You are here: HomeNews2015 06 08Article 361432

471 Ghanaian migrants rescued from Mediterranean Sea

Read Comments Comments (81)

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 8 years ago

AUTHOR: KOFI --------
    THIS WICKED AND THIEVING NDC GOVT EVEN BUDGETED FOR JUDGEMENT DEBTS PAYMENTS WHEN THEY CAME TO POWER...GHANAIANS SAW THIER THIEVERY AND BAD IDEAS ABOUT GHANA SO THEY QUICKLY REMOVED IT FROM SUBSEQUENT B ...

• John 8 years ago

It's so scary what 471 Ghanaians packed into this small boat trying to rich Europe,what is the problem at all?Is it only due to economic problems?

• Joe Accra 8 years ago

If your foolish thieves and corrupt NDC people have used Ghana's money for creating jobs and built proper infrastructure,these people would not have risked their lives going somewhere to seek employment. Do you have a problem ...

• John 8 years ago

If I were the only voter on the electoral register NDC will never win any election in my lifetime.What wanted to say is why risk your dear life just to reach Europe?To those of us who know there it's not worth it.

• SIMION 8 years ago

WHY STAY IF THE COUNTRY LEADERS CONTINUE TO MISMANAGED RESOURCES AND THE ECONOMY

• GOD SAVE GHANA 8 years ago

We have Skilled and human resource of high quality across the international civil service,we lived in abundance yet poor.because of NDC hate,envy,propaganda lies and the likes of Ben Ephson,Kwesi Pratt for their Stomach lead, ...

• GHFUO 8 years ago

THEIR LEADERS MUST BE LOCKED UP. GH HASNT HAD ANY IOTA OF ANYTHING TO BE PROUD OF SINCE THESE ROGUES GAINED POWER. VERY BAD. ALL NDC MEMBERS SHOULD BOW THEIR HEADS IN SHAME. INWARD LOOKING ASSHOLES.

• ROMANO 8 years ago

U STUPID FOOL JUST SHUT UP AND GET UR LIFE TOGETHER IN THE BRONX... U ARE RATHER AN ASSHOLE.

• Tiemen 8 years ago

Europe is not the land of milk and honey, Ghanaians do the dirty, heavy and nasty jobs in europe. Europe is expensive, the taxes are killing you, every year thing get more worse higher prices, tax and unemployment. Even many ...

• JMK 8 years ago

Mahama and his people came and ate the jobs the NPP created for all youths in Ghana so let us blame them. Blame game syndrome!

• GHFUO 8 years ago

YET CHINESE N WHITES ARE COMING TO GH IN DROVES. WHY ARE YOU RUNNING AWAY FROM A NATION FULL OF GOLD, OIL, COCOA, DIAMONDS, SOCCER PLAYERS ETC? BCOS THE SPINELESS LEADERS DONT UNDERSTAND THE POWER OF THE COLLECTIVE, HOW TO US ...

• Ogyam 8 years ago

Now is the time to educate them that if you don't go the right way you will suffer. Indeed that is the truth

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

Nobody can hide the light and true destiny of the great nation of Akan. they use all kinds of schemes and tricks to undermine or deny a proper standard to us but we shall never surrender. we shall change and adapt as like the ...

• daladam 8 years ago

LIKE IT OR NOT WHILE LOT OF FALKS THING GHANA IS" DOING WELL" REALITY SHOWS THAT FAMILYS ARE SUFFRING ,CANT FEED THEMSELFS,CANT PAY THE SCHOOL FEES AND CANT AFFORD DECENT AFFORDABLE HOUSING,IN ADDISSION MAHAMA HUGH UN-E ...

• osei yaw 8 years ago

Odwan tell your family to walk to Libya and pay 2000 dollars and jump on boat to Italy, ask yourself how many Ghanaians have 6000 dollars in Italy, Ghanaians will even leave heaven and go to Europe for monkey jobs anyway,

• GHFUO 8 years ago

NOW, THEY ARE RUNNING AWAY FROM MAHAMA? MUAGAHAAAAAA TOGBE FIFITOR!

• PEACE 8 years ago

JOHN IS NOT ABOUT ECONOMICAL PROBLEMS AT ALL,IF YOU ARE A GHANAIAN U SHOULD HAVE KNOWN THIS,THOSE WHO LEFT GHANA ABOUT 30 TO 40 YEARS AGO TOO WAS IT ALSO ECONOMICAL PROBLEMS? GHANANIAS ARE LIKE FULANIS AND WITH GOOD EARNED SA ...

• GOD SAVE GHANA 8 years ago

THOSE WHO LEFT IN THE 30 TO 40 YEARS AGO DID NOT WALK TO THEIR DEATH,EVEN WHEN THERE WAS FEW AIRLINES IN GHANA.MOST OF GHANAIANS WERE WILLING TO COME BACK TO GHANA AND STAY AT K4'S REGIME.

• GHFUO 8 years ago

MAJORITY OF GH WHO LEFT GH AFTER INDEPENDENCE OR 30, 40YRS AGO LEFT FOR EDUCATIONAL PURPOSES. IT WAS DURNG RAWLINGS ERA THAT GH STARTED LEAVING FOR ECONOMIC, REFUGE, INSTABILITY ETC....IT HAS CONTINUED TILL NOW. WHY? NO JOBS, ...

• SANTACLAUSIAN, Croydon 8 years ago

I agree with you, every Ghanaian has the burning ambition to travel abroad. No doubt one gets a lot of exposure and knowledge upgrade when you travel to the western world. Nothing wrong with that per se. The problem though is ...

• ben 8 years ago

this is not true.

• mensah abrampa 8 years ago

There has got to be compelling reasons for people to flee their homes, leaving family and friends to become sojourners and squatters in strange lands that may not be too friendly. What else could the reason be if it's not ex ...

• Essel 8 years ago

A man with an air conditioned kitchen told Ghanaians if the kitchen is HOT GET OUT.

• SAUDIQ 8 years ago

Isn't Ghana equally a poor country as others around it or Ghanaians have soon fogotten the more 300 football fun that sought refugee status in Brazil, very unprecidented in the history of a world cup ever do people refuse to ...

• Bobby,Denmark 8 years ago

John Dramani Mr. Promise and Fail.Is this your better Ghana??

• John 8 years ago

True John Dramani Mahama,Rawlings,Kufour have to carry the greater part of the problem,but don't you think it could also be our own thinking which is deceiving us?Is Europe(Denmark) a Paradise?

• freeman 8 years ago

John,I like your comments, you see it is pure stupidity, the white people came we drove them out now we are chasing them to live with them.

• Mawunyegah 8 years ago

We (Ghanaians) have allowed ourselves to be fooled by the ndc government that we are better than some others. Really? Are we better than anyone else in Africa? May be Chad and Togo...

• GHFUO 8 years ago

ALL THESE SPINELESS LEADERS MUST BE ELIMINATED LIKE ROACHES. TAKE YOUR STOLEN MONEY TO THE AFTERLIFE..POW!

• AUSSIE 8 years ago

Ministers of state comes out to tell us if you cannt hold the heat get out so they are all getting out, better ghana agenda

• SIMION 8 years ago

GOOD FOR THEM AND EVERYONE WHO MADE MY TAUGHTS AND PRAYERS TO THOSE WHO COULDN'T MAKE IT

• RICHARD BOAT ANTWI 8 years ago

It is betterf to be traped on the sea than to stay in this mess called BETTER GHAUNA. shame orn mahama and his ndc group group of robbersn

• mensa 8 years ago

that is something else ooo

• LAST DON 8 years ago

Knows the root. Fight the blood suckers who are disturbing Africa's growth.

• Tinga 8 years ago

Ghanaians are dying in circle, in the Mediterranean sea and pepeni is sleeping on the job. Can a big hip woman go and wake him up?

• Elizabeth Mekpor 8 years ago

Send your mother to the rescue since she has a big hip. Foolish IDIOT Bastard.

• Avudzaglah 8 years ago

Elizabeth, by now you should know that your president is clueless and brainless and has nothing to offer Ghana. From his history, we all know he cannot do without big hips. Just look for one for him and you will see him jump ...

• saas 8 years ago

So are you happy about what mahama is doing to Ghanaians? May be your one of the criminals.

• saas 8 years ago

Lizzy so are you about what your president is doing to Ghanaians? May be your one of his accomplices, think like mother who loves her children and stop supporting this criminal call president mahama.

• Efa Poku 8 years ago

Tinga, insult our president is not good let us try to stop it

• Akans Prophecies 8 years ago

Who cares for a fake president? A self made president who profited from the lost protection of his president to assassinate him? To bribe himself to the presidency , with your money. A stupid man who call himself a dead goat. ...

• meyaa 8 years ago

Do some farming and stop risking your life's.

• SIMION 8 years ago

WHO DO FARMING AND WHERE IS THE CAPITAL IN THIS CORRUPT NDC SYSTEM WHO CARRIED A WHOLE LOAD OF MONEY TO BRAZIL TO BLOW. YOU GO HOME TO DO FARMING IDIOT

• Mansah, Berne-Switzerland 8 years ago

This was not happening even under Atta Mills! What is really happening in Ghana. Is Mahama that clueless?

Say something sensible.What prompted you to leave Ghana then?

• ohemaa esther 8 years ago

aahh i hope they are safe

• williams Ju 8 years ago

Send them back home if you can. They did vote and pick Mahama so why are they running away from Ghana?

• SIMION 8 years ago

WHERE IS RAWLINGS, KUFFOUR, MAHAMA WHY LEADERS IN GHANA CONTINUE TO FAIL GHANA. THE YOUTH SURVIVAL WITH IDLE HANDS IS TO LEAVE INSTEAD OF FACING CORRUPT USELESS GREEDY LEADERS IN GHANA. SOONER THIS GOVERNMENT LEAVES THE BETTE ...

• Man of Character 8 years ago

Ghana is not poor but government officials are making the country poor by looting the coffers. They buildings petrol stations even in the cemetery. They are denying the rights of the citizens.

• Papa Yaw 8 years ago

So

• MTN 8 years ago

they are all criminals, they will destroy Italy and run away. you will do the kind of work you guys don't want to in Ghana in Italy.

• care 8 years ago

Ghanaians are anibri people, a friend has go so he too will go, and even if those who are suffering there told people back home all they said we will go and see for our self every body have his lucky.i saw some one who sister ...

• saas 8 years ago

Care thanks for insulting Ghanaians, please wait 2016 around the corner.

• JMK 8 years ago

I cant understand this nonsense! People are making it in Ghana! They can farm and feed themselves and their families. If they can raise between 2500€-4000+€, i.e., over 6000$ then I will be insane to pitty them when they ...

• YIKRA 8 years ago

They want people to praise them and call them Borger.They want to eat good food and ride on trains. Working as a cleaner is more rewarding than working as a banker in Ghana. Greed and selfishness is what is driving these risk ...

• bogga ali 8 years ago

it is sad you cou;ld end up living in petty that even food and not to talk about getting money to get on trains can be an issue. Is it worth it...to arrive and start leaving from hand to mouth worse off that you came or coul ...

• ghanian 8 years ago

How much do your so called bankers receive as a salary in ghana per month onless they steal from the country or the institution they are working for,as compare to that cleaner that you are insulting who clean send money to su ...

• bob 8 years ago

This is the failure of corrupt leaders in AFRICA.What a shame to see Africans running away because of brain death leaders who their only interest is to steal everything they,i mean the "politicians" from the president and al ...

• c.stephen sackey. 8 years ago

Some years ago-make it 300 plus - Africans were either sold off by their own kindreds, or ensnared in slave nets and captured like animals.
    They were then chained, packed and placed in ship holds to be sold as slaves in the ...

• Truth 8 years ago

Can't we post any meaningful community without insults and politics? I can say that any person who can read and make comments here already knows who to vote for. Unfortunately majority of Ghanaians will not read these commen ...

• Truth 8 years ago

First line should read "...any meaningful comments. ."

• Efa Poku 8 years ago

Truth, good l dont know why some of the people always want to insult intead of solution & advice on this media. lnfact it does not speak good of you pls pls stop the insult be'cos our children lean from this

• CEAZER, HO 8 years ago

If there shd. jobs available in this country, people will not be suffering like this.but friends, dont u think its too risky cos life is only one and its like how you make . Your life is so precious to me, my guy.

• Farmer 8 years ago

Exploiting poor people by talking them into risking their lives in boats is a new criminal trade in this country. They take 5-10 times the money it would cost to buy a cheap plane ticket to Europe.

• thelma 8 years ago

Is Ghana so hard and bad that people are living to Europe then is very bad the government must do something about things... feeling so bad for my country and people living there indeed no wonder the ministers are corrupt and ...

• Dr Kwesi Sakyi 8 years ago

By Dr Kwesi Atta Sakyi

16th May, 2015

The recent upsurge in out-migration of Africans from Sub-Saharan African countries to Mediterranean-bound countries has hit international headlines and grabbed the limelight. It mus ...

• saas 8 years ago

I wonder why some of the youth of this rich country always support the corrupt leaders of this land, please do you really think about your future and the future of this country, let kick against the corrupt leaders of this c ...

• Efa Poku 8 years ago

Saas, we will wake up z good figt good idear l suport u

• Kenkey Warriors!! 8 years ago

That's about $1M in lost remittances if they are sent back home.

• Nii 8 years ago

Deceptive headline. please add "so far"
    else it looks as if they were all found in a boat on a particular day.

• Okyere 8 years ago

Why rescued them. They all live in rich (raw materials and agriculture) independent countries.
    Sent back.
    In Europe they will never integrated tu much full of their primitif culture.
    European are to soft.

• General Mosquito 8 years ago

Ghanaians are the most stupid people on the globe....I general mosquito said so....if u don't like u can go and die..kwasia fuo

• John Lewis 8 years ago

FACT. MORE GHANAIANS EMIGRATED UNDER MAHAMA'S GOVT THAN EVEN UNDER RAWLINGS.

• Asem U.S.A. 8 years ago

The report is totally fault, and we need to tighting the way to obtaine Ghanaian PASSPORT, because in Europe here there are a lot of people from Nigeria,Togo,Ivory Coast, Bokina Foso and many claime to come from Ghana,
    becau ...

• J.B. 8 years ago

Yes a retired army officer who was a minister of state told Ghanaians that if Ghana is hot they should go for pasports and leave the country. Is that all easy to grab a passport in Ghana ? And apart from that visa to travel?. ...

• joe nyamekye 8 years ago

Better Ghana agenda has compelled them to leave Ghana as Nuno Mensah said, they think Ghana is hot. A was surprise hearing from a minister of state making this senseless statement to Ghanaians. This is the result as it is no ...

• wasake 8 years ago

poor journalism is a Big problem in Ghana, 80% of them are not Ghanaian

• Akua 8 years ago

Africans are dying on the Mediterranean Sea to go and clean the streets and toilets of Europe because of unemployment and poverty when our own streets are littered with rubbish. Cleaning and maintenance creates a lot of jobs ...

• cee cee 8 years ago

where on earth are you leaving your land of gold and oil to?
    There is no country on earth so blessed like Ghana, yet citizens are not happy?
    What might be the problem.
    Political communicators could answer all questions but ...

• gonja damango 8 years ago

N d c yantey obiaa.mahama for life.

• gonja damango 8 years ago

Ndc yantey kowa if kowa go to italy den we sell ghana for china people.