You are here: HomeNews2015 08 16Article 375442

Graduate joblessness to hit 271,000

Read Comments Comments (53)

• Sankofa 8 years ago

What is the source of the jobless graduate figures?

The is yet to be a definitive Labour survey in our country.

• Raila Odinga 8 years ago

What good does it make to produce all these graduates when there are no jobs for them? What you have is a glut of enormous proportions.Waste of time, money and human resources.

The country needs more trained personnel in t ...

• Arthur 8 years ago

"In abundance of water the foolish man must be thirst" -Bukom Banku. He should talk to Otabil. He is very good. He can solve the problem in the shortest possible time.

• Mingle 8 years ago

Wheb will all our sorrows end as a nation. Being torn apart bty politicians.

• African Eagle 8 years ago

WHERE IS THE MONEY TO CREAT JOBS FOR OUR CHILDREN WHEN YOUR SOLD EVERYTHING. WHAT IS THERE FOR YOU TO SELL TO CREAT JOBS? WHAT IS LEFT IN GHANA FOR YOU GUYS TO SELL? FEW PEOPLE WITH THE MONEY AND THE REST WITH NOTHING...

• Azumah Nelson 8 years ago

Send them to farms, The Factories and elsewhere.

• MTN 8 years ago

the unemployment problem is not academic curriculum but lack of job creation. in Ghana everyone is on the government to create job, the private sector is not helping. the universities should create jobs for the graduates.

• Inusah 8 years ago

But, bad government is also a contributory factor.

• ojam 8 years ago

Stop the blame. Everybody wants to work in the office...

• HAZOR 8 years ago

And our useless parliamentarians approve unnecessary GHC25 billion borrowing to settle debt that we tax payers did not benefit from.Our parliament should sit up and learn a lesson from Somalia parliament voting to ousted it c ...

• mawriz 8 years ago

We should learn from Somalia?? Are you alright?

• MR TRUTH 8 years ago

WE ARE PRODUCING UNEMPLOYABLE GRADUATES. SO WHAT DO WE EXPECT? OUR KIDS ARE FAILING MATHS AND SCIENCE IN RECORD NUMBERS. EVEN KNUST IS PRODUCING POLITICAL SCIENCE GRADUATES. WHAT IS THE POINT IN HAVING A TECHNOLOGY UNIVERSITY ...

• kwasi agyemang 8 years ago

What does shameless prof Yankah expect when he heads a university that keeps on churning UNEMPLOYABLE graduates. Oh Ghana Habba!!

• nana 8 years ago

What have you done since you graduated from your tertiary institution,this is a national issue and I think it must be worked on together,in case if you are a graduate from a tertiary institution,shame on you

• Graduate 8 years ago

The truth of the matter is population growth exceeds economic growth. S long as this disparity exists, so long will resources for the country be stretched.
    The second critical thing is there are too many me too university g ...

• Ali mamud 8 years ago

Eye asem ooo oman gha

• Nana Adwoa New York City 8 years ago

Rails this can only be done when we stop giving birth period but trust me this elibacy will not solve the problem. There is always a demand for a product and in the case of Ghana issue take off time and visit www.cepa.org.gh ...

• GHANANI 8 years ago

The private universities have become avenues of job creation for retired university leturers who are only interested in their wages and not the job prospects of the graduates their universities churn out.What is the rationale ...

• mawriz 8 years ago

It's good they are educated.let's talk about solving unemployment.

• Naaba kugri 8 years ago

Talk talk without any improvement

• socrates 8 years ago

You promised to offer something different from the traditional universities, what happened to that?

• 4KinPRIVATE VARSITIES 8 years ago

STUPID PRIVATE UNIVERSITIES WITH THE EXCEPTION OF ONLY ASHESI UNIVERSITY BARE RESPONSIBLE FOR FLOODING THE JOB MARKET WITH THEIR SO CALLED GRADUATES.HAHAHA GRADUATE MY FOOT. IN GHANA WE HAVE A VERY VERY SERIOUS PROBLEM, THIS ...

• nana 8 years ago

Aabaaa speak like a matured person

• Sam 8 years ago

Health issue and opportunity
    Get approved quality health product and prevent yourself from the following chronic sicknesses and disease

Are you suffering from Cancer? prostrate and breast cancer, skin cancer, cancer in ...

• eva 8 years ago

ndc is a curse.ndc is evilllll. mahama yyyyy

• DR. KOFI MENSAH - GERMANY . 8 years ago

GHANAIANS ARE SO STUPID, THEY KEEP PRODUCING USELESS GRADUATES THEY DONT EVEN NEED, AND LOTS OF PASTORS AND PREACHERS, AND WASTE THEIR TIME AND DAYS PREACHING NONSENSE PREACHES DAY IN AND DAY OUT . THIS COUNTRY AND THEIR PO ...

• Asempa 8 years ago

Professor, have you considered the attitude of your so-called Ghanaian graduate? They all want jobs in SSNIT, Banks and white colo offices. None wants to get their hands dirty working in farms, poultry or even gas stations. W ...

• Loway 8 years ago

They went to school to learn,they should use the knowledge to be self employed ,After the age of Sixteen, you have basic Education,be creative.they should be out of the house by Eighteen or contribute to the welfare of the ho ...

• Raphael G kankani 8 years ago

The gov't must create employment opportunties for the unemployed graduates in the country and also the graduat should stop dependind on white collar jobs which seem not to exist.

• George Nutsugah 8 years ago

We have been colonized again by IMF. Their instructions include a freeze on employment by government

• BAWA NAVRONGO 8 years ago

I have the solution. government should make a law for every church, private schools, all universities, all industries to acquired 20acres each of any farm of their choice as license to operate in Ghana. and I swear God by 5ye ...

• Ernest Onyameamah 8 years ago

The graduate unemployement menace is an issue which ought to be tackled holistically. Its not only the fault of academia, the industries itself doesnt exist. Besides tertiary education especially University is not meant to tr ...

• Siburuku Tifalo 8 years ago

WHat are they now talking here,Lets, lets,..& lets bcos is hitting 300k? This is even only one side of the story,how about those from POLY-Techs & SHS who couldn't make to high level across board? our FOUNDATION has been wro ...

• witch hunter 8 years ago

If so what is the point of so many universities both private and government owned in the country?is it wealthy

• observer 8 years ago

Mass producing of Liberal Arts and Humanities Graduates will lead to massive unemployment. Every private university offers Business courses, with Marketing and HR topping the list of preferred courses.
    Technical education an ...

• charity 8 years ago

the current situation for unemployed nurses now is random posting oh Ghana how come some are employed and some should wait till next year

• john mahama 8 years ago

as more graduates come the joblessness will hit more than 271,000 foolish president. some-sex marriage is he solution to problem.

• AmaGhaddafi 8 years ago

71K INCREASE IN JOBLESS GRADUATES NO WAHALA. YOU'LL START SEEING A SPIKE IN CRIME PARTICULARLY ARMED ROBBERY

• OSAMAN BIN KARIM 8 years ago

ACADEMIA IS REDUCED TO NOISE-MAKING. PROF. YANKAH IS INVITING OTHERS TO CHANGE CURRICULUM ,ETC TO MAKE GRADUATES EMPLOYABLE. AS PRESIDENT OF A UNIVERSITY WHO IS BETTER PLACED THAN HE, TO INITIATE CHANGE? HE CAN RUN A MODEL C ...

• john mahama 8 years ago

these graduates can go into farming it pays a lot. no need to sit down there crying I have job when farming is there.

• Yaw 8 years ago

Now even PhD graduates are even struggling to find their feet on the job market. The truth is that the economy is not expanding at the rate at which graduates enter the system. The issue with quality of graduates in my opinio ...

• Tekonline.org 8 years ago

The question remains: how can these 271,000 graduates be employed?

Certainly, it cannot be just the curriculum. Would one say there are 200,000 openings but those institutions cannot find the 200,000 qualified applicants b ...

• nana 8 years ago

Those blaming the private universities are very very dumb,if you attended a public university and you are still unemployed you should know that you're not good enough and stop putting the blame on the private university becau ...

• coolmann 8 years ago

wrong education

• coolmann 8 years ago

take a good subject,always desame subject,white collar subject,everybody want to be in office,.nonesence

• JATO KWASHIVI RAWLINGS 8 years ago

THIS IS THE RESULT OF THE LONG, WASTED 27 YEARS OF NDC RULE IN GHANA. ANYTIME NDC RULES, THE NATION GOES INTO THE ABYSS, BECAUSE THE NDC CREATES, LOOTS AND SHARES THE NATION'S FINANCIAL RESOURCES. VOTE THESE NDC THIEVES OUT I ...

• SayItLoud! 8 years ago

Update curriculum to reflect modern trend.All final year projects should be geared towards self employment, consultancy, job procurement and self sustainability. ... this will redefine the mind of graduates to go out there ...

• Kk 8 years ago

Fuck fuck fuck school ......

• Kk 8 years ago