You are here: HomeNews2015 07 30Article 371913

Analysis: Ghana hit by oil curse

Read Comments Comments (66)

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

We expected and predicted they will begin to fabricate lies to accuse the innocent , engage in serious mudslinging to create confusion and chaos leading to popularization based on ethnic , tribal differences , which later on ...

• Douglas. Bristol-UK` 8 years ago

all you u v written is thrash. mahama is sensible than ugly Akufo-Addo and the entire acidic npp party. foolish Akans

• Sam 8 years ago

Look at his face,Mahama the useless one indeed.

• VICE RESSIEN 8 years ago

this has nothing to do with "curse". if you sell your oil for free, you'll gain nothing. contract for ghana's oil drills is madness. first, every part of the drilling is undertaken by whites, because ghana cannot come up with ...

• KOLA, LONDON PROPER 8 years ago

spot on. I thought Tsatsu Tsikata started feasibility abd had plans for Ghanaians to drill their own oil before that thief, Kufuor, came in to sell everything to his slave master.

What we see now is the unfolding reality f ...

• Joejoe 8 years ago

GHANA'S PROBLEM IS THE THIEVES WHO HAVE STOLLEN OUR GENUINE VOTES AND CONTINUE STEALING. THE NDC PRESENT GOVERNMENT ARE THIEVES, THEY USED ATUGUBA TO SEAL THEIR DANGEROUS MOVE. SO GOD WILL NEVER BE HAPPY WITH THEM. I PITTY T ...

yes we will take our foolishness and form our own country without you stinking pepeni and ayigbe idiots

• Kay 8 years ago

Insight to the bone, do you think you can fool people. You are ndc pretending to be npp and akan. You never make comment without tribal insults. Your sole aim is to divide Ghanaians on tribal lines so that your party can gain ...

• CASSIER 8 years ago

Kay truly truly u are v right u have stadied the man indeed i like u. i am a Pround Northerner but i shall not be drawn into tribal politics. I trend on raelities and ideas, vision and capabilities with competence. We need Gh ...

You need ignorant illiterate idiots who dont know what time it is . Your days are numbered , Akan power forever

• Kay 8 years ago

Your are exposed. Your own days are numbered. You are not even an Akan and you know it

• PRINZY@BONN-Germany 8 years ago

Attention!, Attention Ndc has paid some youth to go on internet to fan in tribal sentiment, insults 4to create Divisions among Ghanaians to gain political power. Be wise ppl

• JC 8 years ago

This has nothing to do with Pepeni. It is about an irresponsible group of people who have formed a political party, with rogues and half- literates or illiterates who don't care about nation building. We have decent Mpepefoo, ...

• Okponglo Guy 8 years ago

How dare you call anyone Pepeni? That is a derogatory one. No true lover of NPP will ever say that and anyone who knows the history of the party knows how key Chief Dombo and Chief Karbo, not to mention the Tolon Na are to th ...

• Kay 8 years ago

Insight to the bone, do you think you can fool people. You are ndc pretending to be npp and akan. You never make comment without tribal insults. Your sole aim is to divide Ghanaians on tribal lines so that your party can gain ...

• KWAA 8 years ago

Oil can never be a curse to any Nation,it is the greed of the people who manage it.When NDC took over from the NPP in2009,not that Ghana was a paradise,but at least things were looking good.We were all expecting a great futur ...

I wish Ghanaians suffer more and more for voting on tribal lines

• PRINZY@BONN-Germany 8 years ago

Attention!, Attention Ndc has paid some youth to go on internet to fan in tribal sentiment to create Divisions among Ghanaians to gain political power. Be wise ppl

• Ransomed 8 years ago

When princes has daily feasts in the morning (and do not govern rightly as they should) nations suffer. Also, "it is not good when servants ride while princes walk". The story of Ghana, where "obia ny3 obia" has sidelined the ...

• Ransomed 8 years ago

When princes HAVE daily feasts in the morning (and do not govern rightly as they should) nations suffer. Also, "it is not good when servants ride while princes walk". The story of Ghana, where "obia ny3 obia" has sidelined th ...

• U wanted Nana to Win 8 years ago

They wanted shortman to win but it backfired.

America's debt to gdp ratio is 127%

• John,Tema 8 years ago

Do you understand the comment that you've posted?Debt to GDP ratio analysis is not like kenkey & shito.

• ... 8 years ago

You are so thick. How can you compare Ghana productivity to America ? Secondly even if they have such a rate, your logic just shows how shallow minded you are

• Concerned 8 years ago

Don't forget what Terpker said about how the cedi depreciation is increasing our debt. They say the cedi have depreciated by 58% since 2011.That means if we owed 1 cedi in 2011,now it's 1.58 without interest.
    The economy of ...

• Sara 8 years ago

Just look at the NDC thieves group leading Ghana: Students, dining hall prefects, girl friends of dumsor, friends of dumsor, pepefuo etc. Meanwhile dead goat is sleeping on the job. No wonder we are where we are. But they wil ...

• Kwaku 8 years ago

Your party even sold the drill ship we had

• Xoxoali 8 years ago

Fools like you will die not even know you are dead. Dead goat is simply incompetent and not up to the job. Just like the Konongo Kaya, the load is too heavy for him but he is insisting he will carry it. When he shits in his p ...

• Kofi Virginia 8 years ago

Ghana does not have an oil curse. What we have is unrealistic expectations. The flow, the development of the gas links, and training of Ghanains to serve the industry has taken more time than expected. We have not spent the r ...

• Sappey-Agboh, Tsiame-Labohkope 8 years ago

will believe this hogwash of a report by a neocolonialist news source. Who doesn't know what Bloomberg stands for? The author of this article didn't even understand what the term 'Oil Curse' means. The oil revenue that is acc ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 8 years ago

Desperation is significantly the only pal left around them, hence their ridiculous cock-and-bull stories always in here.

• Mensah Abrampa 8 years ago

If the NDC Administration of Mills and Mahama have not spent the oil revenue unwisely like Nigeria as you claim, can they account for every penny that has accrued from the crude oil exports? If there's no accountability th ...

• Kwabena, London 8 years ago

Commodity prices have always featured in development economics. I remember my student days in economic history and development economics it was always an issue. China accumulated money and never went borrowing, now they are l ...

• Patriot 8 years ago

What the article fails to add to Ghana's economic woes is that the management is woefully ignorant. The best expertise we have in the NDC administration is mediocre.

• TEE 8 years ago

USELESS CLUELESS AND A THIEF LIKE MAHAMA HAS LED GHANA DOWN PERIOD

• TEE 8 years ago

HAS WASTED AND STOLEN ALL GHANA MONIES

• GG 8 years ago

Only stupid president will see oil as a curse under his watch

• SAMITU ROSE 8 years ago

Oil has gone from savior to curse for Ghana. When the West African nation shipped its first barrels of crude oil in 2010, then-president John Atta Mills pledged to build new roads and a deep-sea port, expand the power grid an ...

• JC 8 years ago

He stole the Presidential Office with his friends family members and his NDC cronies by using billions of dollars to pay bribes to electoral officials and judges and hid monies in foreign banks and secret places, inflating co ...

• LAKASHAY 8 years ago

The sooner the NDC cooruupt team of incompetent team of administrators are sent packing the earlier Ghana will be freed.
    The NDC came with a promise of a Better Ghana, but what they gave is corruption,and we have it in the f ...

• Opus Dei 8 years ago

All I hear is excuses when the real issue here is that NDC squandered the money and did not plan. Now that they realise how badly they've behaved, they are trying to paper over the cracks. Very sad. There is no curse here but ...

• m k . 8 years ago

Ye nayepe, Enye nea yebe hunu ni . Ghanaians are the most stupid people that I never see their tip in the world. Onyankopon na atua ghanafoo ka, nea esokyen oyi reba. Se NDC ne MAHAM na ediyenim dea , yebe bre akyrn oyik ...

• Asem sebe 8 years ago

no sir, it is not oil curse - it is greed pure and simple!!!! if our so-called leaders and those that have been put in charge to manage the oil affiars of the country were REALLY patriotic and had the mentality that is out fo ...

• Tei 8 years ago

oil will not solve Ghana's problems due to:1.Low oil prices are here to stay and we do not have refining capacity to get the benefits locally.Too many oil producsrs in the world,Shale gas producers US and Canada,more African ...

• Abeeku Mensah 8 years ago

There's no oil curse, never has and never will but there is always going to be a poor man’s stupidity. The very reasons poor people squander unexpected riches when their life time of wishful thinking is granted is buying th ...

• inercycl 8 years ago

There were 2 models to follow as soon as we discovered oil and thought we had made it....finally! There was the Norwegian model and the Nigerian model.Our greedy politicians opted for the Nigerian model.So it's not news we ar ...

• Last warrior 8 years ago

Can we please stop referring Ghanaians as pepeni it's rather helping these leaders achieving their goals.ASHANTI EWE NORTHNERS GA's FANTW's we use to love each other why are we making these parties seperate us.I don't support ...

• Naaba kugri 8 years ago

Those who wish their country to fail because their preferd parties are not in government is no patriotism

NDC is the real curse. Oil was meant to help us but these criminals have turned everything outside down due to their stealing spree.

• Luther King 8 years ago

Poor article. We all know the three billion Chinese loan didn't come. Yet we paid commitment fee and continue to pay interest. The curse is from an incompetent and corrupt ndc not oil.

• BOYZ ABR3 8 years ago

Is not curse, but mismanagement,corruption and incompetent leaders running the affairs of the country

• Mr.Donz@gh 8 years ago

some times i wonder why we address our superiors and leaders like that. lets advise our self's.
    Please mind your speech
    good day.

• None 8 years ago

GHANA dont produce NOTHING...yet an average Ghanaian wants to own EVERYTHING...haha...comedies

• Boachie 8 years ago

For me I don't pity those who voted for NDC and in ghana as a whole, why oh why do they voted for Ndc all because of tribalism, let them suffer and learn, someone says no to free education, then call his brother to help

• Nayale Woyome 8 years ago

Idiots, i thank God for saving me from this stupid brain dead nation. Bloody idiots.

• Mr.Donz@gh 8 years ago

From the office of Mr.Donz@gh, I assure all Ghanians that the economy will be getting better before the end of this year, WE SHALL INVEST IN GHANA 100% to better the economy.
    Yes we shall.
    We have seen the government is try ...

• M Berger 8 years ago

we can assist in getting a LEGAL Visa to work and live in Europe. Contact by email mkberger@yandex.com for further information.

• Siburuku Tifalo 8 years ago

His hands are tainted with THE BLEMISH BLOOD OF MILLS and so he is under a heavy curse.ALL OF HIM is FIRE & Mismanagement.period

• kedesky 8 years ago

Insight to the bone , you may be able to fool your parents to divorce but you can't fool innocent Ghanaians to fight. Who told you that NDC is mpepefou party, go and read the history of NDC well before you make stupid comment

• Asoreba 8 years ago

I don't care what anybody thinks about how the oil expectation fell short, it's all in the CORRUPT manner in which we used the money. Politicians who thought the money was for them and their families alone started their enjo ...

• ktz 8 years ago

That tells the whole story of poor and incompetent leadership

• Whatever 8 years ago

Are these not same bloomberg and the multinational corporations like Tullow and Kosmos who are pumping out most of oil and selling it for themselves. These foreign neo colonial pretenders, mocking us on top. I don't blame the ...

• Agyapa 8 years ago

Saudi Arabia, Dubai, United States and United Kingdom. Are these countries cursed for having oil? We are what we are because of greediness, selfishness, stupidness and shallow mindedness that has stopped us from using the oil ...

• Dessie 8 years ago

how much oil revenue Ghana receive:300million dollars a year.its just like a peanut..Ghanaians expectation on oil is way higher than we receive..let us notloose sight and begin to cut coat according to our size as a citizenry ...

• Nyovore 8 years ago

Why do people speak like Ghana is for them, has any of those making these comment been able to manage a small family ?give us a break. Nothing good comes easy.

• Kwabena Ansa 8 years ago

I believe if President Atta Mills may he rest in peace were to be our President today. your statement "Ghana hit by oil curse" would be " Ghana swimming in oil boom" because he was a man of integrity, honest, very open and in ...