You are here: HomeNews2015 06 16Article 362818

Photos: Farewell durbar held for Afari Gyan

Read Comments Comments (114)

• ... 8 years ago

KWADWO BONSAM.GO AND ENJOY YOUR $35 MILLION DOLLAR 2012 BRIBE AND YOUR MANSION IN CANADA

• Naaba kugri 8 years ago

Because npp lost election all Ghana fine sons are evil ? The man declared npp winners in 2000 when ndc were in government then , I guess he was an angel when npp won , stupidity at its best

• Nii Teiko 8 years ago

I believe his righteous highness, Holy Atogbe Avaklasu1 could be a perfect replacement for the job.

• Alexander Aduhene 8 years ago

YOU HAVE DONE THE BEST AND GOD WILL REWARD YOU THE REST OF YOUR LIFE. YOU DID YOUR JOB WELL. THOSE WHO DO NOT WANT THE TRUTH CAN GO TO HELL. THE ROAD TO HELL IS SO WIDE...NO NEED TO WORRY!

• GUY 8 years ago

God bless Dr. Afari Djan.

• david 8 years ago

after this loser sold Ghana people votes and after he paid bribes to judge atugba with woyomi money

• steven 8 years ago

the man did bribe judge atugba that is why we stuck with this stupid mahama

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi must go! 8 years ago

How old is this old crook. Be took $35mil to sway the election results. Look at his rolex watch. Ebei!

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe ln Ghana! 8 years ago

If you are real human being then you will understand the reason why many are calling EC as evil man.

• GHANAFOU 8 years ago

Afari Gyan has deserve Ghana with distinction and many of us will always remember him with great delight. Farewell, Dr. Afari Gyan. Ignore the ungraceful. I feel sorry because Nana Addo and his hooligans have destroyed the NP ...

• GHANAFOU 8 years ago

AFARI GYAN HAS SERVED...

• Mahmoud 8 years ago

Author: Kafui Ama
    Date: 2009-07-23 01:44:06

Please be patient and read this to the end.

It was November 1999 and I'd been Deputy High Commissioner in Ghana for almost a year - the culmination of 15 years' Foreign O ...

• samy 8 years ago

THIS MAN IS LUCKY NOT TO BE IN JAIL AFTER SELLING GHANA VOTES AND PAYING BRIBES TO JUDGE ATUGBA

• ABU 8 years ago

NPP must for once accept they lost against the Mahama led NDC administration and exhibit some decorum.

• GUY 8 years ago

NPP are bunch of fools. I pray never to have them in government .Dirty maggots .

If you really know this elderly man very well you wouldn't have said anything good about him. Woye bonsam soldier paaa!

• me 8 years ago

The citation is as ugly as the man himself.

• ABU 8 years ago

And you lost one touch,Mahama’s magicien,and ordained to be repeated in 2016 again.Sore losers go burning the Atlantic océan.

• Eric the icecool 8 years ago

Stupid (tanii ba) senseless man like mahama.

• ABU 8 years ago

Spare the man the NPP stupidity

Aren't you shame of yourself to be a Ghanaian? Ghana is now the worse ever country in Africa. Some years ago it wad called the Gateway to Africa but what can we see now?

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 8 years ago

Npp can go to hell , if they don't care.

This evil man must repent in that he is getting closer to his grave and he has done so much evil things against his nation. God is just looking at him sheepishly.

• Yaw 8 years ago

You have indeed served your nation well Dr. A. Gyan. For those who think they lost elections because of this man should rethink. Even within your own ranks you can't organise yourselves for political power who else do u blame ...

• .USMAN. 8 years ago

Go and see how Prez Mahama of Ghana has transformed Gonjaland with Ghana money just within the two and half years that he has been in power. Every town, village and hamlet in Gonjaland has received a facelift with new facilit ...

• Abuakwa Bob Marley 8 years ago

Weep for yourself.

• .USMAN. 8 years ago

I don't need to weep again.

• Kwasi Asamoah 8 years ago

Usman, weep for Boko Haram and your ISIS. Idiots who think killing innocent defenceless women and children will take them to Heaven. BIG FOOLS!

• Asaanbil 8 years ago

Usman or what ever you call yourself, let people have their breath with this nonses post everyday.

• edem 8 years ago

U weep for your mother gorgormi and smelling virgina

• Bob revealer 8 years ago

Mr man what are you talking about if president Mahama transforms gonjaland with Ghana money,is gonjaland not part of Ghana?or that is Nigeria.

• daladam 8 years ago

AND LIVE TO BE A FREE MAN AFTER SELLING THE ELECTION AND BRIBING JUDGE ATUGBA

• kpata 8 years ago

you can't even read or write

• jerry 8 years ago

stop your bull-crap daladam have a right to his opinion and his English is just fine

• kwasi 8 years ago

ONLY IN GHANA YOU CAN SELL THE PEOPLE VOTE AND STILL BE A FREE MAN

• Concerned Ghanaian 8 years ago

Congratulations Dr. Afari Gyan. Is it retirement or retarnment?

• JJ 8 years ago

So the whole Commission could not spell RETIREMENT correctly? Sorry old man. Did you cut that cake thru the RETAIREMENT? Wonderful Ghana.

• KAY 8 years ago

well done mr.Gyan the npp thought they could run over him.

• Boys abr3!!! 8 years ago

Yea and that's why we all suffering.

The citation can be designed better. This man, even with his buts, like any of us, could be honoured with a better designed plaque for a citation.

• Mad John Mahama 8 years ago

Ass holeman

• Abuakwa Bob Marley 8 years ago

Well deserved retirement. Go and rest CHIEF. You served Ghana well.

• kwasi 8 years ago

Well done,patriotic citizen. May God bless you for serving your country very well.You were firm and true to your conscience.Enjoy your retirement.

• Wofa Yaw 8 years ago

Good riddance dirty old man! Ghana is better off without you and your unjustified arrogance. may your road be rough!

• JJ 8 years ago

May be he did his best within the circumstances. The Devil you know.... Who is next...probably an Angel?

• BAFOUR. 8 years ago

Good man God help you and bless you.

• seini 8 years ago

You served with honesty and dignity yet not so many people know how honest you are. Mistakes could have been made by people who served under you. You could not be everywhere, every time, yet you accepted responsibility and ca ...

• kwasi 8 years ago

Well said,Wayo Seini.

• James Martin 8 years ago

Afari Gyan sold Ghana for Mahama

• dk 8 years ago

may God bless you for your contribution for this nation.

• Joe Turkey 8 years ago

This looks more like Afari Gyan's funeral poster than a citation. Hmmmmm.

• parent 8 years ago

Retiring in ignominy. He should go and rest in pieces.

• osebo 8 years ago

RETAIREMENT? Who wrote on the cake? It's a shame!

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

The result of P/NDC educational system. Let them enjoy it.

• lawyer abu jatoe 8 years ago

He. Deserved to honoured for contributing his quota to homeland Ghana.Those who hate u let them talk n those who love them praise u.

• lawyer abu jatoe 8 years ago

He. Deserved to honoured for contributing his quota to homeland Ghana.Those who hate u let them talk n those who love u let them praise u.

• Hard Listerners 8 years ago

HAVE A WONDERFUL RETIREMENT. IT'S UNFORTUNATE YOU HAD TO GO ON A BAD ENDING WITH BOTCHED ELECTIONS AND THAT'S WHAT SOME OF US WILL REMEMBER YOU WITH.

• CHIGRI WAGADUGU 8 years ago

Disgraceful afari gyan. To hell with you and your honours.

• Efo Kwaku Canada 8 years ago

Your are really Ghanaians

• Epson Akator 8 years ago

TWEAA

• ibn abudu @ Canadasheabutter (GhUWR) 8 years ago

Enjoy your retirement . irrespective of your diabolic attempts to tarnish your exemplary skills you have your admirers for a job well done

• Sewor T.V Tetteh 8 years ago

Good work done, happy retire

• Africa 8 years ago

Good riddens to bad rubbish. A died in wool NDC man and a liar.

• Bull dog 8 years ago

Well done boss, u served ur nation well, even de npp knows dat... May allah help us wit a better p'son.

• Geo 8 years ago

You have done your best for Ghana.May the peace of God rest on you on your retirement.

• yussif fuseini 8 years ago

Farewell to his conscience if he did the right thing it ll follow him wherever he goes from here.Its unfortunate that he carries with him some amount of disgrace after all this years,he was badly exposed in the courtroom,and ...

• Kwasi Owusu Yeboah 8 years ago

Dr. Ayekooo ! You have done your part for mother Ghana. You will forever be remembered. Ayekooo ayekooo ayekooo..........

• J.Davis 8 years ago

CONGRATULATIONS,AFARI GYAN,FOR THE GOOD AND DEDICATED JOB YOU HAVE DONE FOR MOTHER GHANA.MAY THE LORD CONTINUE TO GIVE YOU STRENGTH TO CARRY ON IN YOUR RETIREMENT.

• jata 8 years ago

You are the best we ever had. I hope Mahama appoints someone like you.

• asonaba kofi. 8 years ago

fare thee well.you've served your nation with distinction.may the Lord bless you with many more years and good health.enjoy your retirement.

• Wisdom man 8 years ago

Anyone who support Afari Gyan is myopic and clouded off from right judgement... This man accept there were mistakes somewhere in the 2012 elections, yet victory was pronounced... So then, how credible was Mahama's win... What ...

• NDC fool 8 years ago

In 1984,Rawlings thought the whole world was for him as he and his Ewe tribesmen were killing Akans and seizing their properties. Where is Rawlings now? Afari Djan and his NDC think the world is for them. A time for everythin ...

• victor in london 8 years ago

THERE WILL BE SOME SANITY IN THE ELECORAL SYSTEM IN GHANA NOW

• Wrecks 8 years ago

Oh pls, this isn't decent, whoever decorated/inscribed the Cake should go back to school...the word is ....RETIREMEMT !!!!

• Yaw Addae 8 years ago

is the spelling of retirement ur concern now? you just forgot how Afare Gyan rigged the 2012 election for NDC and now see the undeserve hardship we are going through. talk about that.

• Afua Sika 8 years ago

Hmm, been monitoring to see how many people would catch the spelling mistake. The icing to this whole disaster (pun intended): every single word was capitalized with a decision to throw in a small case 'r' in Dr. The photog ...

• Yaw Addae 8 years ago

The Demon in Ghana has just been kick out of power. Left with his comrade John Dramani Mahama who will also be kick out of power in 2016. These two corrupt gentlemen are the woes of Ghana.

• Mugu Yaro 8 years ago

Nonsense he couldn't even define over voting!!!only in ghana can u celebrate this criminal

• Yaw Addae 8 years ago

RE: criminal indeed

• ABU 8 years ago

Ghanafuo be abon,retirement is never written with " A" anywhere. Retairement?

• Oku N-nambi Joseph 8 years ago

pls let us knw how to talk to adult irrespective of his background, colour, gender, political status etc. I wish him all de best

• Whatever 8 years ago

May God Bless you and give as a replacement of your calibre

• Kk 8 years ago

paapa fair well

• Efo Kwaku Canada 8 years ago

This coward man has dented our democracy with corruption but to NDC idiots and criminals he is their hero because without Afari Djan there will be NO NDC in Ghana by now so NDC fools escort him to his village and help him rai ...

• Wampa 8 years ago

Bye bye, don't let the door hit you on the way out

• Papa Yaw 8 years ago

Yes

• Lady 8 years ago

Shame on u Afari Gyan go enjoy ur booty. Look at ghana now.

• bone marrow 8 years ago

i dnt believe in politics of insults but i will say dat most people who post their comment hear ve no training from responsible parents at all .hw can u insult such an old man like dat when u give de due respect to ur parents ...

• The don 8 years ago

Bye byeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

• MAHAMA DEAD GOAT 8 years ago

FOOLISH MAN,CORRUPT NDC AFARI GYAN CRIMINAL,IS FAKE,EVIL TO THE NATION,NONSES NDC MAN AFARI GYAN,LOOK AT HIM OFUI LIKS HIM,

• JDM LOV 2 KILLD PEOPLE 8 years ago

USELESS MAN,EC IS EVIL,CRIMINAL,MAFIA,CORRUPT MAN NUMBER ONE IN GHANA HISTORY,FOOLISH MAN

• Nii 8 years ago

Hahahahaha retairment?

• John 8 years ago

Dr afari gyan you're the best. Ghana appreciate your effort you have paid your dues to the nation.

• Eric the icecool 8 years ago

Evil man go to commit suicide with all of your stupid family line.

• THIEF OF BAGDAD 8 years ago

NPP and its Akyem and Ashante tribe are useless, they shall never have peace in that party. Only the two region shall be won forever, evil primitive and illiterate people.

• Ei Ghana!!! 8 years ago

Too much insult on ghanaweb!!!

• Mama Afua 8 years ago

All shall pass.....except the Word of God

• williams Ju 8 years ago

Great man God bless you

• Ghana Man 8 years ago

Did anyone notice the misspelling of retirement on the cake?

• ****((((((****** 8 years ago

Wisard you go to hell any Ghanaian who has perished under ur bad judgment you will drink his blood worthless person.

• torpedo 8 years ago

no wonder he wrote twenty seven zero, they cant even spell retirement on a cake, go away you I cant say it

• BOO 8 years ago

HE DESERVES NOTHING.THE CONCIENCE OH THE WHOLE PEOPE OF GHANA KNOW DR. AFARI-DJAN IS NOT HONEST.THE RULED KNOW THIS THIS MAN HAS SHORT CHANGD US.

• Tr. Jesus 8 years ago

Folks, please fear God and stop all these insults. It's very bad for Ghana. Let us rather use this medium to discuss profitable issues

• Akufo-Addo Rebecca 8 years ago

God Bless You. 70years of life on earth is indeed a blessing. You played your role. You God is good to sail you through the job of EC

• Afua Sika 8 years ago

Hmm, been monitoring to see how many people will catch the spelling mistake. The icing to this whole disaster (pun intended): every single word was capitalized with a decision to throw in a small case 'r' in Dr. Yet we are pr ...

• Kwaku Samson 8 years ago

Is it just me cos I think I saw Retairement on the cake instead of Retirement. Na wa for us oo

• Kwaku A. Danso 8 years ago

I wish our friend well but wish he had been able to stop the bribery that is commonplace now in party and national elections.

• commender hadjor 8 years ago

a job well done, a career worth emulating, a citizen deserving of our celebration, Mr. Gyan u, ve played ur role, credit also to the brain that recognised ur potential and created for u an environment made you performe withou ...

• Yaw 8 years ago

You have truly served your nation well Dr A.Gyan. May you enjoy your retirement in peace. For those who think they lost political power because of this man should bow down their heads in shame. Look at the the level of your o ...

• Mr Pee 8 years ago

I hope is not Dr who is giving money for N.p.p supports to vote may God save Ghana

• Daanaa Sampson 8 years ago

Kwadwo, u are right. Take care

• Hokor Emmanuel 8 years ago

people with proper brain will praise this noble man for what he has done for mother Ghana.politics has polluted people's brain that we don't see anything good again.congratulations mr Afari Gyan.

• Richmond Afrifa 8 years ago

Onipa b3 gyee me din w'am3pre oyinky3re .Well done Afari Gyan .
    I am really sad that you forgot the saying " Good name is better than riches".KONTOMPOFOO

• frederick nana yaw nyarko 8 years ago

fred nyarko;the npp must be ashamed for calling this noble man a thief. If afari gyan is a thief then the npp led administration from 2001 to 2008 are arogants. Because this same man u call evil declared the npp winner in the ...