You are here: HomeNews2015 09 03Article 379599

CK is the greatest Ghanaian coach- Mfum declares

Read Comments Comments (13)

• Football Lover 8 years ago

Yes C.K.was the greatest both as a footballer and as a coach. His name will always be with football lovers. A little correction is that Aggrey-Fynn(scooter)was the captain in the 1963 tournament not Mfum.

• John,Tema 8 years ago

No question about that truly he was.

• Amadu Katamanso 8 years ago

Thanks for the correction and I think it was Addo Odamtten who captained the 1965 group. In my recollection, Mfum never captained the Black Stars. I stand for correction but I know for a fact that 1965 group was captained by ...

• Saint Ghfuo: CHALLENGE YOURSELF!!! 8 years ago

Becos of greed nyantakyi won't invest in promising Ghanaian coaches by sending them to germany, holland to learn. Wat a fool. Build a coaching institute in CK' honor and invest in promising ghana coaches. Look at what naija i ...

• A Richard 8 years ago

Mr Wilberforce K Mfum please where are you we have missed your days May the Almighty God bless you always. We hope to see you in the News one of this days. It's really hard to hear the lost of Mr CK Gy ...

• World Watcher 8 years ago

Any soccer/football over over 50yrs in Ghana will understand what the lost of C K meant for Ghana football. He was the kind of coach we don't have in Ghana today hence the yearning for expatriates. He was the perfect coach no ...

• Africanus 8 years ago

CK was a perfect coach because Nkrumah and Ohene Gyan made the conscious effect to find a perfect coach for Ghana, by picking and turning a player into a national coach. That is the wisdom that our current leaders and footbal ...

• Opanin Koo Kwakye 8 years ago

Was the net that Mfum's shot tore a real net or was it an improvised one? Even though I admired the man during his playing days, I doubt if a ball kicked by a human leg could tear a net.

• Paa Dico; Washington DC 8 years ago

Wilberforce Kwadwo Mfum did actually "break the net". Check pics from Daily Graphic & Ghanaian Times archives. Nobody had a shot more powerful than him. Not even Ebusua Dwarf's Kwofie nor Bofoakwa's Kwasi Owusu came close.

• Jah Rastafari. 8 years ago

I do agree with you,countryman Dico,Washington DC.Those were the days.May the soul of CK and all those greats of Ghana football rest in peace .
    Though I supported Olympics in those days,I had a great deal of respect for Osei ...

• Dr Jay 8 years ago

Name a stadium after CK. He deserved it. The best of the Greatest indeed.

• Kojo 8 years ago

From my recollection, Aggrey-Fynn (the lanky dribbler) was the captain of the Black Stars during the 1963 Africa Cup of Nations Cup where Mfum tore the net with his powerful shot and goal that beat the Tunisians. Mfum was cap ...

• Kwame Adu. 8 years ago

I would say Sir Jones Atoquayfio