You are here: HomeNews2015 06 04Article 360950

Accra floods: Govt declares 3 days national mourning

Read Comments Comments (123)

• Joe Nane 8 years ago

Mr president is your apparel made in Ghana

• Omanba Pa, Islington-London! 8 years ago

The anger of the Lord is now working against Ghanaians and Oko Vanderpure as a mayor. What work has this idiot has done in Accra since he has been appointed?

This same idiot man was trying to take credit for himself and i ...

• Sumsum 8 years ago

You could be right because 190 is more than the126 Kuffour chocked in the stadium disaster

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 8 years ago

MAHAMA THE FOOLISH PRESIDENT AND THE PRINCE OF DARKNESS. HE IS LIKE A WRECKING BALL. EVERYTHING HE TOUCHES TURNS TO DUST. ONLY HOW TO CHOP MONEY AND WOMEN. NO BRAINS.

• DEPORT FOREIGN CRIMINALS 8 years ago

WELL I THOUGHT YOU ARE NDC OR YOU ARE CONFUSED ?

• MAD COBRA 8 years ago

What will 3 days of mourning do to the bereaved families and the nation as a whole? Instead of telling the nation you and your equally dumb ass govt will at least take drastic measures to fix this sewerage and drainage system ...

• Max 8 years ago

Sumsum, this is stupid comparison. The stadium disaster didn't happen because of gov't negligence. The Gov't has more than a role to play in solving the flood problem. Be wise and do yourself some favor and visit your own cou ...

• ELINAM 8 years ago

MAY ALL OF THOSE MET THIS UNTIMELY DEAD REST IN PEACE.

• ADOTEY 8 years ago

DEPORT ALL THE ASHANTIS SLEEPING IN KIOSK, ALL THE ZAMRAMA IN (KONKONBA) SODOM AND GOMORA TO THEIR VILLAGES.

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

. They say we are being spiteful and have no patience or understanding for this useless pepeni / ayigbe devil God forsaken govt. See the misfortunes and disasters we face due to this tribal pepeni hopeless govt . Pestilence a ...

• Kwaku 8 years ago

That is why you were killing them with acid right

• Kwaku 8 years ago

But what idiot. No food when Kufuor was there right kotibotor boy

• yaw manu 8 years ago

Where is Moses Asaga he told Ghanaians that even in Houston(USA) it floods anytime it rains so Ghanaians should not complain.Moses can you compare what has happened in Ghana to that of the so called flooding in the USA.Pathet ...

• Be nice 8 years ago

Bro or Sis,I really don't like your choice of words.You could express yourself in a better way which will all the same bring out your concern.Infact i don't also like your subject or title.....thanks....my opinion though...no ...

• C.K MAN 8 years ago

OMG, why can't you show a little self-respect? are you insulting yourself or the mayor? And why the insult?

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 8 years ago

No. made in Dubai instead. Christ me! what kind of stupid question is that of yours at this bad day?

• Ben 8 years ago

I wonder what some of us are made of.

MADE IN DUBAI

• Sumsum 8 years ago

Never mind the president is just handsome

FOOLISH AND KOTIBOTO PRESIDENT

This disaster will never put Nana "Y3 AKANFOU" Binaddo in the high office. Npp and their terrorist INVISIBLE FORCES must continue their usual fasting and prayers for their "antoa" , No wonder Ghana is have all this problems j ...

• Close Observer 8 years ago

PETER ALA ADJETEY WILL NOT STOOP THIS LOW. VOTE AMASA NAMOALE OUT OF PARLIAMENT, AND GET SOMEONE WHO BEFITS THE POSITION.
    People of Ghana, Dangerous politicians like Amasa Namoale who have no idea that democracy involves div ...

YOU ARE GO BACK AND FORTH - WHICH ONE YOU DEY - ARE YOU NDC OR NPP ?

YOU ARE GOING BACK AND FORTH - WHICH ONE YOU DEY - ARE YOU NDC OR NPP ?

ALL I AM SAYING IS MAHAMA IS AN IDIOT. AND MUST RESIGN

MR. DEPORT FOREIGN CRIMINALS, i think you must know better than fake bbc news by now ,the npp idiots normally use the NDC GUYS NAME perhaps they can't take the heats from us. He think he can ride on my shoulder to get on top ...

PREZ IS THE UGLY LEADER IN GHANA HISTORY . HIS VICE GUSTURE IS LIKE A GAY PERSON .

• RUBY MAHAMA 8 years ago

Akoa yi w'agyimi paapa, do you call John Mahama a handsome guy? W'ani so aboa awu paapa. For the where? If even you are right, every handsome man is a fool and idiot do you get that one too?does that make him a better preside ...

• FLORENCE 8 years ago

Joe, Nane, I hope you think that's a great suit that's why you wish it to be have been made in Ghana.

This flood overwhelms us every so often, but there has never been a single group of politicians who would decide to unde ...

• martina 8 years ago

I think your are right. Regardless of which party I do not think either one wants to spend the money for such an infrastructural project, which will save lives. Let us rethink using this as a platform.

• Kofi, USA. 8 years ago

THE SO CALLED FASTING OF NPP GANG OF COCAINE DRUG PEDDLERS RESULTED TO RITUAS. NPP EVILS AND RITUAS STINKING AGAIN ?

• Emmanuel 8 years ago

You are a foolish man.you don't think about what happened. Look at the comment you are making and you call yourself a human being.

• RUBY MAHAMA 8 years ago

God is continuing to punish to disgrace ndc till 2016 when they will be no more. Kwasea like that uses USA like it is a rogue nation like Ghana. You do nothing ndc in the diaspora must shut the fuck up because most of you ar ...

• HUMANISM 8 years ago

Good governance and rule of law could have saved this situation from happening.

There is no building code enforcement in all our towns and villages. Officers of AMA who are supposed to enforce the laws, take bribe money i ...

• Bola Ray 8 years ago

Idiot . If ur mother had died u won't be talking all discounts nonsense. It's a fucking natural disaster . Happens in America and UK . Wat has dis to do wt governance . Da last time ur sorry ass drank pure water how did u di ...

• Richie 8 years ago

We had 3 days of heavy rain with thunderstorms in NJ the same time but the effect was minimal because of good drainage system. Our government has failed us. For once in ur life take off your political lens. The government has ...

• ****((((((****** 8 years ago

Tell me where in the civilized country gasoline/petrol station are built in residential areas like ghana. Fa wo ntafosem firi ha kor

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 8 years ago

All what Nana "Y3n Akanfuo" Binaddo and his Ashanti/Akyem tribal Npp Party knows best is to formed a terrorist group called "THE INVISIBLE FORCES" 

• Close Observer 8 years ago

PEOPLE OF LA, PETER ALA ADJETEY WILL NOT STOOP THIS LOW. VOTE AMASA NAMOALE OUT OF PARLIAMENT, AND GET SOMEONE WHO BEFITS THE POSITION.
    People of Ghana, Dangerous politicians like Amasa Namoale who have no idea that democrac ...

• Rashid kaaklo 8 years ago

In fact we have the most incompetent leader in the history of this country. 3 whole days of mourning? When are u gonna start rebuliding and preventing this from happening again? When are u going to plan on setting up good dr ...

• Bola Ray 8 years ago

Coward . Write ur real name Mr asante and not the rashid. If ur stupid mother had drowned u wud be happy wt 10 days mourning .

WHY DO YOU THINK IS THE ONLY ASANTE PEOPLE OPPOSED PREZ MAHAMA LEADERSHIP ? LET ME TELL YOUR SOMETHING THAT THERE'S A LOT OF PEOPLE FROM PREZ HOME TOWN THAT DON'T LIKE HIS ADMINISTRATION AND HIS JOB PERFORMANCE SO STOP BLAMI ...

• Worried Ghanaian 8 years ago

@ Joe Nane,

I wish people like you just die for being so stupid. we are worried about such a tragedy and all you worry about is suit? Fool idiot!!

• Kwaku 8 years ago

Idiot

• Raspo 8 years ago

All that you can do is to direct a 3 days mourning. Where is ghana going. A country lead by fools.

• Kofi, USA. 8 years ago

To the so called Raspo, do you really understand the cause of this ? You need to objective in natural disaster time like. Try also to reasonable and human sometimes. You could be one of this victims who knows, . Besides the ...

• Kofi, Ghana 8 years ago

Raspo did not say anything against the victims because they are VICTIMS! His anger was rightly directed at the fools who lead the the country. Can you blame him for that? How many times do we have to go through this? Did you ...

• daas 8 years ago

Damn!!!, where did you learn to speak and write English? Did you pay a connection man to get you a USA visa?

• Nii Tsokor 8 years ago

The government is doing nothing to stop the heavy migration of people to Accra.

When I was growing up in Accra, it always rained heavily,but nobody died.
    Now you have everybody from rural Ghana coming to Accra and we have ...

• Adwoa 8 years ago

Whoever u are this is the lamest thing I've heard today. Looking at the disaster all u ca and think about is the number of people in Accra? Every Ghanaian has the right to move freely to wherever he or she deems fit . Besides ...

• Nii Tsokor 8 years ago

Can't you see what is going on ? Accra is overcrowded and choked up.There is no more room. Stay in your towns and villages.

What political solutions are you talking about ? People are dying and you are talking about politi ...

• Neutral Zone 8 years ago

I agree no figurre pointing, but when is someone going to take the opportunity from a tragedy like n clear our water ways n control our flood zones. When???

• Bola Ray 8 years ago

Raspo or weda it's ur dogs name I don't know. But u will die in water and not get half a day mourning . Never swim . I tell u

• Mawusi 8 years ago

U will rather die in a water, stupid man, evil, God will punish u, stupid fool, motherfucker

• Atinga Kobla Atongo 8 years ago

A GREAT LESSON TO ALL OF US. THE GOVERNMENT AGENCIES MUST FIX THE DRAINAGE. INDIVIDUALS SHOULD STOP DUMPING RUBBISH INDISCRIMINATELY. GOD HELP US.
    RIP TO ALL THE DEAD.

• Efo Paapa 8 years ago

Did I hear afag says the Accra CEO should be sacked? This behaviour of people who should know better should stop. Can't the so called afag bring any good suggestions to help solve the annual flooding in the city? God save Gh ...

• Wet Joe 8 years ago

Why do you fail to reason properly for your own benefits? Common sense. Where is it? Lord. This is perplexing. Is the water or food or air that deactivates a bran like yours? What mental deficiency? Of what use is suggestion ...

• sonkrolo 8 years ago

Countries like Germany, USA BRITAIN FRANCE all advanced countries expierienced floodings every year.This is a natural disaster and AFAG should know better and stop the dirty politics.

• daas 8 years ago

Only when it is hurricane or tropical monsoon not ordinary rainfall. This happen every year in Accra.

• GHANAMAN 8 years ago

THIS MAN IS A BAD LUCK FOR GHANA. UNTIL HE IS OUT OFF POWER OR TELL US WHAT OR WHO KILLED MILLS, GHANA WILL CONTINUE TO BE IN PAIN. Proverbs 29:2
    When the righteous are in authority, the people rejoice: but when the wicked ...

• eya 8 years ago

what shame. we ve lost fathers, mothers, brothers, sisters, family n friends and all u can talk about is politics? so un-called for

• amenyaglo 8 years ago

Watch this space it's gonna be the same next year unfortunately.

• Wet Joe 8 years ago

Why do you vote for Ignorant and mediocre minds like yourselves who cannot do any better than yourselves, who have no thought processing capacity? Why? The dearth of mediocrity and paralysis, and lack of common sense, wisdom ...

• BOKA 8 years ago

That would not change anything sir, rather come out with some practical steps that will ease the challenges face by the poor. thanks

• Esi 8 years ago

The rains are going to come again. What we need to know is how the city will deal with this when there is another storm. Three days of national mourning is lip service.

• Sam 8 years ago

so do people still tink these politicians are in for their help, l'm sorry.

• Ebola Mahama 8 years ago

This thief is a Joker

• johnson 8 years ago

This is sad

• Ghana corruption 8 years ago

Stpid mahama is an a President he jhave to go but trying to buy time

• asante 8 years ago

Where are the celebrities?

Do you want the celebrities to clean up Accra? Give them AMA then.

• KK 8 years ago

i don't think we need 3 day mourning. we need 3 days of bulldozing and fixing the problems and then continue enforcing the laws. its about time we take the bull by its horn, and end politicking of solving national issues.

• kobi 8 years ago

This goes to show that GOD really exist. AFRED WAYOMENG SHOULD BE GIVEN THE CONTRACT TO CLEAN ALL THE DRAINAGE SYSTEMS IN THE CITY ACCRA SINCE HE HAS BEEN PAID GH51000,000 ARLRADY. SO COME NEXT YEAR RAINS WE WOULD NOT GO THR ...

• pk 8 years ago

The Faithful departed deserve a Memorial at the site.

The chocked Odaw river and the Korle Lagoon, the sanitation issues and the many contributory should be tackled ruthlessly.

• Sheiwahni 8 years ago

Ghana fire Dept, MUST BE EDUCATED. THey dont know nothing, They even dont know the kind of fire and the right Chemical to USE.

...unless we use our God-given brains and resources to solve our problems, no one will solve them for us. How many times didn't we see Rawlings in military uniform posing for the cameras when there were floods. As soon as the ...

• barimah sei kwabena, virginia usa 8 years ago

I wished this should have happened in the presidency so all these useless incompetent criminals eroded away.

• Kofi, USA. 8 years ago

THERE WE GO AGAIN NPP GANG OF ACID BOMB KILLERS, EVIL AT WORK. NPP GANG OF COCAINE PEDDLERS RITUAL STINKING AGAIN. NPP GANG, EVIL FASTING RESULTED, TO RITUAS OF AKUFO ADDO COCAINE DRUG ADDICT.

• Kofi, Ghana 8 years ago

Your medication is supposed to be taken three times a day. Please, try not to skip doses again.

• concerned citizen 8 years ago

u are just another idiot who has giving the opporunity to stay in the US. Please have some sense when you come on this forum.

U are very uncivilized that is why u talking like this. This is nothing to do with a political ...

• VOICE OF REASON 8 years ago

Africans are strange creatures.How did God create us that we are so different from our white counterparts.Why do we desperately cling on to power as if our very lives depend on it ?

• page 8 years ago

Please cat now. Take action now and stop blaming each other. This problem is not going away as long as there are June and july rainfalls

• Dr. Kwame Nkrumah is my hero 8 years ago

There should be rather 3 days of cleaning the mess and the stinky gutters.

• KOFI 8 years ago

ONE THING THAT CAN BE ATTRIBUTED TO A DISASTER OF THIS MAGNITUDE IS THE CITING OF KITCHENS WITHIN THE WALLS OF FILLING STATIONS. ALSO CITING OF FILLING STATIONS NEAR HIGH TENSION ELECTRIC POLES. AND ALL THESE BEHAVIOR ARE SAN ...

• VOICE OF REASON 8 years ago

Mahama must go after national mourning mourning.Dumsor,depreciating cedi,high inflation,high interest rate,high unemployment, and now "catastrophic and unprecedented" lost of human lives

• Solja 8 years ago

I read comments here and draw a conclusion and come to a conclusion that Ghanaians are dumb as hell...right from comparison of disasters to political affiliation cry babes...u guys suck!!!! bitch ass forum people, idiots and ...

• eya 8 years ago

yea I agree with u on that but say some ghanaians.

• 6430 8 years ago

what happen to woara tu woara sa

• Nana 8 years ago

May their soul rest in peace

• Mindset's 8 years ago

Reading some of the comments on this forum after such a disaster.Make's me wonder why we Ghanaian's are so behind in our thinking. What a shame God pls raise up the Son's of God.

• Samuel Yadah 8 years ago

some people have lost their lives and all you can do is to talk dirty politics. why thinking and behaving like chicken?

• Quality Toner 8 years ago

Quality toner and Ink refill at Amensco Techno Serv. at Abeka-New Fadama.
    We also repair HP and Canon Printers and Photocopy machines.
    Call: 0244523451

• Adinkra a proud Akan 8 years ago

Idiots are in charge of affairs

• odasani 8 years ago

Badluck president confess and be free. you cant just kill mills like that

• WOFA YAW 8 years ago

THIS IS VERY SAD.WHEN IS THE NEW ELECTORAL COM, COMING SO THAT WE CAN VOTE

• CLottey 8 years ago

John Mahama kwasiato!!! we don't need national mourning. we need better infrastructure. Kwasiato look at your dumb response to a life threatening crisis and you have been in power almost four years.

• Neutral Zone 8 years ago

We need action on our water ways n flood zones. 3 days of mourning is good but we need action.

• eya 8 years ago

how can u allow such irresponsible statements on this site? look mr. bbc news!!!!!!!, lives ve been lost stop the insult n politics .

• Efo Kwaku Canada 8 years ago

It was dumsor that brought about this, because a guy started his generator and it sparkles the fire and lives as well as properties are lost and you're talking about 3 days? Fix the dumsor and save Ghanaians citizens lives, t ...

• Bola Ray 8 years ago

People just talk nonsense . Floods are natural disasters that happen even in the UK. As for America I won't even start on their toledos hurricane and storms and floods . In a time like this we jus have to hold hands and mour ...

• Kweku trouble 8 years ago

I am beginning to suspect that about four people on this site use multiple names to write all this nonsense, because I don't want to believe Ghana has this much number of fools. People have lost their lives and all some peopl ...

• GHanaian 8 years ago

Our deepest condolences go to the bereaved families.

Compensation must be paid to the families of the bereaved.

An immediate investigation must be launched into the cause of the explosion, and appropriate measures taken ...

Ashanti/Akyem tribal Npp Party can't stop their xenophobic style against the Non-Akans in Npp, they were raised with that and feed with that. Non-Akans can never be happy as member in that tribalistic Npp party, they will nev ...

BLAME DUMSOR FOR THE FIRE DISASTER .

• Ekow Samuel- Paris. 8 years ago

IT is soo sad they have to do something about it, and they should verify the areas very well be'cos they was acertain places it was not like that, and they must do it Oman Ghana, anyway bye from now and may God's help touches ...

• Lopez 8 years ago

What at all is wrong with this cursed NDC government? A government that is not truthful to its citizens but will continue to lie to the whole world and yet have no shame but want to hang on to power at all cost is what i can ...

• Mansah 8 years ago

My sympathy to the people of Ghana and pray that the world will come together to help Ghana with identification of the remains.
    Also Ghana have to learn a lesson from this tragedy

• Nadash 8 years ago

Guys! Please try to make sensible comments cos this could have been anyone. Whilst you comment also think abt the families who are heart broken of the untimely departure of their love ones through this tragedy. Please put pol ...

• ogre 8 years ago

i wish i could shit on mahama's head,he is the cause of these problems,his bad doings has brought all these disaster here in ghana,we need god intervension-may all ur soul rest in perfect peace .am really sad?mahama Is reall ...

• Adiza USA 8 years ago

Omanba, London , you are very stupid to use this F words on the Accra. Mayor.bush person

• Ghana corruption 8 years ago

Stpid mahama is an a President he jhave to go but trying to buy time

• Nadash 8 years ago

Mr president, it is good to mourn the departed but the big question shld be" what next after the mourning"? Shld Ghanaian continou to mourn their lost every year? We need a solution and it has the be a long term solution. Thi ...

• Wanderer 8 years ago

x2 Nadash, exactly my thoughts.

• Efua Gee 8 years ago

My heart and Prayers go out to all Ghanaians, especially those who lost loved ones in the explosion. May God comfort the whole Nation during this tragedy

• AGYA YAW 8 years ago

Mahama you are a curse to the country ever since you took the mantle to rule the Nation everything is in a mess

• me, myself n i 8 years ago

Foolish man, u helped caused this by ur stupid spending n stealing, u could have constructed drains n gutters n this would nt have been dis morning.

• jessica usa 8 years ago

declares 3 days mourning after the mourning what next shd we mourn every year choked gutters poor drainage are you doing somthg about that

• successful Man 8 years ago

Make extra income online by just investing $18. Call Ben for details on 0266434975.

• rash 8 years ago

May Allah forgive e departed souls.We should also learn to do things right.

• K. Ghana Ba 8 years ago

What is needed is better dranage to connect the sea. Look at the dranage that Osagyefo Kwame Nkrumah put in place. Why are we not continuing from where the old man left us. It is not National Mourning, this is shamful Mr Pre ...

• Buruji Jr. 8 years ago

Work more and forget about floods holidays we need money in the system quickly.

• Ghanaba 8 years ago

Nonsense! what is the use? people are dying of irresponsibility, now party for the death.
    Mr. President,declare three days of cleaning of Accra flit.

• ****((((((****** 8 years ago

Stealing ghana money to buy hotels in Dubai now you have animal face to mourn three days nonsense