You are here: HomeNews2015 08 26Article 377833

65-yr-olds hijack jobs: Presidency stands accused

Read Comments Comments (63)

• M Berger 8 years ago

we can assist in getting a LEGAL Visa to work and live in Europe. Contact by email mkberger@yandex.com for further information.

• wheEmmanuel 8 years ago

Phone numbers please

• JB Mann 8 years ago

Emmanuel,

Forget about that person. His mail address points to yandex_dot_com, a search engine based in Russia, but the whole idea is a 419 scam.

Before you are aware you have paid over 10,000 Dollars to them. You'll g ...

• Age Cheating 8 years ago

more people over 70 years are in the security services; police, army, etc as well as civil service. is the official retiring age really 60? Tweeaa

• Tibaa 8 years ago

and will soon explode. Look at him!!

Indeed power is good. It is like a buffet: you can eat all you want.

• Milton 8 years ago

This is a dead issue on arrival. Hahahaha. Absolutely nothing will be done about this. All these funny ndc ministers and top officials think about are their stomach, money and cars. Lol, looks like this guy is into politics o ...

• CORNEY 8 years ago

Please,you and these mushroom paper don't know what you are talking about,there is no age limit for ministers in any part of the world,those people working with the president are not civil servants to have applied to the so c ...

• Milton 8 years ago

We know you'll even jump of a cliff for that notorious damned criminals (ndc). Your comments are not even worth reading since it's got ndc written all over them.

• NTRA SAKYI 8 years ago

How stupid can you be to bring politics into this. It is because of fools like you that Ghana has made no progress since independence. What has this topic got to do with NPP ?
    If the man has not been able to make it at 65, ...

• Alhassan Walla 8 years ago

Unintelligent and downright anemic argument. What else do you expect from an NDC ignoramus? Gosh, you suck big time!

• Sappey-Agboh, Tsiame-Lagbohkope 8 years ago

How old was Hon J.H Mensah, ex-President Kuffour's in-law when the NPP were in power? How old is your flagbearer? Truth be told, there's no age limit on Consultants because they are not the usual government employees. They a ...

• Omanhene (U$A) 8 years ago

We, as Africans, should think hard and far to do or adjust things to suit us in our quest for political, economic and technological development. We don't have to follow BLINDLY and keep saying that's the way it is or it's in ...

• Hot man 8 years ago

Until the law is changed we must conform. Ghana Export Promotion Authority has a similar issue. Former deputy minister, contract and it has been renewed again. This aint right. Something must give.

• Ibrahim 8 years ago

it's pathetic that the youth are languishing in poverty due to inadequate jobs whiles some of these old folks who created the problem are shamefully at post with the pretext of work experience. The question is, do you get wor ...

• Abrantie 8 years ago

No wonder the muslims youths are now joining ISIS They will come back and slaughter all those idiots in the govt.

• akomfwm Atopa 8 years ago

I wonder if there are 110 Olds in Ghana let alone employed.

• yensiamoa 8 years ago

NDC is milking Ghana dry,with the support of the Ewes, Ga-Adangbes, Krobos, Brongs and Northerners. Most of the beneficiaries come from the North. Mahama is a carbon copy of Dr. Liman. He does not know what he is doing. Very ...

• Azumah Nelson 8 years ago

These old people are experience.The present youth are corrupt, greedy and incompetent,

• Milton 8 years ago

If the older generation were really experienced and highly competent we wouldn't be in this miserable state of confusion. It all boils down to our attitude towards work.

• Yaa 8 years ago

You are stupid Azumah Nelson

• ...N 8 years ago

David Yaro in particular has an impeccable record. Check his track record as administrator in cape Coast.
    Most of these youngsters are just greedy bastards

• Eddy 8 years ago

Such practices must be stopped and my question what has to be done to halt such a practice in the future, we should know that life is cycle and everyone has his time so retired people should give way to the young ones.

• kwaku ba 8 years ago

No Sir,
    There is no age limit on the president appointing anyone. The statement is false.

As for retirement, it is in backward Ghana where people are forced to retire whether they are ready or not. In the advanced countr ...

• Justice and fairness for all 8 years ago

You are right on.

• ...N 8 years ago

Go and ask Greece, their retirement age was about 50 years. What are they experiencing today?

• GENERAL IDI AMIN DADA!!!!! 8 years ago

STUPID FOOLS, SO YOU WANT TO TELL US 65 YEAR OLDS DON'T HAVE FAMILIES TO FEED TOO??? NONSENSE, MOST SENIOR ADVISERS ARE IN THEIR 60S AND ABOVE SO WHAT THE HELL ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT??? WHY DON'T THE YOUTH USE THEIR UNIVERSITY ...

• NTRA SAKYI 8 years ago

You are the stupid fool. What was the person doing until he got to 65? If he has not been able to plan for his future till 65, what can he do after 65 than to look for ways to steal?

• GENERAL IDDI AMIN DADA!!!!!AAAAAAAAAA 8 years ago

STUPID FOOLS, SO YOU WANT TO TELL US 65 YEAR OLDS DON'T HAVE FAMILIES TO FEED TOO???????? NONSENSE, MOST SENIOR ADVISERS ARE IN THEIR 60S AND ABOVE SO WHAT THE HELL ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT??? WHY DON'T THE YOUTH USE THEIR UNIVE ...

• joe navajo 8 years ago

When is the next coup

• Samuel 8 years ago

The prez hire n fire anybody he deems fit. Stop disrespecting the prez as though becos he is a northener you Ashantes are better than him. Also, who are those idiots who think that all northeners are moslems.By the same warp ...

• EasyBudddy 8 years ago

What we are questioning are these
    (1) blatantly flouting the constitution in extending beyond 65
    (2) why these people are all northerners except the Boamah guy, likely to be northern Volta Region, just by looking at the nam ...

• NTRA SAKYI 8 years ago

Because the the president is a northerner when he acts stupidly we should keep quiet. Was he begged to do the job? Whether northerner or southerner his tempt must be within the constitution.

• ... 8 years ago

Where is his own Dr. Raymond Atugubah, f you think only Northerners are at the presidency?

• Nana 8 years ago

And all are northerners. The only Akan name is likely to come from Volta Region. Osarfo Maafo was right after all.

• EasyBudddy 8 years ago

Where are the attack dogs, they will demonize you for stating that all are Northerners except the Boamah guy who is likely to come from Northern Volta Region

Yet, they have the balls to accuse others as tribalists

• Kpolu. 8 years ago

Mr President, how can this country move ahead if you refuse to hire the youth of today that are computer savy and are prepared to compete with the rest of the world.Does your chief of staff understand the meaning of retired?F ...

• Coffie 8 years ago

Hearing all these why d youth wont fly to Iraq. D poor who cant afford three square meal à day is paying for these so called directors. This is nonsensical

• Azure 8 years ago

Are they not the failed generation who collasped every state company and institution in Ghana? And do we still need their services?

• Efo Fiagome 8 years ago

The MD of Produce Buying Agency is 69 years and it still at post because he is an NDC official in his hometown Kade. Maybe he wants to die on the job

• Nii 8 years ago

I wnt to join Isis even though l am a christian bcos of this politricsters.l wnt to wipe them all and their family members

• Aliu 8 years ago

Why Mr. Boama, Milly. Are they 65 years? Your intention has not stopped since the reverse of the back door moves made before Milly's appointment. SAME. God will punish you or your children.

• Akora Sark 8 years ago

Look at all these retired servicemen in the leadership of NDC Government? How can Ghana progress?

All these people with bankrupt of ideas, and after long years in the government service and, out of fashion and time-out id ...

• Clearance Seedorf 8 years ago

Lunatics NDC staffers. Graduates are at home joblessness and look at how these morons are managing the economy....mmoa ne agyimefoo.

• Ann 8 years ago

this age discrimination must stop

• Paa Joe 8 years ago

IT IS STILL A PITY, WE DO NOT KNOW WHERE WE ARE AND WHERE WE ARE GOING IN THE 21st CENTURY.

WHAT DID THESE 65 YEARS OLD FORMER CIVIL SERVANTS DO FOR THE NATION IN THEIR TIME OF SERVICE.

NOTHING BUT NOTHING.

WHY ENGAG ...

• please 8 years ago

IT IS IN ALL THE SO CALLED KEY OR STARTEGIC MINISTRIES OPEN YOUR EYES AND LIST ALL OF THEM NAME AND SHAME THEM ALL IF YOU DO NOT MENTION ALL THE OTHERS WOULD THINK THEY ARE NOT INCLUDED

• Jojo 8 years ago

IT IS STILL A PITY, WE ARE STILL OUT OF TOUCH WITH REALITY.

WERE THESE MEN ANS WOMEN WHO HAVE BEEN APPOINTED TO POSITIONS AGAIN IN THE GOVERNMENT, NOT THE VERY FOLKS THAT FAILED TO BRING ECONOMIC AND SOCIAL DEVELOPMENT IN ...

• Manuka Gokli..Adedome VR 8 years ago

Our Muslim brothers are not helping.Visit any Muslim home or rent a house from a Muslim.They are thinking of converting you.Listern to their preachers they are always critical of Christianity.Same parents were demonstrating a ...

• Boateng 8 years ago

The least said about the extension of contract the better. Enter the Ghana police service and you will a lot of them ALL northerners starting from the IGP.Any other tribe, as son as your are due, you are pushed out of the ser ...

• Degor 8 years ago

By the time they realize all the youth have joined the Isis

• David 8 years ago

What is the retiring age in the US? .
    Dirty politics as usual! .
    Kuffour has told you,if the youth needs money,let them go into galamsey!

• Kwamina Kwabina 8 years ago

Is the President of Ghana not aware of all these developments. What is being written about his administration. The so called create , loot and share. And why not the media put that question to the President at his news confer ...

• toner refill 8 years ago

Quality toner and ink refill at Abeka-Fadama.
    We also service Office equipments like Photocopy Machines and printers.
    Loc: Abeka on the New-Fadama road near Asare Original Pay All.
    Call: 0244523451

• torgbui Ganyaglo 8 years ago

Thank you so much for informations like this, this are the kind of work and alerts we need to use our time for to help move our country foreword, there's no one anywhere can help build this country, we are the right people t ...

• Justice and fairness for all 8 years ago

Don't promote age discrimination in Ghana. The constitution must be revised to get rid of this backward restriction on those above 60,65 etc.
    Competence and the ability to perform must be the criteria for public service. Do ...

• kwaku 8 years ago

you see, ghana. why won't our youth join the ISIS, for employment .this is just the beginning, soon most of us will be joining such groups for daily bread. GHANAFO EBRE. giving contract to old age while the youth are there.

• Felix K. Sanakey 8 years ago

It's because of current labor unrest situation in the Civil Service that has push the Presidency stands on this so that these experience retired Officers will not push their subordinate against the Government for salary incre ...

• kwabena 8 years ago

The over 65s being kept in posts is not because they are indispensable, it is simply because of corruption. Part of their pay go to those employing them. This is why we would never develop.

• Kofi Mossey 8 years ago

At long last somebody has found the balls to open the can of worms in MoFA. It does not appeal to common sense to do away with over 5 hundred years of experience just to get staff for MMDAs Depth of Agric. It is important the ...

• BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, ESQ. 8 years ago

DEAR H.E.PRESIDENT OF GHANA DR.JOHN DRAMANI MAHAMA & HON.CHIEF OF STAFF JULIUS DEBRAH,

IT IS A TRITE KNOWLEDGE THAT THE PRESIDENT OF GHANA IS ALWAYS REFERRED TO SECRETLY AS "OLD MAN" AND THAT THE "OLD MAN" REALLY NEEDS A T ...

• Dan Kosowah 8 years ago

Nana Addo is 74 years old and wants to be the President. Maybe he wants a state funeral.

• Kasapreko Kwabena Kyei. 8 years ago

This is pure nepotism. All such retirees should be fired !!! What is the government doing ?

• Machine 8 years ago

Thanks for your concern but what is the way forward or your recommendation