You are here: HomeNews2015 07 07Article 367012

Petroleum Minister: ‘My mother worked like a dog’

Read Comments Comments (85)

• TONY AMENU 8 years ago

Great moving story. Is the money your own, or quarried from the state!

• GIVER 8 years ago

GOD WAS WITH HER:

• Nii Teiko 8 years ago

The NDC and crocodile tears? After Afriyie Ankrah and Adu Asare, we now have Armah Buah. Who is nest? Folks these guys don't deserve any sympathy! He is part of the Create -Loot-and-Share Group bilking Ghana to the dry. I cha ...

• Neutral Zone 8 years ago

We all have our own stories. Urs is not unique.

• sabastian Ebanyele baidoo 8 years ago

Boy talk well can you do what is going haveyou even buy phone fore your mum before

• John Morgan 8 years ago

The NDC and crocodile tears? After Afriyie Ankrah and Adu Asare, we now have Armah Buah. Who is nest? Folks these guys don't deserve any sympathy! He is part of the Create -Loot-and-Share Group bilking Ghana to the dry. I cha ...

• Neutral Zone 8 years ago

We all our own stories. Urs is not unique.

• Augustine Acquah-Quayson 8 years ago

Gentleman, it could be u live in city so u don't understand what a dog does. 1. Dogs r used for catching wild animals 4 their masters
    2. Dogs are in ages inseparably a copartnership of man even during his master's difficulty ...

• Dessie 8 years ago

non-sense..this is what most under previlage Ghanaian families gone through and raised their kids:dogs don't work;dogs are mostly lazy animals on the planet:Comparing mom to dog is reckless and irresponsible

• Yaa Nkosuo 8 years ago

Almost ALL families have this story to tell - of deprivation, poverty, parents struggling to educate their own as well as other children in their extended ( responsibility most of us shoulder) so this is no news Mr Buah.
    But ...

• Yaa Nkosuo 8 years ago

Extended families

• Twum Barimah 8 years ago

Mr. Buah, thank you for your perseverance and focus. At least, you remained focus and studied hard. Your determination and seriousness have given you this rare life achievement. I hope the youth will take note of this sad lif ...

• Johnny 8 years ago

This a Minister from a poor home who speak English slangs,Akufo-Addo's father was our former Prime Minister when he speaks NDC followers say he's arrogant.Compared with Nana who deserves to speak slangs.

• NANDOS 8 years ago

In agreement with you Dogs don't work and are lazy. This is no news most families are raised by hardworking mothers.

• Sir George Ato Brosh 8 years ago

Did ur teacher not teach u anything abt idiomatic expression? Haaabaa

• Lex. 8 years ago

Dessie,or whoever you are, the Honorable never disrespect with his comments my mother worked like a dog".It's an American expression and not an insult so chill - out buddy.

• Uncle 8 years ago

I share in your grieve. It disheartening when one brought up in a poor home. When you cast your mind back to reflect on some of your past moments one cannot help but shed tears. I remember another MP also could not help it bu ...

• Bongoism 8 years ago

Is that the reason these ministers don't give a damn?, because they want others to go through the same hardship they experienced. What are they doing to stop this cycle?. They only amass wealth illegally to satisfy their self ...

• issah 8 years ago

this minister should give us a break. it is even tougher for mothers now than when his mother was bringing up her children. times are very tough these days. minister should enjoy his free booties and shut up.

• OSEI ASIBEY KWARTENG 8 years ago

OK WE HEAR YOU

• koffi parker 8 years ago

haba a bitch? Please come again

• TONY AMENU 8 years ago

wicked COMMENT

• RPG 8 years ago

Where is the pension funds of Ghanaian retirees which have been in arrears for almost 1 year?
    John Mahama NDC/SSNIT/BOG/NPRA where is the pension funds?

• Jasmine 8 years ago

Fool, is that working like a dog? Ministers with their English language.

Sometimes the judgement of ministers alone shows the journey we have ahead of us.

Working like a dog would mean prostitution in other terms. Fun ...

• Ghabay,NY 8 years ago

Why should he name the community center after his mother?Is it his private property?I don't get it.

• ZED 8 years ago

You are a big liar because if you and your mother suffered like that you won't allow NDC THIEVES and BETTYMOULD and BARTONODRO etc to CREATE AND LOOT AND SHARE AND WEEP WHEN WE CATCH THEM RED HANDED as their stealing is causi ...

• ABU 8 years ago

That uniterarily gives you not the right to name a public institution or facility after her.She worked herself like a dog to bring you up after the unfortunate demise of your father,though I sympathise with you and part her o ...

• Pelicles 8 years ago

We all have some sort of story to tell and what is so special about you? Are you not a normal human like all others? Get lost and do the job that has been assigned to you. Foolish man.

• Brother 8 years ago

Not like a dog I believe maybe like a donkey. Cos dogs only sleep after eating

• Maame Grace 8 years ago

That is eactlywhati was thinkin dogs are kust lazy pets who do nothing just eat and sleep and bark to wake you up when there is an intruder. Being from a poor background we expected you to have mercy on we the poors ones. But ...

• kb 8 years ago

The Minister is giving something back to society. Most privileged people forget their roots. Bravo, minister!!

• TONY AMENU 8 years ago

You can't be serious!

• BOY KOFI 8 years ago

Some poor mothers in Ghana are great,they go through lot of hardships after broken marriage,departed husbands and divorces.Let us respect poor mums because they do everything to keep the well being of their kids,sometimes wit ...

• Ekuoba Kwabena Gyasi 8 years ago

Have you seen a dog actually work before? That idiot Mahama is creating very wasteful and unecessarily "jobs for the boys" whilst duplicating institutional functions left, right and centre. What is the common sense in separat ...

• kwame 8 years ago

‘My mother worked like a dog’ is an idiom use in the USA.
    Why soo much hate ?

• mame 8 years ago

He has finished milking the country, so he is here through dust into eyes; poor Ghana.

• Fuzzy 8 years ago

Login, its is not the worst. Others had to engage in unwanted prostitution to care for their children.
    My mother, Esi Baffle went through worst to bring me up. I guess ur Mum is alive, but mine is dead,couldn't live to enjoy ...

• agyei 8 years ago

most Ghanaians are working like dogs because stupid politicians like you are only interested in enriching yourselves at the expense of the poor. kwasia

• Asem be ba dabi 8 years ago

Was this centre constructed using public funds? If yes why construct a facility with public funds and name it after your mother?

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

THE CENTRE NEEDS SCIENCE BOOKS SO THAT THE YOUTH CAN LEARN MANY THINGS.
    IT SHOULD NOT BE A CENTRE WHERE THE YOUTH WILL GO THERE AND LEARN HOW TO FUCK.

• Minta 8 years ago

Your mother did what she had to do. So did some our mothers who had to squeeze water out of stone help make us what we are today. Who gave you the right to name something which you did not personally pay for after your mother ...

• Kobby 8 years ago

listen to dis idiot all modas work very hard . But dey are not dogs . stupid solve our dumsor for us

• Namo Aley 8 years ago

Thanks for the project but for how long will these continue?
    I suggest some children of the aged should be granted good education and jobs to be able to take care of their families, if after employment some percentage of the ...

• Yemanye 8 years ago

I have met this man a number of times and it continues to amaze me how he got to be a Minister and in a country like Ghana. this is no banana republic so where from these under-achievers who will not let us have our peace of ...

• ENKABOM 8 years ago

MY MOTHER ALSO WORKED VERY HARD. MOST MOTHERS ARE SPARE US THE DRAMA

• Filler Ellembelle 8 years ago

Daily Guide is a poor media house. foolish caption.

Freddie Blay is the owner of this paper and he happened to be mp for ellembelle for 12 years but he couldn't do anything in this area.

• PAUL 8 years ago

I don,t know what is exactly wrong with this young man. Why do you have to attack Hon Freddie almost all the time? This man could be your father.Don.t insult him because of some few cedis someone may squeeze into your palm. ...

• krass 8 years ago

Filler is dat hw u talk to your mother in the house which skul did u attend ? Am pleading u to go back and learn hw to talk to elder person like ur father

• krass emmanuel Asasetre 8 years ago

Filler bcos of little coins they give u that is why pls let Freddie think bcos he is the best among all

• NANA BONSU 8 years ago

SO WORK LIKE A COW TOO AND STOP STEALING EVERYTHING IN YOUR WAY

Many of us went through similar situations to get to where we are today.

• John Allotei 8 years ago

I honestly hope that the money for the centre was the personal money of Mr Buah and not that of Ghana govt. If this is a govt money project named after the Minister's mother then we Ghanaians on the whole are simple minded, s ...

• Mallam Tula. 8 years ago

What complete an idiotic hypocrate and thief ; what makes you think you can name a public building after your mother ; did you kofi Buah use your money othis stolen state funds ; if it is your private money where did you get ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 8 years ago

Do we "work like a dog or like a horse." Besides, 90% of Ghanaians have the same story to tell.

All statements tell the caliber of ministers we have in this nation. How can one work like a dog?

• Complex 8 years ago

not true man

• Abee 8 years ago

Is this the ministers own money or the tax payers money? what has become of our Country???

• Matthew Yankey 8 years ago

I am proud of the minister and every thing he said is perfectly and absolute true and i wish Ghana will take aan example from him i am witness to the story. The momy is a devoted christian.

• Father Pee 8 years ago

Mr minister, is it fair for your mother to work like a dog to take care of you and your slibings, whilst President Mahama who's father was a reginal minister go to school free.

• chief 8 years ago

And you're an educated guy is stealing the from the public purse like a cat.

• Sibruku Tifalo 8 years ago

AND FOR THIS VERY REASON HE HAS TO STEAL WITH HIS POSITION TO PLEASE HIS GOOD FOR NOTHING FAMILY.THIEVES ON TOP WITH THE SAME ENDLESS STORRIES! SILLY UNPRODUCTIVE MINISTERS.

• ADWOA 8 years ago

Most of us will like the same opportunity to build something in honour and memory of our late parents, who worked tirelessly to put people like you through the education system, fed and took care of us. Extend this genosity ...

• Seth Yeboah Berko 8 years ago

Is that y u be abandoned we who made u d mp. pls tink n remember us cos 2016 is jus around d corner Mr mp ellembelle are tired of u remember wat u said @ asasetre clinic on d 15 of Nov 2012 n tink.

• HUMOR AT BEST 8 years ago

HAHAHAHA

• me ne no 8 years ago

It is a JOKE to see this guy in this position. HE WAS A POST OFFICE WORKER IN MONTGOMERY COUNTY IN MARYLAND USA. I BET A MILLION $$ on it. This is the type of people this president is appointing. WE ARE DOOMED if we vote for ...

You should have said: My mother was a workaholic. You cannot compare your mother to a dog, even though dogs are considered man's friend.

• Complex 8 years ago

The only work I know dogs do is security. Only a special breed e.g. Alaskan Malamute is used for hauling heavy freight in snow prone countries. Cant fathome this metaphore of a mother working like a dog, lol!

• Uncle Pee 8 years ago

Did the minister use his personal money or the tax payer's money. If the latter is the case, why should he name it after his mother?

• Ghabay,NY 8 years ago

He has no right naming the place after his mother,excerpt maybe he used his own money to build it.Our journalists need to do better,they always keep us wondering.Can somebody clarify this issue for me?

• abena-kwabena 8 years ago

Was it only your mother that worked like a dog? Most mothers work like a dog in Africa to shield their children from the severe poverty. In Ghana women and children suffer because the men are all 'fools.' They all behave like ...

• spyky 8 years ago

your mother work like a dog,so now you are in a position,you have to kill ghanains for your mother sake as if,you alone see suffer for this life,don't just get me angry please.you all are just toying with ghana money just lik ...

• komfo 8 years ago

Dogs don't work hard but rather donkeys. Many Ghanians have also been through this before. Yours is not an isolated case

• Kunado 8 years ago

Build industries for us, not recreational center. What will one get after visiting a recreational center today?

• Florence 8 years ago

You should glad and happy she is a live and you taking very good care of her. Bless her. My mother die after all her hard work. Now am in a better place to look after her but she gone . Left me and my brother. Enjoy while you ...

• Henry Appertey S.A 8 years ago

if that opportunity is given to you or your father, you will go and build house for only your mother and the community.

Nice thing every Ghanaian should think in this way or mor than this God bless you Mr buah you will not lack mmmmmm

• krass emmanuel Asasetre 8 years ago

U say is a nice thing hw can aged person get from jiming pls we do not elected him to come and kill our aged peoples

Nice keep it up

• Che 8 years ago

Use taxpayers money to build and name it after yourself....is this not a crime in itself? What kind of illiterates are managing this country? You have wasted your mothers life. You have failed her. You are using criminal mean ...

• tru 8 years ago

This is a conflict of interest and clear corruption. You cannot use government money to build a community center and the name it after your late mother simply because u are a minister. This is a big joke

• Mr Bettertomorrow 8 years ago

Currently,our mothers are suffering surely than what the minister's mother went through because during those times they were no hard core corrupt ministers as presently...our mothers are selling thier scarce clothes and cutti ...

• Boss 8 years ago

We say "work like donkey NOT dog", the minister should learn akan well. NDC thieves.

• Kofi Busia 8 years ago

We all have our own stories, you got the opportunity now think about the poor kids.
    Don't take food from the mouth of poor kids, by stealing.

• YANKSON 8 years ago

My mum did the same at ESIAMA when I was four so this is nothing strange

• krass 8 years ago

How can the aged person Jim

• Mohammed@Abdallah.fosu.zongo 8 years ago

Oooooh ur mother a good woman because when he s like todays mothers ,they will not do that,they will gust send the boy to do work and no school,in fat ur god will blsssse ur mum