You are here: HomeNews2015 07 02Article 365932

Ghana number one consumer of Marijuana in the World

Read Comments Comments (82)

• Cyndi Akpovi 8 years ago

Ghanaian journalist are not trained to be critical. Because the UN or whatever said it, it is true and they will report it without asking new questions!

• kabokabo 8 years ago

BLack Rasta should not have apologised . UN has prove him right. Just legalize it

• Kay 8 years ago

Akofo Addo and his galamsey Honcho,---Amoatia Ofori Panyin, are the most iconic consumers of Wee--in recent day memory!

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

legalize it and ban homosexuality

• Koosei 8 years ago

THANKS TO BLACK RASTA.

• Sam 8 years ago

This is a very stupid report being caried out by lazy agency likely the GNA. Nonsense. Go to Jamaica UK,USA and even Naija.!

• Konkonte 8 years ago

What a lie,why is the U.S. having problems with the drug fight with the South Americans?
    Out of every ten black Americans 8 smoke wee and look at the U.S. population compared to Ghana

• ARTEEZ PHOGHANA 8 years ago

A VERY FOOLISH REPORT THAT IS ALSO INSULTING TO SAY THE LEAST.

• kofi 8 years ago

this report is not true how ghana will top america in smoking wee

• SOWOTUOM SOLDIER 8 years ago

NONSENSE,WHAT ABOUT HOLLAND WHERE EVERY TOM AND JACK SMOKE?.HOW CAN A COUNTRY THAT HASN´T LEGALIZED IT BECOMES NO ONE?.HOLLAND HAS LEGALIZED IT BECAUSE THEY KNOW ALMOST HALF OF THEIR POPULATION SMOKE,SO STOP LYING ABOUT THIS ...

• ABRAHAM 8 years ago

NO WONDER LEADERS IN THIS COUNTRY CONTNUE TO SIGN BAD DEALS AND CONTNUE TO MORTGAGE THS COUNTRY SNCE 1966

• CORNEY 8 years ago

Don't mind these idiots,how can Ghana be number one in marijuana,a place where over 90% don't even know how marijuana looks like,how do they come by that report when there is no record anywhere to show who smoke or who does n ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

Do you want a joint account?
    Please dont push me in the Bank when you are smoking ganja to check my balance.

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 8 years ago

Hi Corney, I'm sure you are not a Ghanaian and don't live in Ghana. Let me tell you that a researcher has revealed that over 80% of our parliamentarians smoke the weed. And I'm sure you will be shocked to learn that the presi ...

• akwodaa 8 years ago

I doubt when any UN report of this nature came out. Show us proof Mr. minister....Why did you not cite which UN publication, when, where....And what country was second? And third? Are you sure you're not making it up and also ...

• DOWBIAH ROKO 8 years ago

WHY HAVE YOU FORGOTTEN MAHAMAH TOO?.HE SMOKES MORE THAN A RAT.YOU CAN ASK FORMER DRUGS DEALER KOFI ADAMS.

• King deed 8 years ago

Which researcher? Where did he/she get the data from? We know Ghanaian researchers already... 'Grandpa' and 'cut n paste' of course. Can u use that 80% of 230 parliamentarians to conclude that 26million citizens should lead t ...

• cat 8 years ago

Marijuana has been legalized in Holand but few natives smoke it. Again prostitution is also legalized but natives dont patronize. Its the tourist. Alhough wee is legalized in Holand you can only see the blacks smoking or sell ...

• SOWOTUOM SOLDIER 8 years ago

HEY BOB CAT,WHY DON'T YOU BELIEVE ME?I HAVE LIVED IN HOLLAND FOR MORE THAN 30YEARS SO IF YOU DON'T KNOW DON'T LIE ABOUT IT.HOW MANY BLACKS CAN BUY 400EUROS MARIJUANA AT A TIME?.IT IS ONLY THESE GREEDY WHITES WHO CAN DO THAT.L ...

• Tppman 8 years ago

dis can't be true of Ghana.Jamaica,usa,UK,Holland where wee smoking is legalised.Poor reportage

• gloria usa 8 years ago

This is a big lie wht about jamaica

• Douglas. Bristol-UK` 8 years ago

fools

• BIRAHMA 8 years ago

Let whosoever have the report publish it for us to digest. Until then I will not believe that we are the number one consumer of the substance

• Azitariga 8 years ago

Whose data did the UN use? NACOB do not have the capacity to compile compressive data in the area of drug abuse. Let us debate the reality.

• A Richard 8 years ago

It's shame to read this sad article when most of the smokers are in the Northern Regions and in this same regions where the citizens are very poor and the majority of the appointment in the Government are coming of late so wh ...

• Concerned 8 years ago

Where do these people get their data from. Even inflation where there are formal systems for collecting data, you get it wrong. These figures are not even estimates but wild arbitrary figures. If there is an increase in crime ...

• General Mosquito 8 years ago

legalization of the ganja herb....west legalize gay and Africa will legalize wee....Burn the herb Africa...Burn it up....General mosquito say so

• Akwesi 8 years ago

well!!!! well!!!!!! well!!!!!! done Ghanaaaaaa

• RON CANN 8 years ago

people have used it for years,but still decent,character counts.

• Dan Nielson 8 years ago

This is NOT TRUE!! We smoke more Marijuana in the Netherlands. Another bullshit from someone who is trying to exaggerate smoking in Ghana and keep criminalizing it.

• heart 8 years ago

This is not true --I just read from www.leafscience.com. Iceland 18.3% of the population, 17.7%,US 14.8%, Italy 14.6%, New Zealand 14.6%, Nigeria 14.3% and it goes on and on --2014 UN report. Ghana is no where near they are s ...

• Joe Canada 8 years ago

Whoever came up with that report is lying or trying to make Ghana look bad. In U.S, I can tell you that over 50% smoke wee. 80% has used some form of hard drugs even babies in the womb. Over there wee is like a candy to them.

• heart 8 years ago

17.7% is Zambia

• Kwesi Baidoo 8 years ago

What's good under Mahama?

• Hardcore 8 years ago

this label is unfortunate and stupid, why not Jamaica but Ghana, journalists should be circumspect on whatever they report, this is absolute nonsense from the GNA. Ghana is never the highest consumer of Marijuana.

• Adam 8 years ago

Lazy stupid journalists! Which UN Report? Cite it specifically! False premise of a false crappy report

• Maxwell Afrifa 8 years ago

It is never true...the whole world is USA that top "Marijuana smoking..followed...Jamaica...Nigeria..UK. Those who did this Research are lairs and don't know what they are doing themselves.

• Koosei 8 years ago

ANY CHALLENGER CAN CALL ME ON 0031 619799112

• Koosei 8 years ago

For more info

• la garta 8 years ago

Let we Ghanaians take this as a plus in this Mahama economy.it will boost our credentials when he is going for another loan.at least something he has achieved in his tenure in office.Mahama the wee smooker

• SE 8 years ago

THIS IS A STUPID LIE. THERE IS NO SUCH UN REPORT. WHEN WAS THE RESEARCH DONE? THE GUY IS TALIKNG FROM HIS STOMACH. STOP SPREADING SUCH EVIL LIES.SUCH NEGATIVE REPORTS ONLY KILL GOOD INITIATIVES.

• Abotsi 8 years ago

Hey, hey, hey UN, stop the lies and go back to your drawing board and come back with something sensible. Three regions out of ten cannot make Ghana top the world. What about Jamaica where a baby in d womb even smokes. What ab ...

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 8 years ago

YOU THINK WE DO NOT KNOW YOUR HISTORY? YOU KILLED PATRICE LUMUMBA, YOU OVERTHREW DR KWAME NKRUMAH, YOU HELP KILLED THOMAS SANKARA, YOU ARE PROTECTING DICTATORS IN AFRICA, NOW YOU WANT TO PLACE GHANA AS NUMBER ONE IN WEE SMO ...

• Benony Aboagyi 8 years ago

Why do we always associate every bad thing with our beloved country? Bypassing the United States, where 'weed' is smoked by both males and females alike, to crown Ghana with such unpopular title is unfortunate. Our leaders s ...

• J.Davis 8 years ago

The people of the Northern Region should summon the United Nations to appear before them as Ghana parliament did against Blakk Rasta because majority of the northerners and Ghanaians are not Marijauna smokers.This report is f ...

• KING LOMOTEY 8 years ago

How did the UN come up with this report?
    Do you seriously believe that we beat the reggae nation of Jamaica?

• Left Critic 8 years ago

The number one wee smokers. The number one religious people. The real opiate and the opiate for the soul. A nation of opiate addicts.

• pablo 8 years ago

Thus report is wrong obviously....

• Karimam 8 years ago

Who conducted that research and what parameters did they used. What about Jamaica and the US. Stop churning stupid statistics without bases

• ABENA 8 years ago

WITH NANA ADDO LEADER COVERED IN SMOKE

• Koo brofo 8 years ago

So where did Black Rasta get it wrong? Is it about the 80 percent? Truth will always prevail. Legalize it and don't criticize it - BOB MARLEY we miss u

• Paul siaw 8 years ago

Stupid report! ! The number of people using Marijuana in the USA is even twice the population in Ghana!! Ghanains are lazy minded who prone to believe anything

• yaa dua 8 years ago

Nonsense! Very that same toothless UN will say Ghana has the highest number of homosexual.

we have the U . S.A where weed is now deemed as a medicinal and is consumed in large quantities. Considering the population of that ...

• concerned citizen 8 years ago

United nations must be high. we dont need any bogus studies to tell us that.the researchers are high on marijuana

• yaa dua 8 years ago

Nonsense! That very same toothless UN will say Ghana has the highest number of homosexual.

we have the U . S.A where weed is now deemed as a medicinal and is consumed in large quantities. Considering the population of that ...

• GHANAMAN 8 years ago

NANA ADDO PUSHED GH TO THE TOP.

• steve 8 years ago

It is time journalist start to dig in for facts than just writing what they hear or told.This is stupid report that holds no truth.By the way government should make efforts to protect the youth for our better future.

• kwesi 8 years ago

Stupid talk n go to the carribean and see with your eyes

• Shaft 8 years ago

That's a lie and the UN k owe that, where is the stattictics and how was it calculated, A reason to justify some thing yet to come to Ghana and this would be used to support that.
    The Government should queation how and who ...

• Ken 8 years ago

Stupid report.What abt South Africa,UK,Jamaica n America.

• Atta 8 years ago

Please legalise

• Atta 8 years ago

I love

• common sense 8 years ago

Nkwasiaasem...how can Ghana be the number one consumer of marijuana in the world? Ghanaweb workers need some good training? who will buy this bull story? Come to USA and see how ppl smoke marijuana.

• Brofo 8 years ago

So what?

• Sharp curve 8 years ago

Agona Swedru played a pivotal role for Ghana's top spot. 90% of the youth are gangsters and the whole Swedru township is pregnant of"wee Base" so am not surprised at all..

• kwame 8 years ago

Has anyone noticed how this story is not on ANY international news sites. Only on Ghanaian news sites. What does that tell you? It means its a fake story. Yes, stories that are not real are put on the internet because people ...

• Prince Charles 8 years ago

This certainly cannot be true. Where is Jamaica where pot is baked like cake, turned into toffees, laced in foods and smoked like chewing stick.

Who in their right minds came up with this bogus report?

• kowa 8 years ago

this report lacks credibility, he just expressed his personal opinion. where is the source? Be professional, and stop reporting fake news

• Divine 8 years ago

This is the most incorrect analysis I have ever come across. Go to South America, a boy is still called a baby if he has not started taking marijuana

• Vodoo Xebieso 8 years ago

That is a blatant lie. You cannot compare Ghana to Nigeria in terms of cannabis consumption.

• NII ARDAY ANKRAH 8 years ago

Our leaders are lacking knowledge and understanding. Afirca is dea

• abena-kwabena 8 years ago

Fine speech but you are to blame. You allow the love of material things, money and power to take your focus from our common goal. After Nkrumah, our problem has been leadership and nothing else. We are at the mercy of armed r ...

• Mrs Facts-Finder 8 years ago

When was this poll done? And by who?
    I am a non-smoker and i can honestly tell you that my country Ghana comes no where in any ranks in that category. I have lived in a city in north America where the smell of weed in the ai ...

• Sir John 8 years ago

Who ur th course of all ths sheet is th Government: If they ve a meaningful employment will they go abt taking drugs fr their pleasue : the devil finds jod fr th ideal hands : Is it too late government shd send those cuprits ...

• Who cares 8 years ago

If the reporter himself is " high " on wee, and giving his report, what good report do you expect? These days, I feel lazy having to read any Ghanaian news articles which are full of errors. And I am tempted to ask if these ...

• Citizens Vigilante 8 years ago

What were parameters for this study by the UNITED NATIONS. Did they do any study in war ravaged countries like LIBERIA, SIERRA LEONE or Dr Congo. They should give us a break

• owuo 8 years ago

Most of the northerens are muslims and as they not drink, in compersation use involved such atitude.

• kwame 8 years ago

No way Ghana can't be number one did they forget Jamaica.

• Louis 8 years ago

This story is untrue. Just visit USA, Jamaica and other countries and see what is happening when it comes to wee smoking. In Ghana, you really see people smoking wee in the open and further more many have not seen wee before. ...

• King deed 8 years ago

On what basis are these assertions being made? I have lived in South Africa for example where almost every one of three individuals even including students in high schools smoke cigarette or marijuana.... What about Jamaica? ...

• kofi 8 years ago

using marijuana does not make you a highway robber, create jobs and let this people get something doing

• 2PAC DE GATO BWUOY 8 years ago

Hw kan smone b prevnted frm natural made tin...Jah told adam nt tu eat certain fruit bt nt weed..r u sensible dan Jah 2 smke cigarettes not weed....we shal continue 2 top til thy kindom kam....F**K ALL Y'LL...ONE LUV