You are here: HomeNews2015 06 06Article 361189

I have failed the people of Accra - Mayor

Read Comments Comments (275)

• Kay 8 years ago

Where's the Waste to Energy, Conti, failed to desilt Odaw, etc. pls Resign and save us from more calamity.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 8 years ago

You must be joking. Ghanaian politicians don't resign until they are fired.

• GHANAian 8 years ago

You admit your failure. Okay, then resign.

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

They say we are being spiteful and have no patience or understanding for this useless pepeni / ayigbe devil God forsaken govt. See the misfortunes and disasters we face due to this tribal pepeni hopeless govt . Pestilence aft ...

• facts 8 years ago

Vandapuije have done well to accept that he has failed his people even though he has been given an award as the best mayor by outsiders. No wonder their errors were made manifest as the time of meeting in Accra coincided with ...

• RICKY 8 years ago

People in that country, Ghana OPEN YOUR EYES! This fool called Vanderpuje accepting his failures does not bring the dead back. He is an incompetent Ga bully does not deserve to be houseboy. Resigning is not enough he should b ...

• OKWATROKWA 8 years ago

NDC AND JOHN'S PRIORITY IS ON JUDGEMENT DEBTS NOT ON GHANA'S DEVELOPMENT. WOYOME AND OTHERS WALK FREE WHILE WE SEEK MORE LOANS FOR DEVELOPMENT.

• Ghanaman 8 years ago

Best Quality Fake passports and others fake document for sale

Get Authentic or Fake Documents like Drivers License, IDs, Passports, Visas, GreenCards, Certificates, CREDIT CARDS, Counterfeit Bank Notes, S.S.D Chemicals fo ...

• Kofi, Ketu 8 years ago

Please swallow your pride and resign. That will make sense to me and most Ghananians sir.

• Sigma 8 years ago

Where is the $500 loan? Why is the Min of Finance not bringing the money if it is there. Okoe knows very well NDC used the money in making their election campaign. AMA is very corrupt. Okoe and his men take bribes. The mayor ...

• Close Observer 8 years ago

HE IS NOT THE ONLY ONE WHO HAS FAILED, THE ENTIRE USELESS NDC GOVERNMENT HAS FAILED. KWABENA ADJEI HAS ADMITTED THIS ALREADY. NOW, OKO RETURN THE DUBIOUS AWARD.

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

STOP BEHAVING LIKE A BIGOT.PEPENI IS A HUMAN BEING AS YOU AND YOU ARE NOT BETTER THAN A PEPENI.WHAT WILL YOU FEEL IF A WHITE MAN CALLS YOU A BLACK MONKEY.
    FLOODS HAVE TAKEN LIVES IN AMERICA TOO.

• Nii Kpakpa Quartey 8 years ago

Where is the direct quote from him that he has " failed the people of Accra "?
    The headline is very misleading.

• THEREALTRUTH 8 years ago

Sure floods take lives in America too. But that is for the same reasons..people placed in positions that are selfish and only want the title to glorify themselves. They are there to lie and grab money until their time runs ou ...

• daladam, 8 years ago

THIS LOSER SHOULD GO HOME HE DOES NOT HAVE WHAT HE TAKES TO BE A MAYOR OF ANYTHING

• MENSA, 8 years ago

YOU DID NOTHING IN ACCRA OR FOR ACCRA
    SINCE YOU WERE APPOINTED MAYOR OF THIS CITY , ALL YOU DID WAS SITTING OF YOUR ASS AND EATING FOFO ALL DAY GET LOST MAN STEP DOWN NOW

• ken, 8 years ago

you cant perform so go home

• Tsoo. 8 years ago

Thank God he had admitted his failure; which most dont do in Ghana; to resign pleade. Where is the regional minister...chasing chieftancy issues.
    Ghana for you. If you can talk then you can hold a political position

• GBEWAA 8 years ago

OKO VANDERPUIJE, APART FROM NKRUMAH, ALL OF GHANA'S LEADERS ARE BULLSHIT! THEY HAVE DISGRACED AND FAILED GHANAIANS BIG TIME, NOT ONLY YOU OKO VANDERPUIJE.

GHANA'S LEADERS ARE NOT LEADERS. THEY ARE ALL CONNECTION MEN ENJOYI ...

• Owusu Bempah S 8 years ago

But most of our leaders, ministers. mps. MMDCEs, and all other offices are not working. They are just occupying the positions. Sitting on the work, don't allow those who can do the work to do it.

• BlindMan 8 years ago

Higher percentage of the 'anti-Okoe' leadership are TRIBALISTIC influences, and they will continue to demand for his blood, irrespective of the performances; it would fail and Okoe Vanderpuye shall remain the Mayor of the Cit ...

• jerry , 8 years ago

THE MAYOR SUCK AND HE ADMIT IT, SO WHY MAKE A FOOL OUT OF YOUSELF BROTHER ,SHOT UP AND LET THIS MAN THAT FAIL TO GO HOME ACCRA CANT AFFORD ON THE JOB TRAINING HERE IN ACCRA

• Edem 8 years ago

the problem in accra and other parts of the country is mainly due to shallow uncovered drains. what we need is deep, covered centralized underground canals. you can break all the houses in accra and it will still flood. i hop ...

• Kobooh 8 years ago

Upon what basis did this idiot get the award as 'best mayor' indeed? The is a shameful reflection of African politicians.

• Citizen 8 years ago

Why do you want him to resign? This problem hasn`t it been there for years? Now that it has taken lives you want him to step down. During Kuffour`s time, it was there so if Kuffour had done something about it after knowing th ...

• mugu1 8 years ago

tell them

• Emmak 8 years ago

This is not politics. The man has admitted his failure and if he is sincere about that statement, why continue in office. In civilized societies, people who admit their failure in office immediately resign after realizing the ...

• Citizen 8 years ago

He`s just verbally saying it but I want to tell you it`s not from his heat.

• Omanba Pa, Islington-London! 8 years ago

Many Ghanaians behave like animals because politicians have destroyed them and they don't know whether they are human beings or animals

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

That is your problem, everything Kuffour. Your moron JJ spend 20 years killing people.

• Citizen 8 years ago

Just come clean to say what Kuffour did? His bankcrupt son in the US is now rich in the country. How did he become rich just like Rawlings who was kiving on borrowing?

• Citizen 8 years ago

I`m sorry to say this so I`d ask God to forgive me for saying Rawlings is the most human being I hate.

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

You have the right to say that.

• Humanity 8 years ago

The fact you don't get why he should resign, tells everyone you are the leading "Blackman fool"...so your argument is, kuffour et al failed so today the person in charge who has failed and under whom floods kill est. 200 peop ...

• NTRA SAKYI 8 years ago

Why do start from Kuffuor and not Kwame Nkrumah or Rawlings? The country is as it is because of fools like you. You think everything should be politics.

• Citizen 8 years ago

The same Busia gurus sold Nkrumah to the Americans.

• MANKENLENKE 8 years ago

SHUT YOUR MOUTH UP.ANYTHING YOU STUPID PEOPLE WOULE BE MAKING COMPARISON.WHAT DO YOU NEED FROM KUFFOUR?.WAS NOT KUFFOUR WHO CLEARED THE ALAJO GUTTER TO ODAW RIVER?.WHAT HAS YOUR NDC AND IT'S STUPID GOVERNANCE EVER DONE TO RES ...

• Citizen 8 years ago

He could have done better than what he did.

KEEP MUTE FOOL!.WHY DIDN'T THIS USELESS NDC ADMINISTRATION CONTINUE FROM HIS GOOD?.STUPID COMMENTS"HE COULD HAVE DONE BETTER THAN WHAT HE DID".NONSENSE HE COULD HAVE FUCKED YOUR MOTHER TOO.SINGLE CELL AMOEBA LIKE YOU.

• RAWLINGS IS A BASTARD 8 years ago

NDC-SUPPORTING MORON. WHEN ARE CUNTS LIKE YOU GOING TO ADMIT THAT YOUR USELESS PARTY HAS DESTROYED GHANA?

• OWEN-NEW YORK 8 years ago

THE MERE FACT THAT THE PROBLEM HAS BEEN THERE SINCE INDEPENDENCE DOES NOT MEAN SOME CAN NOT DO THE JOB. MOST GHANAIANS DON'T HAVE POSSITIVE MIND AND LACK THE WILL POWER/CAN DO POWER.IMMEDIATELY THE GUY ADMIT HIS FAILURE ,HE N ...

• Citizen 8 years ago

Thank you.

• Ampong 8 years ago

And that is why Kuffour nor the NPP is in power. He has murdered 156 people and should resign. In any civilized world he would be hauled to jail for such failure

• Citizen 8 years ago

They need to settle their internal problems before thinking about coming to power.

• Emmanuel 8 years ago

FOOL the man said he has failed period.

• Citizen 8 years ago

So what`s your point? He said that to fool you if you can`t think.

• Kofi Ghana 8 years ago

He may even be better than his successor. Whosoever has been accredited by Ghanaians for his good works? None! Our saviour is not yet born. If Vanderpuye has been crowned the best mayor in Africa, and taking in consideration ...

• Kofi Ghana 8 years ago

He may even be better than his successor. Whosoever has been accredited by Ghanaians for his good works? None! Our saviour is not yet born. If Vanderpuye has been crowned the best mayor in Africa, and taking into consideratio ...

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 8 years ago

The gvt is spending all the loans left and right. Because of votes for power, they shift priorities anyhow without thinking about the consequences. First things first. People must live in safety before you think of developmen ...

• SCHEMER 8 years ago

Why didn't you mention Attach Mills but Kufuor? You assume that any person who criticizes the ineptitude of AMA or government is from the opposition right? Twenty years of Rawlings's rule and he did nothing. Now he needs a bu ...

• sallie 8 years ago

Well said. The people who puts themselves forward to be elected to office in Ghana and most African countries, do that only for their personal gains and the society has accepted it . It's time societal attitude change and l ...

• Constructivist 8 years ago

What citizen is this? Very idiot by doing comparisons into the past, do know why Ghanaians voted Kufuor and his mayors out? They were not living up to expectation. Oko inherited Blankson and claimed to be the best mayor on ou ...

• Odwanfunu Mahama 8 years ago

???????

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 8 years ago

Yes,"citizen" these problems have not been solved been since JJ Rawlings time but Mr Vanderpuije promised that he would be able to solve them that was why the President appointed him as the Mayor. But to the dismay of all eve ...

• bro kwasi 8 years ago

Very good contribution.

• Yaw USA 8 years ago

Kufour did not secure a loan for that. Stupid moron, this idiots in power got a loan 3 years ago to fix it. What happened. Where is the money?

• Dadzie 8 years ago

Yet Ghanaian leaders always say NO MONEY no no money

• Nii Nmai,Dallas,TX,U.S.A. 8 years ago

Citizen, why do people of your calibre always try to equate the failure of this government or any criticism has to touch on former President Kufuor. This N.D.C and the P.N.D.C. has ruled Ghana for almost thirty years and as i ...

• Che 8 years ago

This is the first time EVER I have heard a Ghanaian leader accept his culpability and a bad situation. No matter what happens, this is good new.

THERE IS A SAYING THAT THE DEVIL WE KNOW IS BETTER THAN THE ANGEL WE DON'T KNOW.IF HE RESIGNS,WHO WILL REPLACE HIM?MAYBE THE PERSON COMING WILL BE WORST SO LET'S KEEP HIM.

• Concerned 8 years ago

If we entertain mediocrity because we don't know who or what the replacement is going to be like we will never sack anyone or progress. What's is wrong with sacking the replacement too if he's worse

• Ali mahama 8 years ago

Ono., if u say u failed.what are u sitting at your Office for? If we say we Democratic this is the time all Opposition Partiies NPP ,PNC,CPP PP Odike and the rest should speak more with one Voice to get some Heads to ROLL Bu ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 8 years ago

Only idiots would be calling for Dr Okoe Vanderpuje to resign. Only morons like Kay can't reason that but for the bearded mayor the disaster would have been a million times worse.

Let's eskew politics and rally solidly be ...

• RICKY 8 years ago

How and who made you a sergeant? A sergeant of what? You need to grow up, if you see yourself as grown up, then open your eyes because you cant even see for looking. This idiot called Oko Vanderpuje is the most useless perso ...

• sam 8 years ago

First of you can't appoint him as You are not in the position to-who do you think you are? Oko van OK no doubt but the situation in Accra cannot be solved without adequate funds and attitudinal change from residents. If it is ...

• Kofi Ameyaw,London. 8 years ago

It's not nice to call someone's father an idiot,will you be happy if someone use that word to your father? The answer is no.

• Adofo 8 years ago

Sgt. Right am sorry for you . Is That who you rule your family ? Do you even have am sorry for them . You make me laugh.are we looking for better life? Aaaaaaa are you not ashamed boss. May The Good Lord for give you.

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe ln Ghana! 8 years ago

Nipa aboa, you should have died as well because you are waste and l don't think that you ate a real Ghanaian period! Wagyimi pii!

I wonder why the floods and fire made the biggest mistake of not taking away this undesirable, Oba. Or may be he is writing from the drains since there is no use taking such a nuisance to the mortuary but should be left to ro ...

• Omanba Pa, Islington-London! 8 years ago

I can see that you are not a human being rather human beast. So, there is no need for me to speak to an animal like you. Okay?

• kwadwo 8 years ago

So where from the word IDIOT? Cant you jave an opinion without an insult?

• Kwadwo Kyei 8 years ago

The sergeant was the first to use the word "idiot." Please go back and read his post again before you take anybody else to task.

The sergeant was the first to use the word "idiot". Please go back and read the post again before you take anybody else to task.

• Adjua 8 years ago

You are more of a moron. Accra is a city choked with rubbish! If Okoe had cleaned the city, the problem would not have been as bad as it was. The main cause for the level of devastation we saw were the rubbish-filled drains. ...

We have never had a mayor more ready and capable of demolishing illegal structures like Okoe, I can assure you.

We all saw the vicious campaign against Oko for his efforts at ridding the city of illegal structures and haw ...

WHEN WILL THIS USELESS GUY CALLING HIMSELF FIADZOEJE MAKES SENSIBLE COMMENTS.APART FROM GHANA,WHERE DO YOU KNOW?.LET PEOPLE WHO HAVE TRAVELLED BEFORE AND WITH WISDOM HAVE THEIR SAY AND STOP THE TRASH YOU ARE SPEWING ALL OVER. ...

• Rashid kaaklo 8 years ago

in ghana politics ciome first becuase love of nation. they are seldish politics who are in it not for service but to personal gain. they would support a rival even if the rival is help them.. stupid hyena politicians we have ...

• Caliphate 8 years ago

The first sensible comment I've read all day. I salute u SGT!!!!

• Humanity 8 years ago

I sincerely believe you are the MORON...at best a 'Stomach politician'
    The man has admitted his failure...200epople dead, but typical you couldn't care less about the dead people, property lost, as long as you engaging in th ...

• E.K. 8 years ago

If want you say is true, then you make the case for mayors/DCEs to be elected

• Emmanuel 8 years ago

The man admitted failure and you typing thrash.Some of ndc fool soldiers need rake to remove rubbish in yours heads first before tackling that in the odaw river.SHIT HEADED "SGT"

Only an idiot would defend a man who has admitted failure himself.

• THINGS FALL APART 8 years ago

Well done Mr. Mayor for being frank with the people yup serve. You are the first senior official of this present uselss government to be so bold to say you've failed the people.
    Can you set up another bolder move by resignin ...

• Landiz 8 years ago

Mahama has collected a loan of $600m in 2012 for the construction of the said drain. Oko admitted to failure is just a cover up of Mahama diversity of the funds meant for the construction of the same drain which has claimed ...

• Desperate for truth 8 years ago

Oko you have not failed the people rather the idiots who throw garbage to choke the gutters and blame the government are the ones who have caused the problem. The death of these people should be on their collective heads. Don ...

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 8 years ago

Have you ever resign in your failures? We have all failed one way or other but it should be in lesson. Ghanaians like resign, resign. Should Obama resign because of flooding in Texas, Colorado.

• THINGS FALL APART 8 years ago

You're mire than terrible. Obama is a President and Oko is a Mayor Sir.
    Secondly, Oko said I have failed my people openly. To me, saying that is more difficult than to resign.
    Don't you think what he said is an indictment ...

And so? Isn't Obama or his mayors supposed to be responsible? Rather tell the Lands Dept guys who are taking Ghc5,000 plus bribes from owners of buildings in waterways to resign. By the way, Ooo has not received funds to exec ...

• Concerned 8 years ago

It was just mentioned on joy fm's newsfile that Terpker says even though parliament approved the loan it was not actually issued. If that is true how can the mayor blame the release of the funds as part of the cause. If someo ...

• james asamiah 8 years ago

U means the us gave the funds but the finance minister diverted it.

• Kofi, USA. 8 years ago

Let these cocaine drug, and ACID BOMB KILLERS shut up immediately. This is a truly democratic major, who is boldly doing marvelous job for the nation. Even if he admitted failure in certain areas, that doesn't mean he is not ...

• Commonman 8 years ago

Mr mayor u don't deserve those bought titles, you are a disgrace to Ghana , shame

• Uncle Pee 8 years ago

Name me one person who has ever resigned in Ghana. That would be a miracle!

Kuffour is on awards collection spree. What did he do to help the people of Ghana. Has he bothered to visit the disaster scene or even the hospitals. Togo's president travelled to Ghana to extend sympathies. Kuffour is very u ...

• Uncle Pee 8 years ago

If Mahama had even a quarter of Kufour's brain, the country wouldn't be in such a mess. Where are all the social nets President Kufuor created? Mahama has destroyed all of them. You're just jealous of Kufuor, period!

• my name not necessary 8 years ago

Look @ how u in power r playing with our lives,Do we need to die this way bfr u act,?? our leaders.hmm!!!!
    U know it happen every year so u had 500 million to construct better gutters and now the donations that has been put ...

• kwasea jdm said on tie obiaa 8 years ago

BETTER FOR HIM TO GOO,GHANIANS DON NEED HIS NONSES WORK,FOOLISH MAN LIKE MAHAMA

• ABU DANQUAH KIBI ADADIENTAM 8 years ago

FOOLISH MAYOR ,IDIOT FROM BRAZIL '.DEMN SLAVE .ALL THE OSUS ARE EITHER FROM NIGERIA OR BRAZIL ,.THE VANDAPORS,.HISTORY.

• paa 8 years ago

If he does not resign i will soon kill him too with acid just wait and see.your days are numbered.you people cant take us for granted enough is enough.America granted money for work to be done and you people squash it.

• Tsoo. 8 years ago

Check your history. By the way what has this got to do with people from Osu and slavery.
    When important issues are being discussed you deviant and the end results is what happened to poor souls.
    "Educated" Ghanaians grow up ...

Nonsense talk. Go to Odawna and you will see your likes shitting and throwing refuse into the Odaw.

• Susan. 8 years ago

I hope someone will come out to defend the whereabouts of the grant of $500 million for the Odaw drainage.
    Tekpor, we are waiting for you.

• joe 8 years ago

look around his mansion in mccarhty hills, helipad and well paved roads everywhere

• AKORABS 8 years ago

Susan, do not be fooled by this fellow trying to shift blame. When the loan is project specific and funds are not forthcoming, he would and should have questioned this long ago. He would have done this publicly and in his off ...

HE GOT HIS SHARE OF THE $500 MILLION BOOTY.

• nana 8 years ago

I don't why politicians always use Ghanaians for experiment.U now accept that you have failed the city,God will punish you all

• Nii Kpakpa Quartey 8 years ago

Where is the direct quote from him that he has " failed the people of Accra "?
    The headline is very misleading.

• GHANAIAN 8 years ago

GOVERNMENTS HAVE COME AND GONE, MAYORS HAVE COME AND GONE AND NOTHING HAS CAHNGED. MAYBE MORE UNNECESSARY DEATHS MAY BRING SOME CHANGE. ACCRA IS A BIG MESS OF UNCONTROLLED GROWTH, AND LAWLESSNESS. THINGS WILL GET WORSE UNLESS ...

• sam 8 years ago

Even if u bring the best mayor in the world nothing will change if the fundermentals are not right I.e money,right attitude of the people etc

• kotoo 8 years ago

I thought you were going to announce your resignation.

• Sammy 8 years ago

Maybe we should pray that a ministers child dies in these mindless death mor maybe one of the numourus children of presidents. Then this award winning mayor would be seen for what he really is.

• Yahaya Abugri 8 years ago

Mr Major,you see you need to apply wisdom and knowledge to your duties. You don't wait for this to happy and render an apology. How will the apology brings back hundreds of lives and billions dollars of properties lost? Act w ...

We must blame ourselves. Did the mayor throw refuse into the drains? You have at one time or the other thrown refuse into drains or street. We must be ashamed of ourselves. Blame yourselves.

• Ghanad 8 years ago

As all the other politicians in the country: no spine, no honor, no conscience.

• Med 8 years ago

Just resign. Only in Africa will he still stay in power. I bore waa. Because this flooding is man made and the loss of life is sickening. Next year, we will talking about this again.

• De 8 years ago

We live a nation where politicians take to telling half-truths and lies because they always have bootlicking followers or support base that will always root for them. Lies, lies and lies all the time. Always being apologetic ...

• Kofi Mossey 8 years ago

Admission of failure? then resign. You can not at this point use the low capacity for utilization of donor funds as an excuse. It is surprising the funds for dredging the Odaw are still not released by the Ministry of Finance ...

• asuo frankfurt 8 years ago

Do resign

• Francis C. Quainoo 8 years ago

You recently stated that you expected to be made the BEST MAYOR OF AFRICA. What a Piss Talk!!!

The Stench in our Accra Capital, culminated in very many hazardously elements and unbecoming comfort of living is enough to see ...

• Kojo, Canada 8 years ago

Every bad thing happens in Accra

• Abochie 8 years ago

He should do the honourable thing by resigning. I dont know why he is still at post: money or the fame? This is why Africa is not moving forward... People value their position too much than the services they have to render.

• paa 8 years ago

Mr mayor just resign else i will kill you with acid.

• Issaka 8 years ago

Bitch!!!! If you have admitted your failure, THE HONORABLE THING IS FOR YOU TO RESIGN ASAP!
    You are now shifting the blame on to the Ministry of Finance. Goat, what prevented you from reporting this issue to your appointing ...

• kk 8 years ago

Why should he resign. Didn't you hear Yaw Boateng Gyan accusing him for putting his bears before him and creating problem for the NDC when he tried to do some demolishing
    He did his best. Except he was stopped by the power t ...

• paa 8 years ago

After my osagyefo Kwame Nkrumah no good president has done any good thing for mother Ghana.i am tired of NPP/NDC crooks.if the mayor is not going to resign after killing all these beloved one then i will kill him with acid

• Alhaji A Brutus Germany 8 years ago

Oko it is you and your master JDM Who have failed Ghanians and i wonder why both of you are still in office,

• Y B 8 years ago

CLEANSHIELD, Amazing health product for everyone, All Natural Alkaline supplement from US specially and scientifically designed to clean inner Ocean clear stomach toxins, as well as unwonted substances in the body like virus ...

• Kotoua Selira 8 years ago

These are really good comments from the mayor of Accra. If these are the types of comments we hear from people like this mayor Ghana would have been a peaceful place to be and no one would have to go to the FM station to make ...

• Bush at North Ayawaso 8 years ago

Not for him to only say he should have tender his resignation too, just three days after winning an Award and look what 's happening. You must be courageous to resign, the so called best Major and whoever doesn't first give G ...

• ADANKO 8 years ago

NOW THAT YOU HAVE ACCEPTED YOUR FAILURE, RESIGN TO SEND A STRONG MESSAGE TO TEKPER, THE MINISTER OF FINANCE, THEN HE WILL HEED YOUR REPLACEMENT. THIS HAS BEEN A NATIONAL DISASTER THAT WILL HAUNT YOU FOR THE REST OF YOUR LIFE. ...

• Asem se be 8 years ago

You have been given an award for failure. Well done.

• Kwame Ansah 8 years ago

Then do the obvious...

• Oman Ba Pa 8 years ago

FOLLOW BLATTER OUT

• Oman Ba Pa 8 years ago

JUST RESIGN

• Onslopogas 8 years ago

Where is the money Ministry of Finance and why has it taken you so long to release??? You guys are f*****g Ghana up!! These are blunders and require all officials involved to resign asap!!

MAYOR OKO GOT HIS SHARE OF THE $500 MILLION BOOTY.

• me 8 years ago

Just rsign and get your f-cking asz out of office.

• kankam, 8 years ago

Very disappointed. Living in the states for almost all your life and you can't even managed Accra but you want the title mayor?hmmmmmm

• Yaa 8 years ago

When will these guys stop passing the buck? You were given a job to do. You failed to do it. Resign. Simple.

• ACHEAMPONG 8 years ago

SHAME ON YOU, RESIGN

• Adofo 8 years ago

There no need of long talk .the best thing to do is to resing . Or what are you waiting for.

• pk 8 years ago

Why can't the contractor(s) pre-finance it? They will definitely be paid.

• Eweman 8 years ago

So the Minority were right after all? Ghana got credit of a whooping 500 million dollars to construct drainage in Accra in 2012 and NDC and John Mahama has stolen the money

Yes ooooo foolish people

• National Agenda 8 years ago

NDC is a curse to Ghana...Why should NDC keep/divert money meant for such an important project. What wickedness is this??? This loan was contracted far back in 2012.

• Grand Mufti of Accra . 8 years ago

We told you before but Ghanaian will never listen !!!!!!!; this OKO Vanderpuje guy is a CROOK and a thief ; he was a close frined to Atta Mills and an incompetent full who stole money in the US before Atta Mills appointed him ...

• National Agenda 8 years ago

Why is he saying this at this time. He must resign if he admits of failure.

• Papa Yaw 8 years ago

No

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe ln Ghana! 8 years ago

YOU SEE I WANT NDC SUPPORTERS TO COME FORWARD TO APOLOGISE TO EVERY GHANAIAN INCLUDING JOHN DRAMANI MAHAMA HIMSELF. THIS ARROGANT MAJOR HAS NOT DONE ANYTHING GOOD SINCE HE WAS APPOINTED TILL DATE. I ALWAYS CHALLENGE OKO VANDE ...

• Bobby,Denmark 8 years ago

John Dramani,Mr.Promise and Fail will kill all of us pasaaaa!!!!!

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 8 years ago

Goat Mahama and Oko should get the fuck out there. They have totally failed the nation. The loan money for this project was not $500 Million Dollars but rather $795 Million Dollars with $595 Million set for the rehabilitatio ...

• MARFO 8 years ago

WE BLAME MAHAMA NOT YOU.

• JA 8 years ago

he must give up that award, remove all the huge billboards portraying his so called achievements and resign, the we shall know he's speaking the truth.

• Margaret 8 years ago

So where is the money. Ghanaian's should demand this.

• Hokor Emmanuel 8 years ago

we are all sick in dis country we failed to do wht is right and begin to shift blame.loan dat was granted to the country for such project was delayed by the finance minister.now the dat pple are dead I hope they will quickly ...

• Quality Toner 8 years ago

Quality toner and Ink refill at Amensco Techno Serv. at Abeka-New Fadama.
    We also repair HP and Canon Printers and Photocopy machines.
    Call: 0244523451

• AUSSIE 8 years ago

well done for aspecting that . the next step is to resign

• Sincerity 8 years ago

Do resign to show others the way to serve the people. Your admission is honorable and sincere. The best thing to do as someone who lived in the USA is to resign. Period. You do not have 'juice' to continue

• Odikr@. 8 years ago

When was this "interview"granted?
    It seems the fabricated article is exposing the lengths some will go to;in persuit of their dubious agenda.

• Zip-Up 8 years ago

Mr Mayor please Seek the the aide of the Government of Holland to supply us with drainage technology as immediate as possible because they have the technology and equipment, they will be more than willing to help us at this m ...

• ghana fo agymiii 8 years ago

Money money money u won best mayor no common sense kwasiato .

• Kanawu 8 years ago

Oko, don't take the blame alone. Its all politicians - their corruption, selfishness and greed that have caused the death - channelling money to foreign accounts, buying expensive houses and cars educating their children in u ...

• Dr. Faxe 8 years ago

Idiot!!!! Just step down n return wat ever award u were given u shameless fool. If not Africa who will gv an award to somebody for doing natin. NDC n dat mahama guy must simply go

• Jimmy 8 years ago

Live with your conscience, if you have one

• Chief amankwa 8 years ago

Ok

• moment 8 years ago

Tweeeeaaa......so all u guys no is money money!! If this monies were to b released sef u will not do the work

• AKORABS 8 years ago

You can not admit failure and still hang around as mayor. Ataa Oko, yaa (go)! Ghanaians have to do the right thing for once. If he does not, we vote the whole government and all MP's regardless of party out come Dec.2016. Use ...

• Robert 8 years ago

Then what are you waiting for Mayor of Mayors?

• mugu1 8 years ago

people apply anything from hollywood without observing geological,ecological and Metaphysical cultures that is in place for long and many year

within people.
    the Ga chief warned to respect the silence activities in the ...

• kaketonti 8 years ago

DISREGARD TRADITION,CULTURE,CUSTOM and MOTHER NATURE LAUGHS

• Amanie Emanuel 8 years ago

The real course of the problem is misappropriation of funds by Finance ministry again. Money meant for Cocoa roads diverted and money meant for dredging odo river also diverted into other uses. all causing death of Ghanaians. ...

Yep very well said

• kaketonti 8 years ago

MAYOR OF ACCRA DON'T RESIGN.KEEP ON DOING YOUR BEST.THOSE CALLING FOR YOUR RESIGNATION SHOULD NOT HESITATE TO TAKE A GOOD ACID BATH.

• Che 8 years ago

500million dollars to dredge Odor river? Why then do we need AMA? What is the purpose of Ama...only to go to markets for tax collections? You are not serious. This is just robbery. To just dredge...nothing else? This man MUST ...

• Tony.NY 8 years ago

The wise thing to do is to resign period.

• 7B 8 years ago

even foetus knows that the entire crew of dead goat ndc led mahama is a failure, hoax, villaians, corrupt, evils, vampires, theft... Nothing better from ndc sinking all jobs. Ndc well experts in failure. Foolz.

• Villakakalika 8 years ago

Please resign

• Maxwell 8 years ago

If you have admitted to your failure, whats keeping you i office then?

I accept your admittance of failure and demand that you resign period!!!!!!!!!!!

• boom 8 years ago

if dis guy resigns they will bring another fool

• AKORABS 8 years ago

Boom, you're right! That is why we should come together and vote the government and all MP's out (regardless of party affiliation) come Dec.2016.Hopefully, we will succeed in signing a new social contract with a new lot, not ...

• Ghanaba 8 years ago

He(Mayor) has to resign with his boss like FIFA president did, because they can not do it that is it.

• Ekow Samuel- Paris. 8 years ago

Then you have to resign,as you'er saying that you have failed the people of Accra ,the city capital of Ghana.

• TIL-SHILOH 8 years ago

Once you know you have failed., just do us favor by resigning wai

• Jay zee 8 years ago

Sack him .. If you have a job to do n you don't it you fire him .. Go go go Vanderpuye , sack him

• Eric Imbeah 8 years ago

Once failed, he must resign to allow for more competent persons to take up the role. Money is not the issue; there are other things he could have done.

Education, - Speaker phones , his voice does not cost us money,
    insp ...

• Mad John Mahama 8 years ago

Then get your ass out

• josh 8 years ago

Says to ur self I have resign

• Ishmael 8 years ago

Den u need to be sacked . failure. cos at the university wen a student fails he is sacked. Incompetent.

• Dessie 8 years ago

As at now, Ghana has no emergency shelter should in case disaster happens. No drainage system in our cities.. Politicians are always with full of non sense issues .. But the have bought houses in foreign nations. The new wha ...

• Paul oduro a k a Justice,Bosomtwi sta 8 years ago

That is all what u can say mayor.,you are very stupid, say u have resigne,stupidity in the highest level.

• Man of Character 8 years ago

My brother, I like the way you have admitted your failure. I think this is the first time I am hearing this sort of thing in Ghana. But you have to resign immediately to confirm your inability to deliver.

• Senior citizen Bs Germany. 8 years ago

IT was wrong for the mayor of Accra Metro, to claim that his Administration has failed the people of Accra,instead he must emphatically say that the ministry of Finance has contributed by and large to the failure of the peopl ...

• A concerned citizen.. 8 years ago

This is a natural disaster so do your job accordingly and don't mind your detractors.

• atta kofi . 8 years ago

So resign if you know that you have failed

• bilchini 8 years ago

Trust me if it were to be a Whitman as the Mayor, he would have resign honourably, but as for black man.....

Where is NANA "Y3N AKANFOU" BINADDO? Mr. Nduom, Mr. Rawlings and President Mahama has agreed to demolish the structures around the waterways , but the smart Nana Binaddo was missing, what is Nana the founder and a leader of A ...

• fr 8 years ago

And you're still sitting there?

• LEGE 8 years ago

RESIGN NOW

• sista clary 8 years ago

He must resign! Why the he'll in Ghana leaders do not take responsibility when they fail by quitting? Instead they stick to their stool. Black man black sense.

• N Yeboah 8 years ago

flooding occurs everywhere in this world even in the US so don't arrogantly think the entire destiny of Accra is in ur hands

• Nicholas Kyeretwie 8 years ago

Then why are you still in office?If this man will not resign with respect,someone somewhere should show him the way out.

• Kweaa DCE 8 years ago

when are you tendering in your resignation

• Sincerity 8 years ago

Wake up call to Ghanaian voter. Look at what your THUMB POWER can bring to fellow Ghanaians. Use your HEAD and THUMB in 2016 elections. It dose not follow that you choose the Prez and MP from the same party. Choose the right ...

• O-poku. 8 years ago

I think its not polite to insult anybody to make your point. Please let's learn to respect divergent views.

• VERDICT 8 years ago

There is no leadership in the Mahama NDC govt. The Mahama NDC govt has failed and it must go.
    The failed leadership and the failed governance of the Mahama NDC govt must go.
    The incompetence, the ineptitude, the thievery, ...

• tru 8 years ago

All the contracts has been given to zoomlion that is why the country is in a complete mess
    oko resign now and zoomlion must be prosecuted

• Aziz 8 years ago

kotoua selera. your comment is best.Ghanaians don't think before they comment.why he mast resign

• kwaku 8 years ago

typical of the african leader. they wait for the problem to strike before they start looking for solutions long after the havoc has been caused. they cant imagine future problems and find solutions before they rear their head ...

• JH. New York 8 years ago

Afterall the Minority hints about a $600 loan facility to dredge the Odow river is the truth.The clueless Mahama admin diverted the money.The public wants to know, which areas of the Economy was the money used ? Or,was it co ...

• Mamphey 8 years ago

If you have failed the people then resign for a competent person to step in. Yes you have failed the people. You are corrupt, show, show . You see how God has exposé you? Award my foot! Remove those bill boards from the city ...

• Ghanavi 8 years ago

Almost every time that you so called civilised and educated people are given the opportunity to have ur voices heard, u choose to insult instead.
    Freedom of speech is not freedom to insult. It's about time we start having c ...

• ebo 8 years ago

You failed the people but u are very very rich. Better Ghana realized. Thus the NDC story. Same for all ur compatriots. God bless u n ur friends with POWER

• YEBOPOWER 8 years ago

For once, this concert mayor is saying the truth, admitting his failure and asking for forgiveness. But this is not enough people. The whole NDC cartel is a failure. It is time for them to go. Okoe must first resign for his i ...

• Abena 8 years ago

He has accepted his mistakes what about we individuals today is sanitation day some are in their houses waiting after e clean up they will come nd sell it very bad

• Kwame Ogyaadu 8 years ago

Can you bring back the departed souls

• Nicholas Kyeretwie 8 years ago

No this man will not go.The food is on fire cooking so he is waiting to take his share.He will only leave after taking his part of the $500million.Ghana for you.In the Americas and the western world,he would have gone before ...

• REVBEE 8 years ago

It take a competent man to act upon this statement. Mr President what is your take. Hmmmm,when are we going to allow such people to fail us all the time.

• ndk 8 years ago

Open gutters are part of the problem. When are we going to stop building open gutters in residential areas Mayor?

• JATO KWASHIVI RAWLINGS 8 years ago

THE WHOLE NDC GOVERNMENT HAS FAILED GHANAIANS AND SHOULD BE RETIRED IN 2016. GHANA HAS SUFFERED ENOUGH FROM THIS THIEVING, STEALING, LYING GOVERNMENT OF JOHN MAHAMA. BITTER GHANA HAS ENGULFED GHANA.

• COOLMAN 8 years ago

you are too soft like a rubber,if you want to leave a legacy behind,then please to be a stone,or like JJ

• Ngi 8 years ago

Mr Mayor your admission of guilt is indictment on the President and the NDC government. Let me congratulate you for accepting your failure because it not common for government appointees to accept blame in Ghana. If Ghanaians ...

• Aziz 8 years ago

he said thy refused to give him the money. u won't him to use stones to pay the works

• Poshman 8 years ago

Now that you have admitted your failure and incompetency, then only one honourable thing is left for you to do, and that's is your resignation.

Floods have taken lives in America to.
    Lets stop blaming the Mayor and see what we can do.
    You cannot blame the Adulterous wife for fornication because you did not provide money for her.
    if you found out what she did and s ...

• Concerned 8 years ago

I thought you don't like sacking

• Aziz 8 years ago

u are right Prince that the comment I wont to here. a lot of Ghanaians think backward

• Justice 8 years ago

Just resign

• DANSO 8 years ago

The Odaw river has been dredged before that was during Dr. Nkrumah's time. He was going to build that area as the holiday resort and when he was overthrown it was abandoned. So this time around you going to spend 500 million ...

• wise 8 years ago

THEREFORE ON WHAT ASSESSMENT WERE YOU GIVEN THE AWRAD? IT IS CLEAR THAT YOU HAVE FAIL US THEREFORE RETURN THE AWRD AND TELL THEM THEY MISTAKINGLY GIVEN THE AWARD TO YOU, YOU DID NOT DERSERVE IT.PULLING DOWN BUILDINGS HERE AND ...

• Akufo-Addo Rebecca 8 years ago

Ghana needs such honest personalities in public offices. You earn my respect.

• MENSA, 8 years ago

THIS SO CALLED ACCRA MAYOR IS A LOSER AND A CROOK THAT HAVE DONE ABSULUTLY NOTHING FOR EITHER ACCRA OR THE PEOPLE OF ACCRA OTHER THEN HARRAS FALKS WITH HIS NONSESNE AND OTHER THEN HE SPENDING CITY RESOURCE[ MONEY] ON HIS WO ...

• JOHN MAHAMA IS A THIEF 8 years ago

Those 2 guys would know how to bring sanity to the country. They would start by sacking ALL public officials and appointing competent technocrats to run things.

• james in exile 8 years ago

Why this dead goat gay put in government. almost light skin people is this away to discrimination against akans or this is what kwame fight the independent for light skin people

• Markent 8 years ago

Stop this stupid politics the has said has failed therefore he has to resign

• Cosmos virginia 8 years ago

If you were to be CEO of any corporation, you can not say this and still be at post . This mistake is unpardonable. You must be fired with immediate effect.Please return the undesirable award.

• tweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa 8 years ago

THEN RESIGN NOW. YOU ARE OF NO USE

• YAO GBADEGBE 8 years ago

YOU WEAK AND CLUELESS"MAYOR". U HAVE NO SENSE OF SHAME> IF U HAVE ADMITTED FAILURE WHAT IS THE SENSIBLE THING TO DO. GET AWAY FROM YOUR SEAT AND LET SOMEONE ELSE COME AND FIX THE PROBLEMS U HAVE CREATED. TYPICALLY NDC TACTIC: ...

• one Ghana 8 years ago

Ignore all these backward baboons asking for your head on a platter and keep razing down all their illegal structures. These are the same ignorant fools whose illegal properties you tore down. More grease to your elbows and s ...

• Kofi Bismarck 8 years ago

So, now who is to be blamed. Mr Oko is the money or Mr Seth Tipak

• Nana Brenyah 8 years ago

Excuses! Excuses!! Excuses!!! Are the the signs of incompetences. Vanderpuje you have failed the people of Accra, then RESIGN NOW. No more Excuses. The time is right now to GO.

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 8 years ago

If the Mayor of Accra has admitted that he has failed the country in his administration of the Capital City of the country then the only alternative option for him is to RESIGN. It is not Accra that he has failed but the coun ...

• Mama Afua 8 years ago

It is a good sign to accept what has happened. So now do more to save people lives.

• Brofo 8 years ago

part of the $500 million went to wayome, the rest was shared between the other ndc members

• Kofi, USA. 8 years ago

Can anyone consider the flood, disaster in the United States, of America , Texas as a failure, the major too?, Hell, no because these are some of the natural disasters happen in most popular part of the world. Don't get me wr ...

• George 8 years ago

This is not a failure because it's just difficult to lead people who don't think or not disciplined. MCD., continue to do your bit.

• Kofi Bismarck 8 years ago

Mayor is now blamed game, who did what? Did you ask for the money

• Concerned Ghanaian 8 years ago

ASAP you resign before you start you have failed .Indeed you have failed big time lay your gloves down quietly and do the honourable thing ????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

• Zamzam 8 years ago

Look this man when they are talking about failure he is talking about money. Thief

• Duke 8 years ago

WHAT HAPPENED TO THE $785m DRAINAGE LOAN WHEN ATTA MILLS WAS IN OFFICE? HE WAS SICK AND MAHAMA WAS IN CHARGE.

naorancoIn the end it is all money for old rope The looting brigade of politicians family and friends continue

• Duke 8 years ago

HONOURABLE THING AND RESIGN WHEN THEY HAVE FAILED THE NATION MISERABLY. INSTEAD THEY GET PROMOTED BY THE PRESIDENT INTO THE PRESIDENCY. THE SPORTS MINISTER ANKRAH IS AN EXAMPLE.
    THE MORE THEY FAIL THE MORE THE PRESIDENT PROT ...

You hurriedly built an edifice worth millions of dollars in the name of ndc hq while the people suffer. Greedy ndc will collapse Ghana if nothing is done. I think the prez must resign now. prez must resign nowprez must resign ...

• Wise 8 years ago

A seasoned journalist must interview the Mayor Oko Vanderpuije and the finance ministry and the audio be played publicly for us to hear. Also, we need to see taller buildings around the circle area when the place is rebuild, ...

• Osei Yao 8 years ago

THEN PAY THE PRICE OF FAILURE -RESIGN. THAT IS HOW HONOURABLE MEN BEHAVE. THEY DO NOT ADMIT GUILT AND STILL INSIST ON STAYING ON!

• Paul 8 years ago

What a poetry reciting government, from the leader to the followers. All they know is to memorize and recite poems to us.

• Amenuve 8 years ago

Oko Vanderpuje, stop taking bribes and stop threatening innocent citizens of Ghana like the old lady who refused to have a petrol station built in her neighborhood. Just resign.

• Kwaku Num, MD-US 8 years ago

This award winning mayor must do himself honor and save his face and family by RESIGNING honorably. Period

• Kofitwum2010 8 years ago

He must resign.

• Player 8 years ago

Mayors should stand for elections and not be appointed. One 6 yr term should do it so the are not beholden to any political masters.

• KAB-UK 8 years ago

Oko Vanderpuije should have resigned straightaway when he realised that he has been a failure. I learnt he once lived in the States so he might as well do the honourable thing by resigning as people in this part of the world ...

• Ebenezer Nii Amu First-Quao 8 years ago

.....kpenn edzaake owie anokwale!

• Abudance. 8 years ago

Than resign

• kankani . 8 years ago

After prayers dig your Pockets for Donation . Set up donation hotlines to help the victims. Long live Ghana.

• Amidini 8 years ago

Dr Oko V do ur home work well. I hope u can do better than this

• yaw 8 years ago

You should resign now

• JOHN N 8 years ago

Don't waste time, resign. You go about bragging. 7 years nothing good.

• victor 8 years ago

IF YOU HAVE FAILED DO THE DECENT THING AND RESIGN
    YOU DIMWIT

• Mohammed Ibrahim 8 years ago

Ghana need a new capital City.
    The new Capital City must have better,and morden infrastructure,eg.better Sanitation,Health,Transport,Building,and better Planning,and Safety regulations to Protect lives,and Property of the Pe ...

• Mohammed Ibrahim 8 years ago

Ghana need a new capital City.
    The new Capital City must have better,and modern infrastructure,eg.better Sanitation,Health,Transport,Building,and better Planning,and Safety regulations to Protect lives,and Property of the Pe ...

• Carlos 8 years ago

Please resign !!!

• Tigerliccious 8 years ago

If you really believe what you are saying then resign honorably. After all you have got a mansion at McCarthy Hill since you came to office.

• inercycl 8 years ago

Once u have admitted your own incompetence, it's time to resign or be flushed out.What a shame from someone with such experience from Atlanta!

• Lopez 8 years ago

This Buffon should do the honourable thing and resign. Why is it so difficult for our leaders to resign their post when they fail, or do African leaders come from different planet, they are quick to compare themselves to the ...

• David Mensah 8 years ago

The only thing good president should do is to choose some one who know the job not by family or. Friends

• sikaba 8 years ago

He should resign, that is the best option for him.
    In Beijing 37 people died because of flood, the mayor and his deputy resign.
    And you are here claiming that you have failed.
    If you have failed what are you waiting for ...

• Oh Ghana 8 years ago

If U've failed, what again are u waiting for. Masa, just resign!!! Because, ur boss will later find a place for u at the flagstaff house. The blood of these innocent people will never forgive the irresponsible leaders.