You are here: HomeNews2015 05 03Article 356770

No show at Aboakyer festival

Read Comments Comments (38)

• Kwame Atinga 9 years ago

I think someone has decided to play a Kwaku Ananse "All-for-Me", and decided to steal the deer all for himself and family.

The Chief should order his Asafo's to go into everyhouse and kitchen in tyhe neighborhood to find o ...

• Abdul 9 years ago

No, the King should have settled the differences between his subjects before the festival.

• BBCy 9 years ago

Why continue this cruelty to animal durber..its pathetic.l hope all those dumbers are abolish.

• abena-kwabena 9 years ago

As the days get brighter and people become more civilized, there would be no young men to carry on the tradition. I think the culture must evolve and get better, not to be at stand still, it would stink like standing water.

• DEAD GOAT MAHAMA!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

ONLY FOOLS AND WITCHES ADORE THE STINKING DEAD GOAT ON THE SEAT!!!! GHANAIANS MUST WAKE UP FROM THEIR STUPIDITY AND THROW AWAY THIS STINKING DEAD GOAT MAHAMA!!!!!!!!!!

• Obed Adore 9 years ago

What has the festival go to do with President Mahama?

• Twum Barimah 9 years ago

Massa, as for this one, we need it. Landlords can build KVIP if the water closet won't work for lack of water. Fact is, the landlords would rather rent even the space that would be used for a toilet. Togo has been able to enf ...

• Twum Barimah 9 years ago

No, your rudeness is shocking! You will never have a personality like Mahama in your family up to the judgment Day. You have insulted all Ghanaians if you don't know. I am deeply hurt and mortified by your comment.

• ATWOMOH 9 years ago

At this day and age when scientific research is the backdrop of human development, certain species of humans never want to shun the lifestyle of the neanderthal age!
    In the name of their uncouth and unintelligent culture, t ...

• ELINAM 9 years ago

Science has its root word in a Greek word meaning knowledge of nature. And if you throw away all your rituals and culture and think you gonna achieve some scientific break through, you're day dreaming.
    NO WONDER GHANAINS OF ...

• Abdul 9 years ago

But you're not smart enough to know that not all Ghanaians believe in those rituals. Some are in colleges and Universities studying. In the US and Europe you find people who try to maintain their culture. Indian in the US st ...

• mother's child 9 years ago

I hope you taake the same explanations to the Chinese, the Koreans and the Chinese. The Spanish bull fight and bull chase etc. Please be careful of just following for following sake

• Human Life 9 years ago

I DO NOT ABHOR ANY SUCH PRACTICE BUT IT IS STRANGE THAT WE HAVE NOT EXAMINED OUR PRACTICES OVER THE YEARS TO MAKE PRAGMATIC DECISIONS.'...THE UNEXAMINED LIFE IS NOT WORTH LIVING.'

• JH.New York 9 years ago

Atowmoh. you don't know what you talk about !. New York City is the most diverse Society in the World.Each year
    people well represented here -(numbers)celebrate their Cultures,if any.you can be sure,it's well advertised and ...

• Akristosom Yewagadril 9 years ago

Tell them JH.They have been soooo brain washed that, they do not even like their own cultural names but will use names from cultures they do not understand. The educated are the most........

• JOHN DEERE 9 years ago

JH and Akristosom, you are fools.

Those people you're talking about don't waste their whole days, weeks and lives on Halloween and all that.

They do it for fun, for recreation because during the rest of the year, they'r ...

• JH.New York 9 years ago

Atowmoh. you don't know what you talk about !. New York City is the most diverse Society in the World.Each year
    people well represented here -(numbers)celebrate their Cultures,if any.you can be sure,it's well advertised and ...

• BOFROT 9 years ago

THANK YOU, ATWOMOH.

IF THE FOOLS THINK KILLING HARMLESS ANIMALS AND MOCKING THEIR CARCASSES IN FRONT OF "WISE" MEN, THE SO-CALLED CHIEFS, WILL BRING THEM PEACE AND DEVELOPMENT, THEN WHY THE NEVER-ENDING LAND AND CHIEFTAINC ...

• Nwakwo Simons 9 years ago

"The first deer to be brought to the durbar ground is used for rituals believed to bring peaceful and rapid development to the traditional area." Let these people tell me if these sacrifices has brought any real development ...

• 08 9 years ago

They are still living in their rotten stinking garbage conditions

• mother's child 9 years ago

I agree. They should the politicians and local government officials and their children they sweated to send to school

• Amuzu 9 years ago

what is "development"? Please grow up and do not use words you cannot explain - look at the brutal art of boxing and wrestling and see the hordes of people and the media splash about its "development". White people travel to ...

• J. D Mahama 9 years ago

Rapid development really? And what kind of development are they talking about if not those initiated by the government of ghana. What has the town and community done to develop Winneba through this annual rituals that we do ...

• HON MARTINS 9 years ago

Nothing seems to work better under jdm.The chief wanted to do cheap politics for jdm whose government has not done anything better in de C/R.NDC will smell pepper come 2016 in de Central Region.NDC has deceived us for long bu ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 9 years ago

A female reporter, interviewing an American Indian chief, asked the significance of the varied number of feathers in Indian headdresses.

“Feathers show number of sexual partners,” the chief replied.

Indicating a n ...

• palmwine seller 9 years ago

I like that princewilly give us moreThe dogs in Ghana called politicians are everywhere in their expensive landcruisers so u know what time it is boy

• Ghanaman THE REAL 9 years ago

Only dialogue can bring peace to the area and not a dead deer! How many dears have been sacrificed over the years so why is the area still undeveloped? It's only for entertainment so just go out and have a ball and ignore all ...

• GoodMan 9 years ago

The celebration of Aboakyer should be suspended until a lasting solution is reached.The people of Winneba keeps on embarrasing us at this modern day of technology.

• Hovah 9 years ago

This used to be our party time back in the early 90s going to Winnesec. I missed those days

• Nii Joromi 9 years ago

No civilized community will catch an endangered species in the bush, kill it and wait for peace and development. Some of these practices are so backward I wonder when someone with enough brains will say enough is enough and t ...

• Akos 9 years ago

Dead goat government and dead deer Afahye. All dead. Nothing and I repeat nothing will work for dead goat dumsor dramani mahama pepeni nicknamed president of Ghana by a brainless group calling themselves NDC

• Osofo 9 years ago

The GNA reporter and his editor should go back to school.

• J. D Mahama 9 years ago

Why should they go back to school because they said life deer? Probably you need to be one that need further schooling. Life deer simply means a deer that was captured alive and not dead.

• kwaku-h-Netherlands 9 years ago

it should be 'live' NOT 'life'. One is a verb describing the state of the subject and another is a substantive(life), so you can not say life animal! Hope you take the corrections in good faith! Ghanaian journalists are nothi ...

• P Otu 9 years ago

Instead of spewing those words you lots must read about the festival than get deceived by the GNA story. Where was the chief when the Asafo companies brought the the live deer? Why did both Asafo companies send the live dear ...

• Mercy Mensah 9 years ago

Effutus should make peace in chieftaincy in order to have a successful festival

• 3x 9 years ago

Conflict resolutions should be one of the first tutorials would to be chief need to be train in. They lack this simple aspect hence there is problems because each one wants to show that he is powerful. As a result we have foo ...

• Morgan 9 years ago

The Dentsifo (Asafo No.2) did bring their catch to the durbar grounds before the Regional Minister and the elders left the Zion park.