You are here: HomeNews2015 06 14Article 362395

GAF fleece soldiers?… Ghc42 million involved

Read Comments Comments (72)

• Efo 8 years ago

GAF must do the right thing. some of those retiring soldiers have no homes after leaving the army. Most of them are going back to village as poor farmers and fishermen. Give them their money to get business for their wives to ...

• .USMAN. 8 years ago

Go and see how Prez Mahama of Ghana has transformed Gonjaland with Ghana money just within the two and half years that he has been in power. Every town, village and hamlet in Gonjaland has received a facelift with new facilit ...

• SAKO 8 years ago

That Mahama man is a dormy. He has no fear for God. He will suffer one day. Don't waist your time weeping those people because they will still vote for him. Ghanaians don't vote candidate but party.

• SGT SOBOLO 8 years ago

What is the president waiting for b4 he comes in. Does he want the retired soldiers to strike b4 he takes action? That Navy CDS is the biggest thief in the whole country and the PRO is talking for him. Foolish; they have pack ...

• koo 8 years ago

Lt Col Aggrey let assumed you have worked for 10 years the Army has sent your name for the Government that you have end your service so your 80% Is GH¢100.00 and 20% is GH¢50.00 the Government paid the money to the army but ...

• Bomber 8 years ago

The calibre of Command we have in the Army today is really a disgrace. The CDS and Army Commander are so greedy that I wonder whether they remember they will one day die. They retire Officers and soldiers early so they can ...

• KpaaliisaWay 8 years ago

My dear civilian brothers and sisters, never never trust these thieves and crooks whose long time illegal practice has now been exposed.They are nation wreckers, wolves in sheep clothing. The military leaders are more corrupt ...

• sansan 8 years ago

How can this old soldiers sit down for this JSS boys to cheat them. All the boys company chaps are gone and the Army doesn't have potent men with three balls anymore. This is good grounds to line up all this stupid officers a ...

• KWAME TAWIAH 8 years ago

Even when you ask President John Mahaha, he will tell you our Cedi has {Depreciated}fallen in terms of purchasing power over the period for more than 150 percent. How can you use the same amount of gratuity used to pay the p ...

• SGT SOBOLO 8 years ago

The military is the most corrupt institution in Ghana. The CDS and other officers are the biggest thieves in the country. Why should officers be better off than other ranks? It is money belonging to other ranks that they alwa ...

• KLL 8 years ago

Lt Col Aggrey Quarshie do not follow the Bulu Bulu CDS we have all the documents to support our case. The President will sack the CDS soon, the CDS thinks the soldier is like those days that you can chop our fathers money in ...

• koo 8 years ago

Why is that the soldiers are being favoured with all the money in the country. what are they doingbto warrant these hefty sums. Ghanains should judge now.....you insult doctors but rather leave these buffoons to enjoy the mon ...

• paa 8 years ago

if you think our men in uniform are being favored why not join them, and I think after 25 years you'll be able to give accurate judgement

• WO1 8 years ago

@koo......masa ...its their whole pension.its normal. go and ask what teachers get . dont come here and spew nonsense cos of your poverty.

• koo 8 years ago

@ I will be grateful if u tell me wht teachers take as pension lump sum since u know better than me. if u care to know the poor teacher doesnt retire on their salary.I will not support injustice and hence wish u all get the m ...

• WO1 8 years ago

Koo,u want every worker to receive equal salary and pension right? Its simple. Go and build your own utopian nation and pay every worker equal so that every worker including the lazy ones will be happy.and who told u soldie ...

• WO1 8 years ago

@ Koo,u want every worker to receive equal salary and pension right? Its simple. Go and build your own utopian nation and pay every worker equal so that every worker including the lazy ones will be happy.and who told u sold ...

• hmmmm 8 years ago

fgdfgfgfggff

• thinkability 8 years ago

@ koo if u dont have anything to say keep quiet cos u have no idea of wat u are talking abt live the soldiers to handle their issues, u say wat u dont know off. why, u bi mad man.

• ME 8 years ago

Research arround the world before you start making senseless & self-centered aggument,it could be you.You always talk this nonsens but only see the value of Soldiers when your lives is at risk which a soldier have no uption t ...

• KpaaliisaWay 8 years ago

All of you should read his third but last paragraph. What sense is in that paragraph? If that be it, how come that the year groups-1984, 1985,1986,1987,1988 and 1989 have all been paid a common amount?? You see, they are not ...

• Joseph Yamson 8 years ago

Col . sir , I've my doubts if u've read over ur response to the query . It's clear that ur facts don't add up equally as the figures . ( 1 )Which are the final salaries for the men ur a/c department used for the computations ...

• attu zongo 8 years ago

They are extremely criminally corrupt & incompetent , whether Ghana likes it or not soon there will come & be the 5th Republic. Tweaa criminals in power. GOD GO HAMMER THEM CUM THEM FAMILIES ALL. L o n g L I v e T h e O l d ...

• JJJ 8 years ago

Lt Col Aggrey has not seen the document the soldiers are having. The CDS is now pushing him to talk but if this were not to come out only the CDS and the service chiefs including DFC will share the money Lt Col Aggrey will n ...

• Bomber 8 years ago

This CDS is always sleeping at the least opportunity anytime he attends a function. Is the GAF a fighting for any longer?I doubt.

• Kofi Twum 8 years ago

The Chronicle's reporter needs to note of the difference between SIGHTING, which implies vision, and CITING, which, among other things, refers to references or quotations.

• Shabi 8 years ago

The reporter also refers to a 'Chancellor of Exchequer'. Do we have one in this country?

But where at all do they go and collect this rubbish from?

• Joe Turkey 8 years ago

It appears these 3 letters are a taboo in Ghana. Remember the $20,000 transportation to purchase grocery in Brazil. Oho, and the $8,000 repair of an iPad that cost $600? Notice that the estimates are nearly 200% off the actua ...

• why 8 years ago

why say its an estimate you requested and not the actual amount you were supposed to have requester..that is fraud...I think a lot of people in the govt itself are involve..God will get them

• pension 8 years ago

How ar we sure dat our monthly pays too ar not being stollen, Anytym dere is any increament in GAF pay roll, our arreas ar being paid in beats, y?
    Our junior ORs who ar in all de operational theaters ar being used for unnec ...

• YUGIOH 8 years ago

If you think you are qualified to be an officer, why not join them and take same. Even you soldiers are not unified. The issue here is retirees not officers. Go get yourself educated, your English is really be bad.

• Dzifa Ange 8 years ago

If all OR s bounds to commission who will call for duty to serve ,can u count the number of times u have been on sentry after joining the service... some of us in the or core are having degree and masters and How many officer ...

• Fred 8 years ago

Officer my foot... officers who cant even spell their names and cant even command just 3 soldiers... they always panic whenever they are infront of the troops... No wonder the armed forces of ghana is loosing its credibility ...

• Okeke. 8 years ago

Yes the corrupt senior officers have cheated other ranks far too long and it is even now believed this started as far back the 1970's.This needs serious investigation.

• Analyst 8 years ago

The military's shoddy deals concerning soldiers' pensions over the years are being brought to light. Whichever way one looks at it, it is morally wrong to intentionally overestimate the amount payable without informing the ap ...

• man 8 years ago

I totally agree with you, this must be investigated as soon as possible and those found culpable must be dealt with accordingly to deter others

• paa 8 years ago

the government is doing his best, but the GAF high authority is actually not doing what they are supposed to do and I think the government need to check before things get out of hand

• Naa 8 years ago

The GAF PRO is a big lair,,!

• attu zongo 8 years ago

Yes oooh , very irresponsible LIAR. Tweaaa.

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 8 years ago

Every institution in the country is corrupt. These gallant men and women served their country with distinction but look at the way their very government is dooping them. Shame to these civilian governments.

• jack 8 years ago

you're very stupid officer ,as a. colonel ,you will retire on with pay.that means what he is earning in if going home,he will be paid same amount doing retirement as well.
    i think govt should come to our rescue .but if they' ...

• centre cannot hold 8 years ago

Mr president open ur eyesooo am given u. seven days sack dat stupid navy cds before is too late I warned . we will strike soon .

• ..... 8 years ago

Aggrey should remember that he will not be in the army for the rest of his life. a word to the wise is enough.

• Alhaji A Brutus Germany 8 years ago

STEALING EVERYWHERE UNDER MAHAMA

• attu zongo 8 years ago

Colleague the Ghana Armed Force is extremely criminally corrupt than the Ghana Police. So KGB have to come & investigate now.

• komfo 8 years ago

This Col. Aggrey Kwashie again?The other day it was land issues today it is pension fund.God save the nation. Corruption has now gone to the barracks.

• Kwame Oti. 8 years ago

Why use their names to collect huge sums of money and pay them peanut? So if the GAF can't be trusted then which institution is left for us? What at all has Ghana done to deserve such fleecing of its resources? Am ashamed of ...

• Ghana Ni 8 years ago

Make money online to build a successful financial future contact me on 0247804440 for more details

• attu zongo 8 years ago

It is a lie a big lie . How much was given to the retired officers? The GAF is extremely criminally corrupt. Monies due soldiers are always paid in tots bcos all the officers are criminals and corrupt. Eg vehicles are being s ...

• SAKO 8 years ago

Mmmmm, Ghana! Everyone want to steal something home for his or her family. I sometimes wonder if there are Christians in Ghana at all. Almost 70% Christians and 20 % Muslims. Roughly total 90% God fearing people. So, which pe ...

• Old Soldier 8 years ago

1979 and 1981 should be a Lesson to us. we are thousand plus trained soldiers and be careful of our national security.CDS we will not forgive you .........

• NDC fool 8 years ago

You know which tribe makes up the majority? Are you surprised?

• Dominic 8 years ago

forgt abt tribe here comrade.Evry modafucker involvd must taste our anger if things got out of control.

• Divine 8 years ago

This is very sad. superior will decided his fellow men don't deserve the money so he will short change them and sent the rest of the money allocated to them back to government coffers. This is wickedness to the highest degree ...

• Justice 8 years ago

This is simple. Sweeping the GAF would not affect only the SOLDIERS. Govt should remember that his soldiers are crying for JUSTICE.

• kinpi 8 years ago

Rawlings, where are Ghana needs you badly

• u want me to tell u 8 years ago

Soon we will surprise u all if the powers that be continue to take we the soldiers for granted. 37 Military Hospital is collapsed and corruption is highest. No soldier want to go there because they will be killed out of negle ...

• Old Soldier 8 years ago

Lt col Aggrey Quarshie is a disgrace to the profession. He was saying the amount was calculated ahead to factor to pay increment. Col should be asked how much was given to 1986/1987 year groups. What did the Maj Gen Saaebul ...

• Takadia magarrietta 8 years ago

Very soon another case will go to the media again. Soldiers went on course in USA and via the artinary they were supposed to be given $832.00 per diem but never got a cent till the end of course. Case likely to attract legal ...

• citizen kofi 8 years ago

the president should hurry up and step in this matter b4 it get out of hands.we dnt want to see any revolution again.the men at the top of the armed forces are all thiefs.

• Dominic 8 years ago

DEY CAN STEAL AS DEY WANT BUT ME DOMINIC DEY WIL BOW IN SHAME B4 ME ONE DAY.

• citizen kofi 8 years ago

don't forget that the commission officers are just administrators and the OR's are in-charge of all the weapons. Mr President do something now about this case.a word to a wise is enough

• Weysman 8 years ago

Please delve deep into this matter so that our due for the sacrifices and services rendered to mother ghana and the world be given to us to transit smoothly into civil life. I URGE GAF to come clear. Father robbing son? This ...

• teee 8 years ago

Jst dat my big want to kill us
    Hw can u pay $557 to for leave at Ghana
    N dey will tell u wht to wear
    Dat u shldnt wear anything which is military
    U hv to dress like a civilian
    So u hv to buy a dress n a bag here before ...

• King Tonado 8 years ago

Naval CDS are most corrupt..

• Airserviceman 8 years ago

There is nothing fishy about the real payments being made to our gallant retired soldiers. I Will advice them to stop being mischievous. They know the regulations on payment of T&T. But my concern is the culture of overbloate ...

• JUNGLE WAVE 8 years ago

I SHALL SOON PROVE TO THE WORLD AGAIN THAT WE THE JUNIOR RANKS IN THE GHANA ARMED FORCES ARE NOT COWARDS.

• KKD 8 years ago

. THIEVES

• teee 8 years ago

THE BOYS ARE COMING Ghanaian UN peace keepers in Liberia re crying abt ebola money, de type of leaders re u, Ghanaian UN Peace Keepers re coming on leave to meet dey re love ones n dey re paying for de flight fee which is $55 ...

• paa 8 years ago

It could be u let all soja's wake up and fight dis fight ......... is abt time we hv to stop dam ......... Mahama wake up .....

• Kabulu 8 years ago

No wonder this things are happening to a great institution like the GAF since the wife of the CDS is the one ruling the Armed Forces. The most corrupt institution now in Ghana is the GAF. The officers are honey monkeys eager ...

• lolo 8 years ago

Pls Mr Mahama is about time u stand up and change the Rules of the GAF bcos is not helping the Order Range (OR) why im i saying that if after working for GAF for good 25yrs and u are to go on pension you are not allow to go w ...