You are here: HomeNews2015 09 04Article 379876

23 soldiers detained over Kasoa demolition assaults

Read Comments Comments (80)

• Raspo 8 years ago

A country with incompetent leaders.

• Sigma, London 8 years ago

What a country! Who is best trained for crowd control; police or army? Why should the army be sent instead of police?

• Okyere. 8 years ago

Best trained not the question in Ghana.
    Who is less corrupt the armee or the police?

Least corrupt or most corrupt is not going to bring back the dead ones.Soldiers are there for the purpose of war.

• muhamed 8 years ago

WE SHOULD NOT PUT UP WITH ANY SOLIDER THAT ABUSE ANYONE GHANA SOLDERS YOU ARE WARNED O YOU ARE CROSSING REDLINES WE WILL NOT PUT UP WITH ARMY ABUSE WATCH YOURSELFS

• Mark Wayongo 8 years ago

Primitive country

• KOFFI 8 years ago

I wonder why the Military Command in recent times allow themselves to be used by politicians in performing pure internal security issues which are not beyond the capabilities of the Police.
    Let it be known that those superio ...

• Tweneboah 8 years ago

SOLDIERS ARE NOT POLICE OFFICERS AND GHANA'S INSISTENCE ON USING SOLDIERS FOR POLICE DUTIES WILL ALWAYS FAIL AND CAUSE MORE PROBLEMS THAN IT IS WORTH.BUILDING A STRONG POLICE FORCE IS NOT EASY(WE KNOW THAT)BUT IT IS ABSOLUTEL ...

• Tweneboah 8 years ago

Have you seen the people walking around perpetuating as police officers in Ghana? Too many of them are either too old, out of shape or uneducated.They lack the training, equipment, supervision and mandate to do anything more ...

• gretchy NZ 8 years ago

OMG are these arse hole for real.They wanna kill somebody with their arsenal send da bastards to deal with BOKO HARAM
    Where were da Police its their damn job to protect and serve da public

• Usable Zombies. 8 years ago

What trouble is this? The poor helpless Ghanaians are being killed every which way. There is the destructive effect of Dumsor. They have recently come out the painful effect of the doctors' strike. They are wallowing in unemp ...

• Concerned 8 years ago

Were the warning shots fired in the air or at the crowd? Arresting 23 people could end up being counter productive as the investigation could lose focus

• kyekyeku 8 years ago

Instead of protecting the people, look at what our military has became. This real estate guys buy a peace of land in a certain area and then register their land including other people's land and later claimed those lands tha ...

• SCHEMER 8 years ago

There was a time when soldiers were so disciplined until Rawlings and AFRC came to power. They had total disregard for law and order to the extent that, a Junior rank could under the barrel of the gun order an officer to salu ...

• daladam 8 years ago

GHANA LAWLESS ARMY IS BULLYING PEOPLE AGAIN THIS IS THE ARMY THAT DO NOTHING ARMY AND MOSTLY IS LAZY FALKS.
    THIS IS NOT THE 1ST TIME THAT OUR SO CALLED "ARMY" IS HARRASING PEOPLE IN GHANA

• Adam Masahud 8 years ago

the actions of these security personnel should not be tolerated in this era. they must face the law as expected

• Manu 8 years ago

..turned to Operation "Claim a Life"!

The Military Command is covering up an Officer who rented these soldiers out otherwise they would not issue a statement that the Soldiers were on lawful duty.

How can Soldiers be in ...

• soldier 8 years ago

The private developer Mr Asma Oils the palms of our so called military big men n troops are deployed anytime there is gonna be a demolition. This aint the first time. Get Asma arrested.

• musa al qaq 8 years ago

lawless ghana army of losers is going all around Ghana harassing Ghana people they better watch themselves if the attack Muslims we will retaliate very strong and every ugly

• Akuffo Bawumia Afoko 8 years ago

This will not lead us anywhere . Sometimes soldiers behave with impunity. If found guilty, they must face the music

• Okyere. 8 years ago

Not only the soldiers. In many case also the civilian.
    Mullenium City is full of Moto-gangs.
    Hope the soldiers will kill them.
    The gangs pay the police.

• tuy 8 years ago

Ghana is a fucking third world country without rule of law. Ghana has weaker political and social institution. You don't fire a live ammunition into an unarmed crowd.

• Okyere. 8 years ago

Buy a land is a big problem in Ghana.
    A Search take months, even you pay the usual pride.
    Register the same.
    Meantime the land/house can be sold again.
    There is no efficient land registering and the corruption is too much ...

• BY BYE BUY.Toronto,Canada 8 years ago

THIRD WORLD COUNTRY

• rick 8 years ago

Hahaha.
    Say that again ooo

• paa 8 years ago

Bunch of criminals so called Ghana Army

• soilder 8 years ago

You are so stupid because you don't know what is going on how can afford land with his salary and someone just take it from him will you be happy if it were you fool

• BY BYE BUY.Toronto,Canada 8 years ago

STUPID SOLDIERS

• paa 8 years ago

the officer who shot and killed the innocent guy will be killed by thunder

• paa 8 years ago

The officer who shot and killed the innocent people will be killed by thunder and will not see 2016

• Naa Dedei 8 years ago

GOD PLEASE FORGIVE US AND SAVE YOUR CHILDREN FROM THIS BONDAGE. THIS YEAR ALONE, SO MANY PERSONS HAVE DIED PREMATUREDLY AND THE NUMBERS KEEP COUNTING. MY HEART ALWAYS WORRY FOR THE AVERAGE GHANAIAN EVERYDAY. PLEASE ACT COS YO ...

• LULA 8 years ago

SORRY FOR YOUR UNTIMELY DEATH, RIP

• Samuel Gari 8 years ago

This army should be shot dead so that he will know how painful it is to die of gunshot.

• Open your eyes 8 years ago

So some people think they can throw stones at the Army?

• korku gadzekpo 8 years ago

why don't u mention your name..... why do think protesters will pelt stone at the army for no reason

• Kay 8 years ago

Do you really believe that trash coming out of the smelling mouth of that nincompoop. Then you must be the most stupid dude on this world.

• Kay 8 years ago

Do you really believe that trash coming out of the smelling mouth of that nincompoop. Then you must be the most stupid dude on this planet. .

• Cynthia 8 years ago

Omg,May your soul rest in RIP,kwajosaddo@yahoo.com Aware you will be miss

• korku gadzekpo 8 years ago

stupid statement....what kind of "operation calm life duty"

our military need to be disbanded since they have nothing doing

• ShamROCK 8 years ago

Stupid reason...pls come again. Were there no rubber bullet?

• Resident 8 years ago

In the past few weeks, there have been several raids by armed robbers in the Laos area, but it never occurred to anybody to send the army to protect the citizens. How come the army was able to release personnel to protect a p ...

• rasssta 8 years ago

Kwasiafo) if it goes well den dey av done well,but if it couldn't favour those foolish people den u ar insulting e soldiers.foolish people.

• Solomon, Argentina 8 years ago

They are special forces. Ghana for you,

• KOJO VERONA 8 years ago

LEAVE THEM JO,ITS ALL JOKE.HOW WILL IT END SO FAR AS NDC IS IN POWER.IF THEY JAIL THEM THEY WILL EASILY LOSE THE ELECTIONS. WOYOMI,A FREE MAN.AFRIYIE ANKRAH ,SADA,GYEEDA.AND RECENT KRACHI EDUCATION FRAUD ARE ALL GOING ABOUT F ...

• Omanbapa 8 years ago

What I don't understand is that the military and the police are security agencies, but they don't protect the people but rather fight the people.. So I want to ask our interior minister, the president and all leaders who are ...

• must max 8 years ago

guys in army now know that once you were civilian and one day go will go back to civilian life becareful your behaviour. who did the killing i bet you it will hunt you all your life.
    Ghana army is now boys scout. no better t ...

• osuofia 8 years ago

You guys are just writing as if you have been in the service and retired. Is that not what happens in a lawless country? And this is a country that almost everyone is in church or at mosque praying every minute. The entire ci ...

• Kofi Awagbe 8 years ago

It is frightening to have a conflict with someone who knows someone from above. Your rights would be trampled upon with impunity. The painful part are the lies that are always concocted to shield the wrong doers. If in deed t ...

• Osei bonsu 8 years ago

Look at how the military is protecting their men. Oooh police officers have u seen. Shame

• dogbe 8 years ago

so anyone can use our millitary and any one can use our police. where are we heading towards?

• Chicago Guy 8 years ago

Kill them

• Chicago Guy 8 years ago

You vote for N.D C you get what do you want

• Amuyao Kofi Gideon 8 years ago

Oh this show that Ghana is still in millitary rule and undemocratic state,infact this soldiers must went to trial in icc in hague because is criminal offence.

• isaac anak 8 years ago

so disappointing that the ministry of defence can take the job supposed to be executed by ministry of interior. if soldiers have no work to do why don't we dissolve their ministry. if internal peace is to be maintained by sol ...

• Dessie 8 years ago

This shows that Military regime is bad for a country

• zak 8 years ago

ideal civilians. u are jokers. do u think the soldier was a mad man to ve shot the guy for no offence. for ur information ,if give a soldier one expect three .Why should u throw stone if u think u are right. point to note SOL ...

• sansan 8 years ago

Soldiers are train to kill human beings and not animals, point to note never challenge a soldier with weapon in hand and corked, cause he stands to face a court martial if that weapon is taking from him by a raw civilian. Bet ...

• JH. New York 8 years ago

Is there not Police Service in the Country !. So,why the presence of the Military in the Town?.I never heard of Soldiers anywhere in the world,always interfering with the job of the Police,in a Country which has never fought ...

• WIL I AM 8 years ago

THOSE WHO CALLED THERE SELFS DEVELOPER MILLINIUM CITY AND OBOLO REAL ESTATE AT KASOA NEED TO BE ARESTED

• Veteran,UK. 8 years ago

Shocking,how can a skilled soldier fire live bullets into a crowd of people thereby killing someone.As a trained soldier all the shots that you fire should aimed shots not kill or injure civilians.As such this the job of the ...

• andy 8 years ago

This is all lies a warning shot are shot in the air but not in crowded people.Why this country contains full of fools and idiot ,by the way what is the use of this Ghana army what do they do nothing just enjoy the tax payers ...

• Asona Ba Bekoe Atuo - USA 8 years ago

How did the military squad took side with the developer and not being neutral. From the military statement it is clear that the military was hired and that the top officers were bribed. This ndc and Mahama administration. Min ...

• Atta Mills 8 years ago

Coup is coming soon in Ghana.These soldiers must not be allowed to terrorise the people as once they get away with it like Rawlings did they will do a proper coup soon