You are here: HomeNews2015 06 10Article 361717

Extend presidential tenure to five years - Prof. Okine

Read Comments Comments (113)

• agya 8 years ago

good argument for other leaders, but not this man…he should gone like yesterday.

• LARYEAH 8 years ago

MAHAMA WILL BRING NOTHING GOOD TO GHANA EXCEPT AWFUL WOES, EVEN IF YOU GIVE HIM 100 YEARS.

• SARPONG 8 years ago

Professor, we have seen a guy who was President of Maame Ghana for twenty years and it is because of the wasted twenty years by Rawlings we are in this predicament.

The arrested development of Rawlings twenty years make y ...

• theAntidote 8 years ago

If a president cannot do it in four, what makes you think an additional one year will do?

• theAntidote 8 years ago

Excuse my typo

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

Mahama we have pointed long ago is a curse upon this nation of ours , all we will see as his legacy is the incompetence , deliberate sabotage of anything worthy or valuable including virtues , lack of morals or conscience and ...

• gretchy 8 years ago

Gudone "antidote" he had 3yrs and look at the state of the country.Hahaha 5years he will have enuff funds in overseas account to kiss ghana gudbye.New Zealand has 3yrs and if voted in again either we are in da shit or keeping ...

• Francis 8 years ago

I agree with your comment but please no need for the insult.

• Hassan Rasta Germany 8 years ago

Who tell these stupod leader both NPP and NDC leaders can save mother Ghana wven od you give them 100 years ? Send NPP and NDC into the gutters then we form a youth party. Y3B3TUMI PARTY

• TAFLATS3 8 years ago

I don't understand why the universities keep doling out professorship to certain people. The guy has not even got a Ph.D, but you have given him a professorship. Is it because of his long service and those useless so-called p ...

• BlindMan 8 years ago

At four(4)years, the Presidents behave like they are some 'superheros', and non, with the exception of Late Attah Mills lived normally!
    Prof. Okine's idea is an attempt to draw us into PRIMITIVE era; it's senseless and is h ...

• BATAKARI REPUBLIC 8 years ago

YES, WE WILL TAKE THE 5 YEARS IF YOU FOOLS ALSO GIVE BACK WHAT YOU'RE ALWAYS SUPPOSED TO BY THE CONSTITUTION:

YOU WILL DECLARE YOUR ASSETS WHEN YOU TAKE A POSITION, AND DECLARE THEM WHEN YOU LEAVE, AND YOU FOOLS WILL NOT ...

• SAMO JEWELERY 8 years ago

If u need yellow n white gold rings for your wedding n engagement...then call or whatsapp us on 0244717600 for latest pictures to choose from.....we have offices in HO,KUMASI, KASOA AND ACCRA SPINTEX ROAD.....u can contact us ...

• Ellembelle Nyameke 8 years ago

Nothing wrong with the current 4 year term. Do well n get another 4 yrs. If 4 yrs is not ok, additional 1yr will be a waste.

• TWEEAA 8 years ago

WHY NOT MAKE MAHAMA PRESIDENT FOR LIFE, PRO. OKINE.

.....and here comes a stream of insults for the poor professor

• Neutral Zone 8 years ago

Yes, he deserves it. I just want to reduce it 3.

• Ghanaian, NY 8 years ago

In democracy everybody has right to express his/her mind.

It is wrong to use 4 years in this argument. It is rather 8 years, if you do well you may be voted for to come back for a second term of 4 years. After 8 years and ...

• Close Observer 8 years ago

Atukwei, we will consider this later when this useless and failed NDC government is voted out. You are making this call at the wrong time. You don't want that to go into the head of the 'dead goat'

• TAFLATS3 8 years ago

If you can sing and read poetry, that does not mean that you understand politics. In the advanced presidential democracies like the USA, nobody is asking for more than 4 years. It is only in Africa that you find some dictato ...

• Ghanaman 8 years ago

Mahama will not have five years to destroy Ghana

• BBC 8 years ago

what did Rawlings do in 19 years?what did Kuffour do in 8 years.Our so called leaders lack leadership skills.Mahama is a joke not a leader.Matter of fact Ghana has never had a leader.You don't need 10 years to effect a change ...

• Ben 8 years ago

Let's ask ourselves why soccer coaches are sacked: To bring in a better coach. Depending on the qualities of the new coach, the team starts to improve or decline further.The coach must not wait for 5 years to bring good resul ...

• Son of man 8 years ago

ITS NOT ABOUT TIME, ITS ALL ABOUT IDEAS AND MOST IMPORTANTLY THE RULE OF LAW. PROSECUTE CORRUPTION!

• Mama Afua 8 years ago

In ghana even if they are given a decade (10yrs).......nothing good can be done. The four years is enough to endure whatever the leaders will do before the next election.

• Akwasi 8 years ago

I wish the presidential tenure is a week or at most a month.

• Eshun 8 years ago

You are right. President Mahama is too good to be given just 8 years. President is one of best presidents the world has ever seen. Keep the good work up!

• Military Man 8 years ago

A party foot soldier singing the praises even when there is ample facts that say that this so-called president is the most useless president since the advent of democracy.

KEEP ON DREAMING TILL THE WHOLE COUNTRY HAS BEEN T ...

• Emmanuel 8 years ago

Twea Kai !! That mistake of a president

• Tweaa bio 8 years ago

IF YOU GIVE THE CURRENT PRESIDENT A 10-YEAR TERM NOTHING WILL HAPPEN. REMEMBER THAT YOUR JJ WAS GIVEN 19 YEARS AND NOTHING HAPPENED.

• Asuo 8 years ago

Prof, let's make it 10 years. Do you really think an additional year is going to make a difference. That is why the constitution accords them the right to stand for re-election, by that if the electorate notice the supposed p ...

What has the number of years got to do with good governance? A charismatic president with vision can change Ghana within a year. Give a visionless president 5, 10 or 20 years and the country will move backwards.

• Alex Mensah 8 years ago

Please NO four years times two equal eight years please no greediness two terms of four years Pleeeeease

• kozak 8 years ago

if you have no brain to solve problem in four years what one year can do with your corrupt brain. if so tell America to change to fours because they are detecting democration for you. If not you are seeking for extra one year ...

• JATO KWASHIVI RAWLINGS 8 years ago

REMEMBER, BURKINA FASO AND BURUNDI. GHANA SHOULD NOT TRY THIS EXTENSION OF TERM TIME OF THE GOVERNMENT. TWO TERMS OF FOUR YEARS, MAKING EIGHT YEARS IN GHANA IS ENOUGH. OTHERWISE, WHEN WE HAVE A USELESS, NON PERFORMING GOVERNM ...

• vk 8 years ago

Even the 8 years is too much and you are asking for ten years? If give them thrty years they will just steal money. How many years was Rawlings in power?

• Pelicles 8 years ago

What is wrong with this man? Has he lost his mind? Extending the term of the presidency is an avenue to be more corrupt.

• All shall pass 8 years ago

A useless government like npp even had 8 years. Adding more years to performing NDC gorvt. is in the right direction.

• VOICE OF REASON 8 years ago

One wonders at the rational behind calls for a longer year term.The Americans whose constitution we have somehow modelled our one have a 4 year term and if the voters so wish give the president a further 4 year term

• Martin Jr . 8 years ago

Prof, I think you care much of our beloved country like everyone else. One thing I would like to bring to your attention is that, it's not the president alone to fix the bad economy; it takes all at stake esp. the ministers a ...

• PURE NONSENSE 8 years ago

Please leave your comments in the college campus. Welcome to the real world prof where the real mind provides real useful decisions. one year or five years does not make a bad leader any better.

• VOICE OF REASON 8 years ago

A longer term is a dangerous proposal and we should not entertain the idea at all no matter the personalities vouching for it.If anything we should rather ditch this absurd all powerful presidential system for the parliamenta ...

• Joe Turkey 8 years ago

If you can not do it in 4, there is no guarantee that you can do it in five. This is why the mandate is renewable for a second 4-year term. Jerry Rawlings lurked around for twenty years with nothing to show for it except kill ...

• Joe Turkey 8 years ago

(P)NDC Vincent Assiseh suggested this two decades ago; he died the following week.

• zombi politician. 8 years ago

It should even be two (2)years one term for the Presidency, then we strengthen the government Institutions.Parliament should be four years two terms.Five Cabinet Ministers,Health,Agriculture,Education Defence and Environment ...

• Dan Kwa 8 years ago

We give them 4 years, if they do a good job we keep them for the next four. That is plenty of time to put in the so called 'agenda'

• Victor A. Young. 8 years ago

That's a very bad idea Prof. So you mean Ghanaians should endure NDC's bogus administration for 10yrs; economic hardships and suffering isn't a joke! All the disasters and corruption that's going on should inform you that a 5 ...

• Papa Yaw 8 years ago

So

• Jones Asabi 8 years ago

Hogwash! Atu Kwei Okai should know better!

• A. Kubi 8 years ago

Four years is enough; we only need continuity of good goals set by previous governments. If four years is not enough, ten years will still not be sufficient!

• Uncle Pee 8 years ago

If you set the right agenda for the country and the voters are satisfied, they will give you an additional 4 years, making it 8. Any good agenda can be continued by the next government. However if you don't have any agenda li ...

• Akita 8 years ago

Hmmm only npp can use that five years to develop Ghana not NDC with john thief mahama

• ****((((((****** 8 years ago

JJ the thief man was given 22 years young man who had the taste of poverty b4 wat did he do nothing. Give your daughter to an impotent to marry give the man 100 years still can't do foko. Worthless professor.

• Balderash 8 years ago

Such rubbish.

• Nana Yaw, Boston, USA 8 years ago

If four years are not enough, what makes you think five years will be enough? Rawlings had 19 years but what happened? Nothing! Even the four years is too much! It must come down to three. No president deserves 5 years in Gha ...

• NII 8 years ago

YOU COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING PRODUCTIVE TO SAY? JUST SHUT UP AND WRITE POEMS.

• Jo 8 years ago

what!

• Adjo 8 years ago

10 years with stupid one in power will be too painful for the people

• Otwenua Adamfo 8 years ago

Prof nice try but come again. Let's stick with the current two four year term limits for now. If anything we should rather have a clause in the constitution to allow for early elections when we have a sorry set of good for no ...

• Katakyie Obrafoo 8 years ago

if in 4 years the guy did nothing, what can extra one year do? is that the best you wish for Ghana under this useless ndc government? some of you so called latter day professors are just so so useless.

• Otoo Douglas 8 years ago

That his opinion... Even 4 years if it can be possible we want to decrease to 3years. African leaders are corrupt, visionless, selfish, gready n above politically unprofessional to be given 5years term n probably double term ...

• penpenaaa-usa 8 years ago

Its a very good proposal and a laudable one.people have to understand that if the five year term is to be accepted,it will have to start from the next president. Also,there should be a developmental plan for the nation where ...

• sid 8 years ago

is failing president ready to ready if can't identify anything in office or keep trail n error ie how should Akua Donkor give economic advice?i rest my case

• Emmanuel LV 8 years ago

Democracies are for 4 years. The issue here is that our governments the "servant" tends to abort and terminate ongoing projects that have been started by their predecessors that do not favor their bank accounts.

• CATAPULT 8 years ago

There will be no extension of presidential tenure to five years.
    The Presidential tenure of four years should be such that, we should have it split into two years, that is we should be able to conduct mid-term elections afte ...

• Kpeblo 8 years ago

If a president cannot solve ghana' problems in 4 years what will the extra year do for him or her.

• Kwawu Agbemenu 8 years ago

Then next time someone calls for an additional year, and year, and year ... until it becomes 33, right? Do they even have plans for the country when they're campaigning for the position??? By their non-performance, I wonder, ...

• Wase'Negah (U.S.A-worcester) 8 years ago

Sometimes I wonder how even our so called professors in Ghana make certain calls on political fora. Why do we have second term (4yr) for a presidential re-election? Our country is what we are witnessing "today" because our pr ...

• K.K 8 years ago

MAHAMA WAS CHOSEN OVER 80% FOR THE REASON THAT WE GHANAIANS DO NOT TRUST CLUELESS AKUFO AND HIS CORRUPT FRIENDS. LET US LEAVE MAHAMA ALONE, HE IS PROVEN LEADER WHO HAS BEGUN THE WORK TO REBUILD AND REMAKE GHANA A BETTER PLACE

• Palava 8 years ago

You don't know what you're talking about Prof. I don't think there's any difference between four and five years. Give John Mahama twenty years in office and he still won't know what to do. Therefore, your suggestion is basele ...

• moby dick 8 years ago

Four+Four=Eight. In four years, a new born baby can learn to walk and speak. In the next four years, he even goes to school and can read and write. Give a bad leader ten years and he will still be a bad leader. He will even g ...

• Genuine Observer 8 years ago

What Ghana needs is a constitutional amendment to be able to force governments who can't perform out b4 the end of their 4 yr terms! And also to REMOVE the indemnity clause from our constitution. Corrupt governments MUST face ...

• sista clary 8 years ago

Give them 10 years and they can't solve the nation problems. Not Ghanaian leaders. Import foreign management to manage the country. Since independence no Ghana born politician has brought the nation ahead and this will never ...

• SHOWGIRL 8 years ago

Yeah! Let's just do that. Even better, let's make Mahama Life President and mand make Woyome his Vice for Life.
    Let's put all the NDC crooks into high positions for life.
    Whilst we are at it lets dig mass graves for the ma ...

• Ibn Batuta 8 years ago

On the other hand, you can get saddled with a bad president for 5 years.....If you are good enough, you may be rewarded with an additional 4 years for a total of 8....that is good enough

• Ghana must know 8 years ago

Yes it's a very good idea BUT not with Rawlings's NDC. Prof. please don't let them buy you. Apart from Rawlings 19 years,this ndc have had 7 years and your talking about 5 years. They said a lot about Npp and promised a bett ...

• sammy 8 years ago

THATS YOUR MIND HOWEVER WHAT EVEN FOUR YEAR TERM PAVE WAY FOR LUTING THE NATION HOW MUCH MORE THAT WILL LEAD THEM TO SELL THE ENTIRE NATION INTO THIER PUKETS NNNNNNNNNNOOOOOOOO MERCI!!!!!!!!!

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 8 years ago

How do these so called educated fools use their brains at all? Can this ass.... tell us how long did Chairman Rawlings rule Ghana for and tell us his achievements? The system of government we have chosen and which is practice ...

• andy 8 years ago

Mr.Okine do you want Ghana to get worse please use your common sense.Are you blind to see how Ghana is going under this Mahama administration Please be Wise.

• Nana Agyin 8 years ago

But must be impeach when not doing well

• Pontanu 8 years ago

Those who drafted the constitution fell short with this four year term of office. Ideally it should be 6- year term and one term only. We do not have to be overspending every four years because of elections which impacts nega ...

• Richmond Afrifa 8 years ago

If you are not able to make account on GH¢1.00 ,how can you make account on GH¢ 100,000.00.You are not able to do something meaningful within four years,then what can they do when they are given five years.There is nothing ...

• nii nii niiiii 8 years ago

Hell no.We are tolerating the 4 yrs.May be ok in other democratic countries not in Ghana.

• DeTomaSo 8 years ago

No.!
    Not a good idea . They just don't work hard - period . Why extend suffering for longer if the government is lazy.
    Besides the attitude should be work hard to deliver and then pass the baton to the next person. Any am ...

• Kofi Virginia 8 years ago

These people who continue to call for five year term for presidency must think again. If the idea is for one term of office without chnace for re-election, the fine. two terms for five years each? Then NOOOOOO! Politicians an ...

• M. Kofi Gane 8 years ago

Look at what this guy is also saying? Somebody who is supposed to do his research well and come with good measures. 5 years of government is a waste of time. Ghana should be outsourced.

Wasting our time on presidents. We ...

• Ohene 8 years ago

Prof get to understand that it is not the number of years but what you do in those few years that count. African leaders only want to loot their countries. Open your eyes and look at most African countries where you find pres ...

• abu stephen 8 years ago

i think if de government was any smart institution, 4yrs is enough to initiate or implement any developmental strategy

• Ghanaba 8 years ago

good argument but the constitution must make room for impeachment. for non performaning president's.

• Kluste....... Denu VR 8 years ago

SOME OF THEM IN POWER EVEN 20YEARS THEY WOULD STILL NOT BE ABLE. BEING A LEADER IS A TALENT AND ABILlTY TO MOVE A COUNTRY.JERRYS 20YEARS COUNTRY PROGRESSED.KUFOURS 8 YEARS GHANA s PROGRESSED.INSTEAD OF US TO CONTINUE WITH THE ...

• Ugly akufo addo 8 years ago

His mother was a prostitute

• General Mosquito 8 years ago

This guy must be high on some grass

• Opoku 8 years ago

Useless rat

That is why there are two terms. If the president shows commitment to implement his own policies good for the country development the people will give another four years to continue. Eight years is enough for wha ...

• President neutral 8 years ago

Dat sounds grt but if four yrs as a president u dnt do anytyn for ur country wat wud five yrs do lol?agoro b3so aa 3Firi anopa

• TRUTH HURTS 8 years ago

SEE RAWLINGS FOR 22 YRS AND WHAT DID HE BRING, WORST EVER SUFFERING AND THAT IS WHAT MAHAMA IS CONTINUING. THE PEPENI USELESS CLUELESS INCOMPETENT DEAD GOAT

• TRUTH HURTS 8 years ago

MAHAMA REALLY NEED HELP FROM DOCTOR. MAHAMA HAVE NO IDEA HOW TO RULE A COUNTRY, PEPENI NTANI

• Emmanuel 8 years ago

Five years under a President like Mahama?I can't imagine.

• seini 8 years ago

A very good suggestion from a man who stands to gain nothing from it. When His Excellency President Kufour made the same suggestion, many people misconstrued it to means that he wanted to extent his stay. Yet, he made the sug ...

• 7B 8 years ago

He want to be heard.... little years imagine the debt rate... he needs mental recycling.

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe ln Ghana! 8 years ago

Even with their 4 yrs look at the way they are behaving. l wish two years per term will be enough for them. After all none of them think about their own country.

• Adam 8 years ago

mass.good idea but not now. maybe after2016

• OKOROMANSA 8 years ago

THERE IS NO GUARANTEE THAT 5 YEARS WILL BE ENOUGH. EVEN 10 YEARS CANNOT GUARANTEE THAT A PRESIDENT CAN DELIVER. RATHER, THE CONSTITUTION SHOULD BE ENTRENCHED WITH DISCIPLINARY AND PROMPT ACCOUNTABILITY CLAUSES.UPON ALL THE RE ...

• SON OF MAN 8 years ago

SEE WHAT THE DEAD GOAT IS DOING.
    FOUR YEARS IS EVEN TOO MUCH FOR DEAD GOATS.

• K-Manu 8 years ago

Prof your argument may have sounded good if we are running a perfect society. In this part of the world where our politics is full of corruption, injustices, mismanagement of the economy and some other dangerous unprintable ...

• Leslie Barnor, USA 8 years ago

You must be crazy to add one more year to these thieves [ Politicians] in Ghana's years in office . Prof. Okine are you living in a wonder land? These politicians are stealing the wealth of the nation the very first week they ...

• Constable JOY 8 years ago

Lets have 5 or 6 parties.Each takes only 5year tenure of office-assembly,constituency,national.Identical ideologies should be allowed to form alliance.All aspiring for political/public office must declare assets before/after ...

• KWAME 8 years ago

There is no scietific basis for increasing the presidential tenure to 5 years. What makes the 4 years difficult for our leaders to operate?
    The US and Britain and other European countries are operating 4 years and they are n ...

• G.O 8 years ago

Prof. Don't forget the maximum is 8yrs which is enough to implement all plans.

• Plasma Kote 8 years ago

Not your field.