You are here: HomeNews2015 07 20Article 369782

Chief Imam warns Mahama over same-sex marriage

Read Comments Comments (108)

• Kwame Birmingham 8 years ago

What about nana akomea. God has cursed NPP because their communications director is gay and they know it. Andrew Solomon is in New York, lets talk about the curse sitting on our radio making filthy noises

• NDC BULLSHIT 8 years ago

IMAM NEEDS TO WASTE HIS BREATHE. NDC IS JUST BUNCH OF GAY DEAD GOAT FAMILY TREE..

• NPP BULL-FUCKING-SHIT!!! 8 years ago

YOU ARE AN IDIOT!! WE HAVE PROOF OF AKUFFO'S DAYS OF ORGIES!!! SCREWING HIS NIGERIAN FRIENDS WIVES AND DAUGHTERS....TOTO AND ASS!!!! IT IS NOT GOING TO GO AWAY, YOU CAN'T WHITEWASH IT OR SWEEPMIT UNDER THE CARPET!!!! COCAINE ...

• KOFi Birmingham 8 years ago

Kobby acheampong and vice presi Amissah are gay.

• Gye Nyame 8 years ago

Understood the issues the Imam has with homosexuals but are there not more pressing issues that affect the Muslim community than this? We have Boko Haram, a Ghanaian already killed by the Muslim extremists and another capture ...

• AM DISAPPOINTED IN YOU KWAME BEE 8 years ago

U WIL NOT HEAR ANY MUSLIM LEADER JUSTIFY WHAT THE SO CALL BOKO HARAM, THIS ANIMALS ARE NOT MUSLIMS THEY ARE VIGILANTES. NO MUSLIM SUPPORT WHAT THIS ANIMALS ARE DOING...

• madaawa 8 years ago

What are trying to say? Homosexuality is the current problem we as a nation are facing. Yes, the world is facing terrorism and it's the not different from homosexuality though the former involves killing of innocent people. T ...

• Gaza 8 years ago

Gye Nyame you are dumb and stupid.

• Boat kumasi 8 years ago

Mahama will only listen to the highest bidder. If you want him to sign pay. If you don't want him to sign pay.

• NPP SENIOR CITIZEN 8 years ago

Mahama don't fuck up

• gretchy 8 years ago

Read ur damn bible...i am straight but have several friends who are left footers (gay) hahaha so live with it.Its true as religion creates war.

• madaawa 8 years ago

You are an asshole. Religion creates no wat people do. No religion preaches war. And also why do you call those gay friends of yours left footers? If it's so not ungodly why then left footers not right footers? homosexuality ...

• pointed clitoris 8 years ago

There are bisexuals in his government, the vice president is one and Kobby acheampong, these guys who seemingly look calm are dangerous, so chief imam, Ur fighting an already Lost battle

• @STUPID Douglas. Bristol-UK 8 years ago

What about your dead goat president who slept in the house of a world known gay advocate? Oh I just forgot about the ndc vice president whose partner came out to confess to the whole world that he sometimes had sex with Paa K ...

• ibn abudu @ Canadasheabutter (GhUWR) 8 years ago

WHAT EVER FORM IT COMES " LGB OR SAME SEX CAN'T NEVER BE SANCTIONED IN GHANA . VERY SOON SELECTIVE PUNISHMENT FROM THE YOUTHS SHALL BE CARRIED OUT TO THE FEW KNOWN CASES

• Kwabena Ohemeng,london 8 years ago

Why are Ghanaians so much preoccupied with the legalization of same-sex marriage or acts in Ghana? No Ghanaian politician or political party will dare come out to promote the legalization of same-sex acts or marriage in the ...

• Nii Nortey (NY) 8 years ago

Kwabena, you are right. Why all these noises and warnings when the President have not indicated that he supports gay marriage.

• ASARE 8 years ago

Let them give warnings before too late, because our opinion leaders are weak sometimes.

• kofi camada 8 years ago

Thank u asare. When they attach the aids with it then Ghanaians will understand the implications and say we should have warned them

Who is proposing to legalise same sex marriage in Ghana? Nobody. Not a single person. Why are all these men of "God" so upset and obsessed by something not happening? I guess cause they live in fantasy all the time anyway ...

• Acquah Takoradi 8 years ago

You are living in fools paradise

• madaawa 8 years ago

You ate the one living in fantasy. Foods you read the article? If you did you will know his concern. The people of Gianna especially our spiritual leaders have to tell him the ramifications of legalizing same-sex before he ev ...

• Gaza 8 years ago

Kwame uou are the one living in fantasy.

• Nkwantabisa, Italy. 8 years ago

When the late President Mills took his stand against gay in Ghana NDC communicators were calling on Nana Akufo Addo to declare his stand on gayisim, now they should tell Mahama to declare his stand now.

• Ato 8 years ago

Its only in Ghana and Africa in general where people say many things against individuals to tramble upon their basic human rights .I am not a gay person but if any person decides to be a gay the laws of the country must prot ...

• KwakU Agyei..USA. 8 years ago

Are you okay?who's going to protect them?does this alien gay people's are better than ghana country?..ghanaian doesn't have time for this alien people's okay

• mojingles 8 years ago

Kwaku Agyei, it will in your best interest to pack your bag and catch the first flight out of the United States; you don't deserve the legal protections accorded you by the constitution of that great country.
    You are obvious ...

• kosh 8 years ago

This is the problem,so many Villagers living abroad,instead of learning about the rights of all humans,about Democracy and freedom for all.,Kwaku Agyei, USA,,,,,No amount of years living in the USA,can take the villageness ou ...

• Liars! 8 years ago

Why is bigamy a crime in the US and the rest of the developed world? If you think Democracy is at stake in Ghana and Africa because homosexuality is frowned upon by its people then Democracy cannot be said to be practised in ...

• mojingles 8 years ago

Liars, continue to be tethered to the much maligned and dismissed notion that homosexuality is abnormal. It is very telling that an individual of your ability and vast knowledge will succumb to the charms or better still, the ...

• kosh 8 years ago

sad isnt it mojingles,this is the problem with ghanaians,very loud,we got a word for it in gahana and that is TOO KNOWN.they say they are educated,they speak big english,but you hear thier reasoning and you feel sorry for the ...

• James 8 years ago

U r very stupid

• vip 8 years ago

why say dis ato ? Dont invoke d wrath of God on u n yo family. is an abomination of u don't kno am telin u today.

• castro 8 years ago

Ato you are stupid even goats dont practice gay
    one female one male and they enjoy sex.
    So now tell me gays and goats who are clever?

• Gaza 8 years ago

Ato you are completely mad.

• KwakU Agyei..USA. 8 years ago

Thanks you chief Imam

• Amenye 8 years ago

This fight is not to cease until both chritians and muslims demostrate strongly against it. We all trust and believe that, our president Himself, has a God's fearing spirit in Him. Henceforth He ll never dear to complomise of ...

• fiona 8 years ago

THE MUSLIMS GROUP BOKO-HARAM AND ISIS ARE A LOW LIFE CRIMINALS AMD KILLERS WE DONT SEE THE HONARABLE IMAM STAND UP IN PRESS CONFRENCE AND CONDEMN THEM

• kosh 8 years ago

Its a shame isnt it?,Bribery and Corruption ARE the problems we face in Ghana not Gay People,mind you people dont choose to be gay,if you really understand how much you love a woman and dont feel anything sexual towards your ...

• Boat kumasi 8 years ago

Sorry you are in this situation

• Abubakari Yakubu 8 years ago

Fiano if u kno u re a man call dis number nd repeat wat u said,u will see wat u end up wit in life.try de number 0509383168

• kwasi 8 years ago

not Fiona or anyone else in Ghana the women is talking truth ooo

• KWAME 8 years ago

who the fa....k you think you are no scared of you and your bull-shit stupid man

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

Oh you want to have sex with him? He won't call u today and not tomorrow. Go fuck your self.

• Mark 8 years ago

Don't you think fiano is telling the truth?
    I am a Muslim like yourself and to be honest with you, I think boko haram and isis or whatever they call themselves are bunch of losers and they don't represent me as a Muslim. The ...

• Npp boss 8 years ago

U are fool

• ananyahoo 8 years ago

what she said is 100% true why don't they the Muslims go out and condemn senseless killings by their brothers in bok- haram and isis why?

• MUKARFA 8 years ago

NAGODE SHEIK,I REST MY CASE.

• Gyamera 8 years ago

You have done well. Thank u.

• nelson 8 years ago

fiona or what ever u call yr self. do we have any boko haram or isis of usa breeding satanic things here in ghana? and for him to even talk about it?? Ghanaian muslim and Christians are wise so we dont have time for those ki ...

• kosh 8 years ago

lack of education,too much villageness,its 2015 and its Democracy,

• KWASI APONKYE 8 years ago

YOUR STUPID RELIGION AND PRACTICE SRE THE REASON WHY AFRICA IS SO BACKWARD.
    NTAFUOMOAA

• john mahama 8 years ago

same sex marriage is already taking place in the country I know a lot of them

• THOMAS DUKORMEVI 8 years ago

Hmmmmm. fact is, Mahama is afraid he will die if he makes any comment against homosexuality. do u understand me?

• Obiba Jah 8 years ago

Sheikh am not a Muslim but I think U said all that is need to be said and I will gladly join de demonstration if the President agree to it.

• Klotei 8 years ago

Very well said Imam, we don't want to face the wrath of God should this law be passed in Ghana

• Ama 8 years ago

God has already destroy n cursed them because they are deformed even animals are better then them times100

• Sarkodie 8 years ago

Vice President of Ghana di trumu

• Kwame USA 8 years ago

Why do you think everyone and their family nowadays want to travel to USA and Europe? Ghana no longer works. Dumsor everwhere, filth everywhere, Armed robbers everywhere, disaster everywhere!!!!!
    Ghana is already cursed...an ...

• Ama 8 years ago

MAHAMA CAN NEVER DO SUCH A THING. U KNOW WHO HE IS.

• asacott 8 years ago

Does the Bible say homosexuals will go to hell?
    by Kam
    (USA)
    Trust Jesus alone by faith alone to save you
    No, the Bible NEVER says all homosexuals will go to hell. That is a ...

• stone 8 years ago

Leviticus 18:22 You shall not lie with a male as with a woman; it is an abomination.
    Leviticus 20:13 If a man lies with a male as a woman, both of them have committed an abomination; they shall surely be put to death; the ...

• Modern day faith 8 years ago

I do think some of those imams and church leaders are sincere in their fear, but their intransigent devotion to dogma creates the most un-islamic and un-Christlike of situations in which theology is more important than the pe ...

• Jesus 8 years ago

What a foolish entity called chief? Stop being delusional. There is no god to worry about. Fools

• Kwame USA 8 years ago

There is nothing wrong with gay marriage. It will be legal in Ghana.

• Amadu Seidu Rufai 8 years ago

Whoever said my communication director is gay is a liar, he is not. I shall fight the practice of same sex the best way i can while i am still alive.

• kweku 8 years ago

I don't support same-sex marriage but for a deputy chief imam to suggest any form of punishment such as the one in the Quran won't be tolerated in this country. We don't want any sharia in Ghana. We have enough legislation in ...

• inercycl 8 years ago

U are warned.these will fight to the teeth....a la boko haram!!! but those of us who do not want any religious nonsense to interfere in government affairs, will also fight tooth and nail.Are they not threatening the entire na ...

• KBI 8 years ago

Anyway what God have said will happen will happen, no matter what we do or say .
    That proves that God is Almighty, and He knows the beginning to the end . He warn us from the book of ROMSNS; REVELATION , TIMOTHY etc in th ...

• Bob 8 years ago

God is fighting for peace and prosperity of its citizenry, why we are faced with great challenges, then this nonsense gay matters. Gay should never be allow in Ghana.

• ghanaian 8 years ago

If you asked why do we judge? Then I will say we judge because we know, as human beings we know when someone is doing something wrong, if we don't have to Judge then judges don't have to sentence someone to prison for killing ...

• WALIDU 8 years ago

If the Imam is so concerned about homosexuality, then he should first take care of the many Muslim gays such as Dr Ali Gabass who hide behind marriage to women and sodomize young boys. No hypocrisy. Let the Imam take of his ...

• Adwoa 8 years ago

May God richly bless you for your words of wisdom.

• Day 8 years ago

Never in GHANA

• Good Citizen 8 years ago

I strongly invoke curses on ani 1 who support gayism on diz platform n in Ghana. Evn animals won't do diz. it's against de scriptures. God hv mercy.

• Enyan Donkoh Joseph 8 years ago

Under no circumstance should these diabolical and abominable acts be allowed to be practiced in this country. Just ask yourself if God would like the citizenry to do this. The answer is obviously NO!!

• rhodalynn 8 years ago

Thank you very much chief Imam. U have spoken well. God bless ghana

• Joe McKing, UK 8 years ago

The Pope is organising something on global warming. That is more important. Stupip Africans worry over silly things. Things that don't bring progress. That is why we are always queueing at embassies looking for a way out. Whe ...

• BABA RAHMAN 8 years ago

POINT OF CORRECTION! SHEIKH KAMIL IS A DEPUTY CHIEF IMAM FOR AHLU SUNNA WAL-JAMAA NOT DEPUTY NATIONAL CHIEF IMAM OF GHANA.

• BABA RAHMAN 8 years ago

POINT OF CORRECTION.SHEIKH KAMIL IS DEPUTY CHIEF IMAM FOR AHLU-SUNNA WAL-JAMAA NOT DEPUTY NATIONAL CHIEF IMAM OF GHANA!

• Jesus 8 years ago

Wtf. Keep religions out of politics. Mohammad was sick narsist pedophile murderer. Jesus come from slut, who was made pregnat by Jesus himself. There is not such a thinglike god or allah. Those are mafe by sick bigots and hyp ...

• serious 8 years ago

@ jesus...just like ur bastards parents n uself.alcohol n pig consumers.u wed lock child.when av u heard a moslem insult 'jesus' in ur lyf.ppl lyk u ar de cause of violence.u insult moslems n wen they retaliate,u call dem vio ...

• Jesus 8 years ago

How idiot you can be. If i insultbyoyr so called god, whatvthe fuck it ha to do with you. Go fuck your neighbour children yiu disguisting bedophile profets ass licker. Fuck all relegions.

• asirani 8 years ago

u 'll suffer till u die if u say so. this 'll be a he'll u

• Ernest nkrumah 8 years ago

I totally agree with u, deputy national Imam. I don't trust the president n his ministers because all what they want is money money money. I don't know if the citizenry are serving the leaders or the leaders are serving the c ...

• king 8 years ago

he cant and he dare not.

• concerned la 8 years ago

Hey you can write long essays til the cows come home it will not change what is wrong to right. Sort yourself out man

• Positive Thinker 8 years ago

Uncultured journalism

• YB 8 years ago

Alive Alive: Live healthy on approved natural food supplement
    Get quality health product and stay alive from chronic disease

Are you suffering from Cancer? prostrate and breast cancer, skin cancer, cancer in the throat, ...

• Free Thinker 8 years ago

Give us a break. Gays don't capture any Chibok and turn them terrorist. Imam should focus his energy on making sure Ghanaian Muslims don't turn extremist. The Arab world is full of gays in hiding yet God hasn't taken away all ...

• Isaac Danen-Nib (Christian) 8 years ago

Well done Mr imam. There is much sense in your words and all true religiou leaders should follow this step in order escape the wrath of God.

• Aristotles 8 years ago

Stand up, Africa, and become what you can be. Free yourself from ignorance and the domination of Islam.

• nasir abdu 8 years ago

I am in total support for this call we want to hear from the President

• nasir abdu 8 years ago

I am in total support from the call by Shaikh kamel we want to hear from the President

• Dickson Gyasi Nimako 8 years ago

We are cursed already so what is the point?

• sir Seagal 8 years ago

The most expensive en beautiful thing I have ever seen on earth as far as creation is concern is pussy....... Gayism.......fire fire fire........I will rather talk en condemn dis act to killed so ma family en I wouldn't suffe ...

• MOREHOPE 8 years ago

Pls remb we r Ghanaians. Is there any foreigner here? The insults are too much.

Prez Mahama is not a law make, we should therefore not concentrate on him alone, but the law makers.
    It would be fire for fire if anyone try to allow it.
    Moreover, Ghanaian should think that there are more sins God wants us ...

• KWAKU KEMPTON PARK 8 years ago

CHRISTIANS AND MUSLEMS MUST START EDUCATE THEIR OWN KIDS ABOUT THE DANGER IN SAME SEX MARRIAGES THE RULERS IN THE WORLD WORSHIPING SATAN FOR WORTH SO THEY CAN DO ANYTHING TO PLEASE god DONT RELY ON ANY PRESIDENT.

• Good advice. 8 years ago

Why didn't you say thieves must be protected?Thieves also think it's their right to steal and should they be allowed?Not to mention drug addicts also.Homosexuality is wrong period.

• Adam Bilal salaw 8 years ago

infact God should forbid that taught in all human creation. government should not even try to have discussion of such evil act as the is nation is concern. i here by sit on beehehhalf of my follow muslim to raise up to fight ...

• abapa 8 years ago

I am glad that the Chief Imam and the his people are against same sex to support Christian.

• Hard Listeners 8 years ago

What a shame that pastors are yet to add their voices to this. They should have been the first even to take such a stance.

• mr.john 8 years ago

Ghana will never patronize same sex .Mahama knows what he is doing

• IMORU A SADAT 8 years ago

As far as Book Haram and ISIS are concerned.
    The Quran(Ma'ida 5:32) forbids the killing of Innocent people. So these territorist groups are going against Qur'an.
    NOTE
    What you should realise is that you don't go to Sci ...

• Jt 8 years ago

Let the sleeping dog alone to sleep. Do not turn Ghanaias attention to something no one is thinking of. Pls do not endanger the lives of others. Do not creat suspetions that would mobilize Ghanaias to attack innocents. As for ...

• PROF. 8 years ago

Ghana ll not support gayism. We urge de moslems to back off. Nobody kills for God that is why there is judgement after death but we dont understand de islam version of judgement, if itz done by men like de boko haram n ISIL. ...

• Raffiq Mohammed Ali 8 years ago

may Allah bless u and the entire who are in support of this.because this will bring nothing but curse on the nation.