You are here: HomeNews2015 05 08Article 357393

Electricity price to shoot up

Read Comments Comments (108)

• USMAN 9 years ago

If you want to know those behind the killing of the Afro Americans in Akosombo then read this. According to the story" The two who are leaders of the African American community in Akwamu were recently accused by the Chieftain ...

• Zipcode 9 years ago

The irony of Mahama's govt inability to find a permanent solution to end the dumsor is simple. They are not sure what the 2016 election holds in store for them in case they don't win, therefore spending money to tackle this p ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 9 years ago

AUTHOR: MAHMOUD-----
    Mr. Mahama is exactly one of the visionless African leaders that have always been accused of misplacing their priorities. Does the NDC government think, despite the massive corruption, they can borrow re ...

• BlindMan 9 years ago

The increase is long overdue; it will help 'power' users to turn off the light when not needed, such as leaving televisions on 24*7, bedroom lights left on when not needed, especially in the afternoon when the sun's brightes ...

• Loway 9 years ago

If light or no light you can see,so you're okay

• Owu, Philly. 9 years ago

Very pathetic story.

• Marcus Chris Lawson 9 years ago

This is just incredulous and unbelievable..If the power had improved ,stable and consistent , there may be some reasonableness in this thoughtlessness.. I bet you Ghana must say No for once and be counted. May 15 is almost he ...

• Hasan Rasta 9 years ago

Go and solve the problem with the light and stop talking sheet

• Nana Kofi, Stadium Kumasi 9 years ago

My dear Usman,u do not know what tomorrow holds for u.Never make such a comment on a disability person No matter how hurt u may find urself.Thanx.

• Yussif Fuseini 9 years ago

This minister is brain dead, even if you increase there's no power for people to consume the units they buy. Now it last longer than it should because we go off 24 hours or more, I am now convinced this man is incompetent and ...

• Nsemfoo 9 years ago

Kwasia get prepared to step down Jan.2016 is just around the corner,Ndc thieves

• GBEWAA 9 years ago

KWASIA DONKOR!!

DUMMY, HOW DO YOU INCREASE THE TARIFFS OF A SERVICE YOU HARDLY PROVIDE?

THIS IS NAKED ROBBERY AND EXPLOITATION!

DUE TO THE MASSIVE LOSS OF REVENUES ARISING FROM ELECTRICITY SUPPLY SHORTFALLS, THESE C ...

• truth stands 9 years ago

Gov't must pay all that they owe all utilities first before they consider any increases. Any future tariff increases will make ghanaian products uncompetetive.

• Kwame Peter 9 years ago

what improvement have we seen in dumsor since you promised to improve the situation in the last six months? As a people we see no amelioration in this regard. Please let us experience some improvement before you talk about ne ...

• ugly akufo addo 9 years ago

we are the decendants of northeners bt the true ashantis are ugly n short n we the current ashantis are tall n handsome

• USMAN 9 years ago

If Dr Danaa, who holds a PhD, could think this way then university education is useless in Ghana. If people of his caliber are leading Ghanaians then, I am afraid, we shall soon fall into a ditch.
    Who asked Dr Danaa to take ...

• Douglas. Bristol-UK` 9 years ago

usman u are a pig

• USMAN 9 years ago

Mahama(a Gonja) is following the prescriptions of OIC.You remember a Muslim MP from Gonjaland declared that adulterous women should be stoned to death. Again Boko Haram in Akyem terrorized Muslim women for buying food from Ch ...

• Gohey 9 years ago

If it is true that a mission house was burnt and Ghanaians kept mute on it then there is something wrong some where. We will tolerate that kind of Muslim foolishness. There will be no gate for isis

• United Ghana 9 years ago

Inaugurating board members of 3 VRA subsidiaries with, undoubtedly, NDC cronies. Wherever a board has been constituted under Mahama's govt, it's been filled with cronies, with the same result - corruption, incompetence, failu ...

• BUSH MEAT 9 years ago

Mr. minister, why are you calling for tallif adjustment.The president of the republic of Ghana has made it clear to Ghanaians that, the dumsor is not a financial but technical problem.Who is telling the truth.Your statement s ...

• Tamebubu 9 years ago

it amazes me what the Ayigbe people are voting for. The founder of the NDC party, Jerry John Rawlings from the Volta Region did not campaign or voted for NDC knowing very well they are greedy bastards. Then the whole Volta Re ...

• Kporku Jnr. 9 years ago

I have never considered this. We need to educate our people. This is unacceptable and a disgrace to the whole the region

• J. John 9 years ago

Sack all the Managers at VRA and ECG. Most do nothing and just raise their shoulders in the offices for their presence to be felt. Also Cut the use of company vehicles which most are used like private property.
    Also remove a ...

• Gohey 9 years ago

Be very careful of your words. After all you have to go back to history, the Ewes are not Ayigbes. We do not any name Ayi. The word is AYI refused
    You need to apologize for the "herd mentality"

• VICTOR CARRILLACE 9 years ago

GOD'S JUDGMENT BEGINS IN HIS OWN HOUSE - THE CHURCH. TARIFF ADJUSTMENT MUST SIMILARLY BEGIN WITH ECG - REDUCE THEIR MANAGERS' FAT SALARIES. THE MONIES SPUNGED OUT OF US IN PAST ADJUSTMENTS HAVE GONE INTO SUPPORTING STAFF SALA ...

• ELINAM 9 years ago

I've been saying this all the time that the rush to install pre-paid meters ahead of this dumsor was to make sure they have money in hand to use for FAT salaries.
    YOU GENERATE POWER, YOU SELL, YOU MAKE PROFIT AND THEN YOU P ...

• Tawiah 9 years ago

We need REVOLUTION in Ghana now! Define it as you wish but I stand by my comment that we need a serious revolution in Ghana #NOW!

• Jemima 9 years ago

Mr Power Minister...its Friday oooooo...no results of ur dumsor easing yet... dummy!

• Tawiah 9 years ago

We need REVOLUTION in Ghana now! Define it as you wish but I stand by my comment that we need a serious revolution in Ghana #NOW!

We nee that revolution to make things changes for once and for all.

• ELINAM 9 years ago

The OLD-SCHOOL Association MAFIAS in public places are using us as slaves supported by dead-on-arrival democracy.
    ECG,VRA,PURC are mafia organizations.
    The slaves need to revolt.

• Dan 9 years ago

Who do you expect to fund the Private Energy Projects that are going on the country? The country is broke period. If we don't have national planning on how toresove various issues like electricity, water, education , health, ...

• anna 9 years ago

Iiars inthe helm of affairs shame on u

• Nana 9 years ago

Why is the black man incompetent to manage his affairs.Dumsor in most parts of the continent , Go to GHana, Nigeria, Tanzania and latest addition South Africa on limited scale. We continue to elect leaders who loot our resour ...

• VOICE OF REASON 9 years ago

This is nothing short off daylight robbery.For how long are we going to sit down and watch this dumb buffoon of a president toil with our lives ?

• Kanawu 9 years ago

Mahama, sorry to tell you this: make money genuinely and enjoy but NOT at the expense of others sweat and suffering. You and your NDC party members have caused PAIN and the curse with it will run generation to generation.

• ibrahim 9 years ago

I thought you were brought on board to save the situation mr minister,so why do you have take salaries and tell us you will solve the problem in january you might as well leave the post now and come back in january.it is only ...

• Issah Abdul Mumin 9 years ago

Hahahahahahah. People are already crying about what u said u will fix and u are talking about increase. Increase tariffs indeed! Clueless regime, people with sharp teeths and thieves !

• VOICE OF REASON 9 years ago

It's one thing wasting $5billion of taxpayers money to become president and quite another having the brains and the vision to govern successfully.....as this dumb buffoon of a president has now realised to his chagrin !

• Kay 9 years ago

How many times has the govt refused to acknowledge that the situation in Ghana is crisis. You're now admitting that you're in a crisis situation.

• yaa asantewa 9 years ago

Dr Boy, we Ghananians aren't stupid as u may think. If ur Gov is in crisis u know what to do.Instead of going after people like Woyome Ablakwa Geeda thieves Afriyie ankra just to mention few to get our stolen money back you'r ...

• Owu, Philly. 9 years ago

Dumsor, dumsor is a national problem not NDC or NPP. During 2014 almost $1 billion was lost due to dumsor. It's almost 3 1/2 years. Besides companies with employees of over 500 and over, and also small scale like barbershops ...

• KWAME OSAFO ,ESSEX-U.K. 9 years ago

DID THIS SO-CALLED DOCTOR GO TO SCHOOL AT ALL.HE MUST BE INVESTIGATED TO CHECK THE CREDIBILITY OF HIS QUALIFICATION.
    HIS REASON TO INCREASE THE TARIFF IS TO PUT UP A BRAND NEW OFFICE FOR ECG. WHAT,S WRONG WITH HIS CURRENT OF ...

• KWAME OSAFO ,ESSEX-U.K. 9 years ago

WHO APPOINTED THIS RUBBISH DR.TO THIS POST.GO FOR DEBTS OWED YOU BY GOVT.TO SOLVE YOUR PROBLEMS.LOOKING AT HIS FACE AND LIPS ALONE SHOWS HOW IRRESPONSIBLE, CORRUPT AND CROOKED HE IS.LITTLE WONDER ECG ARE IN CRISIS IF PEOPLE L ...

• ekow 9 years ago

Hon,
    We wont pay so dont even bring that.you and all Ministers should reduce your salary and allowances to payfor the increament.we have paid a lot over the years and have not enjoyed anything

• ELINAM 9 years ago

They already got us by our balls through the rush to fix us with pre-paid meter. You pre-pay and they steal it and turn around and tell you it's because the mater is SMART to catch all your waste.
    But how could you waste DUM ...

• karl 9 years ago

Hmmmmm this govt must go nothing beta to offer Ghanaians everyday creating new headache we are tired of u pple lets see 2016 silence NNF

• citizen 9 years ago

Oh Mother Ghana where are wise men you brought fought, God save us please.

• 7B 9 years ago

mahama is animal including all his followers. Filthy, savage, greedy, vampires, animals in volcanoes, evildoers, at brothels, mmoa = ndc

• Kobby 9 years ago

Initially, u did not accept when we said we were in a crisis. U said it was a challenge. Now here u are.

I am not amused my comments are being deleted or not being allowed to see daylight. Or is the Dum affecting it too ?

• Rashid Agwedicham 9 years ago

Is there no any other way except price increases as a solution? This is unacceptable. Cut your own salaries and benefits, that's another way for consideration.

Why are you deleting my comments. Is it because they are too honest and spot join ?

• jt We see of them by2016. 9 years ago

Minister, the barrel leaks so telling us to fetch more or bring more water is a waist. The problem is that the monies would be stolen by the day.2 most you guys don't want to pay ur bills pushing everything on us.

• Jamie 9 years ago

Useless gov
    U people can do whatever you want
    Ghanaians are paying for something that is not even there. And didn't I heard the Prez saying its technical problem? So what would still be needing the money for? Arm robber gov

• Abongo 9 years ago

Yes that is the way forward. Ghanaians want everything for free. Yvonne can pay for the Ghanaians she was speaking for

• Ei Ghana 9 years ago

see you. there's nothing free in Ghana.

• Abongo 9 years ago

Oh yes, you want energy you pay for it

• FURGOSON, BLAKE 9 years ago

THIS FUCKING MAHAMAH GOVT. CARELESS ABOUT HOW THE ORDINARY GHANAIANAS CAN SURVIVE THE HARDSHIPS THIS USELESS GOVT. HAS BROUGHT. NO LIGHT AND UNTOP OF THAT SHIT, YOU IDIOT IS TELLING GHANAIANS ELECTRICITY PRICES WILL GO UP. A ...

• Civilized Eagle! !! 9 years ago

Folks be Civil and pls minimize Personal Insults to our Leaders .

• cashflow 9 years ago

If you were responsible you need not to tell ghanaians before executing your duties.if you are doing well you would be judged ghanaians and not your empty assurance.

• man made. 9 years ago

Simple: in ghana here we hav no leaders, only rulers, rulers don't have sympathy for their subjects, and that is what's going on in the country.

• Abongo 9 years ago

Yvonne the Ashawo woman, be ready to pay for the Ghanaians you were shouting for

• Civilized Eagle! !! 9 years ago

OH NO!! ABONGO! You have been behaving in all your blogs why now???? PLS BE CIVIL. The Eagles can see you all the time.

• Ibn Abudu @CANADASHEABUTTER(GHUWR) 9 years ago

THE CONSEQUENCES OF THIS ADJUSTMENTS EVEN IF JUSTIFIABLE SHALL BE VERY RESENTFUL. NOT THE PROPER TIME TO IMPLEMENT SUCH A PAINFUL DECISION

• sam 9 years ago

Lee Ocran, Board Chairman of VRA, in his remarks, said, “It has become necessary to separate these operations so that the VRA can focus on its core business of electricity generation.”
    This is what some of us have been s ...

• Uzzah 9 years ago

Don't wait for 2016, sack yourself now because you have failed. All that you guys are interested in is the money so stop playing games with us.

• Jake 9 years ago

PEOPLE ON THE OLD SYSTEM ARE TAKING MONTHS TO PAY THEIR BILLS BECAUSE ECG IS SLEEPING.WHERE ARE YOUR METER READERS? CRYING FOR MONEY? WAKE UP !!!

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe ln Ghana! 9 years ago

Listen to that evil man what is he talking about? Nekwasea eboho ntaa! What does NDC takes Ghanaians for? Anyway, Ghanaians deserve that so they must go through.

• ABUBAA 9 years ago

MAHAMA WHAT U KNOW IS INCREASING THE PRICES. THREE YEARS WITHOUT INCREASING SALARIES EVEN U ONLY PAID FOR THREE MOUTHS. MAY GOD PUNISH U PAAAA

• Ghabay,NY 9 years ago

You've got to be kidding me!Ghanaians are being abused mercilessly,oh lord have mercy.What the hell is talking about,raising of tariffs on electricity ?Ain't this preposterous?I thought the president said the problem is not " ...

• J.Davis 9 years ago

THIS IS INSANE,INSTEAD OF COMPENSATING THE GENERAL PUBLIC FOR LACK OF CONTINUOUS POWER SUPPLY WHICH HAD RESULTED TO DEATH,LOSS OF JOBS,DAMAGED EQUIPMENTS,ETC,THE GOVERNMENT ONCE AGAIN IS ABOUT TO INSULT GHANAIANS BY INCREASIN ...

• Akwasi Nyame Adom 9 years ago

NPP fixed the energy crises before handing over to NDC in 2009.By the same year,oil has been discovered,Bui dam and other interventions has been put in place to improve the energy sector.That was why Ghana did not experience ...

• Kwame 9 years ago

God will punish all of you the corrupt leaders in Ghana.

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 9 years ago

WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU MEN? WHAT KIND OF A TECHNO-CRAT WILL ANNOUNCE INCREASE , AT THIS SORT OF TIME? DON'T YOU THINK? DOES THIS LOOK RIGHT TO YOU? INCREASE OK, BUT AT THIS TIME? YOU WANT THE PEOPLE TO REVOLT??///

• Nii 9 years ago

This government is absolutely fail. we have a lot of leakage on the system (electricity bill) you guys are still charging genuine ppl high bill.

• OMANNI 9 years ago

Project are going dead in Ghana due to IMF poses to Mahama ,if all this must be case to free secondary education where other option Mahama steer his false predictions,Mahama should resign.

• dead goat 9 years ago

why are you people now crying shut up and do all what they say.you wanted it this way so why cry.you know ndc not from today why do you fools keep on voting for them,its your own fault just shup up and pay.you can find all yo ...

• jojo 9 years ago

Didn't this idiot say he will resign if dumsor is not fix by June 2015! and without fixing or improving anything he wants to increase WHAT? I have giving Mahama the benefit of the doubt many times but more and more the admini ...

• kwaku obeng 9 years ago

Where is the Electricity for the price to go up. Kwasea ba kwasea

• agnes 9 years ago

luk@ ur spectacle? where is de tax payers moni? loot nd share government. // One prayer I hv for u nd yr corrupters is dat, God wil punish. u pples including. ur family.silly leaders.

• OH YES 9 years ago

To shoot up where? These guys have got jokes.
    There's too much jokes in this country. There's no seriousness.
    The Min. of Power in any serious jurisdiction should be resigning like already followed by the appointing gov't.

• Ei Ghana 9 years ago

I said it when this thing started that It's a crises but this people were playing jokes with dumsor stealing money's here and there Geeda, Sada, Subah, Isofoton, Woyome, Brazil 2014, etc. Oyiwa!! 3na 3dah) no!!!

• gene 9 years ago

but mr minister today be friday we hav not seen any improvement as u promise

• man 9 years ago

kwasia aboafunu donkor

• ADAMU 9 years ago

How can you raise the price of a service you have not rendered? Is the NDC administration borrowing money from the public or extracting money from them by force? This is robbery!

• jojo 9 years ago

the first administration in Ghana to have oil money and we are worst of than any other government in Ghana's history. If anybody vote for them (NDC) in 2016 they will be the dumbest people ever or probably because they are di ...

• kasanga 9 years ago

He simply doesn't care a hoot.

• Loway 9 years ago

No solutions,what a weak Nation

• the truth 9 years ago

The EGG should try to disconnect all the inlegal connection at old Achimota

• kill me 9 years ago

Time to chop our money right? una lie bad we gonna protest for this till thy kingdom come .

• ugly akufo addo 9 years ago

his brain is very weak

• Nii Anyetei Blofobii 9 years ago

Cut down on the Board members. Cut down the emoluments; cut down the fringe benefits; cut down the freebies; and leave the people alone. We are suffering enough.

• Samuel Nutakor 9 years ago

I don't think Mahama was chosen by God to lead this country. all his doings show shows he is devil incarnate.

• bismark 9 years ago

What does he mean by emotions when the facts are being given.

• Ei Ghana 9 years ago

Mr President, your people are boiling day by day because of all the nonsense that's going on. Very soon the people will decide your faith

• Whatever 9 years ago

Which portion of Daily Guide's own story points to that claim?

• Kwame 9 years ago

This makes no sense...you can't deliver electricity but we are increasing thr price of power charged to the consumer. Oh but we are also rationing power.... CRAZY is All I can say!!!

• Yiddana 9 years ago

Honorable, this is a very bad business move and poor customer service.Regardless of the sectors fiscal challenges, Ghanaians have suffered a lot for the last 3 years due your inefficiency, to punish them with price hicks is a ...

• SON OF MAN 9 years ago

SINC YOU TOOK OFFICE, WE HAVE EXPERIENCED NO IMPROVEMENT FROM YOU .
    IS INCREMENT IN THE PRICE OF ELECTRICITY ONE OF YOUR SOLUTIONS THEN ?
    DON'T HIDE BEHIND PRICE INCREMNET AND USE IT AS AN EXCUSE FOR NON PERFORMANCE. COME ...

• jojo 9 years ago

I say every one in Ghana stop paying their electricity bills in protest to the mediocre service from ECG and the governments shameful extortion of the citizenry by increasing tariff every time without actually providing any s ...

• komfo 9 years ago

Very stupid statement from a Doctor of what profession?A service that is currently in crisis?
    NDC should start preparing their handing over notes.

• oh Ghana 9 years ago

What a shame, MP's have no respect or concern for the average citizen. I pray for the people of Ghana.

• yamo 9 years ago

Of course the rates of electricity are on the rise, that is what dumsor is all about, NDC money grab. Its election time, NDC wants money to campaign. The only reason for dumsor is to make the citizens miserable so they will n ...

• TEE 9 years ago

PERIOD

• TEE 9 years ago

NDC THIEVES STEP DOWN NTANI MAHAMA

• ANDY K-KUMASI 9 years ago

This government with yentie obiaa tune now the support of the general public? its too bad of them when some expect predicted the outcome of their create, loot and share attitude but remained adamat and wants help? God help us ...

• Jetmoney 9 years ago

We can't even get light and the small light we get, we still need to pay our neck for it... What a wow government ????