You are here: HomeNews2015 07 14Article 368503

Declare stand on Gays – Mahama told

Read Comments Comments (58)

• Dakuraa 8 years ago

there is no need for the president to declare his stand on gay matters. the law of Ghana is clear on that.

• LAST DON 8 years ago

I am baffled to see this man lambasting government day and night and provide no sound alternative than always making shallow negative propaganda in the pulpit.
    Can professor martey tell Ghanaians that he knows God better bec ...

• ####RETALIATION GROUP~~ 8 years ago

NO WAY..

HAVE YOU FORGOTTEN THAT HE IS FRIEND OF GAY MAN IN USA.

• Ghana 4 Ghanaians 8 years ago

What is Martey's stance on extra-marital sex?

• Apraku 8 years ago

Womaame , how many wifes did your father marry? Can you ask your father the reason why he was polygamic??? such an idiot!

• Terkpenor 8 years ago

BRAVO!!!!!!LAST DON,NDC PROPAGADERIST,LET YOUR HEART COOL DO'NT BE SO AFRAID OF THE TRUTH,EVREYONE KNOWS DOLLERS IN THE MILLIONS IS ON THE WAY TO YOU FROM SAMSON."AFUUN' '3LA'

• Nunkaawa 8 years ago

The moderator should rather be giving his church position since they stand on the pulpit to bless such same sex marriages for a fee.

• Odikr@. 8 years ago

Why this "by force" instigation?
    Why can't the President have private thoughts?
    The "moderator,can seek the Presidents thoughts in confidence if he so wishes?
    But divulging those thoughts to all and sundry will be tantamou ...

• abeoreg 8 years ago

besides his moronic utterances, he should describe Ghana as a religious country rather than narrowing the description down to Christianity.

• hehealolo atsu 8 years ago

Yes u are right. Why the moderator did not ask oppositions who are leading domsor demotration also to declear thier stand no MP talking about homosexual gayism why Akufo Addo also must declear before the president

• Jake 8 years ago

Are gays not human beings, and God's creation, Mr Moderator?. Or perhaps you are Gay and you seeking consent, from the President.

• ####RETALIATION GROUP~~ 8 years ago

THE VICE PREZ IS A GAY

• ##RETALIATION GROUP~~ 8 years ago

BUT THE VICE PREZ IS A GAY ON THE NEWS?

• Riel 8 years ago

Lord, so preachers in Ghana don't have nothing else to talk about than this same issue? Don't get me wrong, homosexuality is disgusting but, if these preachers only want to concentrate on that shows their hypocrisy. Didn't th ...

• kosh 8 years ago

everytime i read about ghanaians attitude to gays,even the so called elites,it breaks my heart the enormous ignorance,mainly among the so called elite,.the less educated,i can understand but the so called elite.history would ...

• Mobutu 8 years ago

Mr. Man, i can't draw any sensible thing from your lengthen writing because it is full of chafe. Did i hear you say we need to understand why people became gay, please let me ask you if the general before us were all gays and ...

• kosh 8 years ago

See! This is the lack of educatiuon we are talking about,First of all i never said we need to understand why people become gay,i said we need to understand why people ARE Gay,,,,,,,all you think about is REproduction,straight ...

• KOSHIVI THE FAGGOT 8 years ago

I knew there was something that didn't quite meet the eye with this character who calls himself Kosh.From his innate tribal hatred of Ashantis to his self hate utterances and his defeatist attitude towards national affairs al ...

• kosh 8 years ago

lack of education,thats what it is.i made real points and facts.you just one of those old school idiots who use force[takashi]to justify yourself,State some facts,think outside the box,Open your mind.,And state facts,not just ...

• Sherri Asante Boateng 8 years ago

Amen..the most well written opinion Ive seen to date!

• Oppongwusu@yahoo.com Wih 8 years ago

Your absolutely right. I am not a gay and don't support. U really made a good point

• kosh 8 years ago

Everytime i read about Ghanaians attitude to gays,even the so called elites,it breaks my heart the enormous ignorance,mainly among the so called elite,.,,,,,,,,the less educated,i can understand but the so called elite.histor ...

• Y B 8 years ago

Alive Alive: Live healthy with health support Agent.
    Get quality health product and stay alive.

Are you suffering from Cancer? prostrate and breast cancer, skin cancer, HIV Aids, ulcer, heart and liver disease, kidney st ...

• Freeman 8 years ago

Rubbish. There are more important problems the
    President should address, homosexuality is not one of them. Rev Martey should deal with homosexuality in the church first. Many Catholic priests have been accused of sodomizin ...

• Joy 8 years ago

Omg, wetin be dis obsession with gay abi? Is the U.S. Supreme Court asking Ghana to legalize gay marriage? Poor Mahama, the man can't even get one things done right in omo Ghana and now he's being bombarded with this gaysh*t.

• UNMISGUIDED AFRICAN CHILD 8 years ago

I am happily married but the real question is Does the Gov't have any business in peoples bedrooms?

By law,how do we police this kind of of stuff?
    I can see a legislation banning and discouraging same-sex,but how does one ...

• UNMISGUIDED AFRICAN CHILD 8 years ago

Graduate Unemployment

• HARDCORE 8 years ago

This sick Reverend should be sincere and put his cassock down and declare himself as NPP politician, stop hiding behind the Bible with your dirty NPP politics. Ghana is not pro-homosexual Country and so give the humble Presid ...

• MYSELF ODWAN FUNU 8 years ago

That idiot is a gay himself. Atta Mills and some sensible Africa leaders told the western leaders to stick that idea in where the sun never shines. But good for nothing senseless thing (mahama) cannot make up his mind on thi ...

• jay 8 years ago

I don't think Ghanaians could be bothered with this initiative.
    The economy is what should take the center stage as the president's major focus.
    The least he cares about is others sexual orientation and what they do behin ...

• Grace 8 years ago

The more they talk about this the likelihood that the gay lobbyists will push this agenda on us because they know that Ghana is a donor nation & they'll try to use that as a way to get the government to bow down on their dema ...

• NANA AKWESI ADDO 8 years ago

HAVE YOU ALSO ASK THAT SHORT DEVIL ABOUT HIS POSITION ON GAY ISM. WHAT SORT OF NOISE IS THIS COMING FROM A MAN OF GOD. HOW MANY OF YOUR CHURCH ELDERS HAVE COME OUT TO TALK AGAINST GAY-ISM. PLS. CONCENTRATE ON THE WORD OF GOD.

• Kofi adu 8 years ago

I dont think this gayism will afford in Ghana here,so please stop making that comitte pls.

• ROGUE LAWYER 8 years ago

Any word from the president alone has Little effects on this issue because
    late prof mills declared the Nation stance when it Comes to this same sex marriage but we are back to the same Topic again.
    what can save the Count ...

• HIRROD 8 years ago

Verily verily I say unto you, Rev Martey, it is not what the President says that matters on the issue but what the people say. Therefore ask the people first via your church members some of whom are homos e.g. your Pastor who ...

• london Ba 8 years ago

Leave mr mahama alone n go to America and advice Obama

• Mawulolo 8 years ago

Is Ghana under duress to declare her stand in this topic? Why is this Nana's people party propagandist in clerical putting unnecessary pressure on Ghanaians on topic? What at all is pushing this so call pastor to indelibly pr ...

• Weah 8 years ago

This moderator is a congenital idiot. Did he say that Ghana is a Christian state?

• Kobby T 8 years ago

REV MARTEY, GHANA ISN'T A CHRISTIAN COUNTRY. IT IS A SECULAR ONE. PLEASE CHECK OUR CONSTITUTION BEFORE YOU BRAIN FART ALL OVER THE PLACE. SECULAR, SECULAR SECULAR!!!!!

• Ganyo 8 years ago

Is this what keeps you awake at night Rev. Martey?

• Ishimoto 8 years ago

We all know and as you rightly stated, our culture abhors homosexuality, what you should direct your energy to is to inculcate moral values in the congregation you preside. You always accuse state officials of corruption jut ...

• steph 8 years ago

I'm still trying to understand all this ado about homosexuality. Why doesn't the moderator bring out ideas to help the prez rule this country rather than splitting our ears with this gay rubbish? If someone decides in the pri ...

• Sam 8 years ago

You do not need the President's stand on this issue. His stand will not stop the spread. We need fervent fasting and prayers Mathew 17:21 nkjv

• Chuks, Tudu 8 years ago

Is there any debate on this issue? Where is the debate? The legalization in the us was not the view of Barack Obama, it was a ruling of the supreme court. Is the Presbyterian moderator asking Mahama to declare his stand to nu ...

• kast 8 years ago

Why are Ghanains so incensed by this Gay issue. Ghanana is a sovereign nation and can't be dictated to enact laws by a foreign country. It took decades of debate nd research for the US Supreme Court to vote for the acceptance ...

• inercycl 8 years ago

What does this bigoted moron want the president to say about homosexuality? He says ghana's economy is in tatters because of this "abominable" act.Now it is clear who is sick.This moderator is schizophrenic, I am sure of that ...

• Evangelist Yaw Forster - Pretoria, So 8 years ago

I find the pressure from various "religious"fronts on this issue interesting to say the least.
    When the "church" has reduced the power in the Word of God to prophecy, deliverance and casting off of demons, she is now worryin ...

• kast 8 years ago

There is a strong relationship between the Church and homosexuality especially sexual abuse of young boys. That's why they are so irked by this issue- it's too close to home.
    They should sort themselves out and leave us alo ...

• KWAME 8 years ago

President Mahama should be reminded that we the sovereign people of Ghana still hold our sovereignty and being the President of Ghana does not mean we have mortgaged that sovereignty to him.
    Should the President take any dec ...

• Sam 8 years ago

wat can maama do about it. he is fully in support to it. he has already done it with andrew solomon

• Kay Eghan 8 years ago

Rev.Martey do the President have to come out to tell Ghanaians that homosexual is bad before we will know it is bad?The laws in Ghana is totally against it long before John Mahama became president so please don't waist our ti ...

• OWUO 8 years ago

Please, this is"NON" of your business.
    Do your job as a pastor. Don't get yourself in politics. Change the people of Ghana, for better Ghana.

• Alhaji 8 years ago

Ghana is not a christianity Country.. do your own reserch very well.. before you can come out to say that

• FMK 8 years ago

THERE ARE PASTORS IN THE PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH THAT ARE PRACTICING THIS ACT. I REMEMBER LAST YEAR OR SO, THERE WAS A NEWS OF SUCH A KIND IN THE PUBLIC DOMAIN. IN ANY CASE, WHY NOT ASK YOUR AKUFO-ADDO TO DO SAME?

• member of the jury 8 years ago

Martey should read what Christianity is all about from the Nobel laureate Desmond Tutu:

He said: '“We are made for goodness. We are made for love. We are made for friendliness. We are made for togetherness. We are made ...

• capito 8 years ago

This man always wanna say something even wen they not necessary..man of God please homosexuality never did anything to the economy..

• staph 8 years ago

The bible,Quran,and the Torah were here in this world but people turned to be gays,even with the constitution they will still do it.I will be happy if the president comes out to let them know is not accepted in Ghana that wi ...

• good boy 8 years ago

u ppl saying negative comment about the moderator are foolish and stupid.