You are here: HomeNews2015 07 12Article 368088

Gay debate: Presby Moderator wants Prez to declare stance

Read Comments Comments (91)

• Pelicles 8 years ago

Have you heard of Andrew Solomon the US gay activist? Mahama is resting comfortably in his bosom and after supporting his campaign, why can Mahama declare his stance against homosexuals? John Mahama is a disgrace to Ghana a ...

• School Feeding Caterer 8 years ago

The President is gay, if not him then his vice certainly is gay!

And that's NDC for you in a nutshell.

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

Pepeni fake president is a natural born liar who in order to sound on top of his case has only let the cat out of the bag of his incompetence and lack of knowledge. The cause of these economic woes is Mahama's tribalism, nep ...

• Jt 8 years ago

Any Ashante who want to say pepeni should first stop and find out from his parents, their ancestral root. Because no Pepe, no handsome Ashante.

• Ada Boy 8 years ago

The president should say nothing,he is only one person and his opinions could never alter society's attitude towards homosexuals.Why crusade against something you cat control,anyway? We have many more pressing problems here ...

• SAY IT 8 years ago

this is one of the reasons most ghanaians don't like npp. saying things you can't prove. you in particular is one the gay people. IDIOT.

• HUMANISM 8 years ago

GHANA IS A BASKET CASE WHEN IT COMES TO ECONOMY & COST OF LIVING AS HUMANS.
    THIS IS D SUBJECT THAT SHOULD BE OF GREATER CONCERN TO PASTORS, IMAMS & ALL D POPULACE.

WHAT RIGHT DOES ANY OF YOU HAVE TO
    GO TO ANY OTHER P ...

• NPP SENIOR CITIZEN 8 years ago

Mahama, it's better to prove your stance my President Mahama else fire burnyou oooo my president.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 8 years ago

Mahama cannot decide for Ghanaians. Let us vote on it. It is against our customs and culture. The West should leave us alone on this. Would they let Africans and moslems legally practice Polygamy in the West?

• Akos 8 years ago

What's all this noise over this lifestyle? Mahama has never endorse it nor made any hint he'll promote it. The only people talking about this are the religious leaders. Mahama's problems are many and homosexuality is not one ...

everybody knows king Mahama is not homosexual but Western pressure would force him to make it acceptable in Ghana. Have you heard Akufo Addo made any comment on it too? He is also playing between the fine lines.
    Every societ ...

• william 8 years ago

The discourse here should be driven by our priories in our context. Why should their discourse be imported here and made a priority. If President Mahama's stated Ghana's position, they were not personal opinions. Until Presid ...

• mojingles 8 years ago

Frank, have you lost your pebbles...mind? Clarify your stupid assertion that the West would compelled Mahama to make homosexuality the norm in Ghana? Where is your evidence that the West is pressuring poor nations to make tha ...

You peanut brained idiot. Is it not common knowledge that The West, led by USA and Britain have been threatening African countries who take strong stand against Homosexuality with suspension of aid and loans?
    I do not need y ...

• Ukan 8 years ago

The West, which you legally belong and live, is not imposing any thing on us in Ghana, my dear Teacher Frank. The issue has been with us since time out of mind. I should think the Presbyterian Boarding Schools could even have ...

Hahahahaha. I like your line of argument because it makes me laugh. You just don't get my point. Let me make it clearer. Homosexuality should mot be imposed or forced on us by the Western world because it is against our custo ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

The lesbians next door bought me a rolex for my birthday. I think they misunderstood when I said I wanna watch.

• ABLEZA RESIDENT 8 years ago

Customs and traditions are not as stringently binding as statutory laws. In communities where culture zips abominable practices usually the level of involvement dictates outcry and attention. A confined community with a very ...

• Abowey 8 years ago

I wonder if the Moderator knew we are in democratic governance and not military dictatorship where the head of state could make decree allowing or disallowing on same sex in Ghana. It is the people of Ghana who must decide. ...

• agyei 8 years ago

some of these so called pastors are attention seekers. what have they been able to do about the thieves, adultery, fornication, liars etc in their churches??

The real pastors speak against all sins. Homosexuality is not sinful to only Christians but to Moslems and traditional worshipers. I will not call for the killing of gays and lesbians but I think we should not encourage and r ...

• Abowey 8 years ago

Who talk of sin in the secular world?has any person been sent to court for committing sin? We talk of crime and punishment. Sin is allegedly between the individual and their God and so no human being should come in between th ...

I used sin because I was referring to Agyei's comment. Do you think Ghana is truly a Secular country? Why do we swear by the Bible and Koran at all state functions? Why do we pray at all public functions? Hahahahaha. Sing the ...

A young woman goes to her doctor after noticing two small circular rash marks one on each side of her inner thigh.

The doctor instructs the woman to undress and sit on the table and spread her legs. Sitting between the you ...

• Guzzman 8 years ago

You think adultery is a crime? You have heard of any body being prosecuted for adultery? Once it is consensual, the man did not rape the woman, it is no crime. That is why in your native Ghana such cases are sent to Ahenfie b ...

You think adultery is not a crime? Why can one's partner ask for a divorce and sue for damages? Do you understand adultery? One can sue at the court if the wife or husband becomes unfaithful. I know what consensual sex is but ...

• Etwieba 8 years ago

Agyei, are you saying that untill Ghana is able to get rid of stealing , adultery, fornication etc completely no Ghanaian has no right to demand of the president for direction on gay matters? Just listen to yourself ! Koshia!

• agyei 8 years ago

first and foremost---you and your mother are the koshia.
    gays and lesbians have been in Ghana like any other place since time immemorial. passing legislation will neither stop the practice nor make idiots like you any wiser ...

• MR MAWEGYATA 8 years ago

THEY SHOULD DECLARE THEIR STANCE NOW SO WE CAN DECIDE WHO TO VOTE FOR, IN 2016.

• Wow 8 years ago

Moderator, pls leave the president alone...since you Harte him and have never respected him what does his opinion mean to you?

• Livingstone Setsoafia 8 years ago

If you re in a company that is good for you and you approve its ways of doing things, d you speak against it? Definitely no! I opined he is one of them

• K A. 8 years ago

I'm in total agreement with the Presby. Moderator's call on President Mahama to declare his position on this all important issue. To be frank, I've been suspicious of the President from the time he renamed the Ministry of Wom ...

• JD 8 years ago

What difference would that make to the state of our economy? Dude, there are far more pressing issues in our society than taking a particular stance towards homosexuality.

• Kasapreko Kwabena Kyei. 8 years ago

Ghana has CULTURE !! We do not fuck human anus. Mr. Moderator, do not make this gay issue, a national issue. We are not going to practice homosexuality because a certain country has decided to adopt it. Moderator, you should ...

• Kojo Bonsu 8 years ago

Kwasia kwashiorkor pastor let Akufu Addo declare his stand first. Buulu buulu what happened to the pastor of your church when he was caught sodomizing boys that work for him. Did you declare your stand at that time? Didn't yo ...

• johnson 8 years ago

Pres JM focus on your work and dont get distracted. We are not there yet. Open your mouth only at the appropriate time. Ecclestiasis in th Bible says there is time for evrything under the sun. Be wise and dont get into NPP t ...

• johnson 8 years ago

This NPP priest is setting you up. You are getting US support and cedi is getting stronger and economy future getting brighter. NPP is worried. Pull him down has started and this priest is wicked. A crab nature pulling Ghana ...

Three friends -- two straight guys and a gay guy -- and their significant others were on a cruise. A tidal wave came up and swamped the ship; they all drowned, and next thing you know, they're standing before St. Peter. Firs ...

• Yamed 8 years ago

Heheheeeeee

• NPP BEGGAR 8 years ago

What is the rationale behind the article or statement from the "man of God"

• Analyst 8 years ago

There is no wisdom in crying wolf when there is no wolf. There is no wisdom in responding to things that happen in the US as if Ghana is a state in the US.
    I don't think the holy Moderator has seen any effort open or hidden ...

• Naaba kugri 8 years ago

This big head has started again , when invisible forces attack Afoko and kwabena he was out of coverage arear

• Naaba kugri 8 years ago

This big head martey why don't ask all the leaders including your party leader akuffo addo to declare their stance as in the unlikely event akuffo addo can be president

• king kong 8 years ago

Can you people let JM be for ones? Presudent Kuffour and Prof Mills has already declared the country's stands some time back, why cnt that be our stands again that this issue has poped up again? Or they just want JM to speak ...

• NOWATI 8 years ago

Some of these church leaders continue to destroy their church by infusing politics to e every issue. How can u ask the president to take a stance while his stance is explicit already in the constitution. This is one of those ...

• LOVING CEE 8 years ago

Mr.Martey do u want ur Rtd Rev minister A.O AGYEMANG to die before you put on ur clerical to come and give him a beffiting burial? Dont try that at all. instead of attending to them, you rather doing politics go to Pra River ...

• NOKS Consult/email: ericyeboah201136 8 years ago

ENRICHED YOUR PASSPORT WITH RUSSIA, INDIA OR SOUTH AFRICA VISA AND GET YOUR US, CANADA OR AUSTRALIA VISA. 100% ASSURANCE. CONTACT ME ON 0541702098. WE HELP IN GETTING VISA TO ALL COUNTRIES.

• King porto 8 years ago

Nobody is talkin about gay issues. It you who is discussing this in the media.

• JD 8 years ago

Our society is in a mess. The president should be more concerned with how to grow the economy, improve public services and fight corruption. Homosexuality is the least of all our problems. By the way, gays are just as humans ...

• millennium 8 years ago

Gays are human beings who have decided to commit an abominable act

• JD 8 years ago

Abominable, says who? How does a person choose to be a homosexual? Let's suppose that some choose to be homosexuals, how do their sexual acts any business of yours? By the way, sexuality isn't an either or; it's highly comple ...

• yahaya 8 years ago

Ghana,Africq where are we heading to! my dear peoples, the devil is at work.Let's all pray so that God will listen to us.The whites are misleading us into hell which you and i cannot withstand it, may Allah have mercy on us.

• JD 8 years ago

The whites are leading us to hell? Really? How about boycotting everything that is western to show your convictions? Ghana is going hell because you and your self - appointed men and women of God say so. Genius.

• okusie mampong 8 years ago

Please Mr President we hope u will not tolerate that please n please do well not to accept that God bless Ghana

• Y B 8 years ago

Wealth and healthy living
    Are you living healthy, say no to sicknesses

Are you suffering from? HIV AIDS, prostrate and breast cancer, ulcer, , kidney and Liver disease, stroke, leukemia thobaclosis, typhoid and Hay feve ...

• Yin 8 years ago

I want to know if anything has changed over the period, if nothing has changed then why is the moderator saying the president should come out. We re not in the United States, Ghana is a sovereign country and we has our own la ...

Why do you believe the "West" or anyone else truly care? Funny that this pastor following a "western" imposed religion is so upset about bedrooms and what people do in theirs. This debate is so juvenile and boring. It's 2015 ...

• Westminster 8 years ago

some ignorant people slating mahama even before he says something, let us not be quick judges for we too shall be judged, the decision rests on you and I, he can say it's not good but yet still some will do it, give the man a ...

• BABYLUV 8 years ago

I DO NOT SEE THE NEED OF FOLLOWING THE WEST is GHANA OR AFRICA PROBLEM THEIRS ? SO WHY WASTE OUR PROCIOUS TIME EVEN LISTEING

• KWASEA DEAD GOAT JDM 8 years ago

MAHAMA SCHOOL BOOK HE WENT TO GAY SOLOMON IN USA,SO GAY KOFI DUBAI MUST COME CLEAN,IF HE CAN,HAHAHAHAHA BECOS HE IS ONE OF THEM AND VEEP,ASEM BEBA DABI

• samabia 8 years ago

What will that gain you if the President talks about gays or not. why not the corruption in your church. Or are you gay?

• Sir.Tony 8 years ago

State ur stance as Christian leader first,since Christian views are different from political views...

• Gaq 8 years ago

Mr Moderator go and call your men of wisdom to declare their stance . Pls leave our President alone.

• Ataa 8 years ago

This man is a disgrace to the clergy fraternity. Is it the case that every PResident has to do this? Prof. Mills made his posiTion clear and if President MahAma does not agree he will say it. So far as he has not commented me ...

• asonaba kofi 8 years ago

I think its better the president doesn't show his hand.i don't know what good it would do the nation if the president declares his hand.sit on the fence mr.president.its better and safer that way!

• OBIBA 8 years ago

The Moderator of the Presbyterian Church is acting as a prophet of our times and saying the truth to people in authority . Definitely the government would organise people to attack such a person. Don't give up. Go on . That i ...

• OSOFO 8 years ago

CAN MARTEY STATE HIS POSITION ON WIFE BEATEN BEFORE GHANAIANS WILL ANSWER HIM.

• AFUGU 8 years ago

IT IS SAD THAT SO-CALLED MEN OF GOD WILL BE TASKING THE PRESIDENT TO DECLARE HIS STANCE ON GAYISM WHICH IS BECOMING A MORAL CANKER. INSTEAD OF RE-EXAMINING THEMSELVES AND THE MESSAGE THEY PREACH TO THEIR FOLLOWERS, THEY ARE ...

• JD 8 years ago

When educated folks like you begin to think that being gay is a moral canker as you put it, it raises serious questions about the value of our education system in promoting critical thinking and independent thinking. One of t ...

So,legalizing homosexuality will improve our critical thinking and propel us into the new age of human development? Listen up, nobody in Ghana cares what 2 adults do in their bedroom.What we do not want, is a situation where ...

• JD 8 years ago

Your first point is a misrepresentation of my thread. Kofi, what are you afraid of? The arguments against Kofi and Kojo marrying have nothing to do with genetic factors. They're based on antiquated religious and cultural beli ...

• Kwaku Amexo 8 years ago

Learn to tolerate. Why are there so many thieves in Ghana? Why are so many people go hungry and remain poor in Ghana. Focus your preaching towards tolerance for differences in belief. It is unchristian to continue discriminat ...

• JD 8 years ago

Thanks for your tolerance and recognition of the dignity of all human beings. We're plagued by far too many socio-economic issues to be propagating hate.

Where is the discrimination? stealing,armed-robbery,marrying your close sibling,unnatural carnal knowledge, etc are all illegal in our penal code.

• Emmanuel 8 years ago

Osofo weder Mahama declared his stand or not we will not accept so ministers of God should preach against it. Especially you

• Weah 8 years ago

This moderator is always in the news for all the wrong reasons. What does the constitution say about homosexuality? Please concentrate on the numerous problems in your church and leave the President to prosecute his better Gh ...

• Jerome 8 years ago

Rev. Martey have u declared your stand? There are a whole lot of things to preach about

• Kofi Acheampong 8 years ago

Homosexuality is a moral issue and not political issue. Righteousness exalts a nation. The president must joint hands with religious leaders to stop this non sense.

• nana 8 years ago

Moderator, have you yourself declared your stand? Don't push the President. Do you believe in the President. Will you do what he says. Leave the president alone. Go and evangelize and stop your useless topic.

• Godwin Agot, Gbewaa College 8 years ago

You are moderator but let ask you this question sir. Since when did you recognised our as having authority to declare stance on national issues. Can you do it for him since you always turn pulpits to campaign platforms agains ...

• Agbelengor 8 years ago

As for this dumb mumu calling himself man of God.

• Joe McKing, UK 8 years ago

Mr Moderator check out what T D Jakes says about this matter. This are the kind of people who should be leading churches. He understands that USA has a constitution and the judges were looking at matters purely from that poin ...

• Osei Yao 8 years ago

MARTEY WANTS TO POLITICIDE EVERY DEBATE. DOES HE WANT HIS PERSONAL VIEW? HOW DOES THAT ADVANCE THE DEBATE? THE MODERATOR IS USING EMOTIONAL BLCKMAIL PERFECTED BY CHRISTIANS TO DRAW THE PRESIDENT INTO A DEBATE THAT HAS NOTHIN ...

• Tecno phantom A3+ 8 years ago

Original Tecno M9 for sale.
    -Slightly used Tecno M9 (Phantom A3+)
    -Very neat and come with all it original accessories.
    Ghc 800
    Call 0244523451

• Yaw 8 years ago

I know President Mahama abhors same sex marriage but I do not think Prof Martey is the best person to advice the president.

• African 8 years ago

Why do some people think homosexuality isn't a moral canker? And I read one man talk about the belief in the supernatural as something that inhibits dev't. Indeed! Listen, brother. Perhaps u people think there's pride or a ba ...

• kofi Ghana 8 years ago

Why involve the president ? Kofighana

• Kwame Gyasi -Abomosu 8 years ago

Mr Moderator, this is not necessary

• jt 8 years ago

The so called western countries are morally corrupt and they are pushing their filth into all the corners of the earth and using so called economic power might as a whipping stick. Throughtout history,anywhere the whites and ...

• Ekow Samuel. 8 years ago

Yes he should ban it.To obey God's word.

• Araba Lucy 8 years ago

Moderator, you dont need a president to comment on gay marriage. You can lead the crusade against gay marriage yourself