You are here: HomeNews2015 08 03Article 372742

Hawkers invade Flagstaff House

Read Comments Comments (34)

• Nima Boy 8 years ago

No employment we always import to see so where will they sell when there is no industries?

• HUMANISM 8 years ago

OCCUPY FLASTAFF HOUSE. TAKE GOVT. TO TASK ..... NOW THAT U HAVE REALISED UR LIFE IS AT STAKE.

DID U NOT KNOW THIS FACT B4 FOR ALL THIS PERIOD OF BAD GOVERNANCE ?

• John,Tema 8 years ago

If only they had listened to expects,I agree that we can't blame only NDC but they've us for 26yrs out of 58yrs.The hawkers shd be courageous enter Flag Staff Hse to dine with JDM

• Dessie 8 years ago

the city officials are of the fact that if they act:they may loose their seat on their party affiliation and as such neglected or blindfolded as if they haven'n seen these street hawking situation:what bothers me though,the c ...

• CORNEY 8 years ago

Is it only the city officials,the entire government including the president all see them everyday but nobody cares.
    These people are all over the place,on every major street in Accra making driving very dangerous and they th ...

• Joe Jurkey 8 years ago

The policemen and soldiers on duty of this stretch of road, and like on any other road, are the customers of the hawkers. I have seen duty policemen and soldiers buying "units" from these hawkers even when they are on duty.

• Pelicles 8 years ago

I do not blame the hawkers. They have to survive as humans at all cost. I have been saying that till our leaders open the rural areas to keep people in their localities, urban migration will never stop.

Yaa Mansa said th ...

• United Ghana 8 years ago

Well said. Our leaders & Phds, Msc etc seem incapable of understanding the simple principle of cause & effect.

• CORNEY 8 years ago

We can collect all of them and dump them in a hole,they will be back the next day because they have no place to go,the solution is what you stated,too much of everything in the major cities especially Accra is the problem.

• Aikins 8 years ago

After almost 26 years pndc ndc.wasted everybody's time.

• Aikins 8 years ago

Ndc wanted to turn the place to poultry farm then latter to cemetery earlier so what is the problem here. That is what will happen to ghana when useless person like mahama rules a nation.

• JJ 8 years ago

What a shame! Are you guys not ashamed to be Ghanaians! I renounced my citizenship few months ago because of the shame Mahama and his corrupt NDC has brought to Ghanaians

• GBEWAA 8 years ago

THIS IS AN INDICATION OF HOW USELESS LEADERSHIP.

GHANA IS NOW IN A COMPLETE MESS, WITH UTILITIES, FUEL COMPANIES AND TAX AUTHORITIES INCREASING TARIFFS WILLY-NILLY.

RECENTLY, GBC ALSO DECIDED TO JOIN IN THE CREATE LOOT ...

• Obiba JK 8 years ago

Who cares?

• EWE PRIEST 8 years ago

If ONLY this is the place with STREET LIGHTS at night and THE ONLY people in & around who have the money to buy things? U should be happy that we have been able to creat JOBs for our selves to help this USELESS Good for Noth ...

• Mr.Donz@gh 8 years ago

I think the Veep is right and let me advise you my brothers and sisters, Ghana belongs to us not any one else, Together we can build a better Ghana.So lets come together to build the country now, my company is ready to help t ...

• KOO THE BOY 8 years ago

good for them

• Crack head 8 years ago

Most people are having children without any plans to be responsible for their upkeep. Even in rich countries in Europe, Japan, China and USA if people decide to have many children indiscriminately, do you think the government ...

• Ladyy 8 years ago

WHY IS THIS BEING ALLOWED. YOU DO NOT SEE HAWKERS AROUND THE WHITE HOUSE IN THE USA OR BUCKINGHAM PALACE IN LONDON
    HAVE WE NOT LEARNED SINCE INDEPENDENCE THAT THE SEAT OF GOVERNMENT REQUIRES TIGHT SECURITY ARE YOU LOOK FOR ...

• special 1 8 years ago

Lady am disappointed in you.why do you compare Whitehouse and Buckingham palace to Ghana's flagstaff house.the difference is the those two have sensible and visionary leaders not ours who is a dead goat

• KOO THE BOY 8 years ago

IN US OR LONDON, THEY HAVE JOBS FOR THEIR PEOPLE.REMEMBER THAT HOUSE WAS FOR CHICKENS.HAWKERS, GOOD FOR YOU ALL.

• JJ 8 years ago

No law & order and no willingness to police the laws because cops turn a blind eye to anything for a small dash.

• uncle boo 8 years ago

Please did you ask any of them of their addresses? YOU would have known that most of them come from the vicinities you had mentioned.There is no job unemployment is growing like fuel fire.Recently Flagster was broken into wit ...

• Dr. William Acquah 8 years ago

Who cares in Ghana?A lawless country!

• Bibini Kwasia 8 years ago

It's a shame that Accra has become one big market. Every inch of sidewalk or open space is covered by hawkers. This is unacceptable. Unkorasefuor, go back to your villages!

• sko 8 years ago

I guess Ghana is out of credible news for your news reporters to report!

• Bola Ray 8 years ago

That's how we live gh is not London . We Al hustle to chop so allow them .

• sankara mfedemele England 8 years ago

What do you expect when a blind greedy basted is ruling a nation he can,t manage..shakes and rats

• Nii Joromi 8 years ago

No wonder Ghana is among the dirtiest countries in the world. Lack of strong leadership is ruining the country.

• Ato 8 years ago

Govt should pass a bill to stop hawkers trading on pavements and cities /towns in Ghana ,its just a nuisance and deforms the beauty of the city. These hawking activities do exit in any country of the developed world.

• special 1 8 years ago

Hawkers should rather go inside the flag staff house and dine with me odwan funu a.k.a yentieobiaa for him to see his poor and visionless government

• O.Y. 8 years ago

So What! The whole nation is retailing why shouldn't the hawkers? Everyone with a street front property has converted it to some form of a shop as if we never heard of zoning or that there is no town planning. Ghanaians bem ...

• yen asem hwe 8 years ago

Rawlings park is now Taxi Station , and another market, Why? becaurse we Ghanians are tooo lazy we dont want to move .

• OKOROMANSA 8 years ago

NO NEED TO COMPLAIN, THIS IS MAHAMA'S BETTER GHANA. BY NEXT WEEK, THE FEMALE HAWKERS WOULD ENTTER MAHAMAS BEDROOM.