You are here: HomeNews2015 09 06Article 380044

Peace Council to meet EC over concerns about voters’ register

Read Comments Comments (82)

• APONKYE 8 years ago

There cannot be only one solution to problem. So NPP is verywrong to insist that the problem. That is the arrogance of the NPP. Lets evaluate all the possible solutions and select the most feasible.

• SAMITU ROSE 8 years ago

TOGOLESE ARE MEDDLING WITH GHANA AND IT IS EXPOSED FOR US ALL TO THINK THINGS THROUGH AND U CALL THIS ARROGANCE?......WHAT WOULD U PREFER? SHD WE JUST HAVE KEPT MUTE AND ALLOW THIS TO PERSIST?.......TOGO WOULD NEVER HAVE ALLO ...

• Lomo Germany 8 years ago

How can you differentiates Togolese from Ghanaians or Ghanaians from Togolese? Simply because the so called investigations have come out with this issue that's not mean they are Togolese .open your eyes ???? and think twice!! ...

• Nana Addo 8 years ago

MAHAMA for 2016 ALAN for 2020 no turning back

• ken 8 years ago

BE CAREFUL HOW YOU USE THAT NAME IN YOUR POLITICS.

• Kofi Nyame 8 years ago

Very intelligent question NPP never thought of because they know their followers will support any argument at all without thinking twice

• ManBlhomme 8 years ago

In the climate of this uncertainty, let's value variable life more than constant money. What I mean by this is that, lets us not shy from spending money to save life rather that sparing it aat the expense of delicate life.

• OBEN K 8 years ago

how can you prevent the repeat of foreigners been register again. and how do know if NPP wouldn't register minors ? NPP never call for strong and secure national ID. we are going to use the old system for registration and we ...

• pious 8 years ago

oh Gh then let the delete the names of people from volta region from the register Npp will loose 2016 instead of them to fine better ways they base on register poor Npp

• Kofi, USA 8 years ago

SAMITU, ROSE WHO ARE THE TOGOLESE? IF VOLTERIANS ARE TOGOLESE WHY NPP GANG OF EVILS, WILL HAVE PARTY OFFICES, ACROSSED THE VOLTA REGION. IT IS THE DEVIL HYPOCRACY OF NPP GANG,. THE QUESTION IS WHAT AT ALL IS THE SECRET BEHIN ...

• professor 8 years ago

Have you asked yourself why 99 percent of moslems vote for ndc? Well isn't it strange? There's an agenda by the moslem community to gradually hide behind ndc to take over Ghana, Ghanaians especially any Christian must wakeup ...

• Kofi Adomako.Koforidua 8 years ago

You call yourself a professor but I think you are a fool to say this.

• eva 8 years ago

ur also a fool not to understand this.goat son

• eva 8 years ago

ndc is evil and do not believe in christ

• Bayan wire 8 years ago

I disagreed.

• Bribehene WeeAddo 8 years ago

Your running mate is of what religion? Tell us the last time NDC had running mate who is a moslem

• unity 8 years ago

so now all Moslems are NDC and all Christians are npp so who is bawumia

• ghanabisa 8 years ago

Bawumia is among the one percent of moslems who vote for npp, you don't understand what you read, 99 percent is not 100 percent

• mr amin 8 years ago

@Profersor, i disagree with u, a lot of moslems are not ndc, u are one of ndc propagandist that uses tribal n religious sentiments to insite some sections against the npp now we know. Vote the ndc out 2016.

• Abeku Quansah Ativorgbe. 8 years ago

You are indeed 3rd world, everything is party or religion. Why can't you use your brains to make positive contribution to the debate?

• JOHN MAHAMA'S BROTHER 8 years ago

LIES! I AM NDC BUT I AM NOT AGAINST CHRISTIANITY. WHAT I AM AGAINST IS FAKE PASTORS AND FALSE PROPHETS. ALL THAT NANA ADDO KNOWS TO DO IS TO RELY ON FALSE PROPHECIES FROM HIS FAKE PASTORS TO DECLARE HIM PRESIDENT. WATCH THE F ...

• Ellembelle Nyameke 8 years ago

God gave u head n brains. It's free gift - make use of it. It's barbaric to address individuals n groups in the way you've done. The phobia, stereotypes n tribalism
    MUST STOP!

• gretchy NZ 8 years ago

Have ur party got something to hide?It's not rocket science,if other a party's are in favour of new register it's got to be good for Ghana.NOT for NDC the cheatn pricks hahahaha

• senior ndc man 8 years ago

All Akans are fools

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

Like your grandfathers and grandmothers

• Kofi Nyame 8 years ago

Funny debate, Who will be eligible to register. We need one national identification card to certify that those who are going to register must be certified as Ghanaians. NOT voters ID, NHI Card, How many Ghanaians have passpor ...

• PRINZY@BONN-Germany 8 years ago

Revising of d voter register is very important because it will removes prejudices, negativity and the perception of over-bloated voter roll; it will also bring sanity and transparency into the voting system. Its only Ndc who ...

PEACE, PEACE, PEACE. BUT AKUFFO ADDO AND HIS GANSTERS KNOW NO PEACE. ALL THAT NANA ADDO KNOWS TO DO IS TO RELY ON FALSE PROPHECIES FROM HIS FAKE PASTORS TO DECLARE HIM PRESIDENT. WATCH THE FOLLOWING YOUTUBE LINK AND TELL NANA ...

• ****((((((****** 8 years ago

ANOTHER HOUSE NIGGER

IT IS NOW SO OFFICIAL THAT TOGOLESE HAVE BEEN VOTING VOTING FOR GHANAIANS....HOW MUCH STUPIDER CAN WE BE AS A NATION FOR TOGO TO MESS UP WITH OUR DESTINY AND SECURITY...AND YET ASIEDU NKETIA AND HIS CRIMINAL NDC SEE NOTHING W ...

• Kofi Nyame 8 years ago

What shows that you are a Ghanaian please ? You do not even have a birth certificate nor passport. Who is eligible to register ? You do not have any national ID and you shouting like NPP. Please be real for once

• Busia 8 years ago

War will eventually come. Parties do not believe in peace. All they believe in is winning at all cost and by all means.Everybody must prepare for war. Let only the politicians go to war. Talk to their foolish supporters.

RLG+NDC+JUDGT DEBTS+FALL OF CEDI+ETC ETC ALL THESE ARE MESSING UP OUR COUNTRY AND OUR NATIONAL SECURITY AND YET NDC CONTINUES TO HAVE A FIELD DAY DESTROYING GHANA BCOS NDC IS DAILY CHAMPIONING TRIBAL AND ETHNIC SENTIMENTS TO ...

• Oh Ghana 8 years ago

Is biometric now useless? What proof will be needed? Birth certificate, passport, drivers license, NHIS card, old voter ID card? Suppose someone doesn't? I personally won't bother to register.. Too many registrations e ...

• THE TRUTH 8 years ago

The seed for war was sowed during the 2012 Supreme court case. It is up to us as a country to nip it in the bud or sit aloof and wait for this pent-up feeling to go off in 2016. Changing a bloated register will will not kill ...

• Fosca 8 years ago

Do u know war?
    How many wars have witness apart from those u seen on TV news.
    Think twice

• THE TRUTH 8 years ago

I don't know war, that's why I advocate for proactive measures to avoid one. It's people like you who don't believe war is ever possible in Ghana, hence your intransigence and reluctance to see the big picture and compromise. ...

• Konadu 8 years ago

What is the Peace Council going to meet the EC for? The EC has given political parties time to submit proposals for dealing with the issue. The EC is an independent entity and we should therefore allow it to receive those p ...

• professor 8 years ago

Konadu, they are going to discuss your anus, do you love peace or a political party? Is the EC independent by name or action? You sit there and fool

• Taniba 8 years ago

Aseidu Nketia is crazy and insane,he will cause disturbances in this country if this little rat is not castrated.Aboa ba.

• TOWEI 8 years ago

WE NEED TO BE TRUTHFUL IN THIS COUNTRY.THE NATIONAL PEACE COUNCIL LOST IT AT KUMASI IN FRONT OF OTUMFUOR.
    A PEACE PACT WAS SIGNED WITH GOD AND THE ENTIRE GHANAIANS WITH FOREIGN DIPLOMATS AS WITNESSESS BEFORE THE 2012 ELECTIO ...

• Malike 8 years ago

What is this? This is part of the NPP strategy to twist the arm of EC through its surrogate civil society organisations such as the NPC. Prof stay away from the EC. Yours is a clear attempt to stoke conflict not to make peac ...

• Akans Prophecies 8 years ago

The CID have the guts to investigate internal allegations of the opposition party. The BNI investigates several case of no importance to our national security, whiles they neglect serious issues like foreigners voting to elec ...

• mr amin 8 years ago

ndc knows very well that foriegners vote fo them that is why they discontinue the national ID program. ndc rig elections so many foriegners vote for ndc.

• A Richard 8 years ago

What are they going to discuss did Togo met any peace council in Togo to discuss the change in their electoral register. It's up to President Mahama to think about it without those Asiedu Nketia Dr Apaa ...

• ####### 8 years ago

WASTE OF TIME AND RESOURCES WHICH IS MUCH NEEDED TO BUILD THE COUNTRY.

• Kpeglo John 8 years ago

A useless and bias Peace Council. Any time NPP cries u wake up, but u listin to any other party's cry. We know about the secret meetings u have being having with the NPP

• eva 8 years ago

the ndc thieves hv hidden a lot filth in the reg with the help of some ec officials. ndc is exposed big tymmmm

• John 8 years ago

New register now? The NPP is simply preparing the grounds for another defeat in the 2016 elections having tasted a prelude in Tallensi and confusion triggered by a fractured national executive. This an invented problem b ...

• RANGER 8 years ago

PLEASE PEACE COUNCIL, KINDLY ADVICE THE PRESIDENT TO TELL BANK OF GHANA TO ALLOW DKM TO GIVE BACK CUSTOMERS MONIES TO THEM. AM SAYING THIS BECAUSE IS NOT ONLY THE VOTERS REGISTER ALONE THAT WILL CREATE PROBLEM IN THE COUNTRY. ...

• Togbe Fiti v 8 years ago

What stops the 76,000 Togolese from crossing over once again to register if fresh registration is opened. Even if they do not come, the NDC will have them registered. After all, who will police the process in the Volta Region ...

• AGYAAKU 8 years ago

The chairman of Peace Council is wading into this PREPOSTEROUS demand mooted by Nana Akuffo-Addo and backed by his NPP with the sole aim of causing tention in the country because he known very well that he is loosing Election ...

• Truth 8 years ago

Don't force "peace" down the throat of the poor and the defenceless who are in a virtually hopeless situation.Speak for them!

• mr amin 8 years ago

Why is the ndc resisting a new register? if they know that they have nothing to hide new register should be allowed. But i believe ndc has to hide, they first denied the story. Vote ndc out 2016.

• Ayensu 8 years ago

Nobody is going to compile any register because a foolish and useless drug addict want to be President at all cost. This so called Asante should stay clear from the EC. Let Akufo Addo try any nonsense this time. He will not l ...

• Truth 8 years ago

Ghanaians are naturally peaceful. Strong sense of fairness must overide maintaining peace at all cost in your intervention.

• Chiefi amankwa 8 years ago

Ok

• Ghana must know 8 years ago

WITHOUT JUSTICE THERE WILL BE NO PEACE. It's not just about the voters register, you should ask the dead GOAT President Mahama about the BETTER GHANA AGENDA they promised Ghanaians. Ghana's debt is heading to 100 billion, unp ...

• DELA KWAKUVI WISDOM 8 years ago

May God forgive me. because over 2 years i have been a chief critic NPC on the subject of voters register with EC for not being proactive and therefore a useless entity.

But they ARE proofing me wrong!

• AKT New York 8 years ago

This man must be stupid period.
    Nothing us !

• Alhassan Walla 8 years ago

The Peace Council, as an organization, is populated by spineless and muzzled buffoons who have been bought and intimidated by the ruling NDC to the point of utter uselessness. It serves no purpose whatsoever, and it must be s ...

• Wiz 8 years ago

The NDC should be careful of this shameles asante man bcos he is serving on one of the npp commitees,

• Maame Abena 8 years ago

It is a just cause to go for a new voters's register, because the one we have is tainted.
    A new register will bring peace to Ghana, because,it will be credible. The NDC is opposition to the call of a new register tells me th ...

• Basit Jnr 8 years ago

NPP should do their best for the register to be changed if not impotent NDC will could continue to be in power. The register was their key to their success. My advice is that"when persuasion failed force must be applied".No o ...

• Bernard 8 years ago

Why does the EC take delight in accommodating every Tom, Dick and Harry without asserting it's independent authority? We are where we are today because of this idiotic Ghanaian attitude of abandoning laid down rules and regu ...

• jb 8 years ago

NPP is behind this indecent push. What nana addo and his peace council must know is that, with or without new register, Ghanaians will only vote for their preferred candidate.

• Kate 8 years ago

Re:
    ....There are no Togolese on any Register ....... This same register was used when you won elections twice .... The track record of NPP is there .... Concoct fugures ..... It's another bogus call by the NPP just like t ...

• BOY KOFI 8 years ago

NPP have championed many changes in the Voters register and the method for voting and have lost all elections.How do you explain that?They were in power in 2008 and still lost miserably and then they called for the biometric ...

• no name 8 years ago

They said it all even when they made the late aliu mahama a vice president he was just a stepping stone,has he ever once act as vice president?No,and they are now using bawumia too pls bawomia cant u see that this people don' ...

• Ataa 8 years ago

the plot has been put in 2nd gear. Peace Council for what? Leave the EC to do its job. Why is it that anytime the NPP throws any useless thing into the public domain then all these funny groups start calling for one thing or ...

I don't believe any peace council. They the same npp people. Npp can't decide for Ghana to take. When npp was on power. Ndc never decide to them. Am saying that even. When npp elect an npp person to be electoral commission ...

LET THERE BE TRUE PEACE. NO ROOM FOR AKUFFO ADDO AND HIS FALSE PROPHETS! ALL THAT AKUFFO ADDO AND THE NPP KNOW IS TO RELY ON FAKE PROPHECIES FROM FALSE PROPHETS TO DECLARE HIM PRESIDENT. THEIR FAKE PASTORS AND FALSE PROPHETS' ...

• Ghanaman THE REAL 8 years ago

Periodic reviewing of Ghana's voter's register should be a matter of fact for the EC so why all this need for badgering this independent organisation if they know what they're about? Good if useful alert comes from any quarte ...

• kwame 8 years ago

Which political party backed the NPP for a new voters register. Even the CPP they were going around saying they supported them came out to say they never supported their idea for a new voters register so why is TV3 reporting ...

• Whatever 8 years ago

Is the Peace Council aware that people in Ghana are suppose to go about their daily lives on the laws of Ghana. If you think that there's a flaw with te register, go to the supreme court, produce your evidence and have it ann ...

• agya 8 years ago

Rev. Last 2012 elections you met with the stupid afari gyan and we all knew what happened, this time around never again. New voter register now.

• Ghanaba 8 years ago

New voters' register is the "peaceful key" to 2016 election. People should register with the National acceptable ID Cards not NHIS card which every foreigner can also possess.
    NPC should see the EC for this implementation ...

• Agama lizard U.S 8 years ago

NDC can't fool us all the time they are exposed,i support new voters I'd and to eliminate these Togolese from our data, i want Ghanaians to choose their President instead of foreigners.

• RPG 8 years ago

The register is not credible, it is a discredited piece of electoral document that the NDC party and gov't acknowledges as well as the EC itself as an institution, and as to why we are discussing the merits and demerits of a ...

• Atopa sunyani 8 years ago

Ndc is avoiding it because they think that new voters register would be costly. They can use that money for 2016 campaign . Look at criminal aseidu nkate?, look at ashawo mahani who has used all Ghana's money to invest in Dub ...

• OSAMAN BIN KARIM 8 years ago

IS THE PEACE CPONCIL AN APPENDIX OF THE NPP? THE WAS A CRIPPLING ILLEGAL STRIKE BY DOCTORS AND NO ONE HEARD EVEN A WHISPER FROM THE PEACE COUNCIL. WHAT HAS PROMPTED THE NEED TO SEE THE EC? HAVE THE PEACE COUNCIL EXAMINED CARE ...

• Ali Mahama 8 years ago

Yes it is yr duty to put some of these so called Independent bodies in check to sustain our peace.It is unfortunate MAHAMA and his NDC tugs have have managed to induse such official to join them.