You are here: HomeNews2015 05 02Article 356679

WB mobilizes $60m financing for electricity in Ghana

Read Comments Comments (29)

• Pumpuni 9 years ago

General News of Friday, 1 May 2015
    Source: Starrfmonline.com
    ‘Dumsor’ will soon be “bad nightmare” of the past – Mahama
    President John Mahama has given the strongest indication once again that the worsening power ...

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

LOOK, Voting for Nana Akanfuo Binaddo Buhari and his UP/NPP , is just like endorsing their tribal and xenophobic LEADERS such as Kennedy Agyapong kill Ga's / Ewe's, Victor Owusu inward looking people, Nana Binaddo Buhari All ...

• USMAN 9 years ago

Mahama(a Gonja) is following the prescriptions of OIC.You remember an MP from Gonjaland declared that adulterous women should be stoned to death. Again Boko Haram in Akyem terrorized Muslim women for buying food from Christia ...

• Abongo 9 years ago

What has your comment got to do with the topic been discussed Mr. Ashanti monkey

• Kofi, USA. 9 years ago

BBC NEWS, YOU ARE REALLY SMART AND BRAVO TO THE GOOD WORK. GOD BLESS YOU AND YOUR GENERATION JUST AS HE BLESS ABRAHAM. LET US MAKE SURE THAT THE PEOPLE OF GHANA EXPECIALLY YOUNG ONES KNOW MUCH ABOUT THESE NPP GANG OF NATION ...

• Kwaku A. Danso 9 years ago

Why can't some Ghanaiains take our problems serious and for once stop thinking tribal and /or partisan politics. For God's sake, whoever is ruling you is not delivering - let's learn to think together on our common problems n ...

• AMARIYA 9 years ago

Shame unto Mahama and his government, now paying 2 guys to defend his government tooth and nail. The NDC propagandists have extended their area of operation to 'COMMENT or POST' on Ghanaweb.
    This dirty government even pays ...

• GBEWAA 9 years ago

SO GHANAIAN LEADERS CANNOT UNDERTAKE ANY NATIONAL PROJECT WITHOUT RECOURSE TO IMF AND OTHER EXTERNAL AID?

BUT GHANA HAS PLENTY OF MONEY TO PAY JUDGMENT DEBTS AND END OF "SERVICE" BENEFITS EVERY FOUR (4) YEARS TO 275 REDUND ...

• PAPSON 9 years ago

A corrupt berger country like Ghana can hardly succeed. All our leaders can do is to set in Accra for donor countries give us money. You must be ashamed of yourselves.
    I hope you are not is going to pay for the ...

• Create,loot and share 9 years ago

This money will end up in private accounts while we still sleep in darkness.

• Abongo 9 years ago

But your Kufuor said corruption is from Adam and Eve idiot

Why don't some of you stop this political blame game.
    Enforce the laws and arrest and prosecute corruption. Noting to do with NDC or NPP, Mahama or Kufuor!

• goodluck 9 years ago

All politicians are thieves. .but other thieves are clever than others...kuffour is very clever. Mahama hmmmmm yawah

• Y B 9 years ago

CLEANSHIELD, Amazing health product for everyone, All Natural Alkaline supplement from US specially and scientifically designed to clean inner Ocean clear stomach toxins, as well as unwonted substances in the body like virus ...

Is the WB promising to ensure that these funds are used as promised?
    Loans for Water Projects taken in 2005-2006 for Water projects were never utilized for water and that was a total of $603 million from the World Bank.

• akwodaa 9 years ago

You should all be aware that other citizens could take months to be paid theirs but our MPs often get theirs as they finish their term...never late!! Why is every inclined person fighting to be an MP in their respective parti ...

• Kwame 9 years ago

DUMSOR is live in Ghana, why do you give ECG $60million loan to streamline metering and billing??? What are you billing? The people live in darkness...WHAT A JOKE???

• Kwame 9 years ago

Why is Ghana's leader? Why have they lived in darkness for 10 years and there is no end in sight???

• ICE 9 years ago

I hope they are not going to take it back by telling us to supply power to other nations.

• USMAN 9 years ago

WB mobilizing money for Mahama to waste.

• Abongo 9 years ago

You commenting with your anus and not your brains

• Abrantie 9 years ago

Please Abongo and Co can you stop your foolishness and comment on the issue at stake? What proof can you give us that this WB loan will be used to generate electricity to end this Dumsor.

• YIKRA 9 years ago

$60mill is noting money for a rich country like Ghana. This is peanuts.

ECG must not be sold like Ghana Telecom.

No more deception and bribery and looting.

• Papa 9 years ago

Tweaa. Even this one Mahama and his Corrupt Devil's Congress will sqander it. Useless president

• With no tangible objective for the fu 9 years ago

The future generation of Ghana would have no business repaying the useless loans being given to Ghana by the IMF, the World Bank and their affiliates. These institutions are recklessly granting loans without monitoring their ...

• Gabby 9 years ago

What if Kufour said corruption is from Adam and Eve. Does it means that there should be corruption every where that no one must be prosecuted for this shameful acts? Stop your propaganda and stick to the issue. We need power ...

• try and see solutions to dumsocitizen 9 years ago

Y this huge amount without solution to dumso which we can get gud willing devoted technical men in Ghana from any source of institute to help mother Ghana from unemployment system with atom of judgement debt...

One wonders if the World Bank officials themselves are honest financiers or not. The electricity problem has been so since 2004 and hundreds of millions of dollars in loans have gone into this and the situation is getting wor ...

• Akatsi 9 years ago

I have to question the point of this. Mahama will only squander the money. The amount they gave in 2010 was not properly utilised and WB did not even monitor it. These guys re getting as bad as each other causing the country ...