Read Comments Comments (69)

• USMAN 8 years ago

Same same.

• CAPTAIN FIAJOE 8 years ago

Same Same BOTTOM POWER!!!
    Betty Mould and Charlotte Osei, ditto!

• Another Thief of Baghdad 8 years ago

What is wrong with these NPP destroyers who are bent of making Ghana ungovernable under YOUNG AND INTELLIGENT JD MAHAMA?
    When Kufour appointed Georgina Wood as chief Justice did these matemehu agents raise any objection? or ...

• cashflow 8 years ago

their not against her appointment but her position she left to the chair.pls ndc if you dont know the constitution let us educate you

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 8 years ago

Dr Gyampo has made a very important constitutional point. It did not occur to me that the head of NCCE also enjoys security of term of office similar to the heads of EC and CHRAJ. I agree with him because by this appointment ...

• BOY KOFI 8 years ago

Please tell us what is stipulated in the constitution.What article in the constitution says that the president cannot appoint any person from one institution to another?Thank you.

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 8 years ago

Very simple. Site in google and type in THE CONSTITUTION OF THE REPUBLIC OF GHANA and get the read.

• NICHOLAS 8 years ago

Agya Ata are you saying that if a person enjoys a security of office and is performing abysmally in a particular office because he/she lacks the competence he should be maintained there?
    What is wrong if the President deems ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 8 years ago

The President cannot dismiss without due process as in the case of the CHRAJ Boss, Ms Lauretta Lamptey who is currently going through investigation for abuse of office. If what the president has done is allowed to stand, then ...

• CORNEY 8 years ago

Under pressure he had to write to the Chief Justice for her to call investigation into the activities of Ms Lamptey before she was asked to step aside for her deputy to act in her place up until investigation is over and I be ...

• BOY KOFI 8 years ago

You are saying if NPP wins,they can easily move the new EC from her position.This should tell you that there is no law at the moment to forbid any President from doing what Mahama has done.He has not broken any law in the co ...

• BOY KOFI 8 years ago

quote the article in the constitution that has been manipulated

• Chawchaw 8 years ago

Caveat to 'sweeten' his ridiculous supposition. And this tells you the mindset of these self-acclaimed disciples of the Rule of Law. To me, conjuring such a scenario by a Senior Academician from the premier University in this ...

• G. K. Berko 8 years ago

I don't see anywhere in the Constitution where it indicates that someone with a secure tenure cannot be offered another appointment. With all these hoopla, if the person is not concurrently functioning in the two outfits, is ...

• Chawchaw 8 years ago

Kwaku Azar, are engaging in splitting hairs! Does Charlotte Osei or anybody else, not have the option of turning down such a so-called "TRANSFER", if they feel they are being pushed?
    So, how would these people characterize J ...

• Patriotic Ghanaian . USA. 8 years ago

Do you know where Mrs. Osei worked before ? And do you know the Power of the Council with reference to impeachment or Removal of Life Term Government Officials? You should learn that from another Talking Head!

• Manchester 8 years ago

This is a very important observation by Dr. Gyampo. I think a new precedence has been set by Prez. Mahama to get rid of EC Bosses in future.
    All you have to do is to move them around to a similar institution.

• LKL 8 years ago

NPP IS AGAINST THE APPOINTMENT OF THE EC BOSS. BUT THEY DONT KNOW HOW TO PUT IT INSTEAD OF THEM TO COME OUT BOLD THEY ARE JUST BEATING ABOUT THE BUSH. AS IF THEY LIKE AS IF THEY DONT LIKE BCOS EOPLE WILL TALK ABOUT THE NPP ...

• Odikr@. 8 years ago

Gyampo is Deluded.

He wishes he was "consulted on this appointment.

• Kofi K 8 years ago

Why rush

• SIMON PETER 8 years ago

Please NPP surrogates, allow the President to perform his constitutional functions. According to you any STUPID person can go to court and halt any action taken by the president at any time irrespective of validity of the opp ...

• Constable Joy 8 years ago

Gyampo; query Akuffo Addo who has no academic credentials and scio-economic, morally corrupt.Appoint your entire blood relation to head all institutions in Ghana.Like it or not she is the EC BOSS

• Mr sense 8 years ago

Stupid. This man is a lecture?r. God save Ghana. She has every right to step down and take another job.

• impromptus 8 years ago

Dr

• impromptus 8 years ago

Dr

• EKUOBA GYASI, LEEDS, UK 8 years ago

You are a fool Simon Peter or whatever your name is called. Don't you follow Ghana's Constitution, how can mahama appoint EC chairperson without consulting the council of elders. Charlotte Osei is an ndc woman PERIOD. But we ...

• CORNEY 8 years ago

You are calling somebody a fool but you don't know that the Council of State,not Council of elders as you put it did not say they were not consulted,the council does not go public on what they discuss with the president and I ...

• Chawchaw 8 years ago

Start now? A coward like you, will never set foot on Ghanaian soil to initiate any hostilities, because you cannot forgo that sumptuous English breakfast! Come down, and let`s find permanent solutions to 'dumsor' and other r ...

• Nana Yaw 8 years ago

"Too know" as usual!!!

• Kojo 8 years ago

You can twist and turn your words anyhow, you NPP miscreants cannot dictate to anybody.

(1) On what grounds do you presume that the President did, or did not consult to council of state?, (2) the constitution makes it cle ...

• GHANAMAN WAHALA 8 years ago

It is not a transfer per say even though in effect it appears so. The Chairman of the EC is far more superior to that of CHRAG or National Commission. If Gyampo is implying that an NPP Govt would come and change Mrs Osei, the ...

• CORNEY 8 years ago

GHANAMAN WAHALA,who told you EC is superior to CHRAJ,is that what you think or you read it in the constitution,why is it that some of us can be so confident when displaying our ignorance,EC is superior to CHRAJ,are you smoki ...

• GHANAMAN WAHALA 8 years ago

Superiority in terms of the importance and sensitive nature of EC. Why are people not asking for broader consultation in the appointment of CHRAG bosses? The Prof is very wrong. The President can appoint any Ghanaian whether ...

• Yaw 8 years ago

The EC organizes elections that bring forth presidents and the entire members of the legislature. The EC's budget alone can cater for several years of CHRAJ operations.

If you cannot deduce that the EC head is more conse ...

• KOFI 8 years ago

CHRAG CAN INVESTIGATE AND ?PROSECUTE EC BOSS AND THE PRESIDENT. BUT EC CANT DO THAT . SO WHERE LIES THE IMPORTANCE OR THE SUPERIORITY. AND I M SO SHOCK THAT MAHAMA APPOINTED THIS LADY AND NOY DR, AKWETEY. THIS SHOWS HOW MEDIO ...

• okofo 8 years ago

Thank you very much: you rubbished the superior-inferior argument. The issue at stake is not about superiority or otherwise, but about the CONSTITUTION, LAW, and FACT. This lady is ALREADY a head of a constitutional body just ...

• Akans Prophecies 8 years ago

Some Ghanaians are so stupid, they will prefer Satan to Jesus when it comes to politics. This illiterate class is in submission total to fear and anxieties, the caprices of wicked and self proclaimed politicians who exploits ...

• Kurchu 8 years ago

How were the deputies appointed? 70 clause 2 refers to all these established positions in the EC. Why now interpretations from the supreme Court? Hyprocrates

• Nii Adjetey Lomo 8 years ago

Dr.Gyampo, I, personally, as a human being, don't believe if you are in your right frame of mind.I don't also think you are more or better qualified academically than all those forming the nucleus of the council of state.Let ...

• Chawchaw 8 years ago

I just hope every Ghanaian will be as forthright as yourself. Haba, this never-ending proxy battles have got stop; and the sooner, the better!
    If nothing at all, should the demonstration of MATURITY by our brethren in Naija ...

• Okyesco 8 years ago

President Mahama can even appoint Lordina as the EC Boss, come 2016 he will still lose with his incompetence PERIOD.

• augustus 8 years ago

if the issue of appointment of EC boss has been challenge and seeking for clarification,what prevent the president to appoint the new EC boss meanwhile the constitution of republic of Ghana has made it clear in Article 70 Cl ...

• ADE 8 years ago

The whole constitution written as a quasi-dictatorship document for the military despot transitioning from military rule to a democracy, critically, needs to be re-examined, reviewed, rewritten and realigned with the proper d ...

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 8 years ago

WHY DO YOU THINK YOU CAN CONFUSE THE REST OF US WITH THESE MENTAL SLAVERY THAT THEY GAVE YOU AND CALL YOU DR?

SIMPLE COMMON SENSE SHOULD TELL YOU THAT ONCE THE PRESIDENT APPOINTED A CHAIRMAN OF THE EC. THAT IS DONE UNTIL R ...

• Elliot 8 years ago

NOT SERIOUS

• BOY KOFI 8 years ago

Before I will agree with Gyampo,he should quote the Article in the constitution that stops the president from apointing a head of an institution to another one.If you want to challenge a law you must use another law to do so ...

• impromptus 8 years ago

Pointless argument - come up with better reason.

• impromptus 8 years ago

Baseless

• impromptus 8 years ago

What about couches?

• Me 8 years ago

Dr. Indeed!! has he sought to know the factors taken into account b4 her appointment. Talk as if it was a transfer. if even it is but she qualifies so be it. why didn't Afari Gyan's previous office become reference for the ...

• Nunkaawa 8 years ago

Do I have to stop tendering my farm if someone wants the surveyor to determine if I have encroached on highways land?

• dizzyy. 8 years ago

I WISH EVERY PRESIDENT TO HAVE AT LEAST A FIRST DEGREE IN POLITICAL SCIENCE.THIS IS MY POLITICAL THOUGHT.

• yussif fuseini 8 years ago

Nobody's mind went to this issues the lecturer has just raised and if indeed it's through then it tell you how weak the council of state is in studying the subject mater and subsequently advising the president on it.This is a ...

• HASSAN, Tamale 8 years ago

It should be "...a bad PRECEDENT" not ."...a bad precedence". Both are nouns but they must not be confused. Something or someone may take "precedence over" another and someone may "set a bad precedent" like Prez Mahama has ju ...

• HASSAN, Tamale 8 years ago

It should be "...a bad PRECEDENT" not ."...a bad precedence". Both are nouns but they must not be confused. Something or someone may take "precedence over" another and someone may "set a bad precedent" like Prez Mahama has ju ...

I'm really surprised at the rate at which some Law Professors from KNUST especially ,are creating such havoc with the appointment of the EC. Please have you considered the removal Clause of an unfit Life Term Official in the ...

• robert 8 years ago

My good lecturer and friend Dr. Gyampo i disagree with you on this one. nobody has sued the president indeed the president cannot be sued. who ever is in court is only seeking fr interpretation of that article. it does not bi ...

• Stoway 8 years ago

She was made the EC boss by her qualification and the president's power to appoint. She was not transferred from her previous role to the new.
    If she was deemed suitable by the president, it does not make it a transfer simpl ...

Can a future president "appoint" the EC boss to a new position such as head of CHRAJ ? That is what the learned man is asking. He is raising very important constitutional issues?

• Atema 8 years ago

But she was appointed but not transferred, and this the university don must know. Is that the sort of critical thinking that goes into his teaching?

Atema! It's Politics as usual!

• Akim Motia 8 years ago

Eh doc, are u such an illiterate? Where in the constitution can u find your hypothesis?

• Kwadwo 8 years ago

Georgina Wood was a Supreme Court judge prior to her elevation as Chief Justice.

Have you heard of a document called the Ghana constitution before? Go look for it!

And read and interpret which Article and Section what ??

• Nsem pii 8 years ago

So this Gyampoh man also holds a PHD? From which university? He keeps making all manner of noise all over the place. He's doing everything to discredit the appointment of the EC chairman. Cowardly NPP surrogates parading as a ...

• Beatrice - USA 8 years ago

The proble with many Ghanaians is ignorance and bootlicking. Those insulting Dr Gyampo can never get to where he is now. If your father or mother had gotten to Dr Gyampo's position, you would have cherished him. I think Dr Gy ...

• G. K. Berko 8 years ago

Barring the needless insults, contesting his opinion does not automatically amount to ignorance. In fact, others with similar expertise or even general understanding of the intent of the Constitution could argue to shoot dow ...

• Asare 8 years ago

All those insulting Dr Gyampo are fools and illiterate, PERIOD! Go and refer to article 235 clause 1 and see whether Gyampo isnt making sense. The Gyampo that I know has a thick skin, you can not cow him to submission. He can ...