You are here: HomeNews2015 06 02Article 360610

Photos: Heavy downpour floods Accra

Read Comments Comments (67)

• GHANA 8 years ago

EVERYWHERE

• Grand Mufti of Accra . 8 years ago

So Accra is again flooded ;so is it a big deal or is there anything new ; Accra will always get flooded because the people at AMA are poor thinkers and the civil engineers are just lazing about in airconditions ; they do not ...

• ATSU, HO 8 years ago

THERE ARE CONSULTANTS WHO SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE AND NOT ROAD CONTRACTORS

• Somuah 8 years ago

Accra is low lying and prone to flooding. Move capital to Kintampo

• Adama 8 years ago

I support your suggestion. Accra is low lying, filthy and an affront to being the capital of Ghana. We did it once from Cape Coast. we can move from this city to a much more strategic and better location!

• Brobbey@50 8 years ago

It will continue to choke anytime it rains. When people build their houses on the water way what do you expect? When you dump refuse in the gutters what do you expect when it rains?
    We need to take good care of our environm ...

• Corruption is killing Us 8 years ago

I'm not an english teacher and we all know english is a foreign language to us in Ghana, but unmotorable, if not curtail will lead to unvehicable and unwalkable very soon. The correct expression I believe is inaccessible.
    As ...

• Snow 8 years ago

Uncle Oko, I suggest you approach the thinkers in the Meteorological Agency; they will tell you the volumes of rainfall in you city. Again move to meet the experts in the Survey department for advise on the topography of your ...

• Adjoa Yeboah 8 years ago

Don't tell lies; which parts of Germany gets flooded when it rains. Ghana's case is the fault of Prez Mahama who must be voted out for oour own and only Nana Akuffo Addo. Our Nana will surely solve all these simple problems a ...

• Another Thief of Baghdad 8 years ago

Just last week I read about this in the newspapers.

• Fuseni 8 years ago

Like your ogoglo father

• Kofi Ameyaw,London. 8 years ago

So you want to say there was no flood during Kuffuors time? What can your nana do about this flooding in Accra,I wonder how you people in npp think,you just want to come to power without any aim.

• nii quainooooooooo 8 years ago

This problem is not about Manama. It's about you and your filter uncivilizedfamily who came to Accra and infiltrated waterways and catchments with rubbish of all sort. Ghanaians are not disciplined to to take responsibility b ...

• nana kwame 8 years ago

Masa if you don't know something then you find out and stop calling people names because the person don't share same opinions with you and if you don't know it happens in UK as well so if you think this cannot happened in eur ...

• PEEVED 8 years ago

Adjoa u must be an illiterate to not know the flooding that inundated Germany in June 2013. People like u talk and think with your asses to even have the gall to say this ur fake flag bearer will solve these problems. That sh ...

• colonel amidu 8 years ago

Man pls stop throwing dust in peoples eyes because mahama and nana Akuffo addo are the same(ndc and npp the value is the same)because both parties do similar things when they come to power and they dont think about we the mas ...

I cant drive my Lambo when in Ghana thats y I dnt want to bring it down.

Ghana has become an advanced country. Houston, Austin and Dallas were also flooded. We are now having the same experience as developed countries. God bless NDC for the hard work that has brought the "American experience " to ...

• Frank Darko 8 years ago

This one too na President Mahamas FAULT abi?.....hahahaha

• C k 8 years ago

Say that again everything Mahama habaa

• 2016 8 years ago

It would be recalled that when a similar flood occurred in Accra, about a year or so ago, President John Dramani Mahama ordered for funds to be released to construct drains whilst it was still raining and flooding...lol.
    I g ...

• JATO KWASHIVI RAWLINGS 8 years ago

JATO KWASHIVI RAWLINGS, HAS TOLD US, WE LIVE IN DANGEROUS TIMES AND THE SIGNS ARE ALL THERE FOR US TO SEE. NDC HAS BROUGHT A CURSE ON GHANA. ALL SECTORS OF GHANA ARE IN DECLINE.

• Godfrey GodFearing 8 years ago

He is J. Komlavi Rollins. A blood thirsty gentleman.

• Joe Turkey 8 years ago

"...Ghana, every year, faces the issue of flooding mostly attributed to shallow drains constructed by road contractors and the situation of buildings on waterways, as well as the indiscriminate dumping of refuse in already ch ...

• HMMN 8 years ago

Imagine that, heavy floods and commercial drivers also on strike?
    Can one begin to imagine the effect on productivity on an economy already in the pits?
    That is the e dey bee k3k3 better Ghana agenda of the John Dramani Mah ...

• C k 8 years ago

Why u pple paaàaa everything Mahama. We are all part of the problems

• Efo 8 years ago

Every year we go through this disaster what is wrong with Blackman. This is the time people in government get their chops from various donation and government funds. And truly the needy would not benefit.

• GOODMAN 8 years ago

if not flood, it is mosquitos and dirty and stinky gutters, then heavy traffic jams,
    oh what a city!!!!!!

• David 8 years ago

My girlfriend is in Ghana at the moment so please pray for her, her family and the people of Ghana. They are in my prayers. God bless you all and be strong.

• kok 8 years ago

EVEN (USA MARYLAND) WAS FLOODED YESTERDAY IS EVERY WHERE NOT ONLY ACCRA PLEASE STOP BLEMING PEOPLE

• Black American globetrotter 8 years ago

Flooding every year, lights out often, black feces-filled plastic bags tossed everywhere in the bushes, pot holes in the dirt roadways, filthy items tossed in the gutters,criminals sitting around in the cyber cafes trying to ...

• Kojo 8 years ago

What's all this annual flooding in Accra? Is Accra a real city or a BIG VILLAGE? I see it as an overgrown Town!

• Kwadwo 8 years ago

I thought Vanderpuje was voted best mayor

• C k 8 years ago

Ooooooh these one deep jealousy go kill you paaàaa

• Rash 8 years ago

There are flood's even in Europe and U.S.A are these place's village and you want to go there.

• Fuseni 8 years ago

So bear it

• Mubarik 8 years ago

The Govt should empower nadmo and the parliamentarians are also not working the nadmo, when the bill is pass the flood will be minimis

• Mubarik 8 years ago

The nadmo bill should be pass to avoid future accurance

• tb 8 years ago

we need to change our attitude as a country. indiscriminate dumping rubbish, building anywhere anyhow without following building regulations. Laws must b allowed to work

• tb 8 years ago

those of u politicising dis issue shd b ashame of urselves

• Stone 8 years ago

Oh Grater Accra when

• National Agenda 8 years ago

We are still in our ABC's and even getting worse after all the noise making.

• mickey 8 years ago

kumasi is free for éven

• Paul 8 years ago

That was what gave Alfred Vanderpuiji the African Mayor Award.Flood Award instead of African Mayor Award.It is shame and disgrace, especially to foreigners in Accra.

• Nana Yaw Nortey 8 years ago

In this day and age Accra gets flooded? Did we not read similar news same time last year? Is it always about the news or we re eventually going to find a lasting solution to this embarrassing problem? The Accra Mayor shd sit ...

• BABA 8 years ago

A MONTH OR 2 AGO I THOUGHT VAN PEE DID PREVENTIVE MAINTENANCE TO OUR MAJOR GUTTERS IN ACCRA, OR DID HE JUST THROW DUST IN OUR EYES? VAN PEE IF YOU DID THIS PM FROM YOUR HEART AND THIS FLOODING STILL HAPPENED TO US, THEN AM W ...

• efo 8 years ago

This is a better Ghana agenda in the capital city Accra. Good job Mahama

• Godfrey GodFearing 8 years ago

Mahama is unbelievably capable, efficient, decisive, dedicated and an internationally respected statesman. His accomplishments are without comparison and his legacy to upgrade the hitherto backward Ghana to an economic parad ...

• C k 8 years ago

Ammeeeeen

• Kofi Boye 8 years ago

Didnt Akosombo get some of the rain......

• Peter Ebo Fynn 8 years ago

We live in country without any plans!

• M Berger mkberger@yandex.com 8 years ago

...looking for a working visa for EU/Schengen to live in Europe?
    We can help you. For more information contact by mail mkberger@yandex.com

• Vudugah Richard kwasi 8 years ago

The big men Are always deceivers. Let Allow them to betrayed themselves.

• Tony 8 years ago

we are here talking about what's going on in the country people are busy bragging out their cars they can't bring it down nonsense...Accra is a place I will never in my life choose to live..tweaa...rip those who lost their li ...

• Mohammed Ali: teacher, Presby Sectech 8 years ago

Oh God for hw long wl residents of Accra continue to lose theie lifes as a result of perinial flooding of de city? There culd be two main reasons that account for this occurence: Bad planning on the part of the managers of th ...

• Mohammed Ali: teacher, Presby Sectech 8 years ago

An avoidable disaster.! This is highly unacceptable in de 21st century if city authorities and residents exhibited a bit enlightenment. Ignorance and recklessness are really killing Africans.

• ANPK 8 years ago

Ignorance,laziness and Recklessness,these are the things killing Africans today.

• Schadenfreude 8 years ago

Ghanaians should expect heavier flooding in the years ahead. The government will predictably do nothing about it. The people will continue to choke the drains with dirt, build houses in locations that impede watercourses and ...

• The watcher 8 years ago

A perennial flooding issue has more to do with our attitude as a people instead of of blaming governments.
    A positive change in our way of doing things could totally change this situation.

• Kofi Armoh, Virginia, U.S 8 years ago

Oh Mother Ghana, keep thy spirit high and we do share your pain and sentiment. This "laissez-faire behavior" of the Government of Ghana as far as the safety of Ghanaians is concerned, is primitive, eye-sore, and unwarranted. ...

• Kofi Jeff Steudler 8 years ago

Praying for Ghana M3 fi3!

• asiedu 8 years ago

Very sad

• nana ama 8 years ago

capital town of a country paaaa.poor mother gh

• Mic 8 years ago

Hmmm may their gentle souls rest in peace

• colonel amidu 8 years ago

These incident is really sad and terrible...hmmm!by the way let pray to Almighty Allah/God that it never happens again but the sad part of the story is that,the govt of Gh.is not doing is job properly, this allows other worke ...

• Rachael Teye 8 years ago

Sorry to those who have lost their parents &friend

• cedi @ Enchi 8 years ago

oh Ghana dis don't call 4 politics, let pray 2 ALLAH , 4 our sin