You are here: HomeNews2015 06 20Article 363485

Ghanaian MPs can’t analyse budgets - Osafo Maafo

Read Comments Comments (76)

• The mask 8 years ago

Many families are saying that blog.boachsoft.com is the most helpful family finance resource they have ever come across.

• All-Die-Be-Die 8 years ago

wasn't he the one who signed a loan agreement in Deutch without reading nor understanding what he was signing for?

• Close Observer 8 years ago

IF WE HAVE PEOPLE LIKE AMEEN SALIFU IN PARLIAMENT WHO HAVE NO IDEA WHAT IS GOING ON IN THE HOUSE, HOW CAN BUDGETS BE ANALYSED?
    During a debate on the president's address, Mr. Ameen Salifu said 'Mr. Speaker, I want to congra ...

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi must go! 8 years ago

What marfo is saying is right, but why hasn't the constitution been amended and why hasn't par,iament been strengthened in this regard u ask? So thieves can find loopholes to steal. Dats all. When you marfo were finance minis ...

• .USMAN. 8 years ago

Our MPs are university graduates that is why they cannot analyze budgets. This is how far our useless university education has brought us.

• Samuel Osei-Tutu 8 years ago

In Ghana most decision makers (politicians, businessmen) cannot analyse data. I believe most cannot analyse data to get meaning and information from the data, most cannot interpret charts and graphs. So most of the time decis ...

• Mahmoud 8 years ago

Frankly, I don't see anything wrong with an opposition highlighting the failings of an incapable government in order to wrest power from it democratically. NDC is the cause of the strikes because of the massive corruption, ov ...

• Kwame Birmingham 8 years ago

Hahahaha. Horrible and sad but funny as shit. I don't know how shit ends being funny tho.

• THE SEER 8 years ago

DIDN'T OSAFO MARFO PRESENTED PAPERS FOR A ONE BILLION DOLLAR LOAN FROM A CHINESE NAIL SHOP TO PARLIAMENT FOR APPROVAL?
    THESE "EDUCATED" FOOLS HAVE NO SHAME. HOW DO THEY SLEEP AT NIGHT!

• James Martin 8 years ago

KICK MAHAMA OUT IN 2016

• ksi 8 years ago

Listen to alternative views, that is the problem in Ghana political system.
    Stupid fool, ndc person.
    If there is a problem, and want to solve it, you ewe stupid fool,playing politics with it.
    You know you are deprived ...

• The Seer 8 years ago

You are very STUPID and IDIOT, Ksi.
    What has Ewes got to do with this?
    How do you know that THE SEER is an Ewe? I am not an Ewe, just speaking my mind. Or you hate them?

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 8 years ago

Specially Kennedy Agyapong and Nana Akanfuo Binaddo Buhari's 22 year old girl , whose father paid a huge MONEY to the Ashanti/Akyem tribal Npp DELIGATES to VOTE her into our PARLIAMENT.

During a debate on the president's address, Mr. Ameen Salifu said 'Mr. Speaker, I want to congratulate the president for his wonderful delivery of his station of nation address … In fact development nation is worth emulatin ...

• Concerned 8 years ago

The main problem in my opinion is the lack of political will to objectively appraise the budget to identify weaknesses. The npp are a lazy opposition whilst the ndc would oppose anything coming from the opposition. Maybe mont ...

• Brown 8 years ago

Good point, my brother concerned

• Obosomanketre Nam Brebre 8 years ago

Yientie obiaa.
    Osafo Maafo is great, I hope he will still be active under Nana. Ghana is waiting for the 3 Nana, Bawumia and Osafo to save Ghana.

• The Seer 8 years ago

Great minds speaking here. Can you read this,Ksi?

• Brown 8 years ago

Good point

• KOOBOY 8 years ago

NOT ALL BUT MOST OF OUR SO CALLED HONOURABLE MPS ARE JUST SQUARE PEGS IN ROUND HOLES.

• VOICE OF REASON 8 years ago

Remember the Ghc8.7bn of taxpayers money wasted on bribes and rigging just so a dumb buffoon can be president ?

• Kwa Dan 8 years ago

And your 'sensible point of reason is...?

• Francis C. Quainoo 8 years ago

His sensible point of reason is, if the COCAINDC had NOT rigged the last elections, a result which the International Community had sided with the NPP, Ghana would NOT had been in such a mire she finds herself in today.

We ...

• Tarzan 8 years ago

Who were your International Communities? Don't forget that bribery was there since Adams. Come back to Ghana,we are enjoying 6th position as peaceful country in Africa. Waooo.

• dzanie 8 years ago

Winning election is not npp birthright. Come 2016 your bigot party will loose again.

• All-Die-Be-Die 8 years ago

you''re the most pathetic and ignorant fellow I've ever met in my entire life. was the president who elected to shallow minded punks to the parliament? what evidence do you have to show that the affable president paid a bribe ...

• VOICE OF REASON 8 years ago

Ghana's unending dumsor and economic apocalypse we find ourselves is caused by the irresponsible and reckless overspending of Ghc8.7bn($4.5bn) just so a dumb buffoon can be president....that is the tragedy of Ghana

• abena-kwabena 8 years ago

When things are not going well, we know it. The problem we have is that there are too many "blind" people in the country who keep these square pegs in round holes creating big mess in the economy.

• apuuu 8 years ago

let earned boy Fifi Kwetey know he doesn't know nothing about Fiance I will be back apuuu

• Nigerian in Ghana 8 years ago

Finally somebody is speaking some sense with Ghana at heart...you Ghanaians deserve what you're getting for bringing in a bad government.

• apuuu 8 years ago

They all want be( MPS ) free money in their pockets who is checking it good job Mr Maafo

• Akufo-Addo Rebecca 8 years ago

It's all about electing the knowledgeable and people who have the nation at heart. If we continue to vote these JHS graduates to parliament, the few enlightened will always take advantage and bully their way through.

• JDM 8 years ago

ASIEDU NKETIA ONCE SAID ANY IDIOT CAN SAY ANYTHING

• Boateng 8 years ago

Our main problem is our constitution. Instead of having three arms or government, we have 2 with parliament as an extended arm of the executive. If the president is to select most of his ministers from parliament, how can the ...

• c.stephen sackey. 8 years ago

Ok, some of the MP's are knuckleheads- can't even reconcile their checking accounts-right?

What about their staff? Don't forget the MP'S are just the face of their constituents.The real grunt work is always done by the so- ...

• Kwame Birmingham 8 years ago

You have the most informed comment on here. I read all comments and trust me ghanaweb's comments are 99% crap. Filled with jss dropouts who cannot string a sentence right even if to save their lives. Okay i just wanted to bas ...

• Neutral Zone 8 years ago

Like this, like that. Same old loud mouth know it all.

• JDM 8 years ago

In an unbelievable admission of incompetence, irresponsibility, and what Ghanaians refer to as ?I don?t care-ism?, the Minister of Finance, Mr. Yaw Osafo-Maafo, admitted to Joy FM radio station in an interview that he signed ...

• Tarzan 8 years ago

If this was true that he did not read the agreement ,how could he understand to analyze it? I think his article or suggestion was referring to his own short comings. Let's help him .

• BRAIN 8 years ago

How can the MPs analyze national budget when our constitution allows illiterates to qualify to be MPs?
    You cannot have it both ways.

• FIX DUMSOR ASAP . 8 years ago

GHANA HAS SUPER WEAK LEADER IN GHANA HISTORY . PREZ HIMSELF IS CONFUSED THAN ANYBODY . MR MAHAMA DOESN'T KNOW WHERE TO START TO THE FINISH LINE .

• Joe Turkey 8 years ago

I know a few of them who can not write their names. Their only means of communication is Akan and yeah, hear! They were the ones advocating for Akan as Ghana lingua franca.

• ahmed suleyman 8 years ago

mr osafo marfo should give us break becouse ex-president kuffour made it known that he knows nothing by sacking him after receiving award as africa's best finance minister then

• Killer T 8 years ago

What osafo Marfo is proposing is a good policy. It will help Ghana if parliament will debate and adopt it. In 2014, the office of presidency overspent its budget of about GHc41 million. All that parliament could do is to fume ...

• MR Z 8 years ago

There's no doubt Osafo Msafo is one of the best economies in Ghana. The only thing that nearly mad his credibility was his prejudice comments that came out 2 months ago. Having said this, maafo have brought out a very realist ...

• mubotu nwasabanga 8 years ago

Hey men I like reading your comments. You makes good contribution always on serious issue. This is a major problem that have affected the nation for decades.

• Bingo 8 years ago

Yep MR Z, brainless MPs , 99 percent have no idea what is going on in the global world not to talk of budget analysis.

• Maxwell-Suhum. 8 years ago

HOW CAN THESE FOOLISH IDIOT FRIENDS OF MARI***NA WHO ARE DAZED BY IT ANALYSE BUDGET? ARE THEY EVEN QUALIFY TO BE THERE?

• jacob 8 years ago

The "Hon." Osafo Maafo speaks as if only one set of Congress Persons rule in the American Congress. I thin what he calls "tear the Finance Minister's budget" presupposes,ipso facto, the tearing of every budget presented!! N ...

• Efo Paapa 8 years ago

Is the privileges committee inviting Osafo Marfo for his comments? God save Ghana.

• Y B 8 years ago

CLEANSHIELD, Amazing health product for everyone, All Natural Alkaline supplement from US specially and scientifically designed to clean inner Ocean clear stomach toxins, as well as unwonted substances in the body like virus ...

• .USMAN. 8 years ago

Go and see how Prez Mahama of Ghana has transformed Gonjaland with Ghana money just within the two and half years that he has been in power. Every town, village and hamlet in Gonjaland has received a facelift with new facilit ...

• kutsii 8 years ago

Dr. Osafo Marfo, shut ur big ugly mouth and stinking nose. U think we have soon forgotten ur deadly tribal statements? Nonsense.

when u went for a loan at a saloon, we were all witnesses. We are waiting for u to die in sh ...

• kanawu!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 8 years ago

Kwashia bi ba ne wo. Osafo Marfo is more sensible than your mother and father.

• kutsii 8 years ago

After eating ur fufu with rat shit soup, u and Dr. Osama Mafia have become myopic with short memory. Osafo Marfo's old age has revealed the real beast in him as a tribal bigot and warlord.

Osafo Marfo will die in shame wit ...

• Francis C. Quainoo 8 years ago

Let me correct you IDIOT kutsii, AYIGBE BIGOT that Hon. Osafo Maafo did NOT go for the Chinese aborted loan. Therefore if you have any qualms about that blame it on Alan Kyeremateng.

Furthermore, Osafo Maafo's so called "t ...

• kutsii 8 years ago

Why waste ur time on Osafo Marfo? Our main target is the dwarf kapwepwe. We will squeeze his TWO BALLS in 2016 and confine him to the Akyem forest.

2016 will be interesting. When Mahama begins to commission numerous projec ...

• Weah 8 years ago

They cannot analyse because majority of them are from the poor areas but are honest and the rest are from the well endowed areas but are thieves.

• Ngi 8 years ago

Not even the academics and their students in economics and finance of the three leading universities in the country can do that. If they could do that it would have been great and could be called to empower the parliamentari ...

• NANA 8 years ago

What do u think if we have some body like Ekumfi m p there.

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 8 years ago

I urge Ghanaians to be vigilant and smart, the Ashanti/Akyem tribal Npp Party is targeting the poor "Albinos" for their usual spiritual. We must stand up with one voice to say BIG NO to anti Albinos in Ghana. Npp must stop ki ...

PEOPLE OF GHANA, WHY IS SUCH A PERSON IN PARLIAMENT? IS HE NOT DEMEANING THE LEGISLATIVE ARM OF GOVERNMENT? GET BBC NEWS!!!!!! OUT OF PARLIAMENT.

I'm sure this is not what the people of La Dadekotopon want their member of ...

• fredie 8 years ago

Here comes the ugly looking face again.

• kofi 8 years ago

Please,don't we have statutory laws which back NHIS,SCHOOL FEEDING and others,if the government of the day says bull shit,what do you do.

• Patriotic Ghanaian . USA. 8 years ago

It's good you sighted the juxtaposition between the US and the Ghanaian Parliamentary Oversight. Your only mistake was that , there is a clear cut dichotomy in comparisons between the two Nations . As you are aware ,there i ...

• Agbeli Kumordzi 8 years ago

Borrow and spend Ghana MPS

• sam k 8 years ago

Perhaps Mr marfo. If they came from akan rich areas, the only people deserving to be there they can analyse the budget well eh! Bigot. Look at your ugly monkey face-it tells of your backward thinking. No wonder u r of the ba ...

• Kuku Gyan 8 years ago

Is this not Hon Osafo Marfo, a former minister of finance and an mp who contracted a loan from a HAIR DRESSING saloon? Please, Ghanaweb stop publishing stories from highly incompetent people.

• MR MAWEGYATA 8 years ago

VERY TRUE.

• kofi 8 years ago

To transform Ghana, first there should be an amendment to the constitution,to scrap parliamentarian from being ministers. Because a parliamentarian Cum a minister is like being a referee and a player at the same time so where ...

• KK 8 years ago

Very same thing Prof Dodoo said, ignorant MPs

• MY PEOPLE ARE USELESS ASAFO, KSI 8 years ago

iityerac is a disease wih is killingGhana.. Anyon ovt whivch wantstodominate Ghanasimply encorage illiteracy..With illiterate people inpaiament in Ghana like toda you cn dowhatver youlike and go free.How many of ou s hve gone ...

• Loway 8 years ago

Course you are a crook

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 8 years ago

THIS IS REAL SECURITY ISSUE! ARE WE SAFE?

• JH. New York 8 years ago

In Ghana,a Minister of Finance is supposed to present his Budget to Parliament.That was the practice since independence to when Osafo Maafo was the Finance Minister, to this day.And if Parliament was/is not equipped(expertise ...

• NOBODY 8 years ago

Instead of casting stones laced with falsehoods at the current Finance Minister, Mr. Know-it-all Osafo Maafo needs to explain why, under his term as Finance Minister, he tried to enter into some bogus financial deal in German ...