You are here: HomeNews2015 05 10Article 357557

Aged at post cause of high unemployment —Joseph Yammin

Read Comments Comments (63)

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi must go! 9 years ago

Govt is to.blame for high unemployment..corruption goes unchecked. No capital to help self.business starters. You don't entice companies with low or free taxes for them to bring their corporations to Ghana. Where are the fact ...

• QRS Complex 9 years ago

they growing by the dozen. why is every politician in ghana so fat

• USMAN 9 years ago

If Dr Danaa, who holds a PhD, could behave this way then university education is useless in Ghana. If people of his caliber are leading Ghanaians then, I am afraid, we shall soon fall into a ditch.
    Who asked Dr Danaa to take ...

• Ali. 9 years ago

Where is the evidence? Give us figures to support your charge. When did you realize that employers ask of experience before employment? This is much ado about nothing. You want people to hear you are still existing. Give us ...

• MATHS 9 years ago

The man has a point. He is definitely right by saying that those working in Government circles or civil service refuse to go when the compulsory retirement age comes. And it is very true. If we all abided by the Constitution ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

Who at all is Nana Akanfuo Binaddo Buhari? Ignore that living ghost Nana let us move forward as a Nation. When Nana Akanfuo Binaddo Buhari and his Npp Motorbikes thieves are looking for the lectures in our Universities, the N ...

• Yussif Fuseini 9 years ago

What re you really commenting on by your recirculation of same tex message? If Nana was your father will you attack him this way? Even the founder of the NDC sees the need to discuss with him. My advice leave room for a littl ...

• Close Observer 9 years ago

NDC politicians have stolen enough, now they have started insulting all of us. These days, every thief talks to Ghanaians just anyhow. Fiifi Kwetey taged Ghanaians as '' kindergarten children''. GENERAL AKUFFO run to the Cler ...

• For 9 years ago

No government anywhere in the world employs all graduates. It is the private sector which creates employment. More importantly, university students should focus less on liberal arts and get involved in science and technolog ...

• Lllll 9 years ago

Whoever told this guy that university graduates are processionals? Even in many professional fiels\ds experience is demanded. That is why in countries like the USA we have interns and volunteers to gain experience. He goes on ...

• Senyo 9 years ago

Look, there are many factors contributing to the unemployment in Ghana; aged workers' refusal to leave posts, demand for experience by companies/institutions, lack of markets for local productions, high interest rates on bank ...

• Elekem Luke 9 years ago

I think students should start volunteering from SS3 and through out their post secondary school years in their respective fields to gain some work experience. If the government implements and enforces such polices, it would ...

• Ngi 9 years ago

Totally agree with you. Our fathers and grandfathers as well mothers are all at work even when their children and grand ones have graduated and looking for jobs. Let reduce the retirement age to 50 and see the job vacancies w ...

• Ali. 9 years ago

Ngi, I think you have no understanding of age and work. I'm not sure of your age but I believe you will understand when you hit mid to late 40s. No need to try and convince you. Have a blessed day.

• Concerned 9 years ago

There's is a stronger case for increasing the retirement age to 60 than reducing it
    The simple fact is people are living longer and it goes without saying everyone needs to pay bills irrespective of age. The solution is to ...

• Lllll 9 years ago

Greece had its retirement age around 50. Go ask them of what benefit that has been.
    Even in Ghana retiring at 60 gives one about 12 years to live before death since the life expectancy is around 72.
    Going by Ngi's analogy i ...

• Auspi 9 years ago

You can reduce retirement age to 25. But you can stop anyone to work and put food on their table. Think before you write and support this idiot with his unscientific assessment.

• Aso 9 years ago

Idiot because Mahama is giving you various position in his government you are here to praise him. Greedy son of bitch, why don't you tell the Mahama to give the position he is giving you to others for them to enjoy a bit.

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 9 years ago

A man was out walking one day and went by a retirement home. As he passed the front lawn, he saw nine old ladies basking in the sun in lounge chairs. When he looked closer he realized that they were all stark naked.

He wen ...

• Y B 9 years ago

CLEANSHIELD, Amazing health product for everyone, All Natural Alkaline supplement from US specially and scientifically designed to clean inner Ocean clear stomach toxins, as well as unwonted substances in the body like virus ...

• hi 9 years ago

CREATE NEW ONES IF THAT IS THE PROBLEM.IF YOU CAN'T QUIT.YOU HAVE FORGOTTEN YOU MADE A RETIRED POLICE OFFICER TO BE BA REGIONAL POLICE COMMANDER AND YOU ARE NOW COMPLAINING.MASSA BE QUIET

• Fadil 9 years ago

mr yamin, then who should we blame if not the government. who employs the public worker if not the government so it is duty bound on him to withdraw retired workers as well as non performing workers. so you can not tell us it ...

• Kwadwo 9 years ago

Mahma just put you there for you also to aquire your share of the booty as you've done most of there dirty jobs in Ashanti region. What qualities do have for those positions? It was all about being there to loot your share, e ...

• IB 9 years ago

So, these are the calibre of people we put in high positions. Non creative, no deep thinking except boot licking just for their personal interest. He doesn't even know that there's a mandatory policy on retirement and this h ...

Unfortunately, these are the people manning the country Ghana! Unbelievable!!!!!!!!!

• eugene 9 years ago

you get pension from social security..but if your bills are high you get part time job at KFC or walmart

• obiba J.k 9 years ago

isn't it a cause of unemployment when government keep transferring incompetent ministers like yourself from one ministry to the other? just keep quiet and go to bed.

• Me 9 years ago

Did I hear Yamin say government should no be blamed for the graduate unemployment because the oldies are refusing to leave for the young ones? What about the current IGP, Mohammed Alhassan is still at d post despite being on ...

• Asempasa 9 years ago

That stupid Yamin should rather advice his government to retire the Oldman IGP and oldlady. Director General of prisons and. Stop giving contract to those due for retirement

• ugly akufo addo 9 years ago

he is now 74yrs

• BSP 9 years ago

Prez Mahama is worst offender. Count the numbers of hangers' on in the security services and you will be stricken dead.

• debango 9 years ago

There he goes again.his pockets are drying up,so he's started with his stupid talk,so as to be rewarded.tell us,what percentage of university students graduate every year,and what is the same of peoplewho are suppose to retir ...

• Kofi Kofi Go. 9 years ago

You don't know what you are talking about come to USA retirement age is 65, and above but there is still jobs for the people. People volunteering to work after that astonishing age because there's job.

• Kwamivi 9 years ago

Nice one but the NDC must first set example for others to follow, that is the ask Ametor Kwame, the IGP Mr. Alhasan and other political appointees in the civil and public service for us the youth to get something doing too

• kojo 9 years ago

Giz has such employees.

• kojo 9 years ago

To some extent it is true. For instance German development cooperation (giz) has such situation. Especially there is an elderly expat woman almost 70 years of age still working at the giz airport office.

• asuoba 9 years ago

Stupid bastard.Don't know those who feature these mpepefo on their programes.
    Go back to learn, foolish man

• Liars! 9 years ago

You and your visionless government create problems and turn around to blame others. The current IGP was supposed to have handed over, two or three years ago to create opportunity for another COP. That would also have created ...

• GBEWAA 9 years ago

HE OBVIOUSLY WANTS OTHERS TO BE KICKED OUT FOR HIM TO GET ANOTHER JOB.

THE VERY FIRST DAY I SAW THE PICTURE OF THIS GUY, I KNEW HE WAS CORRUPT, AND THE EVIDENCE IS THERE FOR ALL TO SEE.

WITHIN A SHORT SPACE OF TIME, HE' ...

• Carol 9 years ago

Another loose talker! What statistics have you got, what percentage of old people are still at their jobs so as to take jobs of the younger people. What policies has govt put in place to help, apprenticeships, etc.
    Please f ...

• Auspi 9 years ago

How can the aged working to feed their families cause unemployment among graduates. What is you statistics to back your idiotic statement.

• Mawuli 9 years ago

Please, you don't need statistic for obvious observations all over in our public sectors. If you like, we can take just a region where we will go from office to office and look for these aged workers.
    They are still feeding ...

• PROFESSOR ASHAWO!! 9 years ago

GOOD

• jak 9 years ago

It might be true.We wish we will never grow old. But when one retires how much is given as retirement benefits. Tell the government if retirement benefits are mouth watery a lot would like to retire voluntarily or before they ...

• Yussif Fuseini 9 years ago

Empty pride,it took him too long to know his real size, one time he became noted for misbehavior towards a police commander that saw the immediate tranfare of the said officer.He again log horns with Elvis at the sports minis ...

• Mensah 9 years ago

How did this fool become a Minister?

• Ebola Mahama 9 years ago

Look at the mindset of People who are supposed to be Leaders in Society.We heard this rubbish during the so-called Rawlings Revolution.This is PNDC/NDC for you.Nothing to contribute to building society apart from stealing.Is ...

• odensi 9 years ago

Don't talk like 1952 politician.Remember u too will get old.Do not discriminate old folks
    Keep ur policies together and provide jobs in the country and stop this BUSHIT
    Even old working is causing headache what about if go ...

Jobs are not being created (except of course at the office of the president). Even if everyone retires at 50, the recycled jobs alone cannot sustain the the ever increasing youth being churned out of our schools each year. We ...

• ROGUE LAWYER 9 years ago

The best way of solving this and corruptions at the government institutions is that ,all the workers must be placed under two years work contract which had to be renew in every year on merits of Performance.
    by so doing y ...

• AMA 9 years ago

Yes, Mr Yammin you are right. I know of a district director of health in Northern region who confessed that he/she is 66 years, who doesn't even come to work and performance is nothing to right home about. Just stealing money

• Pilly-K 9 years ago

in fact, there are hundreds of lecturers in our public universities still at post; they claim there are no persons to replace them should they go on pension according to the law. Let me tell you. there is no course in our uni ...

• J.Davis 9 years ago

YOU ARE LYING,DON'T BLAME THE UNEMPLOYMENT ON THE ELDERLY,AND STOP THROWING JABS AT KWABENA AGYAPONG ABOUT FUFU BECAUSE HE IS MY FRIEND.

• Joy 9 years ago

Brainless

• Oluwa 9 years ago

Yes, you can insult him but he says the truth.

• Hokor Emmanuel 9 years ago

oh my God why hv we refuse to think in this country politics has eaten into our brain dat we cant reason well again.dis man has spoken well analyze what de man is saying.currently I applied for a job they demand five-years wo ...

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 9 years ago

Emmanuel, the unemployment issue cannot be put on aged-experience workers who their employers are still keeping them. The main issue is job creation. If the government is to make it viable by giving tax break and other incen ...

• YTK 9 years ago

It is thieves and corruption at post that is destroying every institution since 1966.

• Jack 9 years ago

You are aging too

• Odwanfunu Mahama 9 years ago

Why can't Gh Journalists ask intelligent questions? No wonder politicians don't respect them

• james geh 9 years ago

God bless u

• NANA BONSU 9 years ago

The vacancies created by retiring "Aged at post" will still be a drop in the bucket. The real solution is removing a lot of restraints put on Businesses, granting tax incentives and encouraging the real growth of business rat ...

• Klinker 9 years ago

I would have smear your lips with shearbutter if you were near me Yamin. The old men and women in the ministries an departments have understated their ages so much that there is no way they can go on retirement so that their ...