You are here: HomeNews2015 08 23Article 377061

EC must do what is right to restore credibility - Wontumi

Read Comments Comments (92)

• Kate 8 years ago

Name: BOY KOFI....With permission...

NPP is increasingly becoming an extreme right party with anti foreigners antics.When you go to Europe,only extreme right parties use this ugly tactics as campaign strategy.Thank you.

• Kujo 8 years ago

Foolish galamsey man...nation wreckers NPP.

• vigour 8 years ago

This Wontrumi guy thinks he has a balls to talk to everyone. NDC will get at least 40% of the votes in Kumasi and you know NPP is done.

• eva 8 years ago

aboa ba may be ur foolish fada will vote for ur foolish prez

• Ato Kwamena 8 years ago

Why the insults?

• DR TRUTH 8 years ago

THIS MAN'S STYLE IS REMINISCENCE OF LEGENDARY BLACK SLAVERY LIBERATOR MARCUS GAVEY.. FEARLESS, BOLD, SMART, RELENTLESS, AMBITIOUS, STRAIGHTFORWARD, STRONG, TACTICAL, HONEST AND ABOVE ALL LOVE FOR HIS PEOPLE AND COUNTRY

• Mahmoud 8 years ago

Mr.Wontumi, could you still remember that the P/NDC party with the endorsement of former EC boss used fake indelible ink for elections in 1992 and 1996, which was part of the rigging mechanism for stealing verdicts until prop ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 8 years ago

The 40% increment represents imaginative aliens manufactured in the kitchen of Akufo Addict, presented to dazzle unsuspected few. Now, get this, Kukurudu folks, the 11th of August 1962 chapters of Kulungugu is well read and v ...

• BOY KOFI 8 years ago

You are welcome,Kate.

• The African Patriot 8 years ago

How did you go to where you live today and why? I dont see anything bad if ones concentration is on Ghanaians first. Npp is doing the right thing. We need to secure our nationals first. To go to some ones country because of m ...

• Kate 8 years ago

Tnx African Patriot, I do not think my membership of any Party matters here ..... BTW, I agree with you that there are requirements for one to be able to vote in the host country .... You should also bear in mind the principl ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 8 years ago

Hmm! I did not know NDC had a separate constitution out there that supersede that of Ghana. Now, could you please do us a favour by enlightening us as to whose jurisdiction elections are arranged and conducted in Ghana? It's ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 8 years ago

To the great people of Volta Region, don't throw your Vote to those who wanted to exterminate you and erase you from the Ghana Map . Do not give your Vote to a party who calls you names. A VOTE for Nana Binaddo and his Ashant ...

• My Opinon 8 years ago

No brain Kate, you comparing Ghana to Europe in Electoral process? What happened to your brain?

• Kate 8 years ago

Sir/Madam ...... be a bit civil ..... Let's elevate the discourse ....as stated my fear is NPP alienating potential voters as elections are about your campaign message and numbers....I believe we need a very credible register ...

• Guv 8 years ago

Npp are a disgrace.

• Mahmoud 8 years ago

I thought Mr. Yaboa was going to say something sensible to deepen our democracy rather than engage in Mr. Mosquito's type of myopic street talk to blindfold Ghanaians. What we demand is the closure of all loopholes in our ele ...

• Wuntumi Jr. 8 years ago

NPP must shut up and clean their house well before the Dday, Wuntumi dont have the power to command the EC to do what they want,

• Kobby 8 years ago

This first step for a credible register is to be civil to each other.the second is to be God fearing and lastly to be truthful. Looking in the political mirror and see if we have any of these. During elections there is the is ...

• Dzigaman 8 years ago

Even if what they are stating is true , have they bothered to check if those so called 76000 people have dual nationalities?
    '' Having a big chair does not make one a king''.

• mawriz 8 years ago

This stand where the right only satisfies you will not wash. We can't just do something because you want it done and because you your stand is the right decision.

• Oburonewewu. 8 years ago

NPP is still using old-school politics.
    Any time they think they are going to lose an election, they try to create an element of doubt amongst voters.
    I feel sorry for Bawumia who is like a donkey and is always doing Akuffo ...

• DC United 8 years ago

The NPP seems to think their Ugly,short,red-eyed pigmy race is superior to any other tribe in Ghana. They only go to the other tribes when they want to have beautiful children and not ugly ones like themselves.
    Those ugly,re ...

• Mahmoud 8 years ago

"One cannot credibly explain for example how increases in the voter's register of magnitudes exceeding 40% can take place. Where did the people come from?” “...quite a large number of the constituencies with unusual incre ...

• Bobby,Denmark 8 years ago

Ec boss must try to convince Ghanaians by bringing in a new voters register.Under normal circumstances,she should have been the first person to talk about the new register because the old register is there since 92.Afari Gyan ...

• Bribehene WeeAddo 8 years ago

You are useless like your so called infantile economics. New register was used for 2012 elections. You must also know that your useless economics fish similar names which are not even the same. How can you expect people that ...

• Trotro 8 years ago

I am surprise that anytime election doesn't go well for NPP, the first thing they will talk about is the voters register. I saw the pictures of the so called TOGO voters ID on the net and they don't have names, nothing than a ...

• Oburonewewu. 8 years ago

If you say the same register has been used since 1992,the NPP has won elections with that same register twice at least so why complain now.

• Bobby, Denmark 8 years ago

Yes Npp won with it,so we need a new voters register.What's the problem?

• dan 8 years ago

I am a Ghanaian and a British citizen. I am on British voters register and I have right to vote in UK. The same time I have registered in Ghana and my name is on Ghana voters register. It is my right to vote both in UK and ...

Yes,but you are not the only person who vote in Europe and Ghana at the same time.The point is,that system is not in West Africa.How can someone's name appears in both countries?Do we have such agreement?Do think Bawumia and ...

This is the allegations from your Bawumia and has not been proved to be the case. What about if all these turns out to be wild goose chase, which it is.

• My Opinon 8 years ago

Dan you sound like your brain is not wrapped up tight enough. First of all, how the hell would you compare the British Immigration and Electoral system to that of Ghana? Do you think it's impossible for anyone to walk across ...

• DR TRUTH 8 years ago

BRITISH LAWS ALLOWS COMMONWEALTH CITIZENS WHO ARE RESIDENT IN UK TO VOTE. THE REASON BEING THIER HISTORICAL ALLEGIANCE. CAN WE SAY THE SAME OF FRANCOPHONE TOGOLESE WHO WANTED TO TAKE VOLTA REGION FROM GHANA? EVEN SECURITY INT ...

• DR TRUTH 8 years ago

YOU HAVE TO BE A GHANAIAN CITIZEN AND A RESIDENT OF A CONSTITUENCY BEFORE YOU CAN REGISTER IN A CONSTITUENCY. STILL EC HAS FAILED TO IMPLEMENT THE CASE OF GHANAIN RESIDENT ABROAD WHO WILL BE GIVEN THE RIGHT TO VOTE AFTER REGI ...

• Mahmoud 8 years ago

Mr. Mahama should've waited for the Supreme Court ruling on the matter before appointing the lady, and there was no need for him to rush in order to jump the gun. We believe that he panicked because there is a real possibilit ...

• Mahmoud 8 years ago

Appointment of the Judiciary is similar to that of the EC chairperson. The constitution does not give the president authority over the selection of this class of people in the system because; they are expected to be independe ...

• Asass 8 years ago

if the want to shift blame after 2016 then why not support the new register so that they cannot shift their blame after what doe the NDC loss if the prepare a new register

• Kpanla 8 years ago

IDIOT,IS IT BY DOING WHAT YOU WANT THAT IS CREDIBILITY?STUPID ILLITERATE.AMATURE POLITICIAN!!FUCKING BOY.SLOW MENTALITY.

• bigbrosam 8 years ago

Afari Gyan and his TEAM WILL HEAR FROM GHANAIANS IN APPROPRATE TIME FOR THE GOOD WORK DONE,ALL THOSE WORKING HARD TO PROTECT CRIMINALITY MUST ALSO WORK HARDER.TIME WILL TELL.THEIR AIM TO CORRUPT GHANAIANS DATA BASE,STATICT

• Captein 8 years ago

These NPP guys I have said many times over that they are criminals in disguise possibily setting the stage for terrorism in the country.

At every stage of Ghana's development these affiliates and antecedents of this party ...

• BOY KOFI 8 years ago

As for now,we can hardly say who is a Ghanaian.If you go to our villages,majority of them don't have any form of identification at all.The only way they can identify themselves is by speaking local dialect and by their local ...

• crasy slobi dec aba 8 years ago

The E C. Has no option but to throe aeay the West Africa votets register as soon ad posdible, there no way Ghanaian will allow thid bloated register to be used in next rlection. No way it is better they start early. What wae ...

• JC 8 years ago

We must look for those who smuggled the foreign NAMES into our electoral register and prosecute them. It amounts to treason!!! So Akuffo-Addo should not take it lightly.

• Terkpenor 8 years ago

B4 DRAMANI MAHAMA APPOINTED THE LADY,HE CALLED HER AND MET WITH HER AND ASIEDU NKETIA,ANYIDOHU,ANITA DU SOOSO AND SOME NDC DEVILS,SO THERE IS NO WAY THE WOMAN DRESSED IN HER GRANDMOTHERS 'JOLOMI'WILL DO ANYTHING SENCIBLE.
    SH ...

• JC 8 years ago

We will not allow a FAKE Register to be used to give us a any useless individual as President again!

• Kingsley 8 years ago

How can you in the minority say you will not allow? Please stop this your nonsense and get prepared for a shocker. President MAHAMA is winning again in 2016.

• BOY KOFI 8 years ago

Any political party that uses anti foreigner campaign strategy belongs to the extreme right.This is becoming the bench mark of NPP.They believe that anybody who doesn't support NPP is a foreigner and should be sent out of the ...

• Atta David 8 years ago

I think NPP is doing the thing.NPP is doing this so as to prevent the country from spending huge sum of money solving court cases

• Samuel okrah 8 years ago

Wise party speak but foolish party against it wutumi attack then n d c thieves .n d c your a action time is coming akorofoo party

• Terkpenor 8 years ago

DRAMANI MAHAMA AND THE NDC DID NOT WIN ANY ELECTION IN THE PAST PERIOD,THE GUY USED RITUALS,FROM THE NORTH AND SOME FROM THE 'AYIGBE'.....THE BURING OF LIFE CATTLE AND HUMAN BLOOD,.....NOW YOU WATCHOUT IT HAS JUST BEGIN,THE O ...

That's why they have blotted it to favour your party.A new and clean one is needed and now!

• Forson 8 years ago

Its seems there is no single human being with conscience in the npp tribalistic group. What are these people trying to introduce into Ghana politics that anytime they lose elections, the system is the cause? If Akufo Addo and ...

• ManBlhomme 8 years ago

Expensive though this exercise may be, let the EC go ahead to do so to prevent any loss of life in future ,after all, credibility should be the guarantor of democracy. It is not going to benefit only one party but rather will ...

• THE ETERNAL PRINCE 8 years ago

ACCORDING TO NPP THEY WON THE 2012 ELECTIONS. ALMOST ALL THEIR SUPPORTERS HAVE BEEN MADE TO BELIEVE THIS. WHY SHOULD THEY ASK FOR A NEW REGISTER WHEN THE CURRENT ONE GAVE THEM VICTORY? THE NPP LEADERSHIP MUST ADMIT THEY LOST ...

• Victor A. Young 8 years ago

Mrs. Charlotte Osei is confused! She's pretending to be so independent but it's a lie; she being pressured by John Mahama and the NDC to reject calls by NPP and other political parties to compile a new voters register. The ND ...

• Kodwo 8 years ago

Is NPP's wishes the RIGHT thing? are our parties going to dictate to the EC NOW?

• a.k, amsterdam 8 years ago

The EC must not allow any burden on her head. NPP backed their petition with evidence so the EC only have to cross check the NPP evidence and if found to be true then the right thing need to be done.

• Steve 8 years ago

a new EC boss a new register,she should take off on good note,a new database is
    needed to enhance our democracy

• Ugly akufo addo 8 years ago

If nt npp who need this idiot for a leader

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

All Ashanti shit on you. Shit bag.

Once we have seen that it's some party's headache to hear new voters register, ha,we will continue to hit it hard!We've got remedy to their thievery weapon.Mooore bullets!!New voters register now!!!

• Nii Lartey Nartey. 8 years ago

I honestly believe the NPP has a case demanding answers from the EC but asking for new register book is asking for too much in terms of time, material, human and finance resource for a new register.

I think what is necessa ...

• Adele P 8 years ago

Well spoken. How does a particular party win elections all the time.? Thanks

• snowy 8 years ago

Would it be better for our nation to be at peace with it's self after a credible election or,have mayhem ruling on are streets.This is a choice the whole of Ghana will have to make,where on earth does any nation allow aliens ...

• eva 8 years ago

what has the foolish ndc sup. have to hide. change the reg else we shall occupy the ec

• Kojo kojo uk 8 years ago

Disgrace ndc wanna rig again in the coming 2016 election,that is why stupid,ugly,insane,lunatic asiedu nkatia jabbering about new voter register.he deserved be in a bush,the reason being is ,all the parties are demanding a ne ...

• eva 8 years ago

beware of mahama. mahama kills

• Kwasi Agyei 8 years ago

The EC is made up of 7 commissioners who take collective decisions. Mrs Osei alone cannot decide for the EC as has always been the case. Let the parties present their cases on this issue. The EC will engage civil society afte ...

• abakah 8 years ago

Did he make this suggestion in English?

• Coolio. 8 years ago

Who is this power drunk wuntumi 'kuraa'? Pls leave the EC alone. 'Wai'

• BOY KOFI 8 years ago

I can't believe that a formidable party like NPP with all their best brains can't find a way to launch an effective campaign strategy.What a li ban ba ye when two 7 crash?Thank you.

• Kodjo 8 years ago

NPP must stop trying to bully Mrs Osei.

• AYB 8 years ago

WELL DONE CHAIRMAN WONTUMI AND TELL THEM ON THEIR FACE.
    THIEVES NDC STEALERS

• NANA USA 8 years ago

Who will bear the cost you foolish wutumi or me so if npp had won the election would you bawumia and wotumi have said it was bloated if you can't carry your load never day blame your pad

• Maame Abena 8 years ago

As a the NPP's Dr Bawumia has proved that the current Register is faulty, and we have a new EC chair, she must do things right and anew. It will be good for Ghana and it will be good for her credibility. She should not appear ...

• Akyemafia 8 years ago

Was he not the same Bawumia who made the presentation before the supreme court? When he came before the judges didn't he say "you and I were not there? " Now was he there when those people were being registered? After all, Gh ...

• Akyemafia 8 years ago

This wotumi man the as Ashanti regional NPP wants to be a "Akrasi Tarman" twee aa 1, twee as aa 2. Look here man, you can't do fookoo. Nonsense. I think he must be sent to Liberia and Ruwanda to learn some sense so that he s ...

• Mr Shortman 8 years ago

Stupid man.Tindana is calling you to come back to Talensi for more juju. That one will help you. You have failed this one.

• ITHANKGOD 8 years ago

I thank my creator for who I am but I still pray for the majority illiterates in my motherland for not reasoning that their future is gone and life expectancy is below 50years and still blind folded by tribal politics. I reck ...

• kinpi 8 years ago

Luck of knowledge, idiot, juju man, go to hell, what do you know about elections, bush rat

• LK 8 years ago

WHAT IS RIGHT FOR YOU IS EC SHOULD FOLLOW WHAT EVER NPP IS SAYING THAT IS YOU, YOUR RIGHT AND IS SOMEDOBYs WRONG. PERIOD FOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL WONTUMI

• john mahama 8 years ago

we are watching so closely all events in the country.

• Yahaya 8 years ago

Even if npp should produce a voter register for Ghana,the elections will still be won by John Mahama and the ndc. So Wontumi give us a break for now.

• Adele P 8 years ago

I guess you can read the minds of the voters one year ahead. These talks drive suspicions and illegitimacy. You will have no choice but to accept the contrary, unless you commit suicide

• Adele P 8 years ago

We have a new EC and it would serve the country well to start with a clean voters register to confirm her neutrality. May the best party win and that is what we care for. If the parties have nothing to fear or hide then this ...

I hope this does not include creating avenue for the NPP to bring on board minors to inflate the register.

• mawriz 8 years ago

Die because you won't get it

• Kofi, USA 8 years ago

FOOLISH BOY ARROGANT AGAIN,

• Kodjo 8 years ago

You still haven't come to terms with why you LOST the 2012 elections and you are still singing the same old "we were cheated" tune. Carry on this stupid road and watch the NDC win the next election again. We (NPP) should real ...

• Galbose 8 years ago

If u want boko haram here in Ghana, then rig de election for de dead goat.we are watching the ec.change de register and start a level playing field for all de parties.The Ghana boko haram is ready to move anytime soon. Ec and ...

• Nokware_ Asa 8 years ago

Will now want the EC to him get his party out of theby jam he foolishly and recklessly put it in the Ashanti Region, by demanding that EC Officials register minors who already had their names on the voters roll. Now that thi ...