You are here: HomeNews2015 06 14Article 362491

Flood alert: Accra drowns in heavy rains again

Read Comments Comments (88)

• pppppppppppppp 8 years ago

where are all the PHD, BACHELORS and DOCTORATE degree holders at? we need a solution to the sewage problem. The engineers? what y'all do is talk talk

• .USMAN. 8 years ago

If Mahama has used 2years to pump hard-earned Ghana money to lavishly transform Gonjaland then JJ Rawlings wasted 20years by not doing anything to transform Eweland. Three and a half years of Atta Mills presidensy will also b ...

• HGG 8 years ago

IT IS NOT GHANA ALONE

• HGG 8 years ago

WORLD HEATING

• Drunken-Williams 8 years ago

If every girl, in every village, donated her last sanitary pad to mop up the water, God would stop the rain falling. Let us pray.

• Saint Ghfuo: nyantakyi must GO! 8 years ago

the DRAINAGE SYSTEM IN ACCRA IS PREHISTORIC AND ORIMITIVE AND DTAS WHY ANYTIME IT RAINS. THERE IS A FLOOD. FOOLS WANT TO COMPARE GOARGIA TO ACCRA. HOW OFTEN DOES GEORGIA GET FLOODED? THE SPINELESS GH LEADERS SHOULD GO TO THEI ...

• Omanba Pa, Islington-London! 8 years ago

Expect more damages since Ghanaians cannot hold their leaders responsible. They are still pumping the money into their own pockets and leave the country in rampant.

• seth 8 years ago

it is not only in ghana

• Stoway 8 years ago

It is a good thing you are not weeping for Ashanti Region as you have seen massive development taking place there (a recipe for more than 1 million votes)and Eastern Region where the Okyenhene recently confessed. Why do you t ...

• OGOGLO QUARTER !!! 8 years ago

A CREDIBLE WEATHER STATION THAT CAN ATLEAST WARN OF WHAT IS COMING DOWN AND WHAT WE SHOULD EXPECT,,

GEOGRAPHICALLY,LOWER LEVEL LANDS WILL ALWAYS BE AND CAN NEVER EVER ESCAPE FROM FLOODINGS,ANY TIME IT GET HIT,,,EVEN DEVELO ...

• HGG 8 years ago

GHSANA IS NOT ALOMNE

• Kokonte 8 years ago

Shut up dude Georgia is also experiencing floods so what? We not in Georgia we talking of Ghana so stop that Georgia Georgia thing. We know u are in Georgia so stop robbing it in

• BBC NEWS ORIGINAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 8 years ago

mamaha is a curse to Ghana
    he has infected this nation with more hardships
    u killed Atta mills and u want to succeed
    the problem started from the day Atta died
    u spent billion on election buying v8 for good for nothing c ...

• daladam 8 years ago

WHO IS IN GHARGE OF GHANA EMERGENCY RESPONSE? HOW COME NO ONE WARN PEOPLE OF THE COMING FLOODS?,WHY ARE WE NOT HAVING SPECIL ARMY UNITS IN ACCRA STREETS HELPING GHANA PEOPLE? WHO IS IN GHARGE OF GHANA? DO WE GHANA PEOPLE ...

• gretchy 8 years ago

Daladam ur correct in every way.What's the army doing polishing their armery.They shud be the first institution at the scene with ur firemen
    Do we not have a disaster operation centre in hand?.About time some one is appointe ...

• jerry 8 years ago

also the t.v stations failed to forcast and advise people on the danger ahead with this rain,its seems that everything in Ghana simply does not work

• Yaa 8 years ago

Talking is the only thing that works in Ghana

• Archi 8 years ago

Asem beba dabi

• HGG 8 years ago

BLAME THE INDUSTRIES COUNTRIES

• pppppppppppppp 8 years ago

ok let's wait and see how George vs Ghana will respond stupid bitch

• Emma 8 years ago

We never learn

• Agbeli Kumordzi 8 years ago

Ghanains are full of shit talk no head to deliver the the goodies

• Kobi philly 8 years ago

Until when Ghana!!!!! NDC must go

• Young money 8 years ago

Dumsor must stop before 2016

• Dr. Alidu Tahiru Alhassan 8 years ago

Ohhh my God, only the finger of God can restore Accra to safety and survival. Join me in prayers. People paid to champion scientific solutions are unfortunately clueless.

• Honesty 8 years ago

It is not abt prayers but doing the right thing. You build on a sand and the Bible warns you of the consequences. Why don't you just obey instead of constantly disturbing God

• Frank. 8 years ago

You are right,Mr.Honesty.But the people, chosen to do the right things ,are not doing the things right. So we have no one to look up to, than to God and prayers.

• Adu Emmanuel 8 years ago

Hmmm God come and save us now

• DynoGod 8 years ago

God doesn't clog the drains with trash. Why should she clear them?

• Nii Armah 8 years ago

Don't worry..the best mayor in Africa, Mr. Oko Vanderpuiye , and all the useless leaders we have will 'fix' this problem , once and for all...when half of the people in Accra will have drowned !!!. what a bunch of useless peo ...

• NO NONSENSE 8 years ago

ACCRA HAS A PLAIN LAND SO RELOCATE OUR CAPITAL CITY TO THE CENTRAL PART OF GHANA

• smokin joe 8 years ago

good idea!

• ozone 8 years ago

How is that going to solve floading in Accra....or if its sent there we r all going to move there....think deep!!!

• Kwame 1 8 years ago

"Residents of these areas are advised to take the necessary precautions and stay indoors". Stay indoors? ?so the they get drowned in the fast rising floods.?on whose advice? They better run for their lives and seek shelter o ...

• sly 8 years ago

Run in to gutter and be drown

Stay at home and get drowned

• JOYCE KOFI-DUA 8 years ago

NDC GOVT. WHERE IS THE MONEY FOR THE ACCRA DRAINAGE FIX. MAHAMAH WILL BE VOTED OUT. AND HE WILL BE DRAGGED TO COURT FOR MURDER.

• Frank. 8 years ago

Mr. or Miss JOYCE. KOFI DUAH, please who gave you this name?My people will never stop me from laughing,although l am not in the mood.

• DESSIE 8 years ago

Ghana need adequate good drainage system and emergency shelter system across our cites should disaster strike

• Quality Toner 8 years ago

Quality toner and Ink refill at Amensco Techno Serv. at Abeka-New Fadama.
    We also repair HP and Canon Printers and Photocopy machines.
    Call: 0244523451

• yussif fuseini 8 years ago

Since it happened the gutters remained chocked,besides the ground is still wet and can not absurd water anymore,we just ve to pray,what even helped the situation a little was end of month cleaning exercise.As the clueless gov ...

• Abdul. 8 years ago

May Allah save the lives and properties of our country-men and women in the flooding areas.However,the simple question i ask is;
    Is it possible to move the capital to a more spacious region to forestall such avoidable calam ...

• SURVIVAL INSIDE AYIKUMA 8 years ago

IN GHANA WE NEVER DO SOMETHING,UNLES SOMETHING HAPPENS.WHY DO WE SOPOSE TO LOOSE ALL WE HAVE STATING ANOTHER LIFE?SO MY DO WE SOPOSE TO DIE N LOST THE LITLE WE HAVE BEFOURE THEY DONATE MONEY N MATRES?

• tru 8 years ago

we are in a leadership crises from every part of the Ghanaian society. our whole society needs complete overhauling to get to the bottom of our lazy corrupt ignorant selfish and greedy practices

• Yebopower 8 years ago

Another 3 days declaration of mourning by the useless president while the problem persist.NDC cannot help Ghana.This cartel must go now.They are a bunch of jokers and concert makers.

• Ginger 8 years ago

We are urging the government to relocate the capital to Amasaman

• Odikr@. 8 years ago

A few moments ago...

Kasoa.
    Osu
    Ashiaman are in floods.
    Hope all is well

• daladam 8 years ago

OF THE COMING NEW RAIN AND FLOODS,WHY NO ONE FROM THE GOVT ISSUED WARNING TO PEOPLE TO BE READY WHO IS RUNNING GHANA?

• Manu Isaac 8 years ago

what is happening to Ghana

• YAGBONWURA 8 years ago

Vote for mahama

• Koolas of Berlin 8 years ago

There is something we Need To solve now as another flood hiting Accra this evening n u sitting down Talking about voting,wat has had JM add to our life

• NDC FOOTSOLDIER 8 years ago

Nothing my brother. Because he is a dead goat

• JATO KWASHIVI RAWLINGS 8 years ago

THE JUDGEMENT DEBTS PAID TO WOYOME, CP, WATERVIELE ETC., COULD HAVE SOLVED ALL THIS DRAINAGE PROBLEMS IN ACCRA, YET JOHN MAHAMA AND THE NDC WANTS TO HAVE FOUR MORE YEARS, EVEN IN THE FACE OF THIS GLARING FAILURE.

• KWASI 8 years ago

WHY IS IT THAT NO ONE ALERTED ACCRA PEOPLE OF THE COMING DANGER AGAIN? WHERE IS OUR ARMY WHY ARE THEY NOT IN THE STREET HELPING FALKS THAT GOT STUCK MOVE AROUND? WHO IS RUNNING GHANA?

• abena-kwabena 8 years ago

Years of sleeping on the job, years of military rule, we are now reaping what we have sowed. Nkrumah is my 'yard stick', he had the "7 years development plan" !/Electrification of the whole country_Akosombo, 2/Free compulsory ...

• truth 8 years ago

Hopefully POLITICIANS who travel overseas have an idea of what a SHELTER is. Enough of too much UNNECESSARY radio talk.

• Akyemansa ba Qwabina 8 years ago

Eeei Asem oooo!!! If you stay in your room you might drown if you leave too you might be carried away... infact life in accra paa is terrible.

• JATO KWASHIVI RAWLINGS 8 years ago

GHANA IS REAPING THE FRUITS OF VOTING FOR THE CORRUPT AND INCOMPETENT JOHN MAHAMA AND NDC PARTY. GOD HAVE MERCY ON GHANAIANS DURING THESE HARD TIMES OF NDC CURSE.

• Yebopower 8 years ago

Are they still comparing Accra to Houston.?Ignorant people.Boot out National Disaster Crises(NDC) and all will be well.

• koftown 8 years ago

Oh rains,call on flagstaff house instead of harassing Poor innocent souls. Its too Much a burden for the country, mahama Must go.

• ASARE 8 years ago

This is one of the answers to corruption because, corruption is evil so Ghanaians stop this attitude because it makes you blind and can"t help you.Why will you try to steal money for your great grand grand grand children who ...

• James Martin 8 years ago

Government must begin to build more shelter homes

• Victor Hugo 8 years ago

More demolition for Oko Vanderpuje; it is his only solution to the problem and escape blame!

• cholestrol 8 years ago

Tomorow Morning visionless mahama nd his pet dogg vanderpuye.will go round visiting affected families as usual nd. make
    Promises upon promises on how. Plans are
    Advanced at solving drainage problems. This nonsense must stop ...

• kb 8 years ago

NADMO or whatever they call themselves should assemble a rescue team and get themselves to flood prone areas

• okonkobaba 8 years ago

I cannot believe what is taking place on ghanaweb. It is not only disturbing but also troubling that some people if not most, are totally and completely out of touch on national issues and therefore have no meaningful contrib ...

• Osei Kofi 8 years ago

Very good advice but it will surely fall on deaf ears.If you are a regular on ghanaweb,you will realize by now that common sense and reason had gone down to the dogs so spare yourself the ordeal of injecting sanity on the web ...

• Dr. B 8 years ago

I say any time we gave a ccontract to road contractors, it should be accompanied by sewage systems. period. thats the future and that it. Ghana cannot thrive like this. eben a sem ni?

• ABENA 8 years ago

We are in fools regime so what do you expect? A so called brainless president who calls himself dead goat and dumsor. A son of a bitch!!!!!!!!!! Shamelessly mocking Ghanaians. More grease to the elbows of tabo Fantis and tro ...

• Chimson 8 years ago

Are you an invincible force or a Bolgatanga Buldog?

• fatala 8 years ago

Can we still blame the people. One cannot say it is now be cos of people putting rubbish ... We now need to sort out the drainage system in Accra.later we can look at attitude through education

• KanyeEast 8 years ago

Stay away from petrol stations.

• mee 8 years ago

God help us

• Bernard 8 years ago

Prof. Martey & Co, any answer? Your prayers have failed. Talk is cheap.

• ABAAH 8 years ago

PROF.MANTEY & CO HAVE NO ANSWER,THEY WERE PRAYING FOR US TO HAVE A GOOD GOVERNMENT BUT NOT TO STOP RAIN.I THINK ONLY DUNCAN THAT CAN PRAY TO STOP THESE RAINS.TOMORROW THE VULTURE PRESIDENT WILL FIX IT.IT IS FLOOD TIME THAT TH ...

• fredsaid 8 years ago

The nation Ghana is full of leaders and politicians who just talk promise and continue to talk but not action. President Mahama declared 3 days of morning for the dead but sadly did not declare 3 or more days of emergency act ...

• Dada kojo ,Abenase. 8 years ago

We are behaving as if rainfall is a curse..its a natural occurrence just like earthquake and volcanicity,de only difference is the fact that wise countries will direct where rain shd pass.

• Youngest Gh 8 years ago

Dada, you ar right insulting the Leaders wil make no changes. We ar only begging the Leaders 2 take action over this problem and God wil see them through but whoever that hav evil thought abt Ghana wil never see the end of 20 ...

• ABAAH 8 years ago

HELLO YOUNGEST Gh,THIS IS NOT ABOUT INSULTING BUT RATHER ABOUT PERFORMANCE AND NON-PERFORMANCE.IF YOU REQUESTED A SCHOOL FEES FROM YOUR PARENTS AND IT WAS GIVEN AND YOU DIDN'T PAY THE FEES BUT RATHER SQUANDERED IT.DO YOU BLAM ...

• blackie 8 years ago

oh God please save ghana

• The Independent voice 8 years ago

DREDGE THE ODAW RIVER AND THE OUTLET OF THE ODAW RIVER ON TOP PRIORITY AND REMOVE ALL THE RUBBISH AND THE SQUATTERS AND THE ILLEGAL LAND FILLING DONE AT SODOM AND GOMMORA WHICH HAS BLOCKED THE FREE FLOW OF THE ODAW RIVER INTO ...

In every situation God first, so we should stop insulting Leaders, for this problem is what many countries are facing and it has been there for ages. Leaders take please take action 4 God is beside us.

• DESSIE 8 years ago

winner takes all democracy system in ghana must be abolished

• ozone 8 years ago

Lazy journalist!!!!...copy and paste shame!!!!!!

• Dogg 8 years ago

Ghanaweb keeps posting old pic of flood. This is 2015 and every one including their grandma has a phone with a camera. Do you mean to tell me Ghanaweb can't post original and recent pics of Accra flooding?

• plain man 8 years ago

Useless so called Osman,weep for yourself ok.you tribalistic pig,a buffoon,nicompoop,maggot who plays the tribal card at all time.I know you 're not usman,reveal your real identity.Leave Mahama alone a stupid dog without owne ...

• Emmanuel Vorgbe, AFP TV 8 years ago

Ghanaweb editors are very, very lazy. Why do you use a very old picture to depict the flooding in Accra? Send your correspondents to check the new colour of the Kaneshie market.

Ghanaweb, ar you people happy abt al these insult givin 2 our Leaders, insulting some1 older than you is a curse. And the insult won't repair Ghana. We ar not doin political campaign here.