You are here: HomeNews2015 07 03Article 366270

IMF, USA set to ruin Ghana - former British Ambassador

Read Comments Comments (222)

• SMILES 8 years ago

WHATEVER MAY BE DONE IS WITH OUR CONSENT. WE CHOOSE TO BE PUPPETS.

• LARYEAH 8 years ago

MAHAMA IS AN IDIOT! PERIOD!!

• Nii Armah 8 years ago

You have shown how stupid you are. Did you read the article well?
    What the Ambassador is suggesting is national issues should be approached not from political affiliation, but with national interest.

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

Very good , if that is true the the USA and IMF already know there is no point keeping this artificial tribalism infested country together and its time to break it up like the USSR and Yugoslavia. Soon we Akans will be free

• Mawriz 8 years ago

Holy crap. You can start it now. What do you mean by you Akan will be free. Do you even understand what you are saying. You are the sort of sickness we have in Ghana. This envy, jealousy and crap thinking must stop. You don't ...

• ATSU, HO 8 years ago

TO HAVE AN ARTICLE LIKE THIS COMING FROM AN EUROPEAN SHOULD SET US THINKING. MAY GOD HAVE MERCY. AFTER THEY GRIP ALL YOUR ELECTRICITY THEY TELL YOU TO PASS A LAW TO LEGALISE SAME SEX MARRIAGE OR DUM FOREVER

• KWAKU MANU 8 years ago

It is the party that sent us to IMF that is to blame. NPP saw the danger of IMF and tried to wean Ghana from them. NDC sent us back only to be raped for a few chop, chop. Where do we go from here?

• Yeman 8 years ago

Kwaku Manu, asem no edi ka! Na who sent us back to the IMF. For the HIPC people if you have your druthers about you, my brada, you can do good bizness for yourself. Our current crop of leaders by omission or commission just d ...

• +++APPEAL JUDGE 8 years ago

THIS USELESS CHOPBAR FUFU POUNDER, KAYAYIE, MANUAL MARKET TRUCK PUSHER, PAAOOOPAA, ATETEKWAA JOHN MAHAMA GOVT SENT GHANAIANS TO SHIT.

IDIOTS!

• Gye Nyame 8 years ago

The problem is our own doing, no one is holding a gun to our heads. We went for all the loans drowning us now, the corruption galore is done by Ghanaians, so why blame IMF and the US. I agree that leaders should make economi ...

• The Mentor 8 years ago

THIS GUY IS A TYPICAL LIBERAL MORON. NO ONE IS GETTING RICH FROM GHANA. GHANA HAS DONE ALL THIS TO ITSELF. THEY NEVER REPAIR OR MAINTAIN EQUIPMENT. THE CORRUPTION IS PART OF THE PROBLEM. THE GOVERNMENT GIVES AWAY IN BAD DEAL ...

• MAYOR 8 years ago

Kwaku, but before we run into IMF, our problems were there and keep on escalating. Who start privatizing our properties and borrowing from World Bank?

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 8 years ago

HOW CAN TEKPER TALK ABOUT ECONOMIC GAINS??------------????????
    GAINS?? LOOK AT THE CEDI AND PRICES OF GOODS AND SERVICES. WHAT A BLUFF!!!!!
    NDC CAN NEVER TURN THINGS AROUND,.NO! NOT EVEN IN A MILLION YEARS. THEY LACK HIGH C ...

• james 8 years ago

it is a shame and a petty to be an african leader

It is you who is full of envy as every child knows the day the Akans break free the better it will be for us , as for you pepeni/ayigbe idiots you can only retrogress since all the problems of Ghana start and end with you. I ...

• +++APPEAL JUDGE 8 years ago

BUNCH OF IDIOTS DESTROY GHANA

• KOJO 8 years ago

THANK YOU. YOU ARE ON POINT.
    I HAVE SAID IT SEVERAL TIMES THAT OUR REAL PROBLEM IS THE ATTITUDE OF MOST GHANAIANS.
    SOMETIMES THERE ARE SOME PEOPLE YOU DONT NEED TO ARGUE WITH.
    GOD SAVE US FROM OURSELVES.

The same people who are useless in Ghana go abroad and turn out to be very productive hard working citizens . Dont blame the people for the sick anti Akan agenda of the pepeni/ayigbe criminals . We are please that the USA and ...

• Nana 8 years ago

Ghanaians know such things, just that we refused to take counter steps since those saying them were not renown politicians. Lol. J Manama said it last time, but he is still blamed for collapsing Ghanas institutions. A state t ...

• Sodayi 8 years ago

just break the fuck away. we are fed up with ur stupidity. the perception of superiority complex is ur bane and for how long have southerners ruled Ghana. shd hv been a paradise by now with ur claims. kwashia

which southerners ? ayigbe jj or who? the joyfull day is coming so be bitter all you want but we will never again be forced to be with you

• mopo 8 years ago

dog food !

• Godfrey 8 years ago

"National issues should not be approached with political affiliation, but with national interest", and you also take it because whiteman is saying it. Get your systems right and you will know that the politicians are stupidl ...

• godsway 8 years ago

I think the ambassador got it wrong. Why should the government procure LCO for VRA before they could produce electricity from the thermal plants? The reason is simple. The prices are low so they cannot get enough for their op ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 8 years ago

Craig Murray, a former British ambassador to Uzbekistan, who is labelled in the U.K's political arena as "The envoy who said too much, but can’t prove a thing" is back once again with his unproven allegations and this time ...

• JAMES Y 8 years ago

DusTY..., if you have mind and eyes you will cast them back and accept what the former Ambassador is saying is absolutely true. Tell me, DusTY; which country in the world has prospered through IMF and World Bank economic reco ...

• KOJO 8 years ago

MY BROTHER ,THANKS FOR YOUR COMMENT.
    MAY BE IT'S NO POINT RESPONDING TO SOME OF THE COMMENTS HERE.
    OUR REAL PROBLEM IS THE ATTITUDE OF MOST GHANAIANS.
    INSTEAD OF THINKING CRITICALLY OF WHAT HAS BEEN WRITTEN, SOME HAVE STAR ...

• THE GREAT OSIRIS!!! 8 years ago

I have long suspected that the incessant light offs in Ghana might be due to a diabolic plan to make ECG look like a failure so that it could be sold to a private investor for cheap. To pretend as though the private investo ...

• Constructivist 8 years ago

If u also did read the article well, u will realised from the ambassador's Submission that we've always elected into office idiots who are manipulated by the two institutions. How can $915m save an economy that has borrowed b ...

• Constructivist 8 years ago

If u also did read the article well, u will realised from ambassador Murray's Submission that we've always elected into office idiots who are manipulated by the two institutions. How can $915m save an economy that has borrowe ...

• mensa 8 years ago

MAHAMA AND NDC WENT, AND SOLD GHANA SOUL TO THE IMF [AKA THE DEVIL]FOR SMALL CHANGE. THAT MAKES NO SENSE WE NOW GOT TO RETERN THIS SMALL CHANGE AND TROW THE IMF OUT OF GHANA IMMD

• Objective Adancorata 8 years ago

Kufuor for saw this motive of the West and weaned Ghana off the IMF grips but The Mills/Maham regime took Ghana back to the IMF for further exploitations!!!

• Objective Adancorata 8 years ago

Kufuor foresaw this motive of the West and weaned Ghana off the IMF grips but The Mills/Maham regime took Ghana back to the IMF for further exploitations !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• NII 8 years ago

WHICH GOVERNMENT SPLIT THE VRA ? KUFFOUR OH MILLS OH MAHAMA OH ...THE HARM HAS BN CREATED LETS SOLVE IT

• Asseytwa 8 years ago

i understand it is sometimes hard to go to the negotiating table with IMF and the rich from the West with your hands tied. On the other hand, as indicated in the article, for just 20%of the production by private investors to ...

• Asseytwa 8 years ago

The points raised in the article sound pretty logical. However the writer should not try to portray that inefficiencies in our leaders have nothing to do with the current state. I also hope that this is not an attempt by th ...

• United Ghana 8 years ago

Mensa, I agree with you. Kwame Nkrumah warned us to beware of neo-colonialism & imperialism & now even this ex-British diplomat acknowledges it. Yet Ghanaians remain largely ignorant of Nkrumah's message.

• PART OF THE PROBLEM 8 years ago

YOU ARE DEFINITELY PART OF OUR PROBLEM IN GHANA. IF WE HAVE A LOT OF YOUR ILK, GHANA WILL NOT PROGRESS.
    YOU CANNOT IDENTIFY YOUR REAL ENEMY AND WHEN SOME ONE DOES IT FOR YOU,YOU BLINDLY REFUSE TO ACCEPT IT.
    GOD SAVE THE AFR ...

• laryea 8 years ago

laryeah is a devil who talks only nonsense and evil.

• laryea 8 years ago

devilish laryeah

• marfo 8 years ago

Are you sure you read and understood the article? Its a pity. This is the very problem the article was talking about. Read the article again this time with your dictionary close to you.

• ABK@GABON 8 years ago

Laryeah it is your bastard father in the village who is an idiot together with the dwarf akuffo addo. They are all stupid. PERIOD

• NPP SENIOR CITIZEN 8 years ago

No doubt Sir Francis Drake and the PENN family are all pirates established by queen Elizabeth.

They robbed the Spanish,French and Many European countries.

• NIMDEE2k 8 years ago

All this article did is to say Ghanaians are idiots and ignorants. Ghana is a sovereign nation and make decisions for themselves. Nobody put a gun to nobody's head to accept corruption in Ghana. Ghana is in an energy crisi ...

• Kojo Bonsu 8 years ago

Folks lets not waste our time with this drug addict . He is an attention seeker. Please check his fact well you will see he is making serious factual mess of himself. It is not true that Ghana produces 900 megawatts at the mo ...

• Maxibillion 8 years ago

If you mismanage your economy,indeed someone will dictate for you and take advantage of your mismanagement to exploit you.

• son of Africa 8 years ago

And one Great Nigerian Dr Nnamdi Azikewe said,"As itself the cradle of Western european Civilisation,this Continent Africa, has had the bad luck of being over-run by European soldies of fortune who had neither the Moral fibre ...

• Yaa Nkosuo 8 years ago

Mr Murray, Ghaanians are not as BOLD as the Greeks to UNDERSTAND, talk less of FIGHT it.
    It worked before in the 1980s let us see how it will help this time.

Our so-called Leaders have failed us and gradually leading us ...

• Yaa Nkosuo 8 years ago

Correction,
    Ghanaians

• Saint Ghfuo: nyantakyi must GO! 8 years ago

RAWLINGS, KUFFOR AND MAHAMA. THEY HAVE SOLD OUT GHANAIANS FOR THEIR PERSONAL GAINS AND NOW WE THE PPL ARE HAVING TO SUFFER. SUPER IDIOTS. THEY DESERVE TO BE PONDED WITH SHIT! IMF, WBANK DIDNT PUT A GUN TO GHANA'S HEAD TO GO F ...

ALL OAU NATIONS MUST PONY UP MONIES TO SET UP THE AIF. SIMILAR TO WHAT CHINA IS NOW DOING WITH THE ASIAN INFRAS. FUND. THE MONIES ACCRUED WILL BE USED TO FUND DEVELOPMNTAL PROJECTS IN THE RESPECTIVE AFRICAN NATIONS. NATIONS W ...

• Yaa Nkosuo 8 years ago

Watch developments in Greece.

You can only learn from other BOLD ones

DONT BELIEVE THE HYPE. IF WHITE MAN SAYS GREECE IS BURNING. DONT BELIEVE HIM/HER. GREECE IS FLOWING WILTH MILK N HONEY.....SHINE YOUR EYE

• Yaa Nkosuo 8 years ago

Really, Naïve?

Unfortunately, the West uses iccuses and incidents like these to test the waters and to Improve their system. That is how they learn - From their mistakes.
    Who ever thought a Nation could defy/default wit ...

you dont know the facts. i didnt go to jss. greece defaulted bcos they re not fiscally disciplined, like ghanaians. greece wont pull out of the euro. their whole culture goes against that...

• Yaa Nkosuo 8 years ago

Whatever it is you are banging on about naivete, huh; that is not what I care about, If you want to know!!!

Greece is what I want to listen to OK, mister

• Sir SAK 8 years ago

And so what?

• ATIA 8 years ago

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmm

• Ogyakromhene 8 years ago

Where are the morons on Ghanaweb who jumps at any issue or topic concerning Ghana and raise insults innocent people. Now then this a valid topic for you lot to debate. Enough said

• Patriotic Ghanaian . USA. 8 years ago

Next time simply people should just READ and UNDERSTAND an ARTICLE before they make a comment. With that ,Stupid and Incoherent comments will be avoided .

Is it Americanism or English? Yours is worse.

• KN 8 years ago

HMMMMMMMMMM! NEOLIBERALISM DOES NOT LIBERATE NEITHER DOES IT MAKE ANYTHING NEW!

• A Richard 8 years ago

The truth we must understand and know.

• Johnson Amoah 8 years ago

What a piece from a former Ambassador. I hope somebody is listening .Let 's stop the blame game and face the challenges and bring relief to the millions of Ghanaians.

• Yaa Nkosuo 8 years ago

Look at what Greece is doing, as a starting point. They elected a younger, vibrant, reformer this time, much to the dismay of the rest of Europe and now, someone (brave) is putting one foot forward.
    Let's wait for this weeke ...

TO LOOK GOOD AND JOIN THE EU. NOW, THEIR FISCAL INDISCIPLINE AND FALSIFIED DATA HAS BEEN EXOSED N THEY DONT KNOW IF THEY SHOULD STAY OR GO. THEY SHOULD STAY. IF THEY DECIDE THE WANT OUT OF THE EU. IT WILL BE TERRIBLE FOR THEM ...

• Agya 8 years ago

Since when did you ask for Ghanaians approval before engaging in mismanagement. This govt need to go if Ghana is to survive

• emma 8 years ago

It not de problem of this government u are only hungry for power

• Mohass 8 years ago

Must go my ass!!, stand up together and fight for mother ghana

• HODE 8 years ago

GHANAWEB IS ALWAYS MISINFORMING PEOPLE,RATHER THAN EDUCATING THEM.

• Elvis UK 8 years ago

you are rather fake in your understanding.

• Eii Ghana 8 years ago

https://www.craigmurray.org.uk/archives/2015/06/imf-and-usa-set-to-ruin-ghana/

• HAHAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA 8 years ago

HODE AND OTHERS LIKE HIM, PLEASE CHECK CRAIG MURRAY'S BLOG AND YOU'LL SEE THAT GHANAWEB IS RIGHT! https://www.craigmurray.org.uk/

• Nun 8 years ago

No one should be surprised of the extreme capitalism advanced by the IMF and the world bank. However, what would make the situation worse is the fact that we are ignorant of international politics and how the West and its ins ...

• Mallam Tula. 8 years ago

WhatAmbassador Murray is saying is the TRUTH and as for me ; I have stated clearly on this forum that the IMF ; the World all rununder US influence have never done any good in Africa ; you can see this ; by the way they prec ...

Gradual introduction and implementation of certain Socio -Economic Policies in developing countries are times better than radical austere measures introduced by self centered ideologues. That's The Gist of the Ambassador's St ...

• Gifted 8 years ago

Great piece....totally in agreement. The blatant Ghanaian political culture of blame game must stop now. Political colourization has clouded our thinking must be broken.

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

There's this man who's taking a walk around the red light district
    until he passes a whorehouse with a blinking sign saying: "The
    Hooker With Three Breasts...". The man get's just a little
    interested and thinks "well... th ...

• dan 8 years ago

Hmmmm

• Kaakibi 8 years ago

Apt description/summary of events

• Foreigner 8 years ago

It's easy to try and make some organization the villian or point the finger at someone else for your own shortcomings. I disagree so much with this person's claims. There are many successful examples of competition in the e ...

• Last warrior 8 years ago

Invest over $500 million and u take $500 billion from Ghanaians becos our leaders always deceive us so u also want to let the poor suffer every day.what the man is saying is to have mercy for the poor African children

Capitalism at its worst ! Guys like you remind of me folks living Abroad under Temperate Climatic conditions but return home and continue to wear three piece suit ignorantly forgetting that their clothing as comfortable as m ...

• NII AKPOR 8 years ago

YOUR EXCELLENCY HOW COME OUR SO CALLED ENERGY EXPERTS INCLUDING DR WEREKO BROBEY, PROF OQUAYE(papa ajasco) AND CO AND THE LIKES OF 'know it all'- KWEKU BAAKO AND ALL OUR ECONOMISTS AND FINANCIAL MOUTHS COULD NOT FIGURE THIS O ...

It's all Self Centred Politics . My Friend !!

• Alhaji Mohhamed 8 years ago

Ghana need very high level Economist like Mumuni Bawumia to advise any Government of the day but look at the appointees of Mahama, they are there just to chop Ghana money. God should punish them

• Mawuetornam Dugbazah 8 years ago

And what is that you call a "high level Economist"?

So many of you cannot see that the Ghanaian penchant for high-minded nonsense is part of the reason that politicians and associated policymakers take the masses for a re ...

What is your Point ???

THE REALITY: High-minded economic theories that are rooted in International Usury will yield no freedom for Ghana (e.g. Keynesian economics).

THE PRACTICAL: Ghana's institutions must apply economic counsel, principles and ...

• mawriz 8 years ago

He's replying somebody.

Where was he 10 yrs ago ?

• Jack Toronto 8 years ago

Why Mr Craig Murray is not blaming the Government in power,becos they allowed the IMF and the U S to control them so the NDC should take the blame.

Cheap Shot !

• YF-Heidelberg 8 years ago

Nonsense. Ghana's problems are corruption, incompetence and tribalism. NDC has been using lies and propaganda and stealing our resources. That is why Ghana is where it is now. Ten years ago, during Kufour's time, yes, Ghana w ...

• Nana d'Fake 8 years ago

YF you are a tribal bigot. We were in Ghana and we did not see the saint Kufour regime you are talking about, perhaps you were still in Heidelberg. If a goverment changes its currency by removing 4 zeros; (back-door) devaluat ...

• Tito 8 years ago

@Nana d'Fake, you're as stupid as your impressionistic comment. Don't respond to comments with your foot but use your head if you feel that confident about your claims.

Sure, Craig Murray's argument is quite accurate.

However, it baffles me as to why when average Ghanaian citizens point out the same obvious conclusions, ghanaweb.com seems to not give enough audience for their views to be ...

• GoatEater 8 years ago

It must take ingenuity for Leaders to ignore the obvious, and allow their countries to be so raped.

• KOO 8 years ago

Yes,this man knows a lot when it comes to politics in Ghana and must be listened to.Ghana has be running to the IMF and the World Bank for the slightest of economic problems making the whole nation a laughing stock.After goin ...

• asanka 8 years ago

the black man needs to rise up and be responsible for his own affairs.we can do it.we only need leaders who can say enough of the whitemans interference and take the take the mantle and get the people to the promise land.we h ...

• Emmanuel Kusi Tweneboah 8 years ago

how many politicians have read this? and what are they doing about it? IMF and US have nothing good to offer us as a nation but to deteriorate the already devastated economy. Ghana wise up

• ERIC 8 years ago

ONLY WISE PEOPLE WILL TAKE THIS MESSAGE. WHAT HE IS SAYING IS THE REAL TRUTH!!! GHANA, WAKE UP!!! PPP IS VERY BAD FOR US. WE ARE PRIVITIZING ALL GOVERNMENT ASSETS!!!SOOOO SAD GHANA!

• K Man 8 years ago

Government has allowed this to happen. Ghana has had billions during Ndc governance. It time we take responsibility and stop looking to outsiders to give all the blame or to go to beg for loans.

Until there is a change in ...

• KWABENA SARFO KARIKARI 8 years ago

THE ENEMY WITHIN

The current suituation of our power problem was cause by our own lack of good policies.The IMF and the other parties are there not just to help but to make profit as well.we call ourselves a sovereign nati ...

• GASO 8 years ago

THIS IS NO SECRET . IM SURPRISED SOME PEOPLE HERE ARE SURPRISED.'I DONT UNDERSTAND WHY THESE GREEDY BASTARDS DO NOT TAKE THEIR CRAP TO PEOPLE IN ASIA AND ALWAYS WANT TO LEECH OF OFF AFRICA. AH WELL THATS WHAT YOU GET WHEN YO ...

• Brofo 8 years ago

I still blame NDC and NPP..... we gave them the mandate to make good decisions for the land, but jokers like Asiedu Nkatie, Sir John and a whole lot of good for nothing ignorant, arrogant and incompetent creatures are pulling ...

• Yaw Manu 8 years ago

Kufuor weaned Ghana off the clutches of IMF but Mills and NDC took Ghana right back. Tell me NDC is not culpable.

I do pay attention to some of your comments and it surprises me to learn that as passionate as you are with your ideas , you always end with a scripted message, which as a pragmatist, I am sorry to say , shows you always in ...

• Tito 8 years ago

What pragmatic approach do you suggest to salvage Ghana from this downward spiral of self-destruction? Just asking as I'm a little curious!

• daldam 8 years ago

THIS U.K MAN TALK NONSENSE, THE USA HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH GHANA SELF DESTRUCTION OR GHANA SEEKING HELP
    FROM THE DEVIL KNOWN AS IMF,ONLY GHANA FOOL LEADERSHIP IS TO BLAME TO WHERE GHANA IS RIGHT NOW.

As for this guy Daldam ? You always on the wrong side of rational issues.

• HARDER@-'89 8 years ago

It all bores down to our own lack of confidence and our inability to believe and assert ourselves that we have the capacity to do it..
    and again, our corrupt politicians who have become moles and collaborators in this gran ...

• Araba Lucy 8 years ago

Murray, why now. Since when did u notice. why dont u shame theIMF and the World bank. Advice them and tell the British to return all the gold they stole from Ghana under the colonial rule.

• K Man 8 years ago

Maybe the former ambassador doesn't want to touch on the issue but CORRUPTION is what has allowed Ghana to slide to where it is now. corruption has encouraged backhanders and bribes and short cuts.

If Ghana had half the l ...

• Rogue Lawyer 8 years ago

why do you drilled crude oil and at the same time lack fuel to power your thermal plants for electricity?
    tells it all that all our leaders dont understand government and economy.

it is very dangerious to do things you d ...

• Samson 8 years ago

WOW. This is a Briton speaking, what else do you want to hear. We are doomed as a country and as a people. Hmmmnnn

• K Man 8 years ago

So we should only take notice if an Obroni speaks. His message maybe correct but why do Africans like to feel validated by Europeans, that is worrying.

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 8 years ago

YOU CAN STILL LEARN FROM THIS AND STOP TRADING ACCUSATION BETWEEN THE TWO POWER BROKERS IN GHANA. THE NPP AND THE NDC. WELL I THINK THAT THE NDC IS SET TO SOLVE IT ONCE AND FOR ALL, BUT MEASURES MUST BE DYNAMIC, OR ELSE IT W ...

• kalibobo 8 years ago

Our wise leaders will never see this or believe this truth.Set the black man to fight each or drop confusion in their midst and reap the profits silently

• Louis 8 years ago

Thanks for this insight and revelation. Again, we have government in Ghana but in reality, we have no government. Whatever, the government is told by IMF and other powers, that is what we go by. May God help us.

• Papioo 8 years ago

Oh,Mother Ghana Where is Dr.Osagyefo Kwame Nkrumah .Ur children needs u.

• Dr Robert K Glah 8 years ago

Ghana national interest, and not IMF and USA interest, is the issue underpinning development in Ghana and Africa.

That is the stance of the Osagyefo; Ghana should not invent a new wheel.

The interests of Ghana, Africa, ...

Hear hear

• RAY 8 years ago

What is wrong with our leaders, can't they see that these people are bent on killing us.Can't we wise up a little, oh! my people.

• Pastor Josiah 8 years ago

With all the degrees and PhD's they cannot see the evil schemes perpetrated on the poor souls by these wicked and bloodsucking vampires. Shame unto our leaders, where have they gone to school? Thank you Mr Ambassador, may God ...

• Kojo Bonsu 8 years ago

Normally I refuse a comment on parochial discourse. But for some wrong information provided in this article I would have told Mr Murray to keep his ideas to himself. This man has never been honest in any of his publications o ...

• Eii Ghana 8 years ago

Read the comments from other people outside Ghana on the article on Craig's website.
    figures may be wrong, but never should anyone trust IMF or USA or world bank.

Mr. Bonsu:

First, the man did not say that Ghana did not have any power problems about ten years go. He simply made a qualitative statement and comparison about Ghana's electricity supply relative to other African countrie ...

• GOWAN 8 years ago

The notion that it is some neocolonialist rightwing or leftwing bloodsucking institutions ie the IMF and World Bank, that has collapsed Ghana's power sector and thus, all the various sectors of the economy is in my considered ...

• K Man 8 years ago

Excellent analysis

• Owusu-Nkwantabisa 8 years ago

Partisanship is killing us. NDC has failed and NPP may do better but all our politicians display selfishness so we need to diffuse the antagonism in our society. That is hurting us more.

• Pelicles 8 years ago

You are a genius hence defeating your rival in the Nigerian civil war. The problem is this useless government under the man with the dead goat syndrome.

• yaa dua 8 years ago

Vote for the party of the future PPP

• Osei Yao 8 years ago

NEOLIBERAL ECONOMISTAND ACADEMICS LIKE BAWUMIA, AND KWESI BOTCHWEY SHOULD TAKE NOTE. THE USA USES AFRICAN ACADEMICS BY FIRST FLATTERING THEM WITH OFFERS OF HAVARD EDUCATION FOR BRAINWASHING. THEN A JOB WITH WORLD BANK/IMF. A ...

Osei:

Just wanted to acknowledge you on this point. It hurts some, but it is the truth! Thank you.

• Kanawu 8 years ago

Between the British and the Americans I will choose the former. Americans are cowboys and crooks.

Wise up . Buddy !!

• Ghabay,NY 8 years ago

The ambassador said "ten years ago,the electricity company was being run efficiently".Yes,that was in Kuffour's era when Ghana was on the right track,but NDC come to mess everything up.They were advised not to go to IMF ,Bawu ...

• Nii 8 years ago

Is somebody listening please?

• Private Mensah 8 years ago

Hmmmmmm let us hear and listen well well

• Justice 8 years ago

We intentionally run the state institutions down only for pravate actors to own them and subsequently run them into profit making venture.Ghana has no future. Ihave been saying these all along. Ghanaians! we don't have any fu ...

• Emmanuel Adaletey. Dumfries - USA. 8 years ago

Murray has grown a " hunch back ". When did he realise this " dumsor " problem in Ghana, and what did he advise about it? Why now? Is anyone listening? If you bring forth a child, you take care of it, albeit, Britain colon ...

• KKO 8 years ago

Typical socialist nonesense! What has the IMF and USA got to do with the inability to complete the Bui dam and the gas plant in 2009, instead of 2014? Kufuor's government managed to bring in generators and to purchase expensi ...

• charles London 8 years ago

People running IMF are not democratically elected but bunch of sex predictor Bankers like Khan. How come they are allowed to dictate and control a full sovereign nation.
    Off course, if u borrow money from the bank you must ...

• Cash 8 years ago

I pray that one day the country (Ghana) will escape the grip of these bloodsucking institutions:IMF & USA.

• fabs 8 years ago

I pray that Ghanaians develop a self critical mentality that does not suffer foolish governance or policy makers and instead the hunger to put Ghana first above all things

• Human 8 years ago

U re right me my think is de brain thinks dont tink about their own country shame on dem

• NIMDEE2k 8 years ago

IMF is not Charity for Corrupt Regimes. It is a profit making entity. The funding giving to these corrupt regimes like NPP and NDC are money borrowed from the richest people in the world. IMF is not a bank. They're the loan ...

• Owusu-Nkwantabisa 8 years ago

Africans have always solved their problems through respectful debate at the chief's court and the public interest has always been supreme. Today, we are imitating stupid partisanship and foolish tribalistic people are taking ...

• bello 8 years ago

Amen

• KOJO SASABRONSAM 8 years ago

Truth telling at its best. However, it is the idiots who run the country who fall for these schemes. And for the following reasons: 1) they don't understand the motives of the IMF (International Mother Fuckers) 2) They lack ...

I like the expression International Mother Fuckers(IMF)

• ONLY ONE. 8 years ago

I see some truth in Mr. Murray assertion. lt is true.

• Ransford Tutu Donkor 8 years ago

it is true this IMF and WORLD BANK are bloodsuckers rather than helpers.they give condition to the government which are all disaster to the energy sector and our economy.we are on postpaid they say we are not paying and now w ...

• wuhasan 8 years ago

Thank you very much for that eye opener piece. Our leaders must wise up

• fabs 8 years ago

Ok, IMF is out to make the mos it can but please let us not miss the blatant issue that NdC has sold the family silver to cover it's backside. In other words, the government has borrowed billions and blown BiLLIONS (just look ...

• Dr Robert K Glah 8 years ago

Craig Murray is a serious diversion from real truth. Ghana should not consider Craig Murray as the saviour of Ghana and Africa in a world of international cooperation to solve international problems. Africa and Ghana need lea ...

What do you mean? My Learned friend! I hope you not completely making Nonsense of Mr. Craig 's Facts ?

• Kwabena Yeboah 8 years ago

How could your comment be different from Craig Murray. Just think about it my learned friend. If we have leaders who think and put the welfare of Ghanaians first, there is no way the IMF and World Bank would have a strangleh ...

• Frank 8 years ago

One thing I can say is that we ve liberalized everything in Africa except out conscince. Indeed, Ha Joon Chan got it right with his article "Kicking Away the ladder: Developmet in Historical Perspective".

• Hassan Concerned Ghanaian 8 years ago

All i will say is God bless you mr. Murray
    You have just made a great save for ghanaians. Now the president will know our masters still love us and care.He was warned against IMF but he refused and signed

• It takes more 8 years ago

Whose master? Please stop this beg a beg slave mentality

• NIMDEE2k 8 years ago

Ghana is Killing Ghana

• Obroni 8 years ago

Nice comments by a former ambassador with an history of visiting lap dance and topless bars.
    Not hindered by any economic knowledge not background.
    former history student who took 7 years to complete a 4 years study subject ...

Hypocrisy at Best ! Mediocre academic background so what ? Are you Smarter than the Government that gave him Two Top Diplomatic Postings ? Are you Smarter than the astute Diplomats at Economic interest of the British Embassy ...

Mr . Obroni ! Please let us always try to understand that human beings will always have personal flaws but at the same time one should not confuse that with the the person's charismatic views on unpopular stands . Strause Kha ...

• "Bebini" Fufuo 8 years ago

Yeah, we do.
    More than about faux ad hominem distractions.

• charity 8 years ago

Till when will Ghanaian leaders make independent decisions for the gud of this nation. Our independence n republican status is theoretical n not practical. Always taking directions from the whites. Oh Ghana how pity it is

Racist bigot! Shame on you for your pathetic comment.

• PEKI TUMU 8 years ago

It is the lack of originality and a hard hosed governments who know what they want for the country that will destroy Ghana not the USA and the IMF
    The politicians think of themselves fisrt and have no long term plan to make ...

• sam 8 years ago

She talks about IMF ruining our country. You know what she should rather condemn the atrocious visa fees from the british high commission and then can make that accusations. real hypocrite !!!!!!!.
    Will the queen return all ...

I'm struggling to see the link between Ghana's energy problems & the cost of a UK visa. I don't think you value your country, if indeed you're a Ghanaian

• Cosmos 8 years ago

You have hit the nail on.the head...Apportioning of blame is the delicacy of Our Ghanaian politician. That is making them blind.from seeing the truth. Hope we will one day see the who really is our common enemy. Thank u

• BlaGoDzi 8 years ago

This is nothing new. Many ghanaians have witnessed this over and over again and every time it is IMF and world bank, but the greater proportion of it is with the entire history of ndc from birth. This is why everyone is so fe ...

• JJ 8 years ago

God bless u

• Adams 8 years ago

Commercial radio stations and frequencies 4sale at affordable & negotiable prices. Call to verify. 0247834184

• Owonta nsoru, 8 years ago

Well spoken

• Godwin Ofoe 8 years ago

l personally blame the ndc govt for all this mess

• Benjamin Sinclair Addae. 8 years ago

You're really right sir, but I believe if you can send this opinion to the president of Ghana, I believe he is gonna think of it.

• Benjamin Sinclair Addae. 8 years ago

You're right sir, but pls if can send this your opinion to the president of Ghana, I believe he will think of it and take a better decisions on our electricity problem.

• kwame 8 years ago

we deserve wat we get from imf n world bank bcos we blacks are greedy n foolish, bam.

• Bright Boadu 8 years ago

THANKS FOR YOUR UNSELFISH INSIGHT AND ADVICE TO GHANAIANS. I HOPE, THE POLITICIANS AND THE GOOD PEOPLE OF GHANA WILL EMBRACE YOUR ADVICE REASONABLY AND RELIGIOUSLY.

• agradaa 8 years ago

Our leaders are stupid that is the reason why IMF and America tell them what to do. What is the purpose of independence if you can not manage your own affairs as a country. You have to run to IMF so they could tell you what ...

• sam 8 years ago

The aspiring vice President Bawumia is a economist and intelligent but the ignorant ruling NDC under the leadership President Mahama(a stooge) does not pay a heed to the advice of this patriotic citizen for political reasons. ...

• T-CARL 8 years ago

The two political parties are too blind to see... Dogs may fight with each other but are one against the enemy ...That's the approach they need not accuse one another. We are fucked!!!

• sam 8 years ago

Why do we have people like Laryea in our country .May be he is not a Ghanaian Always his contribution is senseless and immaterial. Only a fool will break a door when some one has agreed to open it.Stop a party-like and contri ...

• yussif fuseini 8 years ago

God bless the womb that gave birth to you mr Murrey,you said it all, throughout the eight years of kufour he never dealt with the IMF.Though I hate him for giving out political power as a result of the hatred he has for the c ...

• k.t 8 years ago

I pray they don't force us to accept gay legalism.God help Ghana?

• Adjorlolo 8 years ago

I Said it that IMF is a Lazy Man's Option. Have you ever heard IMF helping a country to develop? Impossible. Read Dambisa Moyo's book on Foreign Aid. I will surely Vote against this government for Selling Ghana too Cheap to t ...

• RT 8 years ago

What alternatives do you have when the public sector is corrupt? Rain water can only get into your room when you have cracks in your roofs. Public sector officials are no longer responsible to the public but to their parties.

• joe 8 years ago

thank you

• Abena 8 years ago

It takes great men to see the bigger picture.

• NANA BONSU 8 years ago

I'd like someone to ask him why he's sacked by former British Premier,Mr Blair when he was assigned a British diplomat(ambassador) in Uzbekistan.He's a Russian puppet with a strong anti-West sentiments.There was even a time w ...

• Elika Moses from west Africa Ghana 8 years ago

our leaders should weak up to this call!!!
    for not allowed these people to destroy the in the of borrowing money.The leaders of this country should know better!
    When IMF and U S A are knocking your door for any reasons, thi ...

• CONCERN 8 years ago

IF YOU DON'T BELIEVE TALK TO GREECE

• Kodjo Lartey 8 years ago

Aw! My beloved Ghana, Kwame Nkrumah Ghana, for how long will our leaders be blinded by selfishness and open their eyes to realities of our time.
    We blacks have haters who never want to see anything good in our nations. Unfor ...

• Fred Kobinah 8 years ago

use your briains-ghana

• Papa Bissue 8 years ago

Mr. Murray's article is full of factual inaccuracies. By his arguments, ten years ago, we were producing about 1800MW. Not true. The generating plants available ten years ago were Akosombo, Kpong, Takoradi Thermal and TICO. T ...

• Emmanuel Badu 8 years ago

Real killers.it is high time our leaders situp to plan what to do with our God given resource so that,our dear nation can distangle itself from these vampires,who have no mercy for mankind.

• Z H 8 years ago

It is real funny now the representative of a former colonial power in Ghana has the audacity to criticize internal matters, as well as to absolve everyone of any blame by shifting the responsibility to "Western Powers" and "e ...

• Princeattapy Ribeiro USA 8 years ago

IMF< USA set to ruin Ghana- former British Ambassador

• Chinook 8 years ago

I think this man is crazy. What did he do when British Electricity was privatized.

• Whatever 8 years ago

The US is a country that wakes 6 hours later than we wake up, do our leaders understand what that means for the psychology of citizens in that countries and their likely reaction toward the rest of the world. If you fail to t ...

• Whatever 8 years ago

At times, my eyes welled up in tears that leaders in the two main political parties can't see the puppet master who have vowed to dismantle this country and re-erect structures which to support their wicked exploitation whils ...

• steve 8 years ago

This is a very serious point the ambassador is making for real thinking people.Privatization is not a bad thing but who buys and finance.How much profit the new owner wants and how much tariffs the poor consumer will pay? Thi ...

• James Akosa U.S.A 8 years ago

Ghana weaned herself of IMF and the world Bank during President kufour's time but was taken back by the clueless leftists socialists ndc

• Samuel Asante U.S.A 8 years ago

If the NFC had managed the economy well, there would be no need to go for this small money with conditions which are disastrous to the average Ghanaian. Yep a way to sell Ghana's assets to rich westerners who have the money t ...

• King Flemzy USA 8 years ago

You have spoken well,We knew it,yet this our so called power drunk leaders who will go ahead to sell our heritage, our pride,our blood of our forefathers, our home without thinking of the younger generation because they will ...

• Nana OSAE 8 years ago

useless article just ten years ago Ghana has the reliable supply of electricity? I stopped reading as soon as I saw that phrase

• Pelicles 8 years ago

Our power supply wasn't that bad ten years ago. IMF has nothing good for Ghana or any developing nation. Go for their loan or whatever and see the consequences that comes with it. Have your forgotten "Austerity measures an ...

• Jonathan 8 years ago

Hey those insulting, what changes can insult bring? This is the time to bring out good suggestions to make our economy stable. It doesn't benefits only the leaders, when the economy becomes stable
    . Bring ideas! That makes y ...

• suberu salam 8 years ago

The main aim of usa is to keep us in ghana and consequencely africa in a state of WANT amd perpetually state of poverty, that will anable ¨them to have total control on both on the people and the chicken head of state we ha ...

• Okutey 8 years ago

Illiterate and incompetent people will always let us surfer

• Okutey 8 years ago

Incompetent will always let us surfer

• Mohass 8 years ago

Put our differences one side and fight our corrupted leader.ndc , npp and so.., are there for own interests. simply

• BEGINNING OF NATIONAL CHAOS 8 years ago

The problem of DUM SOR is not coming from ECG, yet JDM, IMF USA has chosen ECG that to be taken for 25 years as the condition to access compact two.
    My greatest astonishment is that the former Prez, Kuffour also supported th ...

• yaweh 8 years ago

We need to return to our socialist roots.Hands off education, healthcare, and public utilities. Capitalist pigs!!!

• Doobia 8 years ago

I wish our political parties could listen to this piece of advice from the man to form a common ground in solving our national problems instead of always jumping from one media houses to another accusing each other and ruinin ...

• fresh, Agona 8 years ago

I suggest Ghanains do not take the second part of the IMF loan and please dnt sell our ECG oooo, ooo when will the blackan see clear, Craig God bless you.

• ABABIO 8 years ago

SO SAD , MAHAMA HAS NO KNOWLEDGE OF RULING THE COUNTRY WITH HIS LOW MINDED LEARDERS WHO ARE JUST THERE TO STEAL .WITH THE N.D.C GHA IS DOOM HE PLAINING TO STEAL 2016. IF HE DOES THERE WILL BE A BLOODSHED.

• libasky Gh 8 years ago

IMF must go

• Dora 6 years ago

Mother Ghana wake up, may God grant our leaders wisdom.