return it. FYI.

• kuku 8 years ago

Former director of law school talking like a fool.Have you lived in the United States before? if you have nothing to say, just keep quiet and don't reveal your dumb ignorance to the whole world. this former director of law sc ...

• sikdo 8 years ago

She.must to.resigned.Ghanaians.listen and.listening.the same.things
    ..happen.in.Holland.about.six months ago.the.justice minister.the.next.day.he.resigned.the same.things.happen.in Lebanon.the.next.day.the justice.minster.re ...

• Yaw 8 years ago

Chief Justice is not a Justice minister. Mahama must resign for taking us back to HIPC. It is corruption that has taken us to HIPC within 4years.

• Omanhene 8 years ago

YOUR ARE STUPID IDIOT PROFESSOR OF LAW. YOU WERE PAID TO GIVE THE OPINION.

• KOKU 8 years ago

Rubbish!!! what has she done. why not the AU Chairman instead? Funny, if judges take bribes and are caught how come the CJ is the one to step down. In fact they must hurry up and process them for court. LEAVE THE CJ ALONE. SH ...

• francis 8 years ago

no no no.resigned and put who there, ajet nassam the crook.

• Andrewwhitehead 8 years ago

The Supreme court telephone conversation is coming during 2012 presidential petition case, Atuguba, and other justices recordings are coming. The Chief Justice bribe she took is coming too.

• Adwoa, Kumasi 8 years ago

is Mr. Asare in this country at all?
    let him tell the president to resign first because he who follows learns from the lead

• Adwoa, Kumasi 8 years ago

that must be part of the lawyers who were involved in the scandal right?
    i think he is part

• ktz 8 years ago

I totally agree with Mr Ansa Asare

• Siburuku Tifalo 8 years ago

WE MUST WAIT FOR HER HANDLING ON THIS ISSUE FIRST,Since this scandal has taken the whole NATION by SUPRISE including the CJ herself. UNTIL NOW NO-one has yet ever reported a Ghanaian Judge of a BRIBE of this magnitude,thanx t ...

• Jos 8 years ago

Yes she has to resign

• quality 8 years ago

y should dis talk lyk dis ..dus he expect de CJ to be at every court in the ghana ????...dis is blatant nonsense..

• kwaku, Edmonton 8 years ago

Hello, Kweku Ansah Asare, it seems you are mentally deranged; you better go back to school and review what you studied. Whatever you are doing now, try and accept bribes and Anas will catch you, and you see where you will be ...

• Upperdeck 8 years ago

AN ENEMY OF GHANA. WHO EVER SPEAKS IN FAVOUR OR PLEADS FOR THESE EVIL CRIMINAL JUDGES IS INFACT AGAINST THE WHOLE NATION OF GHANA.GHANA MUST THEREFORE UNITE THIS TIME, IRRESPECTIVE OF POLITICAL AFFILIATIONS AND FIGHT CORRUPT ...

• peter 8 years ago

Yes the buck stops with her. Did she refuse to act now that there is solid evidence? please leave Georgina alone to deal with the situation

We must be carefull not to shot the messenger. The Chief Justice has NOT been tainted therefore the criminals must be dealt with according to the law. Reforms have to be put in place immidiately to prevent this from happening ...

• Kwame Ansah 8 years ago

No need to resign. You?

• JAY 8 years ago

The amazing and shocking thing is where was the security agencies when Anas was conducting these investigations,be it the Police service,BNI,Serious fraud Office,do these agencies exist only on paper or name,only GOD knows.Tr ...

• Patrick Amartey 8 years ago

i do not know what the law professor point for the Chief Justice to resign is. By the way , the chief Justice in U.S will not resign over some corrupt judges. They will get their day court.
    Just think about, the office of ...

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe ln Ghana! 8 years ago

This woman has plunged Ghana into such a mess she must resign and later on we will prosecute her.

• John Anamse 8 years ago

There is no evidence so far that the Chief justice's actions or inactions has contributed to this rot in the Judiciary and he must not be blamed.
    The malfeasance of a few must not rock the entire bot into a disaster. She is ...

• LetMeTalk Tweaaa 8 years ago

It is very true and sad to say that with much explosion of knowledge, common sense is a scarcity.
    The fact of obtaining a degree in something does not mean one is wise, it makes him knowledgeable of that particular field bu ...

• CONCERN 8 years ago

I disagree with the former Director of the Ghana School of Law, Kweku Ansah Asare saying that if it these scandals about the judges the CJ would have turn in his/her resignation. It would only happen if the Chief Justice don' ...

• CONCERNNED CITIZEN 8 years ago

OH GHANA MBA. BRIBERY AND CORRUPPTION HAS IS AND WILL POSSIBLY BE PART OF GANINAN LIFESTYLE INFACT THE WHOLE WORLD. FROM THE STATE HOUSE PARLIAMENT HOUSE TO THE MARKET PACE THE REIGN OF A WOMAN HAS SUCH TRUTH AND M ...

• Owura 8 years ago

Mr Ansah has made a valid point Ghana Chief Justice must resign with immediate effect.

• Asona Ba Bekoe Atuo - USA 8 years ago

This is stupid thinking. How can the Chief Justice police these judges. It is simply not possible and her resignation is not the solution. The solution is the Chief Justice should purge the judiciary and get the bad ones out. ...

• Plasma Kote 8 years ago

She made no effort to clean up, it was business as usual.

• Plasma Kote 8 years ago

Please, spare us the trash talk, the corruption has been there for since the Colonial Days, she is no stranger.

• Whatever 8 years ago

Are these not the same ZOMBIES who were defending the CJ when Atta Akyea voice was caught on tape in incriminating her together with himself in a plot to use court system to subvert the will of the people in 2008

• Friday 8 years ago

Why should she resign? The executive are plundering the nation, why hasn't President Mahama resigned? ??

• Judgemujudge 8 years ago

Were you not the one who passed Gabby Otchere Darko under controversial circumstances? How much did you take from him?
    Stop behaving like these judges who put up airs of decency but were dirty inside. How many of them d ...

• eva 8 years ago

the president should resign first. looking at the level of corruption in the country, I think the president should be the first man to step down.

• Zebote 8 years ago

I absolutely agree with Mr Kweku Ansah , the honourable thing to do is for her to resign and let somebody else take over.
    If all this scandal happened on her watch it means she was asleep at the switch , there is no sense fo ...

• mr man 8 years ago

Cj should not resign. She should wait for justice Atuguba who stole victory for Mahama after receiving ten million cedis bribe to resign first

• mohammed hussein saabo 8 years ago

this is unjustified uncallfor the called for the resignation of the lady lack merit common sense and logic is she the one taken. the. bribe?

• papa T USA 8 years ago

I don't think Ansa Asare has the moral right to call CJ resignation,who's more corrupt than him when was the director of the Law school, was he not collecting bribe from unqualified students for admission and even his positio ...

• Yussif 8 years ago

It's just good as a Matter of principle for her to resign after cleaning the mess up,she has not shown courage as Chief Justice since she took over.some positions re not meant for women,you don't wait for things to go this wr ...

• Yussif 8 years ago

It's just good as a Matter of principle for her to resign after cleaning the mess up,she has not shown courage as Chief Justice since she took over.some positions re not meant for women,you don't wait for things to go this wr ...

• Yussif 8 years ago

• mb 8 years ago

She has done no wrong so there is no need for her to resign

• KOFI 8 years ago

FOR RENT- 2&1 BEDROOMS WITH MODERN FACILITIES IN TANTRA HILLS

PLS CALL: 026 471 6238

• And rid the judiciary of corruption 8 years ago

Where proof exists of corruption in the judiciary it is the responsibility of the CJ to weed it out. It is most likely that Anas did his work with a nod from the CJ, so why should she resign if her suspicion has come true.

• Edd 8 years ago

That's a good point my brother. The prof can't reason anymore.

Besides, Shd the IGP resign if a police officer is caught collecting bribe(s)?
    Shd the president resign if any of his cabinet ministers is linked with corrupt ...

• Zulu 8 years ago

What about if she is the one who contracted Anas to undertake the investigation, should she also resign?

• Patriot 8 years ago

I find it ironic that Ansa Asare would make such an irresponsible request. But I should not be too surprised! The advent of Georgina Wood as CJ deprived Ansa Asare of a presumed source of influence in the country that he had ...

• Aba 8 years ago

Well done for the comments all facts accurately expressed here.

• BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, ESQ. 8 years ago

DEAR H.E.PRESIDENT OF GHANA DR.JOHN DRAMANI MAHAMA & HER LADYSHIP CHIEF JUSTICE OF GHANA GEORGINA THEODORA WOOD,

TO RESPECTFULLY REFER TO THE ABOVE RELATED PUBLICATIONS ON THE "GHANAWEB.COM" THAT "MAHAMA SHOULD HUMBLY STEP ...

• jimmy 8 years ago

Tell Mahama to resign first EVEN Atuguba is moving freely about.

• KIPO 8 years ago

Tell the President to resign first, for appointing on corrupt ministers who create, loot and share the country limited resources..