You are here: HomeNews2015 08 16Article 375437

Kofi Annan, wife visit potato field in north

Read Comments Comments (39)

• Adane usau 8 years ago

Help from u and other leaders is long overdue.please, contribute in real problems facing the country.corruption, voters register etc

• Obed Adore 8 years ago

Voters register is not an issue. Those thought to have been registered "under-aged" years ago have now grown up to be of the voting age.. So, what is there to clean now?

• Obosomanketre Nam Brebre 8 years ago

WHAT ABOUT THOSE WHO WERE UNDER AGE SO LAWFULLY DID NOT REGISTER BUT ARE OF AGE NOW???? Do we punish them and deny them voting for being lawful???

• TWENEBOAH 8 years ago

THE FACT THAT KOFI ANNAN DOESN'T COME SCREAMING AND BRAGGING ABOUT EVERYTHING HE DOES FOR THE COUNTRY DOESN'T MEAN HE HASN'T DONE ANYTHING.IF YOU WERE A THINKING PERSON YOU WOULD KNOW THAT HIS PRESENCE HERE ALONG LEND GHANA A ...

• Emperor 8 years ago

that man has never done anything meaningful for Ghana,with that so call school name after him about security we still have armed robbers roaming the country like Afgahnistan

• me love ghana 8 years ago

next time, please bring her picture, not his

• fear woman 8 years ago

francisca Abaah perform well in the ceremony thanks to u all

• Stupidity Is The Game 8 years ago

Stupidity.. Even Sweet Potatoes we can't manage its cultivation...
    Unbelievable

• CORNEY 8 years ago

Ghana has been planting sweet potatoes for decades mostly in the Akatsi area of the Volta region which is boiled and consume like yam largely without stew because of its sweetness and also fried which they call koliko,in Anlo ...

• ELINAM 8 years ago

This Kofi Annan guy is an anti African coon and that's why the Americans tapped him to replace Boutrose Botrose Ghali who had refused to do American bidding and resigned.
    Annan's Switzerland native wife is from a country th ...

• Kwabena Gyamfi 8 years ago

How can you say something like that, Eliman?
    Present ur evidence. Not based on someone's documentary. That is not smart sir.

• Martin 8 years ago

Your ranting against Kofi Annan and his Swiss wife is misplaced. You should rather direct your anger at your corrupt, stealing and dishonest politicians who deposit their stolen loot in Switzerland to take advantage of the co ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 8 years ago

CORNEY it is how you use it. We have to try different ways of using this good food. Find new ways of using sweet potatoes.

We have to go with open mind.
    Just try potato mix.

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

YOU CAN E MAIL ME AND I WILL GIVE YOU THE RECIPE FOR THE SWEET POTATO PIE.
    THE ORANGE SWEET POTATO IS GROWN IN THE BUNGALOWS AT TAKORADI BY THE HOUSE BOYS AND SOLD TO THE WHITE MEN.
    WHEN THE WHITE MEN STARTED LEAVING GHANA ...

Thank you for your offer. I eat sweet potatoes a lot. I plant them annually in my garden.

I just love sweet potato frie. Been trying to get sponsors for my sweet potato fries franchise.
    Get in torch if interested.
    ampa ...

SWEET POTATO WAS SOLD TO THE WHITE MEN IN THE 1960 IN TAKORADI BEACH ROAD AREA.
    ITS A NATIVE CROP OF GHANA BEFORE IT WAS INTRODUCED TO THE AMERICAS.

• Kwasi Asante Providence, R.I. 8 years ago

Corney,
    You may have a point but if admittedly sweet potato plantation is new in the Northern part of Ghana, then I think they have a good reason to the statement.
    More so, sweet potato could be common in Volta region, yet ...

• Jon Allotei 8 years ago

I concur with you but what most are missing is that the Agents of Monsanto - Master GMO company is bringing the Monsanto version whereby we would have to pay for the planting materials every year.

SWEET POTATOE PIE IS VERY DELICIOUS.
    ANY BODY WHO IS INTERESTED IN THE RECIPIE SHOULD E MAIL ME AT
    PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM

• Ot 8 years ago

Long awaited.

• Dan Kosowah 8 years ago

Princewilly, knowing you, it may be a funny sweet potato pie. Ha ha ha

• Nana 8 years ago

@princewilly
    Why don't you just post the recipe here - it may surprise you how may people will try it out.

• Constable Joy 8 years ago

NOT FREEBIES; FOR POLITICO-COMMERCIAL REASONS.

• Siedu 8 years ago

After all the good talks, NDC funny names appeared again. Alhaji issah, alhassan, fuseini etc.. You try to do good and this ignorant funny people holds you in the reverse gear

• john mahama 8 years ago

t is good for theam

• HAHAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA 8 years ago

No GMOs, please............ HEHEHEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

It is rather unfortunate that many Ghanaians don't know much about the nutritional value of sweet potatoes. Let's try sweet potato fufu, ken key, kokonte, & akpleh

• Zip-Up 8 years ago

Yes it is a good ideal if we can obtain vitamins from natural food stuff such as sweet potatoes but research shows that too much of Vitamin A. stands the risk Osteoporosis

• KING LOMOTEY 8 years ago

Nutritionally, sweet potatoes are basically good to eat. We should eat more not less.

Don't scare people from eating sweet potatoes. What causes osteoporosis(thinning of bones) can be traced to lack of calcium, lack of vit ...

• KB 8 years ago

Farming is 10 times better than galamsey. Let's enhance it as it done in Acheampong regime.Not cashew,shea butter, cocoa etc. If Government of Ghana don't abolish galamsey and encouraging far for youth, the whole nation would ...

• Ekow Samuel. 8 years ago

That is very good and it will let the people have work to do in the area,very good Papa Annan and you family Nyankopong nhyira hom and OMAN GAHAN.

Kofi Annan and his wife were working in their garden one day when Kofi looks over at his wife and says: "Your butt is getting really big, I mean really big! I bet your butt is bigger than the barbecue."

With that he procee ...

• Ot 8 years ago

Now that's PrinceWilly

• Tamaren 8 years ago

These are some of the initiatives we need in Ghana we need to continue to think out of the box.If this sweet potato project succeeds the brand of potato in Ghana should be named after the Annan family it should be called Anna ...

• JANE 8 years ago

GREAT. SWEET POTATOES VERY NUTRITIOUS

• Nana Oben 8 years ago

Hon. Kofi Annan has unwittingly signed unto Bill Gates's GMO sustainability in Africa. I hope this is NOT from the same GMO laboratories, with funding from Monsanto, Sygenta, etc. Our so-called scientists say "YES" to any whi ...

• OSAMAN BIN KARIM 8 years ago

OF COURSE HE WILL VISIT POTATO FARM. HAS HE NOT FORGOTTEN HOW TO EAT YAM?

• Ghanaman THE REAL 8 years ago

Oh Ghanaweb, please start using relevant photos to illustrate your reports so you don't have to write all this useless prose which is tedious to read anyway!

• BYE BY BUY.Toronto,Canada 8 years ago

NO WAY