You are here: HomeNews2015 09 03Article 379496

Ban on second-hand tyres postponed

Read Comments Comments (31)

• k. ayiah 8 years ago

The gov't of Ghana is not serious. These second and tyres are tyres which cannot be used in another country but because of some people's pockets, the government will have to sit down unconcerned for innocent people to die.

• ASIEDU NKETIAH 8 years ago

Mr Fool keep quiet even the UK government allow people here to use second hand tires

• sam 8 years ago

Massa educate him if he doesn't know rather than insult him. UK allow good once not bad once like the one they ship to Ghana. I used to work with someone who sell second hand
    tyres before I travelled some of the tyres are ...

• HO 8 years ago

Even if there are bad ones, there may be good once too. So buy the good ones.

With this economy, we cannot afford first hand Tyres all the time.

• GHAA 8 years ago

PLEASE BAN THEM IMMEDIATELY TYRES ARE THE LIFES OF HUMANING IN A CAR; SO NO EXCUSE ON THAT MATTER

• BIRAHMA 8 years ago

Actually it is not the imported used tyres that is the problem but those that have been over used in the country that cause accidents.

• Samansaman 8 years ago

the silly administration of GHANA must NOT at all postpone its discission.They should tell Asiedu Nketiah to open a TYRE Factroy along side his BLOCK Factory-right! FOOLS IN POWER.

• Editor 8 years ago

There is no need to insult anyone. The government should reduce the duties on NEW tyres to 1% in order to encourage it's use.

• GHANAian 8 years ago

Fello Ghanaians. There is no guaratee for tyres. A tyre can be new and burst so as can the second hand tyre burst. Some second hand tyres can be used for a very long time as some new ones can only last for some months. It de ...

• koohia 8 years ago

you have to measure the depth of the tyres. anything under 2mm is extremely dangerous to use. can skid off the road at anytime...sudden brakes will slide the car..driving in rain is suicide mission. so dont drive until it bur ...

• CORNEY 8 years ago

Something is wrong with these people,using the age of the tire to determine its quality,not how it has been used,who told them that?

Something is not right in Ghana,even in America we have used tires.

• NYAME 8 years ago

Stop killing Ghanaians by making living difficult

• Garo 8 years ago

The importation of use tires should be regulated, only the good ones should be allowed into the country. On another note don't buy car if you can't afford good tires.

• wheEmmanuel 8 years ago

If your failed to create jobs for your citizens,must you be bent on rendering self employed jobless?You regulate not ban.Now wonder people like akua donkor advices the presidency.A failed leadership.

• Sense 8 years ago

Whe Emmanuel : You may have a Phd credential ,and that does not make you a wise man. On the other hand ,Akua Donkor may be illiterate but full of wisdom . You get it. ?

• Emmanuel 8 years ago

There are a lot of substandard BRAND NEW TYRES from China in the system.So our leaders must get serious at least on this one.

• Decisions should serve public interes 8 years ago

If the government think it is prudent to postpone the importation of dangerous and discarded car tyres into Ghana, why can't they declare that it is not possible for them to postpone death, and therefoe their decision is not ...

• Concerned Citizen 8 years ago

Nyame, you are right. Today this, tomorrow that. Always finding means to make life difficult for ordinary ghanaian. Apart fron high cost of fuel,how many car owners can afford buying brand new tyres in Ghana today if he rel ...

• ATAMPIGURI 8 years ago

Tweaaa we are bunch of useless people

• SAYOO!!! 8 years ago

GHANA IS A MASSIVE JOKE!

WHILE, GHANAIAN DIASPORANS WILL SUFFER WORKING HARD TO BUY THEIR DREAM VEHICLES, EXPORT THEM TO GHANA THEIR MOTHERLAND, ONLY TO BE ASKED TO PAY EXPLOITATIVE IMPORT DUTIES MORE THAN THE PRICES THEY ...

• COMMODORE 8 years ago

MAHAMA GOVERNMENT IS A VERY FOOLISH GOVERNMENT STRAIGHT FROM TOP TO DOWN.
    ALL THOSE FOOLISH CATS WORKING AS Mps ARE ALL TO BE BLAMED. I WILL NOT SPARE ANY TOP OFFICIAL IN MAHAMA GOVERNMENT. THEY ALL WANT TO FILL THEIR POCKET ...

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 8 years ago

THE GOVT. MUST TAKE NOTE OF THE FINANCIAL SITUATION ( THAT GOVT. ALSO ACCEPT)IS TRENDING IN THE COUNTRY, AND NOT BAN GOODS LIKE SECOND HAND TRIES AND FRIDGES, EVEN OBRONI WEWU. BECAUSE A LARGE OF NUMBER OF THE POPULACE WILL S ...

• ZoRRo 8 years ago

What we need is a ban on clueless and visionless individuals from leading this country.

• DC 8 years ago

Very soon they will ban importation of used cars. Ghana for u, survival of the fittest .

• koohia 8 years ago

you dont have to drive until it burst before you know its bad. if the depth is 2mm or below, that tire is 85% used and has no grip on the road. any small rain will make it hard to drive, sharp curve will skid the car off the ...

• Okesie 8 years ago

Hey Mr. K. Ayiah,

People are not dying because of tyres but because of rough roads. If a private Company or someone were to be incharge of roads, Govt would ban him or her for poor maintenance but it says nothing when it ...

• Okesie 8 years ago

MASS TRANSPORTATION SYSTEM IS THE ANSWER. NOT SECONDHAND TYRES

• acheboy 8 years ago

i am tyre trader and import 5-10mm tires into the country from uk and japan which is 100% better than brand new chines ones.
    the problem in Ghana can not be wholly attributed to second tires, we should first check our MANHO ...

• Pee 8 years ago

May be the government should first think of coming up with Ghanaian made tires before fighting used ones. This country is just a copy cat. Ghanaian governments has never come up with their own ideas that match up with their l ...

• Samansaman 8 years ago

Make the good selection out the second- goods instead of the ban.

• Osei kuffour 8 years ago

Idotisim to the highest level .. Think of major problems like dumsor and forget about use tires . I live in America .. And yet I use used tires and most people do .. Eeiii Ghana .. Where Re we heading .. Hmmmmm