You are here: HomeNews2015 06 15Article 362622

Health Minister hot over Ebola Vaccine trial deal

Read Comments Comments (60)

• Cha 8 years ago

These idoits in NDC will do anything for a little money from outside donors

• facts 8 years ago

Segbefia must contact Carl Wilson because he is coming back to the ports. People with cars at the ports should open their eyes.

• .USMAN. 8 years ago

Go and see how Prez Mahama of Ghana has transformed Gonjaland with Ghana money just within the two and half years that he has been in power. Every town, village and hamlet in Gonjaland has received a facelift with new facilit ...

• Moiety 8 years ago

Weep for yourself

• .USMAN. 8 years ago

I have already seen the light and so I don't need to weep for my self.

• Grand Mufti of Accra . 8 years ago

For me ; it is totally WRONG to even appoint this criminal Alex Segbefia as a minister ; the man has no background in the medical arena ; the man was complicit in the Tema port scandal of stealing cars and people goods at the ...

• Jonathan 8 years ago

This Alex Segbefia man is back again in the news.This time it is not about the cars stealing syndicate with Carl Wilson at the Tema Harbour.What medical degree qualifies this criminal to be appointed the Health Minister if no ...

• Kofi Ameyaw,London. 8 years ago

You are finding every means to make the president unpopular but mind you your nana should produce his law certificate before the election in 2016.You wait and see what will happen and stop your nonsense.

• hippo 8 years ago

What Koraa is wrong with you so called ndc supporters, these are serious issues and see where you are taking it. Your obsession with Nana Add is baffling. What is now clear is that all corrupt politician are fucking scared o ...

• Jack 8 years ago

Someone is claiming to be a lawyer without a law certificate and you think it is not a serious matter?

• Justice 8 years ago

We Cannot accept that as major stake holders we were not informed prior to the trials.This is what Mps are saying. I say it's BS cos we have to trust our institutions of state.If we don't, then we don't need to be called a co ...

• Humanity 8 years ago

Eiehhh! Justice what is your point?
    Hmmmm...So you don't think anyone should be questioned in Ghana? if one questions a state institution, that means we aren't a country...GOD HELP AFRICANS-with this mindset...hmmmm

• Kwaku Amexo 8 years ago

Yes this is issue of mistrust. How can the MP,s be the center for healthcare questions? Why cant the MP direct health questions to the appropriate institutions to handle? Are there health directors in the districts? If the MP ...

• SAMO JEWELERY 8 years ago

If u need yellow n white gold rings for your wedding n engagement...then call or whatsapp us on 0244717600 for latest pictures to choose from.....we have offices in HO,KUMASI, KASOA AND ACCRA SPINTEX ROAD.....u can contact us ...

• JOYCE KOFI-DUA 8 years ago

GHANAIANS ARE VERY STUPID. WHEN HAS ANY MINISTER BEEN FIRED BY PRESIDENT MAHAMAH FOR WRONG DOING? NONE. YOU MORONS IN GHANA ARE SITTING ON YOUR BLACK DIRTY ASS HOLES, SAYING HEALTH MINISTER IS HOT FOR EBOLA VACCINE. WHO TOLD ...

• Iht Gh 8 years ago

Allah Bless you for saying the Truth

• Vicky 8 years ago

You are 100% right, i mean who in the world elect a speech writer to become a President in a Country? Only stupid Ghanaians. I am so ashame to be known as Ghanaian. The Ebola germ was brought to the infected area in West ...

• Jack 8 years ago

You make an interesting point about electing a speech writer as president of Ghana. That implies no sensible Ghanaian will elect a certificateless fake lawyer as president of Ghana.

• GoatEater 8 years ago

The President should publicly address this matter. Ghanaians must be told why it is NECESSARY for them to be used for an Ebola experiment. Ghana has never had an Ebola case, but we want to allow an experiment that will infect ...

• Manu 8 years ago

crazy

• Peter 8 years ago

Just happy it is Volta Region, the home region of the minister and the leading researcher. Not many people out there will send something bad to their backyard. Just imagine the research was sent to Ashanti Region, the opposit ...

• Baba 8 years ago

We are rather lucky the trial was not sent to Ashanti Region. They would have been tight lipped after taking the money. The next moment there is ebola all over the place. Thanks Voltarians for your concern about health issues ...

• KBK 8 years ago

My opinion is ministry of health is sensitive
    That it needs medical Doctor to take charge why is dat government appoint any body apart from medical Doctor

• back door director 8 years ago

All the foolish volta mps are just playing to the gallery.
    Voltarians keep shifting the goal post.
    They do not know what they want..
    If Ebola breaks out in Ghana the government should not dare send any vaccines and drugs t ...

• KOJO TARDII 8 years ago

HOW ON EARTH A HEALTH MINISTER WILL USE A TRY VACCINE ON HIS OWN EWE PEOPLE NOW I KNOW THAT EWES ARE THE MOST USELESS PEOPLE ON EARTH TRY HUMAN BEINGS WITH WITH VACCINE JUST FOR PHONE AND 2OO DOLLARS SEGBEFIA IS THE MOST USEL ...

• TKN 8 years ago

200 DOLLARS YOU SAY, KOJO? NO OOO, IT'S 200CEDIS WHICH IS ABOUT 45 DOLLARS TODAY, CHECK HOW THE CEDI IS NERVOUS IN THE WORLD MARKET, AUNTY CEDI'S AGONY IS TERRIBLE. BACK TO SEGBENONSENSE, THE MAN THOUGHT HE WAS DOING GOOD TO ...

• impromptus 8 years ago

So long as the chiefs are happy

• Qathafi 8 years ago

The vaccine contains the virus and the disease has no cure. untill these greedy experts find another definition for a vaccine ,the trials should be stopped.

• Teye Amanor 8 years ago

Why the volta region.

• Michael K. Tettevi 8 years ago

If the ebola vaccine trial is good, why not let MPs, therefore the honourable president, his vice and ministers take the lead since what is good for the geese is good for the gander ?

• Ekuoba Kwabena Gyasi 8 years ago

What does this thief know? Another ayigbe square peg in a round hole. Explains why the nation is such a dog's breakfast! That clueless twit of a President simply hasn't got the foggiest idea of running a nation.

• Kwadjoe Yeboah 8 years ago

WHY GHANA ? Who came up with the idea that Ghana should be the testing chamber? All these mother fuckers should be investigated and prosecuted for treason? Why will any organization select a healthy population with no history ...

It is good to be part of development of vaccines if the least Ghanaians can do is to volunteer for the clinical trials. It costs a lot of money to develop vaccines. Vaccines have helped eradicate the worst infectious diseases ...

• Nana Ado 8 years ago

u !! usmanor what if u don't have nothing to offere to this house kindly call
    o248421780066666666655 for ur credit to waste okk

• Nana Ado 8 years ago

you are a fool. okk

• Ghabay,NY 8 years ago

Why don't they take it countries where people have already been infected and try it on them.It doesn't make sense trying this vaccine in Ghana.Whoever volunteer's will have to be infected with the virus first,and the vaccine ...

No Ebola virus in the vaccine. The vaccine will not infect anybody. The vaccine will help the body to develop antibodies to fight viruses like ebola. This is not a live vaccine. It has been tested and proved to be safe. It wa ...

• AGOVE MENSAH 8 years ago

AMEXO,IF IT HAS TESTED AND PROVED TO BE SAFE,WHY DO THEY TRYING IT AGAIN OR DO THEY WANT TO KNOW IF IT WORKS ON HUMAN BEING?.IF THAT IS THE CASE THEN THE MINISTER AND HIS AGENTS MUST VIVIDLY EXPLAIN IT TO THE PEOPLE BUT NOT S ...

Phase 1- safety and immunologenicity trials on relatively limited number of participants(1-2 years and 20-80 people)
    Phase II - human challenge studies (2-3 yrs in 10-20 people
    Moving to larger phase II studies (2-3 years, ...

• fredsaid 8 years ago

Ghana is a country of people with a backward mentality and a country of fools with a parliament and a government of fools and stupid wicked and evil people who do not love their country or its people. The officers of the elec ...

• 2016candidate 8 years ago

the minister must use himself for the trial,I believe in leadership by example,

• asuoba 8 years ago

Aboa like dat

• Yussif Fuseini 8 years ago

Oh how could you think of volta region, your party,s strong hold mostly refered to as the world bank of NDC.there,s saying that if you lie that you lost your room key, you sleep outside, thats NDC for you they ve always lie f ...

It costs between $200,000,000 and $500,000,000 to develop vaccine from laboratory to market( GAVI)
    Ghana cannot afford that. The least Ghana can contribute and not be in the receiving end is to take part in clinical research ...

• Ghabay,NY 8 years ago

Kwaku,Ghana contributed a lot by sending health personnels to the affected countries to help,also Ghana was being used as the headquarters for UN Ebola operations ,is that not enough?No matter how you try to make it sound lik ...

Yes, I will. My sister called from Ghana and I alleviate her fears. Now those of us who are not scared or understand cannot even participate in the trials. The fear is understood. The fears retard our progress so we need to m ...

• Sophia OP 8 years ago

Mahama should use dis ebola vaccine to test his wife lordina and his so called mister of health and himself too before we accept it.

• OWEN,NEW YORK. 8 years ago

THAT IS THEIR GOVERNMENT IN POWER SO THERE IS NOTHING BAD IF TESTED IN THEIR WORD BANK. AFTER ALL,THE CHEFF IS THE FIRST TO TEST HIS OWN FOOD.IF THE STUFF IS TO KILL OR RESULT TO ONE CONTRACTING THE DISEASE,KWESIVE,KWABENAVI ...

• Mayday mayday Africa 8 years ago

Guys, has the vaccine been tested in the country where it was made? If not why?

It is not Ghana alone. Check Niaid.nih.gov for information

• Rash 8 years ago

Why in the Volta region.?

Days after all the brouhaha about these trials one would have thought that Ghanaians would have presented sound arguments.
    Alas all one gets is ignorance. The discussion is led by foot soldiers of the ndc.
    Like any infectio ...

• abba 8 years ago

Greasing his hands.

Check NIH.gov for information on the vaccine. It does not have ebola virus in it.

• Odikro Eyuoh Munumkum 8 years ago

mahama is a dangerous person fooling segbefia for using voltalians as guinea pigs. mahama has no respect for Ghanaians and also consider Ghanaians as fools. Common sense will tell, how can Ebola vaccine be trialed on Ebola fr ...

• popolanpo 8 years ago

Volta region need development. am appealing to the government to come down to Volta region and see our roads, I want to know if only the Northerner's lone that vote for u . also to know if the Ebola vaccine trial is part of b ...

• Justman 8 years ago

A WORD TO A WISE IS ENOUGH. CIVIL WAR S BETTER THAN EBOLA. EBOLA IS NOT A JOKE. DO NOT EVEN TRY TO EXPERIENCE OR EXPERIMENT IT.WHETHER IT IS LABELLED AS A VACCINE.EBOLA TOOK AWAY THR BESTB BRAINS WITH EASE.

• SENANU 8 years ago

Even their own world bank, they are sacrificing them. After sacrificing the Late Atta Mills and sacrificing Ghanaians everyday it has now reached their own world bank. This is the e dey bee k3k3 Ebola gov't. Fire them in 2016 ...

• ibn abudu @ Canadasheabutter (GhUWR) 8 years ago

OPPOSITION & PARLIAMENT ASK FOR HIS RESIGNATION

We talk till thy kingdom come. Meanwhile simple cholera kills us