You are here: HomeNews2015 06 05Article 361091

Circle fire: Loose valves led to fatal explosion - GNFS reveals

Read Comments Comments (37)

• Rob 8 years ago

Ghanaian loose habits responsible for the disaster.

• Gye Nyame 8 years ago

The relatives of the dead and injured should sue GOIL and not accept any meager compensation from GOIL and government. Were there suppose to be periodic inspections by say the fire Marshall also? If so then also sue governmen ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 8 years ago

The management of GOIL should be prosecuted for negligence and breach of health and safety. This should be in addition to civil claims by families and businesses that were affected by the fire.

• amezz 8 years ago

Bad house keeping practice and ignorance is killing us, coupled with lack of preventive maintenance, in this particular case the filling station attendants know nothing about density of fluids, the flood water got it way int ...

• GHFUO 8 years ago

HE WANTS TO TAKE OVER THE GAS STATIONS IN PRIME LOCATIONS N WILL DO ANYTHING TO KILL TO DISPLACE N TERMINATE THE OWNERS OF THESE GAS STATIONS. JUST WATCH

• GHANAMAN WAHALA 8 years ago

An accident occurred at the lorry station on top of a hill near the old Ho Central market and petrol flowed freely through a gutter until it came in contact with naked fire from a fried yam seller. The rest is History. Over 5 ...

• Mubarak 8 years ago

May God bless you, Ghanaman wahala. what you said makes great sense.

• Kwasi 8 years ago

Arrest all the top brass at Goil, Sue Goil, The company should pay up and be punished severely. This company should be put out of business as an example to other greedy companies who exploit/use sub trained personnel for impo ...

• CITIZEN ONE 8 years ago

...ILLITERATES. I have always voiced my displeasure at the degree of loud music they play at every single one of these stations, coupled with intense horseplay by these young village kids, with an immense ego and arrogance, j ...

• Peacemaker 8 years ago

I always say this that, the ashanti twi illiterates are creating problems in Ghana. Common sense koraa they dnt hv.

• Point 8 years ago

Do you have commonsense ? Come again All your writings on this platform shows that you are somebody without commonsense.

• TEE 8 years ago

HUMBLE TO LOOT AND SHARE

• O'BOYE 8 years ago

This guy seriously needs mental evaluation, why ? he is out of context !

• SITSO 8 years ago

This loose attitude and lack of attention for details is the bane of our predicaments. Standards are not adhered to. SOME ONE SHOULD BE PUNISHED.

• Marco 8 years ago

Arrest Goil.

GOIL should not be allowed to operate filling stations. The MD should be charged with murder.
    When BP had a disaster in US the Chairman was sacked.

• Bfire 8 years ago

Goil and its management should be charge for manslaughter and all cost and damages charge to them. Others will learn a lesson from this.

• Obi 8 years ago

It still doesn't make sense to me. Where was the fire in this torrential rain? Was somebody cooking in their house at the time on open fire when the supposed source of the fire was flooded? The explanation doesn't make sense. ...

• Kwasi 8 years ago

Even lit cigarette could have caused gas (petrol) to ignite....

• GHANAMAN WAHALA 8 years ago

When petrol comes into contact with extremely hot objects it explodes. The hot object need not be a naked fire. In fact the flood alone removes the possibility of a naked fire. The answer could be that some of the vehicles tr ...

• Peacemaker 8 years ago

U have made a brilliant point, Ghanaman.

• Virginia, U.S 8 years ago

Your analysis and commentary is methodical, consistent,thorough and valuable. Great mind. Your comments are much appreciated

• Peacemaker 8 years ago

It is u who dnt hv brains to understand. Dont u that the flood can cath up with naked fire as it flows?

• Micashy 8 years ago

It was a "Check Check Rice"seller whose fire started the initial explosion,by the road side about 100 metres from the Goil Station. The fire then burnt the fuel on top of the water backwards to the source of the fuel. Very s ...

• The Eye 8 years ago

My guy, i agree with u, GNFS should also look at the possibility that a car engine may be ON and since FIRE is equal oxygen, heat and "petrol" this point too might be the cause. They should come out to educate drivers and fil ...

• Guru 8 years ago

Fuel attendants shouldn't be the ones responsible for the valves. It is the management's responsibility for all safety precautions. Gasoline is very volatile and flammable, so the drivers who dispense the fuel and the statio ...

• ADANKO 8 years ago

this shows that the Ghanaian is capable of finding solutions to problems. All petrol stations must be revisited to check leaking valves and more sensible people must be put in charge of these valves and not cheap labourers.

• DEEP THINKING 8 years ago

The difference between the British and French colonialism can explain the flooding and subsequent fire at Circle that claimed about 200 lives. Why? This is the reason. Ghana and Nigeria are typically the best examples of Angl ...

• kwasisei 8 years ago

Very well said - it's as if we expect magic to happen every second. The responsibility of individuals, law enforcement & govt is not paramount. Ghanaians today behave as if discipline is too difficult to maintain - try the an ...

• Joseph ,canada 8 years ago

Period,there should be no gas stations around period .

• General Mosquito 8 years ago

sounds like movie....damm

• Kofi Nyarko 8 years ago

This fire should have happened at the Parliament House when they were in session to burn all the MPs to death. They are too corrupt, and the major cause of Ghana's problem, causing untold hardship and death of poor, less priv ...

• KWADWO 8 years ago

YES WHEN WE CANNOT TIGHTEN VALVES OF PETROL TANKS HOW CAN WE MONITOR HOT RODS IN NUCLEAR FUSSION PLANTS .WE HAVE BECOME TOO RECKLESS IN GHANA.LOOK AT THE LIVES LOST BECAUSE OF LOOSE VALVES.CHECKING AND CROSS CHECKING MAKING S ...

• Kweku 8 years ago

Thank you Kwadwo for your comment. This is how a typical Ghanaian handles serious issues and situations.

• Odame Ebenezer 8 years ago

My condolence to Goil filling station and those who were caught by the fire. This should go to the AMA boss to see to it that no person should build any filling station near where people are. They have to implement law agains ...

• BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, ESQ. 8 years ago

DEAR H.E.FORMER PRESIDENT OF GHANA FLT.LT.JERRY JOHN RAWLINGS AND THE READING PUBLIC OF GHANAWEB.COM,

THIS IS TO RESPECTFULLY COMMENT ON THE ABOVE RELATED PUBLICATION ON THE GHANAWEB.COM CAPTIONED: "PURSUIT FOR MONEY HAS L ...

• Dee 8 years ago

Interesting points Sir Benony. Pls how do I contact you? my blog is:
    motivar2.wordpress.com
    facebook:
    Aaron Darko
    motivar3@gmail.com
    Best Regards . . .