You are here: HomeNews2015 07 15Article 368845

Rawlings storms court to support taxi driver

Read Comments Comments (94)

• ##RETALIATION GROUP~~ 8 years ago

They are just bunch of thieves

• Yeah 8 years ago

I salute the taxi driver. This is common sense in car financing, the lawyer of the company should advise his/her client to drop the case and pay the driver what is due him or convince him to take a new taxi and continue payme ...

• KWAA 8 years ago

This is pure robbery.So are there no laws in Ghana?where on Earth can this happen?No wonder Armed Robbery is on the rise.If the law allows this pen robbery to go on,then they should legalize Armed Robbery,wow what a Country.H ...

• Baba 8 years ago

I suppose the lender is simply a lien holder on the title just in case the driver defaults then they can get their car back but the car belongs to the taxi driver. Why would the insurance company pay the lien holder anyway wh ...

• Osei Asibey-Atlanta 8 years ago

This is interesting. What every borrower in a case like this one should understand is that you don't own the vehicle until it's paid off in full. The driver was just that, a driver. He didn't own the vehicle at the time of th ...

• Akwasi - UK 8 years ago

it would be extremely impossible to practice law effectively in ghana No wonder lawyers and finance companies are reeling in wealth in Ghana. Pure extortionate system, with no government intervening.
    My query though is - whi ...

• Obed Adore 8 years ago

This is equal to High Way Robbery!

• Concerned 8 years ago

Without knowing the motives of rawlings, this time he is embarking on a just cause. Financial institutions are agents of the devil all over the world and should be made on this occasion to pay damages for loss of earnings and ...

• eii ghana 8 years ago

Yes oo....these financial institutions ripping people off their earnings,, time will tell

• daladam 8 years ago

why is he let rawlings a none party in this case to get involved in this case? is rawlings a judge or an attorney ? have he ever attend law school to handle law suit?what is this bull-shit nonsense

• Watching 8 years ago

Do you understand what is mediation?

• kwasi 8 years ago

not someone like rawlings I agree with daladam the judge need to get fired immd

• Oracle 8 years ago

He was the President of the Republic of Ghana. He doesn't need a law degree to mediate. In fact even you can be asked by a court to mediate - how sensibly you'll effect your duty is another matter;-)

• FARRADAY 8 years ago

You are a Fool. why do you have to reign insult on our ex-president. One does not need to go to a law school to before mediating. Kwasia like you. foolish English.

• SAM 8 years ago

A DUMMEY CANT MEDIAT ANYTHING

• kweku trouble 8 years ago

YOU COULDN'T EVEN SPELL THE FOLLOWING:
    DUMMEY (DUMMY)
    CANT (CAN'T)
    MEDIAT (MEDIATE)
    AND YET YOU HAVE THE EFFRONTERY TO INSULT THE PREIDENT? WE KNOW WHO IS THE DUMMY HERE. FOOL!

• Don cuzzy usa 8 years ago

Tell that idiot. he is a real bush fowl.

• BlindMan 8 years ago

This is an excellent case for a Judicial DEMOTION; and how did Batu get seating a court, which he had proven is beyond his intellect.
    This man must be investigated and when found guilty, he be thrown out from our courts. Wha ...

• The Bravo! 8 years ago

Do you know what a mediation is? massa stop portraying your ignorance and learn. you don't just come and put a half -baked comments here. By the way, what grade of English was that?

• Asante 8 years ago

Well it was smart cause the media and the people are paying attention to it now.

• Hasan Rasta Germany 8 years ago

When everyone is praising the act of the president and the taxi driver you as a bush fowl talking nonsense. Are you one of the SAKAWA guys who gave juju taxis to drivers for work and pay?

• wisdom 8 years ago

You're an educated illiterate....did you read and understand the story?

• Nana addo 8 years ago

Ghanaians should know the law or seek redress or advice,this was a simple case had the driver not taken action,would have suffered.

• kwasi 8 years ago

WHY IS HE MEDDELE IN THE MICOBANK AND THIS DRIVER CASE IS HE TRYING TO SHOW WHAT?THAT HE STAND WITH THE SMLL FALKS LIKE THE DRIVER?THE MICRO COMPANY BY LAW HAVE ARIGHT TO SETTLE THIS DESPUTE IN A TRIAL AND BY SOMEONE LIKE ...

• WISE MAN 8 years ago

THIS IS FUNNY TO SEE THE WHOLE FORMAL PRESIDENT OF GHANA IN COURT BECAUSE OF SMAILL PROBLEM WHICH IS NOT BENEFIT THE STATE. BECAUSE THE PERSON IS AN EWE MAN.YOU WILL NEVER SEE RAWLINGS IN COURT OFTEN WITH THE PROBLEM CONCERNI ...

• Nana addo 8 years ago

this is to educate people and the ex president if he has interest in this case is his right,you can also do the same if u so wish.if dnt know then learn.

• C.Y. ANDY-K 8 years ago

What a pity you have to bring in your idiotic, ethnocentric prejudices into this, you semi-educated buffoon?

Who told you Fio Yohannes is an Ewe and those are Ewe names? Only a Ga-Adangme can have such names.

Btw, did ...

• Mensah Abrampa 8 years ago

Why are you killing a little house fly with a sledge hammer? I'm quite sure the man you describe as a semi-educated buffoon was not privileged to have access to the quality education, the knowledge ,the broad-mindedness and a ...

I DOUBT IF THE GUY CAN EVEN UNDERSTAND WHAT YOU WROTE, EVEN IF HE MANAGES TO PRONOUNCE THE WORDS. HE IS SEMI-EDUCATED.

• MANSA MUSA 8 years ago

...WHAT GUYS CALL EDUCATED ? ARE U EDUCATED ...U URSELF? IS THERE ANY EDUCATED BLACK MAN OR IN THIS WORLD OR GHANAIAN PERSON IN GHANA? YOU ARE IN SHIT AND U CALL URSELF EDUCATED ...STUPID ... THIS CASE IS NOT A FAMILY MATTER ...

• sheflaw227 8 years ago

Am suprised u are contributing. You are a shame to the society. Be civilised. Am not in ghana but we follow everything that goes on. Shame on you

WHY BRING TRIBE HERE? CAN'T YOU USE YOU HEAD A LITTLE? YOU PREFER THE TAXI DRIVER IS CHEATED SIMPLY BECAUSE HE IS EWE? DON'T USE NAMES LIKE WISE MAN WHEN YOU KNOW YOU ARE NOT.

• TEE 8 years ago

BE PRESIDENT GHANA, WHAT WOULD YOU EXPECT FROM SUCH A MURDERE

• Richmondo 8 years ago

Your mother whores that how come you got to know that Mr RAWLINGS mother is a bitch.God punish yo? stupid fool for disrespecting your statesmen.kwasiapenin.

• DESTROYERS PARTY N D C 8 years ago

Your TIN god that satan-incanarted wicked bastard will surely pay a brutal PRICE before his DISGRACE DEATH.Ghana is suffering because of this IDIOT and you fools are still praising him.OFUI you must understand the WORD STAT ...

• Obiba 8 years ago

do you know what makes state, this banks are robbing many people in gh. your time is coming you fool calling yourself wise many

• Rastafara 8 years ago

he has nothing to do

• KWAME SENSIBLE 8 years ago

This melbond microfinance is operated by the wicked brotherhood secret society of Ghana and Nigeria so watchout. A new car will surely be involved in another accident and the guy shall never finish paying so he should back of ...

• Prof. Alhaji Awuni Dauda 8 years ago

I didn't know JJ doubles as a judge in Awonaland---damm it!

• Akans Prophecies 8 years ago

The love of the common people. Opete rawlings is dead. He died with his dictatorship. What could have happended, if he was still presiding his common cause. Commonsense is what have eluded this manslaughter. We hope he is lea ...

• Successfullman 8 years ago

Do you seek to make extra income online but dont know how? You can do so by just investing $18. Call or whatsapp Ben on 0266434975 for more details.

• KWAME SENSIBLE 8 years ago

get away with your criminal activities Ben. making extra income online does not require any initial investment-jerk!!!!!

• SharLady 8 years ago

Thank you Kwame.

• Rev dr bishop prof antichrist Bempa 8 years ago

successful man.I kmow you why are u not rich.You dont even a a bciycle tyre.stop deceiving the public

• olonka 8 years ago

how can you possibly take a decision like this against the driver. what do u expect his family to fend on. practices like this is what makes people wants to take the lives of CEOs of compnys like this without any sympathy.
    s ...

• Constable Joy 8 years ago

Driver please accept your initial money plus interest(if possible) as full settlement.Considering the facts,it seems you have no gain to re-engage.Please go and negotiate directly with a car co.

• Obed Adore 8 years ago

He should also take 100% interest making it GHc4,800.00 plus damages Total== GHC6,000.00p the least!

• ansah uk 8 years ago

GOOD SHOW MR FORMER PRESIDENT YOU HAVE SHOWN GOOD EXAMPLE AS A FORMER LEADER GOD BLESS JERRY JOHN THE MAN OF THE PEOPLE WE MISSED YOU VERY MUCH

• M Shanunu 8 years ago

If our former leaders and leaders would come to the aid of the down-trotten our so called power house firms would have respect for their workers there by making our world a better place to live,,,,,,

• abapa 8 years ago

"Mr.Fio the Taxi driver has persevered to pay the agreed contributions every month. Unfortunately, he had an accident which his insurers have covered up fully without any loss to the company. Now, the 12 months contributed ...

• Osei Asibey-Atlanta 8 years ago

Folks, this is simple logic. The vehicle doesn't belong to the driver. Period! Until full payment is made and titled issued in your name, you don't own the vehicle. Got that???? You making monthly payments because you had an ...

• Samia Kasim 8 years ago

Yes its true papa J. you are a real man of de people, Ghanaians love u and we miss u we need ur administration again people of B/A love u so much, there is no one like u in Africa Gos bless u

• Pokuaa 8 years ago

This matter is beyond home settlement. It looks simple but it is complicated. The courts should give judgment to guide future similar apparent exploitation of the powerful of the poor. Gentleman go back to the courts

• kwasi 8 years ago

This is what we have to do. Thank you Prez

• Baakious 8 years ago

The man for the people, the man of the people.

• Neutral Zone 8 years ago

Easy. Just follow the contract.

• spyky 8 years ago

this micro finance are riping gh off,just look at the interest the guy have to pay in the first place. nawa o.

• John,Tema 8 years ago

Has Jerry got confidence in the judiciary now?

• JOHNNY 8 years ago

This is how they area, a man called SAVIOUR AGBOADO who operate this micro finace called SAVED COMMUNITY at AKPORMAN BOI did the same thing to me. l reported him to the police, we went to his house but he was not in the house ...

• Obed Adore 8 years ago

Left it to GOD? Yoo, he is still enjoying his booty and your are still getting poorer. Don't leave it to God; fight him for your money in court.

• Ayiku 8 years ago

When was the last time you took a cab after 1979 when you and your family became rich!

• Abdul 8 years ago

You don't expect your president and family to ride in a taxi? Do you? Let's be realistic about things

• Godgis frm Dansoman 8 years ago

Mr Rawlings congratulations we need people like u to leads us.well done.

• YF 8 years ago

When did JJ Rawlings became the darling boy of these ndc footsoldiers? So where were they when Asiedu Nketiah chained him like a dog? And where were they when ndc babies with sharp thief were vilifying him and his wife, where ...

• YF 8 years ago

Correction: Teeth****

• Osei Yao 8 years ago

WHAT ARE THE COURTS FOR? THE USELESS, FOOLISH JUDGE IS CONTINUING TO WASTE THE TIME OF THE TAXI DRIVER. IF IT WOULD TAKE ONLY A DAY TO SETTLE, WHY DID HE NOT SETTLE IT THERE AND THEN?

• HARDCORE 8 years ago

most of these microfinance companies are pure evil vampire Enterprises sucking the blood of their illiterate clients who have no idea of how to deal with these cheats, I really appreciate the courage of this innocent and inte ...

• Abdul 8 years ago

This is exactly what JJ enjoys doing most. Getting the good feeling of doing things that directly & positively affect the lives of ordinary people for no pay. Clean heart, positive, responsible & courageous.

• Think twice 8 years ago

Chairman rawlings is the man of social justice. Infact going to court to support a taxi is a sign of humility and non of our big men are willing to do that .

• National Agenda 8 years ago

Some of these private financial institutions are only out there to cheat their customers. BoG must decent on them heavily.

• Sonkronsuo 8 years ago

eSome of these microfinance companies cheat the vulnerable to earn a lot of money as some private School proprietors do to their employees due to unavailability of jobs in Ghana. God will punish them one after the other. They ...

• p djamgbe 8 years ago

Concerned u are right even here in the west, the so-called civilized nations things like this happen all the time

• sablah 8 years ago

Justice Apau should defend this guy. He only got promoted by telling lies to Mahama

• Dicson 8 years ago

what does Justice Apau got 2 do with this case,idiot! If u dont have something better 2 say shut-up!

• BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, ESQ. 8 years ago

DEAR DR.EZENATOR RAWLINGS,

TO RESPECTFULLY REFER TO THE ABOVE PUBLICATION ON "GHANAWEB.COM" CAPTIONED: "A RAWLINGS TO CONTEST NDC PRIMARIES" AND TO ENCOURAGE YOU TO SERIOUSLY CONTEST THE PARLIAMENTARY SEAT OF YOUR CHOICE A ...

• Nana 8 years ago

This damn insurance companies, they are always unwilling to give back the money they took from insures..aboah nonoo

• p djamgbe 8 years ago

John no he hasn't that is why he is there personally to make sure the court does the right thing

• tht lonhave yue crusader.the only. 8 years ago

Rawling should settle sakite the trotro driver and his mate first before he can be trusted in any immidiation case he should be assisted by his tutu ninfori.

• Mandee.dav 8 years ago

High authority deprived e right of deir clients everydae. Dis altitude of pres JJ wil surely educate e judicia to work honestly fr e poor ghanaians. I salute former president

• OBINNA 8 years ago

ALLOW THE LAW TO OPERATE. GHANAIANS MUST LEARN TO ALLOW THE LAW TO OPERATE INSTEAD OF GOING ROUND IN CIRCLES. RAWLINGS IS NOT A LAWYER. THE CASE HAS BEEN BROUGHT TO COURT FOR LEGAL RESOLUTION. THIS JUDGE IS BEING DERELICT BY ...

• a concern citizen 8 years ago

Can. We trust the insurance company for what we know insurance to do? I am just worried whether they have a reputable lawyer? Any first year law student can handle this case.

• king 8 years ago

When did jj became a mediator? Do a better job by convincing ur wife Konadu to join Ndc the loosing team n stop dat cheap mediation.

• factual 8 years ago

Sometimes we sufer cos of ignorance,i salute d taxi driver! He is a sharp guy

• Ad usa 8 years ago

Go to court for wayome 51million dirty constitution u wrote for yourself.uselessman and selfish

• Bread and kokonte 8 years ago

The black man attitude that a poor man cannot do the rich anything must be put to a hot now in order to move the continet forward, I do'nt know if the try judge will honest without taking a bribe from the insurance group and ...

• CSP 8 years ago

If the car was insured and then it got written off then Enterprise Insurance is suppose to pay for the value of the car at the time of the accident so that could be used to defray the cost of the car to the borrower.

• TEE 8 years ago

WHAT ELSE DO WE EXPECT FROM HIM, EVEN BASTARD LIKE THIS HAS BECOME A HEAD OF STATE, APUUUU TWEEEEAAA

• Obiba 8 years ago

you think he is bastard right you are not and you can never be equal to him, what a pitty . what did you got from your parents black headed ? are sure you really have parents hahaha

• nero 8 years ago

sweet case for the driver.bam! We need serious regulations in this hire purchase and loan staff.

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 8 years ago

I feel sympathy for Mr. Fio Yohannes for his lost but anything outside a contract document do not have a place in court of arbitration. Ex-President Rawlings in the first place should not have poked his nose into this matter ...

• Aseda 8 years ago

These micro finice firms are thiefs in disguise

• Aseda 8 years ago

Did u read the article at all? and how did u understand it before writing this comment

• Paa Nii 8 years ago

JJ Rawlings is being a hypocrite and I believe this is a publicity stance. There have been several victims who have good cause why didn't he supported them. Ghana International Airways passengers are still owed their refunds. ...

• PENNYWISE 8 years ago

THE MAN IS IDLE THAT'S WHY HE TALKS BY HEART