You are here: HomeNews2015 07 30Article 372034

Mahama gunman deported from Italy

Read Comments Comments (116)

• John,Tema 8 years ago

That's why he wanted to kill the President,even though he is insane he has seen a better world elsewhere.He believes he can do better with his madness than John Mahama.

• Sugar 8 years ago

Even a mad man realizes this government and president is useless and wants to kill the soo called president. Tweeaaaa

• SARPONG 8 years ago

"Fortunately however, President Mahama and family were not in church when the incident occurred."

THEY CAN'T EVEN GET THEIR STORIES RIGHT. WHEN THE INCIDENT WAS FIRST REPORTED, WE WERE MADE TO BELIEVE THE FIRST COUPLE WAS ...

• Patrick 8 years ago

How, where and when did he get the gun and the amunition to load the gun. All Ghanaians would like to know this to allay our fears about our security

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

We expected and predicted they will begin to fabricate lies to accuse the innocent , engage in serious mudslinging to create confusion and chaos leading to polarization based on ethnic , tribal differences , which later on ev ...

• Kay 8 years ago

Insight to the bone, do you think you can fool people? You are ndc pretending to be npp and akan. You never make comment without tribal insults. Your sole aim is to divide Ghanaians on tribal lines so that your party can gain ...

• Concerned 8 years ago

Does the inconsistencies remind you of the story about the death of Mills. At first he died on the way to hospital then later it was at the hospital.
    There's something not right about this whole thing. The manner in which h ...

• Akyemafia 8 years ago

Every stupid man is now talking if your government was sensible your president and his two friends wouldn't have taken 2% of the oil money and given 25m of us 13%. Wicked people.

• SARPONG 8 years ago

So this guy is not an Asante or Akyem as the Ndc wanted the whole Ghana to believe but a an NDC Bono like Asiedu Nketiah.

Maybe Asiedu Nketiah hired him.SP

• Close Observer 8 years ago

I have always suspected this scare crow Asiedu Nketia. His quest for high position in Ghana is not in doubt. THIS MAD MAN MAY HAVE BEEN HIRED BY ASIEDU NKETIA TO DO HIS BID. The man is also from Brong Ahafo region like Asiedu ...

• Adu 8 years ago

This has nothing to do with tribe. If you don't have anything relevant to say, please, keep quite. Is Asiedu Nketia the only B/A man?

• SARPONG 8 years ago

Idiot, I bet you are a Bono too. Ndc has been implying this man was an Asante and when the mother said he was sent to a hospital at Akyem Tafo, then he was tagged as an Akyem who wanted to kill the President to pave the way f ...

• Alex 8 years ago

Until then, you will know how it feels when a person is targeted. There are many mad men there who can be pushed to do the same to anyone since mad people must be left off the hook. I rest my case.

• Nana Kwame Addo 8 years ago

There are ma ny Asantefuo who come from Brong Ahafo region. The Wenchi folks consider themselves Asanies. If I'm not mistakened Busia was a Wenchinin, could have passed as Asantenin.

Sarpong get it inside your thick head ...

• Pelicles 8 years ago

When the name of the suspect came out most NDC supporters jump to the conclusion that he was an Asante. Right or wrong? But as it stands, the man came from Asiedu Nketia's region so, what is that mosquito man saying about th ...

• Akyemafia 8 years ago

My brother he is not an Ashanti. but what was he doing in Kumasi? Meeting with Wontumi? We have seen it before in Nkrumah era. Ashantis always use people other tribes to carry out their wicked plans.

• SARPONG 8 years ago

Where was it reported that he was seen in Kumasi? Are you that stupid?

My brother most of the NDC followers are very stupid people, that is why that useless party has ruled for 26 years, and keep propagating TRIBAL DISCRIMINATION.

• KOLA, LONDON PROPER 8 years ago

Asantes are everywhere and Charles Antwi is an Asante by birth.

• Tt 8 years ago

Ee Ghana... So we have fetish priest in out hospitals... What kind of reporting id this.. My God!!

• Nana 8 years ago

Kwasia like you, John Tema. You who is sound, just that you eat like a ruminant how best do you do for yourself as an individual? Tell me.

• Nana 8 years ago

John tema, you who is suffering from the same mental problem, when did you ever want to kill somebody?

• Akyemafia 8 years ago

I think you are like the man. He is not mad he has become irrational like you after being fed a lot of elephant shit

• Angela 8 years ago

Wow, where did this judge get his education? How do you assume this man is sane without a psychiatry evaluation? From all indications, this is not a normal person and probably need to be on medication. And how do you jailed a ...

• Concerned 8 years ago

The judge made a mistake but he thinks he's a judge and knows more than us. Even though it's obvious he's made a mistake, his low self esteem would not allow him to admit it.
    We have the likes of atuguba telling us that wh ...

• Poku,US 8 years ago

From the story, the judge should be aken to Ankaful for evaluation and treatment.

• Lloto 8 years ago

A mad man who has seen good life in Europe is intellignet enough; more than the whole NDC, ministers, parliamentarians combined; and wants to kill the president and take over the government to rule better.

And thse governm ...

• Adom 8 years ago

Why didn't his mother send him to mental hospital 2 years? Some would have been happy if he killed the President. God forbids!!!!!!!
    He belongs to jail. A doctor can visit him at prison PERIOD

• Obed Adore 8 years ago

He can be reexamined by psychiatrists, may be found NCR (Not Criminally Responsible) by way of insanity and remanded at Ankaful Mental Hospital.. By this, he would subjected to an Annual Review and could even stay at Ankaful ...

• kojo kojo canada 8 years ago

Adom, mental illness is of many stages and it's unfortunate that at times these sick people shows sign of sanity so its very confusing. Probably his relatives haven't gotten to the rightful place yet, that poor soul needs to ...

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

The stupidity of our judicial is as useless as the ruling government NDC. The judge should be bar from the bench. A mad man can figure out that this useless mahama shouldn't be a president of our country.

• Cool Down 8 years ago

A mad man able to drive a vehicle, ride a motor bike unaided. Come on people, the more we hear about this guy, the more he looks perfectly normal. Which mad man can do these normal things? How does he buy fuel into his motor ...

• Angela 8 years ago

And you think every psych patient is incapable of performing activities of daily living? Not every mentally ill person roam the streets naked and dirty. There are a lot of people suffering from this illness and you might not ...

• me sulley 8 years ago

Jjust like you.

• SARPONG 8 years ago

Having psychological problems does not mean such a person cannot think or plan but anybody who thinks killing the President will give him an opportunity to become the President has mental problems.

In Ghana we assume only ...

• Adom 8 years ago

So NPP SARPONG we should allow him to kill the President before he is put away from the public? Let him be in jail while the doctors take care of him. Imagine him shooting a gun in the church because he hates the President li ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

Don't put words in my mouth. I have never advocated for this man to be set free. Read all my comments about this issue where I have used John Hinckley who tried to kill President Reagan and was found to be mentally sick. This ...

• Concerned 8 years ago

Where does sarpong say or even implies we should allow the president to killed before he's jailed. Sarpong just implied mad men can even post comments on Ghana Web and before his ink could dry you've proven him right

• Jonny 8 years ago

When he says he wants to be the president, he doesn't mean himself. He is actually talking about his master the all die be die man, since who ever takes over after Mahama may not be strong enough to win the next election agai ...

• michael 8 years ago

thank u bro...but those who are saying this guy is mad ,they are rather mad and if true i wish it happen on them and his so call friends you are very stupid more than animals if that your testimonies are true how can you see ...

• SERIOUSLY 8 years ago

I could not agree with you more. The advent of suicide bombers should dawn on us not to think the country is immune, nor that we don't have potential suicide bombers in our midst. The man clearly has suicidal tendencies combi ...

• Adom 8 years ago

You are right! Leave the HATERS of the President! Mahama ALL THE WAY!!! GOD IS ON HIS SIDE

• ABAAH. 8 years ago

YOU ARE MAD LIKE THAT ANTWI.WHAT WOULD NPP GAIN IF MAHAMAH WAS KILLED?.DOESN'T HE HAS A VICE TO REPLACE HIM OR YOU THINK MAHAMAH IS THERE TO RULE GHANA FOREVER.TELL ASIEDU NKETIAH TO STOP HIS STUPID COMMENTS BECAUSE THEIR COM ...

STOP EXPOSING YOUR IGNORANCE. IF YOU CAN'T TRAVEL, AT LEAST LISTEN TO THE NEWS OR READ.
    If it is a matter bordering on homosexuality, you will quickly make reference to what is happening in the USA and Europe to support your ...

It is a fact in this country that herbalist do not issue health or death certificate. That is the duty of a qualified medical officer and in the case of any psychiatric illness it is the duty of a psychiatric. Thus a herbali ...

Be open minded, and you can analyse issues well. A closed mind as yours cannot reason well and fairly. Have you bothered to have him checked to ascertain the truth? That is what an open minded person will do. NDC/NPP aside. W ...

• Concerned 8 years ago

What do you think a mad man is. Sometimes they can do everything normally but from time to time their emotional intelligence will let them down. There was a mad man called paul gyemfi who even use to be president of Ghana. Ha ...

• Willy 8 years ago

The man calling himself Cool Down is the most stupid human ever to have lived. So ignorant that he thinks madness means being a dummy.A mad man was hired to teach mathematics in a certain school. The candidates all excelled. ...

• Toffey 8 years ago

You are quite myopic. A mentally unstable person is not only if the ilk of the dirty madmen you on the streets.

• samabia 8 years ago

this is no case for buts and ifs. They knew the intentions of the guy no matter how ludicrous they may sound yet did nothing.
    The guy says he will kill the President and you take it as childs play till he is found in the ch ...

• BAT MAN 8 years ago

You see now…. He is assuring his invincible forces not Panic by refering to all Ghanaians just a day after one has been sentenced 10years into prison.

KWASIA MPANYIN...ABOWA NE BA !!! B3L3 LIKE THAT !!!

• TK 8 years ago

Lawyers must team up for convicted armed robbers.They use guns to robbed and killed.they are also mad

• Abugri 8 years ago

Adom the merciless fool, doomed one of these days.

• Adom 8 years ago

Abugri you are rather the fool and you wish for me will befall. President Mahama hater!!!!!!!

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

You are such an ignorant person I have heard off. Are you telling me that a mad man can't plan. JJ Rawlings was a mad man but he ruled for 19 years. You fool think outside the box for once. How do you classified a madman? Lac ...

• Abugri 8 years ago

Hi Mr. cool Down, Listen, Don't you see a mad man walking, don't you see a mad man ride a bicycle, don't you see a mad man eating, don't you see a mad man even marry and beget children? The madman can do everything that he wa ...

• wuntira 8 years ago

If the logic of the concerned lawyers is to be considered then nobody deserves to be in prison. Everybody is insane!

• Ruth 8 years ago

please lets stop politicizing everything in Ghana,that's where our downfall as people starts from. According to the mother of the gunman, his son had mentioned earlier that he would one day kill the president, she knew this a ...

• Akyemafia 8 years ago

WHEN DID A FETISH PRIEST BECOME A MENTAL DOCTOR AT A GOVERNMENT HOSPITAL? NONSENSE@

• Bernard 8 years ago

Support the Judge's ruling that Charles Antwi was sane and that he was just acting in order to escape conviction on the grounds of not being in the right frame of mind when he he attempted to kill the President.

Meanwhile ...

• Naaba kugri 8 years ago

Even malam TULA who was sent to kill Nkrumah was said to be a madman after his arrest, their stock in trade since 1951

• Bernard 8 years ago

Continuation from page.

Who supplied him with the gun?

Charles Antwi may not be acting alone. It is now the duty of the Security Agencies to go behind the prison walls and find out whether he was acting as a lone wolf ...

• Truthful Kofi 8 years ago

Let's be fair...who supplied him with the gun and how does he knows the president worships ther?....the guy resides in the Brong Ahafo

• Oo 8 years ago

He told police he wanted to be president after he killed president ....normal . Time for judge to get check up?

• Yaa Nkosuo 8 years ago

If the President is going to sit down and let this elf-looking man shoot him, that's up to him

• Lana 8 years ago

I think it was erroneously reported that a fetish priest treated him in the hospital. He was probably later sent to a fetish priest as most backward Ghanaians sees mental illness as taboo and probably attributed it to witchcr ...

• Adako 8 years ago

Where is the chief justice,the woman who ran away from the landmark case.
    I am glad we have some smart lawyers left in Ghana.

• Frank Sam 8 years ago

this has been their trade since independence. if it is not acid then its a bomb or contract killing. haa, have you forgotten the way and manner the man whose law certificate Nana Addo stole was disposed off? haa! and the atte ...

• Mr. Mensah 8 years ago

GOOD SOME LAWYERS ARE GOING TAKE THIS UP THE EARLIER THE BETTER. WHAT HAPPENS TO THE JUDGE WHO CAUSED THIS INJUSTICE WITHOUT DUE PROCESS OF THE LAW.THE CJ MUST CALL HIM TO ORDER.

• Okofo Kwaku 8 years ago

Madam Chief Justice, it seems to me that some of our Judges are not smart enough to be members of the bench to adjudicate cases. The quickness of Mr Antwi's case disposition smacks of a kangaroo court. Also the Judge should h ...

• Francis Kay 8 years ago

will be proved to the whole ghana that the guy is mentally ill to the shame of the whole idiotic thinking ndc and aseidu Nketia. those who see the gun msn ad normal are more mad than he.

• EDEM 8 years ago

So who recruited this Mahama gunman for this propaganda fail? Was it Omane Boamah, Asiedu Nketia or Akua Donkor?
    I think Mahama should however confess on the doing in of Atta Mills. They should confess on the Atta Mills doi ...

• M Berger 8 years ago

we can assist you in getting a LEGAL Visa to live and work in Europe. Contact by email mkberger@yandex.com for further information.

• Boss one 8 years ago

Shame unto npp stupid idiots who are backing this criminal because that is what they are also criminals

• Wiseone 8 years ago

Really, Boss one? People are 'stupid idiots' because they're voicing their opinion? You can agree to disagree without hurling insults?

• Nana 8 years ago

All the premeditated stories put forward in defense of claim that Antwi is not mentally are deceptive. A person with mental problem rode on motor bicycle from Dadiesoba to Accra. Why did he not foot?

• Erica 8 years ago

Haha, Nana, please don't show your ignorance. Are you telling me that mentally challenge people can't ride motorcycles? I guess Ghanaians don't have a clue about mental illness. Every mental case is different and many people ...

• Boss one 8 years ago

Kwasia he should go and kill kuffour because it is was kufour term in office that he kuffour and his npp cocaine commandos sent these illiterates in abroad,thinking they were doing them good,now that there nothing good in the ...

• Asona Ba Asah Bekoe Atuo - USA 8 years ago

He needs help as Ghana also needs help. In his insane situation he has seen the bad situation the country is under Mahama and sought to liberate the nation.

• Akans Prophecies 8 years ago

Charles Antwi might be mad , mentally unstable but posterity will honour this brave Akan legend to have had the vision to save His beloved country from thieves and self made underground presidents. Idiots sit by whiles a simp ...

• Issako 8 years ago

Because NDC plotted it. This guy is from B/A , even party chairman know it. Fast tract.

• TSIKPO 8 years ago

Nobody is happy with this thing called government led by dumsor mahama. The other it was prisoners, Monday pharmacists went on strike, today hospitals are turning away sick people (meanwhile dead goat is on leave enjoying him ...

• TULA 8 years ago

The Judge had to quickly imprison this man because there are other factors behind this case l the judge knew the guy was not stable and any further investigation would reveal a lot of things that mat true or untrue ; this cas ...

Baseless

• john mahama 8 years ago

give him medication not jail term

• fela 8 years ago

driving at 180km/hr and begging for it to be reduced to 150km/hr.Even in my normal sense on a good road I will not go above 120km/hr.

• Odwanfunu Mahama 8 years ago

hahahaha

• Opoku 8 years ago

The madman is from the same town as the Minister for local government Collins Dauda. He knows better whether he is normal or not.

• fela 8 years ago

no matter how bad the president performs, life is precious and need to be guarded .The president has a family and friends who cherish him so let him be.All those supporting this mentall ill man must be careful supposing he wa ...

• klinker 8 years ago

The mother has confirmed that Charles was saying that he would kill the president. Why was it that she did not report this matter to the police?

• french man 8 years ago

Because she might also be taken as mentally ill by the police.

• akwaagyei 8 years ago

This boy needs to be given mental treatment instead of condemnation. He is not sane to be imprisoned.Amnesty International should intervene.Many thanks to the Lawyers who are trying to appeal for a review of the case.This is ...

• KT 8 years ago

Why can't they also file a lawsuit against these doctors who are bend to kill innocent people?

• Adamu 8 years ago

NDC should stop their criminal political games unhealthily annihilating Ghana. Rushing to judgement for this case is just to kill the evidence and leave Ghana in an unsolved mystery mode.
    Omane Boamah and Judge Obiri should ...

• Daanaa Sampson 8 years ago

Mmcchweee. Tweaaaaa. Stupid people all over. What kind of stupid judgment is this? That judge should go back to school. He has disgraced his lectures. Jailing an insane per without a lawyer Vto defend him is outrageous, excr ...

• SUBRUKU 8 years ago

EVEN IF CRAZY PEOPLE ARE FINDING IT DIFFICULT TO LIVE AND RESULTING IN AN ATTEMPT TO ASSASSINATE THE PRESIDENT, IT MEANS ASIEDU AND HIS ACOLYTES HAVE STOLEN ENOUGH MONEY HENCE GHANA IS SUFFERING. BEWARE!!!! OTHER CRAZY MEN IN ...

• kofi gh (USA) 8 years ago

Nana you people are now claiming Antwi isn't Asante Bcoz his act is uncalled full? You asking people what do they do? Do that stop you Asantes being criminal, cocaine dealers, arm rubbers just to mention few? We know you peop ...

• Ruth 8 years ago

People were happy the man was after the president. Forgetting that next time another person would get up with a machet, and it could be anybody.
    We should not rejoice over this. This is a very serious issue. Our safety is ...

• raskimo 8 years ago

All this comment a not true that is what I can say, look like the judge Francis obiri also known something about this, and I think we need more details about this, because is not trying to allow gunman go for check up, fores ...

• kush 8 years ago

NPP has a hand in this

• Busumru 8 years ago

'Tafo hospital where he was once treated for mental illness by a fetish priest'

Treated in tafo hospital by a fetish priest? do they employ fetish priests in hospitals in ghana? mawuo!

• John k 8 years ago

My question is why all the people in the world learn from books that is good to bring wealth into the life of living people but we learn to bring poor in mind .because look at the behaviour of our leaders at the moment you c ...

• Opanin Koo Kwakye 8 years ago

Any serious-minded person won't make the statements he is claimed to have made. He is a mad man and the judge did not help matters by giving him such a swift judgement.

Don't worry, after serving just 2 out of 10 years he'll be normal....the only therapy for him is jail sentence.......PERIOD

• KANKAN IB. 8 years ago

STOP ALL THOSE NONSENSE DO YOU KNOW WHERE THE PRESIDENT IS COMING FROM? THE GUN WOULD'NT HAVE SOUND ON HIM.SO STOP TALKING LIKE IDIOTS.

• NANA USA 8 years ago

How can a fetish priest testify in this case what documents does he gat to be believed

• Do try next time 8 years ago

U blood sucking beast lawyer if it was u poor father at home he try to gun down u would hv accepted the verdict intead tryin fog insanely for the delicate

• Ghanaman 8 years ago

I am inclined to believe that the guy is really mentally ill. How could he think that by killing the President he will take over when the Constitution is clear about the replacement procedure? Surely that must be insanity to ...

• Ekow Samuel. 8 years ago

We thank God that our was not at that time even, N hyira nka Nyame that he saves the people on the church and the Mr President and the family,God bless oman you Ghana.

• Jay 8 years ago

Let him rot in jail. His madness will cure by itself when he realise where he is.

This is clever abodam.

• IB 8 years ago

Please BNI investigate the woman and her family because in her statement she said her son was always saying that he will kill the president have they reported this to the police for the past days or weeks or months or even ye ...

• from Ama TX USA 8 years ago

Then they better check before the sentence

• David 8 years ago

the NPP media should stop fooling itself. The conspiracy theory is simply that agents of an evil party like NPP could identified someone with a psychiatric history and manipulate and set him up to kill the president and plea ...

• Odasanibi 8 years ago

For real,the information coming out all point to the fact that the gentleman is not sane. The least the prosecutor could have done, was look into the Italian problem he has with the authorities. Who shoots a dead goat anyway, ...

• Abbas, haruna 8 years ago

WHY DIDNT HE POINT ON THE MOTHER, FOOLISHNESS

• fiverr seo 8 years ago

7VzTEO Im obliged for the blog.Really thank you! Cool.