You are here: HomeNews2015 06 03Article 360804

Disaster looms as Accra drowns in torrential rains

Read Comments Comments (54)

• john hayford from ashaiman 8 years ago

oh god help gh we needed rain but not all on one day.

• Kwesi Payin 8 years ago

God help the black man.

• Nii Tsokor 8 years ago

Can we get a current picture of the situation ? Some of us live outside the country and we need to get a true picture of any disaster at home. You have been using this picture every year.

• Prof Lungu 8 years ago

Nii Tsokor,
    In that case, the photo could easily be a Rawlings era photo - late 1990s.

READ:
    Ghana Borrows $71 Million to Clean up Cities

WORLD BANK

Press Release No:96/20AFR

WASHINGTON, March 26, 1996:
    The ...

• Nii Tsokor 8 years ago

I don't have any argument about the waste that we witnessed during his regime.Very little was done in that particular time frame. To be honest with you,I do not know where the money went to.

• Kwame.London 8 years ago

This is what happens when gutters are used as refuse damp sites. It's simple, You don't need divine intervention. Pure stupidity. Black man, fouth world sef don't deserve. If you use drainage systems for plastics and rubbers ...

• DR TRUTH 8 years ago

PRESIDENT JOHN MAHAMA ALLOWED THE NDC CHAIRMAN KOFI PORTUPHY TO HOLD UNTO THE CRITICAL ROLE OF NATIONAL DISASTER MANAGEMENT ORGANISATION CHAIRMAN DOES DEPRIVING NADMO OF PROPER PLANNING

• DR TRUTH 8 years ago

PROSTITUTION, ROBBERY, KILLINGS, GREED, STEALING, CORRUPTION, DISOBEDIENCE, ABUSES,SEXUAL IMMORALITY ( NDC MINISTER SPOKE BOUT GIRLFRIENDS) HAS CHARACTERISED MAHAMA'S RULE

• KUFFOUR 8 years ago

DR TRUTH WHAT ABOUT THE SPRAYIG OF THE ACID AND THE UNPAYING LOAN FROM PRUDENTIAL BANK?. MENTION ALL.

• GBEWAA 8 years ago

THERE'S NO SINGLE EFFECTIVE UNDERGROUND DRAINAGE SYSTEM IN ACCRA, LET ALONE GHANA.

IN THIS 21ST CENTURY DAY AND AGE, GHANA CONTINUES TO CONSTRUCT DYSFUCTIONAL MOSQUITO-BREEDING OPEN SURFACE WATER DRAINAGE GUTTERS.

THI ...

• maamaa 8 years ago

ts a shame.big one ,disgusting.God helps us

• SARPONG 8 years ago

Dumbass Asaga will tell Ghanaians it floods even in Houston where I live. Houston does not flood like this every year. It takes a hurricane to flood parts of Houston that have about ten times vehicles than the whole Ghana.

• Dan 8 years ago

Moses Asaga always put his foot in his mouth. The same person that said petrol cost more in Germany where a labourer earns more in one day than Secretary at the Ministries earns in a month.

• US Soul Brother 8 years ago

Sarpong, white folks in the US work together to develop the US society and pay people of color to help do the work. Take GH-Americans here in the US, they never work together to really help uplift Ghana back home. Too much tr ...

• ADU 8 years ago

EH! GHANA IF NO RAIN WE GO TALK IF RAIN WE GO TALK.
    INSTEAD WE OF WE CONVERT OUR IMMOTIONS INTO POWER OF POSITIVE THINKING ONLY PHD SYNDROMES.
    SEASON AFTER SEASON THE SAME PROBLEM REVISITED.
    WHEN SHALL WE LEARN AND CHANG ...

• Esi 8 years ago

How many more people need to die from floods before we address the drainage system in areas affected? What does NADMO really do?

• sid 8 years ago

mahama appointed anita desooso who doesn't even understand disaster to take care so what provisions can she make?

• DDFSD 8 years ago

its serious oooo...I AM TRAPPED IN A CAFE...CANT GO HOME AND I HAVE TO DO EXTRA TIME BY FORCE. BLAME GA CHIEFS FOR SELLING THE WHOLE OF ACCRA FOR THEIR STOMACH SAKE. THE RAIN CANT GET ANYWHERE TO PASS....ITS' BAD

• SIMON 8 years ago

DR. NKRUMAH AND PROF, BUSIA WANTED TO BUILD BIG DRAINAGE SYSTEM IN ACCRA AND ITS EVIRONS BUT WASN'T ALLOW BY GREEDY CORRUPT INDIVIDUALS WHO COULDN'T STEER GHANA ECONOMIC FOR MANY DECADES. THE RESULT IS WHAT IS HAPPENING IN GH ...

• STEVE 8 years ago

The problem with flooding in the capital and its surburbs is, and in my opinion due to negligence by past and current government after Nkrumah to address the issue. The solution is just a matter of drainage system that will c ...

• Prof Lungu 8 years ago

STEVE,
    You have a point there.

"...corruption has eaten away the financial means to tackle the project..."

Here is hard data!

READ:

WORLD BANK

Press Re ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

Professor Lungu, South Korea also gave a grant of 35 million dollars to fix the drainage system in Accra in 1997 and the money was either spent on other things or ended up in other people pockets.

• Nesbit Hansen-Addy 8 years ago

Steve, blame no past or present leaders than urselfs ok, if u'd bn a collective n a patriotic citizens n nt de "PhD"type we wld hv bn somewhere after Nkrumah.wht cn Samia do whn our mentalities n attitudes r negative, whn d ...

• US Soul Brother 8 years ago

Move the capital to an above sea-level city and just make Accra an airport-landing location temporarily.Once governmental wealth is built up in the new location take some of the revenue and correct the land surface of Accra b ...

• KE 8 years ago

tonight's downpour is unprecedented in the history of Ghana. I pray that the casualties will be minimized.

• adanko 8 years ago

WE ALL KNEW OKO VANDERPUJE IS A FAKE ACCRA MAYOR TRYING TO DO PROPAGANDA WITH HIS POST. GOD WAITS TO EXPOSE CROOKS AT THE RIGHT TIME. IT HAPPENED TO MAHAMA WHEN PAGES GOT MISSING IN HIS SPEECH IN FRONT OF ECOWAS HEADS OF STAT ...

• BOYS ABRE GHANA 8 years ago

This government seems to have no clue abt. the planning of this county of ours, They allow people to build on water ways and turn around to complain to the citizens, May those who lost their lives rest in peace !

• BABA 8 years ago

OUR HOLY ONES SHOULD HAVE DIVERTED THIS TORRENTIAL RAINS INTO THE VOLTA LAKE BEHIND AKOSOMBO DAM TO HELP END DUMSOR,DOES THAT MEAN OUR HOLY ONES ARE FAKE? I DONT KNOW OOO AM JUST ASKING,SORRY IF I HAVE STEPPED ON SOMEONES FOO ...

• NII BOSTON 8 years ago

NADMO ONKY SHARE THE RELIEF ITEMS TO THEIR CRONIES

• Ghanaba 8 years ago

And the rains came and fell in Accra and the Accra Mayor realized that he was far from the best mayor.
    every year around this time Accra floods from rains and we forget to prepare for it.

• Ogya 8 years ago

We must move the capital to Sunyani to deconjest Accra.

• KK 8 years ago

Its sooo serious! !it was by the grace of God that i got home safely. I ve not seen anything like that in my life.God have mercy and save people from drowning.

• KK 8 years ago

Its sooo serious! !it was by the grace of God that i got home safely. I ve not seen anything like that in my life.God have mercy and save people from drowning.

• STEVE 8 years ago

Why don't we have flooding at Tema? Is all because the whole metropolitan area was built under a sewage system, and the waterways are free and directed through a drainage system that leads the water to the sea. Accra must be ...

• Samuel 8 years ago

u hv said it all bro.

• NANA 8 years ago

ACCRA GHANA ALWAS BRAGG WHERE IS THE MAYOR EMERGENCY FORCE TODAY?

• HUMANISM 8 years ago

WHAT HAS THIS TO DO WITH GOD? STOP THIS BULLSHIT BY CALLING FOR GODS NAME. STUPID BLACK MEN. IN THE DEVELOPED WORLD THEY SEARCH FOR SOLUTION BASED ON SCIENCE. YOU GHANAIANS WITH YOUR EXAGGERATING OF RELIGION SHOULD BETTER CHE ...

• daladam 8 years ago

ARE YOU READY TO ASSIST FALKS IN TIM4E LIKE THIS,WHO IN YOUR ADMINISTRATION IS IN GHARGE OF TIME OD DISASTER LIKE THAT? WE NEED SOME ANSWERS MR MAHAMA

• VOICE OF REASON 8 years ago

This is an annual thing but governments after governments don't put it on their priority list because is not a vote catcher.They are more interested in interchanges and airports renovations

• tru 8 years ago

where is Oko Africa number one mayor. Oko superman to the rescue

• Sammie Sampson 8 years ago

Ghana seems a country of no solid focus nor plans, hence will remain in the pre-historic era for decades. It's sad that even Accra and other big towns have no layout drainage facilities. What has the so-called Ministry of Wor ...

• Prof Lungu 8 years ago

READ:

WORLD BANK

The Board of Directors of the World Bank today approved a $71,000,000 loan to Ghana to help fun ...

• 6430 8 years ago

remember busia to fix the problem with woara tu woara sa

• Prof Lungu 8 years ago

Approaching 4th June...here is the question for today!

READ:

WORLD BANK

The Board of Directors of the World B ...

• concerned ghanaian 8 years ago

We won't do the right thing.
    We wait for God/The Whiteman to advise us. We know the problems:

Accra is low lying offering rain surface water access to the sea.

We build on water ways.

We pretend there is nothi ...

• YAW OFORI 8 years ago

The corruption in Ghana has reached a historic level. Ghanaians have become so corrupt that a radical revolution is needed to SAVE Ghana. If there is no brave man like JJ to do it again, then nature has to do it. FYI, torrent ...

Accra, like Houston, will recover in a matter of two or three days. Ghana is an advanced country, according to Asaga.

• Abrantie 8 years ago

And AMA mayor is hosting other mayors from overseas.We haven't seen him yet directing traffic.Nkwaseafo

• Adroba 8 years ago

Having known the causes of flooding during torrential rains , let's all play our part to prevent it. Let keep each other in check. Remind them, insult them, beat them , jail them. The government's that do little about it, ple ...

• Gideon 8 years ago

do you need a professional mathematics teacher for yourself or for your Wards then call me on 0244487670 / 0203345342.

if you are a distance student who want assistant in mathematics can also call.

NB: any where you wan ...

• maxwell yakambu 8 years ago

God help Ghana

• Eweman 8 years ago

NDC isd organizing Mayors conference and merry-making, chopping the tax-payers money

• NANA KWAKU 8 years ago

THE MAYOR ONLY KNOWS TACTICS HOW TO TAKE MONEY FROM DRIVERS AND CLOSING SHOPS BUT NOT CLEANING CHOKED GUTTERS

• A concerned citizen 8 years ago

In case of a natural disaster you can not blame any one But we think about it and plan so it will never happen again.