You are here: HomeNews2015 07 12Article 368144

Churches must rise against same sex marriage - Foh-Amoaning

Read Comments Comments (110)

• ½GHOST 8 years ago

Which churches are you referring? Catholics?

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 8 years ago

How can the churches prevent same sex marriage when powerful politicians are homosexual? For example, the NPP Director of Communications being Chairman o f the Osu Gay Club, don't you think if NPP (in the unlikely event, and ...

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

now that people realize that our partisan politics is nothing but tribalism that enables pepeni and ayigbe primitive idiots to sit on the throne , they wish to use this as a diversion from the real issues. if they wanted to s ...

• mensa 8 years ago

they all engage in homosexual activities while talking against same sex marriage which past as law by mahama and the usa and Europe

• Kujo 8 years ago

Gayism equals SHIT eating...what nonsense .

• yahaya 8 years ago

pls stop insults pls the parliament is not mend 4only Northers and voltarians is 4 all ghanaians pls publicing in web is meaningless at the sametime dangerous pls!

• ?????? 8 years ago

Even the Vice President Amissah Arthur is gay.

• Sarkodie 8 years ago

The only threat to Ghana is politicians who loot and steal. Ghana is not in trouble economically because of gays but incompetent politicians

• Kujo 8 years ago

Shut the fuck up...your party NPP is doomed .

• Anty Dumso 8 years ago

Infact ewes are Foolish people like fiadzoe

• jack 8 years ago

respect urself

• Ganja Farmer 8 years ago

Clouds r white but the sky is blue, monkey like u should b kept in the zoo, don’t get angry you’ll find me there too, not in the cage but laughing at u. ha! ha! ha!

• Meyede 8 years ago

Asamoah Gyan the Ashante bi sexual chop trumu and was subsequently sacked by his Arabian team..

• hehealolo atsu 8 years ago

If ewes foolish what of akans the betryers just like judas iskarot betry Jesus

• Concerned 8 years ago

You are right about powerful politicians but which president slept in the house of a homosexual and denied it. Isn't his vice constantly denying he's a poof. A poof is a poof and we should not bring politics into it.

• Koku 8 years ago

He will definately legalise both (poofs & shit-smoking)and even self appoint himself president of the club.But my surprise is the way our so-called prophets, bishops, pastors have kept quiet over the issue as if it doesn't ma ...

• HUMANISM 8 years ago

WHY ARE THESE EMPTY BARRELLS SHOUTING SO MUCH. NOBODY HAS D RIGHT TO INVADE ANOTHER PERSON'S BEDROOM.

WE HAVE MURDERERS RULING THIS COUNTRY
    AND ALL THESE DUMP PEOPLE HAVE KEPT SILENT. ANY STEALING OF MONEY FROM THE HEA ...

• Sigma 8 years ago

Well done Prof. It's time Ghanaians stood by Christian principles and not be cowed by the West. The West taught us to smoke and gave us cancer, brought homosexuality and HIV/AIDS. Lets stand up against the West.

• SARPONG 8 years ago

Don't say stupid things if you don't understand the issue. Homosexuality was in Africa way before the Whiteman set foot in this continent.

I don't agree with the sexual preference of
    homosexuals but we should speak and w ...

• kenneth 8 years ago

why should we listen to you brother who the hell are you? what make you smarter than Obama and the entire usa and Europe?

Let me ask u where is ur mother where is ur father who and who give birth to u is the kojo and kwame pregnate and give birth to u talk to me u dont go to the book of genesi chapter1:27 chapter 2: 23,24

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

AFRICANS DID NOT LIVE IN CAVES SO HOW DID HOMOSEXUALITY START IN AFRICA?
    OUR GREAT GRANDPA'S WERE FUCKING GOATS AND SHEEPS NOT HUMANS.
    ITS THE POLE FOR THE HOLE,NOT HOLE FOR HOLE AND POLE FOR POLE.
    ITS ADAM AND EVE,NOT ADA ...

We dont surport Obama to come and do evil ok he has wife whe is he doing this evil

• KOJO 8 years ago

IF THIS SOCIETY CAN CONCENTRATE ON FIGHTING CORRUPTION AND INDISCIPLINE ,WE CAN GO FAR IN OUR DEVELOPMENT.

• Kwaku Amexo 8 years ago

It is unfortunate you can have access to Christianity, formal education, healthcare, democratic governance, western businesses, technology,movies, western goods and services created without discrimination and now discriminat ...

• Anty Dumso 8 years ago

Is it not the west who brought the bible to kill Africa cultural? They said our tradition is a sin and hell awaits for those who follow the principles of our culture.what do we see in Ghana today?every one kilometre square th ...

Appreciate what West is doing for Africa. Africa can help herself not through blaming the West for their troubles but appreciating what they have, take care of their people and environment. We are able to communicate on this ...

• the truth 8 years ago

Blaming everything on what is "outside" is the only way in which the thieves can continue to steal and justify their ill gotten wealth.

• Concerned 8 years ago

Science started in Egypt. The worship of one God too started in Egypt. The Bible stories too were written by blacks. The white man copied all this and claimed the copyright.

Thanks for your information. I will pray that God gives you and other Ghanaians understanding to tolerate differences and not judge.
    If what you claim happened,then now is the time to build on new great things that will hel ...

• the truth 8 years ago

Ghana has no clout in the world of opinion leaders. This prof is a KING only in Ghana, and what he says does not change anything in this progressive world. The world is moving forward, with or without Ghana. You have a choic ...

Don't you see the contradictions in your absurd statements: Christianity is a western religion ... and for the rest ... Ignorance is sadly your biggest blessing it seems.

• TJ 8 years ago

You forgot the fact that they brought you the God that you so much hold dearly to. Wake up and stop being ignorant

• Kweku 8 years ago

There's no difference between this man's crusade to destroy gays, and the activities of terrorist groups like Isis or al Qaeda. They are all targeting sections of the populations they disagree with to destroy. I hope the Unit ...

• Agyemang 8 years ago

And this idiot calls himself a lawyer! Does he know the difference between a secular state, which the republic of Ghana is, and theocratic states like Iran? Ghana recognizes and respects all religions. The basic law of the la ...

• member of the jury 8 years ago

The University of Ghana should sack this person for bringing the faculty of law into disrepute.
    Charges against Foh Amoaning:
    1) His incitement to hatred against LGBT Ghanaians is unethical, imoral and in contravention of G ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

"A Senior Law Lecturer at the University of Ghana (Legon), Moses Foh-Amoaning, has prophesied that churches risk being dominated by homosexuals if the clergy fails to stage a blistering crusade against same sex marriage in Gh ...

• Chiefi amankwa 8 years ago

Let them marry and God will judge .
    Where is the victim for me corruption has more victim

• SARPONG 8 years ago

WHEN DID GHANA PASS A LAW ALLOWING SAME SEX MARRIAGE IN GHANA?

"A Senior Law Lecturer at the University of Ghana (Legon), Moses Foh-Amoaning, has prophesied that churches risk being dominated by homos ...

• TEACHER 8 years ago

The word 'homophobic' is the adjective of homophobia and the noun is homophobe.

You cannot use 'homophobics' as you did to mean 'homophobes' the noun Or probably you were ignorant or novice to know that the plural or homo ...

• the truth 8 years ago

Does that make him illiterate? Oh Ghana...sua tra.....

• SARPONG 8 years ago

You dumb Kola illiterate fool, you searched for the meaning of the word HOMOPHOBICS without knowing homophobia or homophobic means the same thing.

The meaning of homophobic or homophobia is;

Fear, hatred, or mistrust of ...

• TEACHER 8 years ago

Whether we are talking about singular, plural or not, your sentence 'Homophobics are' suggest plural form of the word. And that you used it as the noun form of the word, HOMOPHOBIA.

May be 'homophobics' is in the twi dicti ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

So illiterate Kola, who told you homophobics is singular, you stupid trokosi incestuous rapist? Homophobics is not a trokosi word and you need to go back to school, smelly trokosi rapist

• Kojo 8 years ago

Fo-Amoaning, an Albino who has experienced discrimination in Ghana should not be at the vanguard of the homophobics who want to kill homosexuals on sight.

What is wrong with that statement, Teacher?

Homophobics are peo ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

Kojo, his problem is his illiteracy.

• SIMPLE 8 years ago

I respect your opinion. However one does not need religion to know what is good or bad. The moment you address such evil act with christianity, you can not win because religion(christianity or Islam) is equally toxic to the A ...

• Abubakari 8 years ago

re: to Simple. Pls there is no harm in the dress code of lawers despite the fact that its western. My problem is those who want to force the islamic ugly head gear veal on Ghanaians. Knowing very well that decency or piety is ...

• musli 8 years ago

Your heart is darker than your face.when you meet face to face with a true muslim then vomit your shit

• Anty Dumso 8 years ago

Simple you are sensible

• ab 8 years ago

pls let the believers who want to go to heaven avoid being homosexuals n let the former enjoy "their freedom of association ".afterall this country is not filled wt Christians .Basic things in gh are lacking n u people are th ...

• cudjoe 8 years ago

Thank you prof for standing up against this abominable act.it's because the authorities and some others have marginalized God. people are chasing the world and monetary, we have forgotten God is real.wake up pastors, wake up ...

• NANA AKWESI ADDO 8 years ago

MOSES WHATS YOUR PROBLEM?. HAS GHANA PASSED ANY LAW. DON'T,T MAKE THAT NOISE. THIS IS NON-SENSE PLEASE THINK WISE. .

• Eric 8 years ago

Please don't insult.Read Leviticus 18:22 going

• GhostofNkrumah 8 years ago

There is no way you can stop it without breaking the law.

Churches don't issue marriage licenses. The Government does. And legally, Ghana is not a Christian country.

It is only a matter of time. The trick was playe ...

• Patriot 8 years ago

God richly bless you for spearheading the crusade against same sex marriage in this great country-Ghana, the land of our birth. We are not prepared to sacrifice our dignity and values as true Africans to the altar of that bar ...

• KOJO 8 years ago

WE BETTER CONCENTRATE OUR EFFORTS ON FIGHTING CORRUPTION AND INDISCIPLINE.
    NOBODY HAS COME OUT TO SAY WE MUST LEGALIZE SAME SEX MARRIAGE.

• wisdom 8 years ago

those people if caught be clinched there and then.

• Yoofi 8 years ago

..so how does he know if its enjoyable or not. Many Pastors enjoy it that is why they are not complaining and praying that it be legalised!!

• Paul Kruger 8 years ago

Can you proof what you hv said yoofi? Provide evidence that pastors enjoy it. The law lecturer wants Churches preach against it because it is found in the bible to be very hateful in the sight of God-Jehovah not the wicked Ar ...

• Kwame USA 8 years ago

Gays are not going anywhere. Ghana is a failed state. Worry about providing basic water and electricity for the people instead of gays.

Gay marriage will be legal in Ghana

• Chiefi amankwa 8 years ago

Science,invention ,roads .light .water and other things we. Need are left as none priority .
    Look these Africans talking about morality and ethics..do they have any except talking high on gay subjects ..even in their so call ...

• the truth 8 years ago

ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha

• Sarkodie 8 years ago

Africans somehow thinks stopping gay marriage is better than forcing our governments to provide better living conditions.

If Ghana will be destroyed it won't be because of gays it will be because of corrupt and incompetent ...

• JD 8 years ago

I'm glad there are critical and independent thinkers like you. I couldn't agree with you more about our national priorities. Thanks for the sense of perspective.

• Kwame USA 8 years ago

So Ghanaman wants to tell me he is rejecting homosexuality but accepts the Bible?

You cannot blame western nations for enforcing homosexuality and at the same time accept their Bible.

Gay marriage will be legal in Ghan ...

• ALLAH IS GREAT 8 years ago

Even Islam is against such foolish act and we must all come together as one nation and fight against it.Is agaist the rules and regulation of almighty ALLAH

• Paa Kwesi 8 years ago

Ghana is the country punished by God not the USA. Every Ghanaian I know what's to go to the USA ad Europe.

Gays are not the ones who will bring destruction to Ghana it's the politicians stealing our monies

• KOJO 8 years ago

MORE IMPORTANT THAN HOMOSEXUALITY , WE MUST COME TOGETHER AND FIGHT AGAINST ACTIVITIES OF BOKO HARAM AND ISIS.
    HOMOSEXUALITY IS NOT TARGETING AND KILLING INNOCENT PEOPLE FOR THE SAKE OF STUPID RELIGIOUS IDEOLOGY

• C.Y. ANDY-K 8 years ago

This uncivilised and intellectually bankrupt should lay off gays and lesbians should devote his energy towards fighting far more serious discrimination and crimes being committed against albinos.

He is lucky he wasn't kill ...

• mojingles 8 years ago

Andy, you eloquently raised the same issues I had in mind about this reckless lawyer who by any measure should have been dismissed from the premier law school of Ghana. It is embarrassingly naïve to claim as the "lawyer" doe ...

You can try to fight homosexuality when you are able to fight poverty and common diseases that afflict Ghanaians. Learn to tolerate others beliefs and way of life. You are not God. How can you continue to insult the mouth tha ...

• MARCUS 8 years ago

CHRISTIANITY IS JUST A WINDOW DRESSING RELIGION

• Toxic south africa 8 years ago

Marcus please refrain from such blasphemous utterances

• obi 8 years ago

please not from politics its not in our culture and for that matter if you know someone doing that just kill him or her secretly

If you kill the bird that lays the golden egg how can you keep enjoying the eggs?
    At the moment you cannot hatch the egg.
    Learn to tolerate differences. The sleek phones, the internet, the movies, the clothes, the vehicle ...

I guess killing people is in our culture then? And very Christian too. You are just a homophobe with murderous tendencies. You may want to see a psychiatrist to address your hateful instincts.

God gave Ghana Kwame Nkrumah and you refused to accept him. He was the savior but he was overthrown by his own people. I believe there is only one God and people follow intermediaries, Jesus,Mohammed those you pour libations ...

• Y B 8 years ago

Wealth and healthy living
    Are you living healthy, say no to sicknesses

Are you suffering from? HIV AIDS, prostrate and breast cancer, ulcer, , kidney and Liver disease, stroke, leukemia thobaclosis, typhoid and Hay feve ...

Where does one start? Gaysm? What is it? Churches should pray for this hateful man who seems obsessed by homosexuality. Why is this homophobe so worried about two people getting married? If he isn't into it, he shouldn't marr ...

• J.Davis 8 years ago

Hypocrisy in display again.Yes churches have in them also fornicators,thieves,drunkards,adulterous,human sacrificers,extortioners,liers,witchcrafts,wizards,haters,backbitters,etc.All these things also does GOD hates.

• Sarkodie 8 years ago

Pastors sleeping with members wives and somehow they think they are more holier than gays.

Fire will burn them too

• Blakk Toole 8 years ago

Foh-Amoaning, I think you should limit yourself to the Ghana legal and political systems and please don't speculate on that of the USA. However, I agree with you that gay marriage should not have been legalized in the USA and ...

• shaddai 8 years ago

This is not Democrats vrs Republican matter, its the apex court of the land that sanctioned it, everything politics

• Freeman 8 years ago

Religion is stupid to discriminate against gay ism. Sin is sin so don't overate gays as Cardinal sinners. There is no God anyway so love your neighbor as thyself.

• Oracle 8 years ago

If u say there is no God why did you write God with a capital G

• Doobia 8 years ago

May the almighty Allah bless and protect you for coming out to condemn this satanic act they trying to impose upon us, we the God fearing people of our beloved country Ghana are in support of you stands

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

A guy decides that maybe he'd like to have a pet and goes to a pet shop.
    After looking around he spots a parrot sitting on a little perch; it doesn't have any feet or legs. The guy says out loud, "Geez, I wonder what happene ...

• nana yaw, 8 years ago

Corrupt leaders, fornicators and homosexuals all have the same value.

• Andani A A sigli 8 years ago

it is a serious case!Allah safe us all from dis barbaric acts of gayism.

• Opanyin Ghana 8 years ago

Can't we use the platform provided by Ghanaweb to exchange constructive ideas for our individual enlightenment as well as for Ghana? It seems some serial writers have already composed posts mostly filled with insults, politic ...

• witch hunter 8 years ago

Same sex marrage is foreign must resist in Africa is not part of our culture and besides that God forbids it otherwise sodom and gommorrah could not be in history.

• Sarkodie 8 years ago

The Bible is also foreign to our culture. Our ancestors were not Christians....stop being homophobic

Someone came out that the vice prez was his partner. What did Ghanaians say abt that? Corruption, loot and share are also grave sins that needed more attention than gay. People are dying bcos they can not access medical care, ...

• inercycl 8 years ago

When Jamaicans started to persecute Rastafarians and "ofiri gyatos" in their country, there was worldwide condemnation. Now " ofiri gyatos" have come home to "roost" now that their lives have been spared huh!

• MULTI COMPLEX 8 years ago

NO. I believe homosexuals should not be banned in our churches though they should NOT be given high positions in the church. By attending church services, he/she could be saved and turn away from that ungodly behavior.

• Akosua Obinim 8 years ago

Look at this useless man talking. start by banning your mother. Instead of Bringing Woyome to justice, you are vehemently worrying about Homosexuality. How stupid of you as a lawyer.

• amoah 8 years ago

GO TO BED

the people are getting wiser and putting holes in the great book

• amoah 8 years ago

why is that, every time there is an interesting issue on GhanaWeb, some few idiots turns the topic into (tribal insults)

for all those tribal war mongers

YOU ARE LOONEYS AND NEED TO BE LOCK AWAY FOR GOOD

• kopf 8 years ago

As the so called men of God preaching about divide, prosperity an who is going to heaven and what not. Pastors yours is to plant the seed and let God be the judge. we are all not perfect. Simple as A,B,C,D.

• Kofi Ghana, Bantama 8 years ago

Folks I had Master in a discipline where human right was one of the modules I studied. I now work with a reputable Human rights organization in the world. I would therefore wish to meet the guys who have been throwing dust to ...

• Sunday:Spain 8 years ago

Since when this ungodly act started in Ghana my mother land?Ghanaians called themselves Christians,i want to know the meaning of Christianity.

• sammy 8 years ago

God bless you. .Keep on Mr. Amoateng. .let our voice be heard that we are totally against this satanic art!!!

• Ekow Samuel. 8 years ago

The have to ban in OMAN Ghana ,so far as God dislike this act and again even a total of Ghanians never likes ,Nyankopong Nhyyira hom Omana Ghana.

• Cut The Crap 8 years ago

In any countries albinos are routinely killed like flies !

An albino like you would be denied all human rights. Ghana respects your human rights as an Albino. You are however preaching prejudice and discrimination against ...

• Kwame appiah kubi 8 years ago

Christian why are we worrying ourselves about same sex marriage.No one can stop it.it should come to past as the bible says.So as Christians we should prepare for the second coming of Christ .we should not behave as if homose ...

• Karl Marx 8 years ago

Are those chastising the man here homosexuals? wow! I didn't know we have them in such numbers. Listen to yourselves speak, spraying insults from your mouths as if urine from your perverse penises. The man is right, looking ...

• Liars! 8 years ago

Before you fall for the dangerous trap by the paid apostles of homosexuality, ponder over the following:
    1. Over 85% of men who have sex with other men (MSM) are HIV positive.
    2. About 4% of the US population are gays. But ...

• George Eshun 8 years ago

Just love your piece.This is an amazing fact.Keep it up moving Mr Foh Amoaning.