Okoe Vanderpuije adjudged Best African Mayor

Read Comments Comments (93)

• Calculus 9 years ago

Congratulation

• Ben 9 years ago

He's only lobbying to stay in power.

• Raila Odinga 9 years ago

Get the sanitary inspector system going. Too many people in Accra . My hometown is choking with dirt because of overcrowding.

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi must go! 9 years ago

Accra is dirty,.dusty,.smelly, no reliable drainage systems or trash hauling and lacks modern urban planning and development

• J0eY LOnD0N 9 years ago

Nonsense even Peckham is dirty!

• Close Observer 9 years ago

What kind of nonsense is this? Okoe has won what? If the state Accra finds itself and how it is managed can contest and win anything, then Africa is hopeless.

• ELINAM 9 years ago

Huh?
    My bola is still not picked and I buy high priced portable water every month as there's no water in my residential Awoshie.
    DO I DESERVE BETTER?

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi must go! 9 years ago

To appease xenophobia attacks....

• ROMANO 9 years ago

MAJORITY OF ASHANTIS AND OTHER GHANAIAN TRIBES THAT COMES TO NORTH AMERICA TRIES TO EDUCATE THEM SELVES AND ENJOYS LIFE TO THE FULLEST AND PRODUCE INTELLIGENT CHILDREN WITH THE EXCEPTION OF U WHO HAVE DELIBERATELLY REFUSED TO ...

• ROMANO 9 years ago

WITH NO PILLOW RATHER.

• JOHN MAHAMA IS A THIEF 9 years ago

Romano, my home boy, your English stinks....

• ROMANO 9 years ago

I'M NOT AN ENGLISH MAN BUT I TRY MY BEST FOR AN IDIOT LIKE U TO AT LEAST TO UNDERSTAND WHAT I TRY TO WRITE. TOO BAD U CAN'T READ ITALIAN. U COWARD STUPID ASS SAINT GHFUO CALLING UR SELF JOHN MAHAMA. I'M GOING TO KEEP EXPOSING ...

Just leave that kokain pusher an I wana be in hell communicator!

• ROMANO 9 years ago

THAT GUY IS USELESS AND DOES NOT WORTH $0.0008. VERY STUPID INDEED.

• NDC Diasporean 9 years ago

I have been to Cape town 5 times....returned only 3 months ago. Cape Town compares to New York City. Accra winning over Cape Town, tweeeaaahhhhh
    It is like saying Nima beats East Legon in sanitation and town planning

• JOHN MAHAMA IS A THIEF 9 years ago

HOW CAN YOU LOOK AT THE POOR STATE OF ACCRA AND ELECT ITS MAYOR WINNER? WHAT WAS THOSE ELECTORS SMOKING?

• ROMANO 9 years ago

SMOKING AND SNIFFING THE SAMETHING U HAVE BEEN SMOKING. COWARD LIKE U

• Constructivist 9 years ago

Standards are really low in our part of the world (Africa). How can the mayor of a filthy Accra be the best in Africa?

• HUMANISM 9 years ago

IT'S ALL NDC !!!
    THE NDC TELLS YOU, MAHAMA IS THE BEST PRESIDENT GHANA HAS EVER HAD.

GO FIGURE !!!
    AS FAR AS D NDC IS CONCERNED, DUMSOR WAS TEMPORAL; DUMSOR HAS ENDED; DUMSOR HAS NEVER BEEN D REASON WHY BUSINESSES ARE L ...

• Omanbapa 9 years ago

Best African Mayor? What were the criterion? Fellow Africans, let's get serious.

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 9 years ago

Did they mention ROAD SAFETY as being one of the achievement in Accra?

Breaking their big lazy jaws!

• Oblitey 9 years ago

How can anybody take this awam award serious? Award by a dictator?

• Nana Kasapreko III 9 years ago

Surely there must be a mistake about this award and whatever system they applied to arrive at a winner.

Accra beat Cape Town? Its like saying Agbogbloshie beat East Legon in a community contest in Accra.

Likewise, I hav ...

• zoey 9 years ago

Okoe Vanderpuije, a USA trained professional has managed to turn Accra into a Cholera infested city. Congratulations Dr A. O.Vanderpuije you are a disgrace to all the Gas.

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 9 years ago

I wonder whether this statement is not referring to the mayor of Accra. Surely not the MCE of Accra where mountains of rubbish are getting higher than Mount Afadjato. What a sick joke.

• truth 9 years ago

Award of dirt. Accra is full of garbage

• True Talk 9 years ago

Accra is blessed to have a visionary mayor. Despite all the limitations in Ghana today, caused by a self serving government, Accra is the number one city of West Africa. Congratulations Mayor.

• Ashanti man 9 years ago

CONGRATULATIONS,MAYOR.Haters will ways be around.

• Chief amankwa 9 years ago

Mayor are we suppose clap for un.
    Did u pay cash for it .
    If you won the award it means all the mayor in Africa are substandard to make u first .
    Ooh africa

• Chief amankwa 9 years ago

I will not use that as toilet paper

• ???? 9 years ago

Corruption in Angola is a pervasive phenomenon, hindering economic growth and government-sponsored liberalization programs.
    This the first sentence in wikipedia about Angola.No wonder they saw Vanderpuye fit for such a dodg ...

• Schemer 9 years ago

If Accra and for that matter its Mayor is adjudged the best city in Africa then the two other competing cities have completely been swallowed by filth. They must be sitting on a time bomb of an epidemic ready to explode soone ...

• Possible 9 years ago

Jealousy!!!!!! Jealousy!!!! Will not do any Good????

• USMAN 9 years ago

Wrong meat.

• Peacemaker 9 years ago

Envious NPP shakes anytime they hear of these awards.

• Okonore 9 years ago

Only Angola will bestow such an award on Oko Vaderpuije! Is the award for the open defecation in Accra or the mass cholera outbreak which killed thousands in the city or for the filth at Sodom & Gomorrah?

• ASHORKOR 9 years ago

OH Africa again.Tweaa what has Oko Vanderpuje done for Accra.Little minds

• kwame U S A 9 years ago

Congrats! Continue good work. Nana Addo will give you position in his government. Nana Addo the best.

• frankilo 9 years ago

akuffo addo himself wishes mahama appoints him as minister

• Robert 9 years ago

That is a good one. If you have the best you do not know until they are gone. God Bless Oko.

• Kwame Safo 9 years ago

Is today 1st May or 1st April?

• KWASI IN EUROPE 9 years ago

Accra is the dirtiest city in the world with no gutters anywhere and the mayor wins a prize? No wonder it was in Angola, one of the most corrupt countries in the world. The president's daughter is the richest woman in Africa.

• Brempong T A 9 years ago

Shit men ooo Africa how long shall we be faithful to ourselves n call shade a shade

• The Independent voice 9 years ago

Congratulation but if Accra is the number one city in Africa and the Mayor is number one as well then I am very afraid of the state of other cities in Africa and their Mayors.

• Adjabitiase 9 years ago

First NDC appointee to receive award abroad

• Bread and kokonte 9 years ago

Do you think the Ashantis and Akyems shall buy this since it was not one of their tribe men won the award, they are backwards people in Ghana

• patrick 9 years ago

If he has been given this does not mean he has done the best, but with the mess he came to meet at lest something has been done.

• OKOROMANSA 9 years ago

THEY DID NOT CHECK NIMA, CHORKOR, MALLAM AND BUKOM BEFORE MAKING OKOE THE WINNER. THIS CAN'T BE TRUUE ABOUT THIS CONTROVERSIAL MAYOR. IMAGGINE THE TRAFFIC, DUMSOR, THE FILTHY GUTTERS AND THE ODAWNA MENACE. BEST AFRICAN MAYOR ...

• sansan 9 years ago

We need more mayors of ur type but the article never said he is an honest man, Thieves

• Mensah 9 years ago

award in the name of a corrupt President whose daughter is a billionaire while ordinary Angolans are struggling in Western countries doing 3 cleaning jobs at a time to eke out a living; and Accra been adjudged for road safety ...

• kay 9 years ago

i wonder what at all is wrong with this ndc govt

• Sammy 9 years ago

Accra has also been selected as a sister city of Columbus Ohio after competing with a number of cities inAfrica. The Mayor of Columbus will soon be signing the necessary papers in Accra.

• A. Aziz Mohammed 9 years ago

Your dedication, enthusiasm and insight are really inspiring. I wish you many years of great achievements!

Am proud to be working under you.

Congratulation again.

Abdul-Aziz Mohammed
    (Expenditure Accountant, Okai ...

• Kay Bee 9 years ago

Aaaaappppppuuuuu toooooorrrrrrr. Useless award

• Abbey osu 9 years ago

Then as a matter of fact Africa in big problem.

• Ha ha ha 9 years ago

This says more about the state of African cities when the mayor of one of the dirtiest cities in the world can win an award. Ha ha ha

• Aminatu 9 years ago

Congrats boss! You're doin a great job.

• mahama 9 years ago

No wonder ndc

• amoah 9 years ago

is it some kind of a joke ?

• Jack Tillman. 9 years ago

Tweaaaaaa mayor. With all that garbage. Ghanaian's know better than that. He deserves most weakest mayor of the world.

• KL 9 years ago

Its a joke. Accra sticks!

• Curteous 9 years ago

Congrats.....your efforts are being rewarded. Thanks

• kojo 9 years ago

Thank you Accra mayor. God be with you

• Ebo 9 years ago

Am sure this one is May fool and not April fool, it is a lie how disgusting the mayor who gives commentary when his Vice President is clearing garbage in a gutter. Hahahahaha

• Kwadwo 9 years ago

Then Africa is very dirty; given the unprecedented stinck and filth where many people die as a result of cholera in Accra. I rest my case.

• Freeone 9 years ago

Africa is seriously in trouble if oko is the best amongst the crap

• solomon 9 years ago

interesting times giving such an award to the mayor of dirtiest city in africa where cholera is the order of the day is a shame.

• Paul Afoko 9 years ago

Ghanaians will run everybody down and yet when we went out there we are the best. We are only good at insulting our own people. Some has started calling it "awam" instead of praising him

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 9 years ago

To select Mr. Okoe Vanderpuije as the best African Mayor tells the world that the people on the panel did not know what they were in for. There is nothing in Accra and in Mr. Vanderpuije that will convince any sane person in ...

• Joe/TX 9 years ago

Congratulations. God bless you. I hate NDC, but you're one of those I love so much in the party.Elvis is stricken off my good books for his recent comments. Continue with the good works and make Accra clean. Please, please, p ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 9 years ago

Good job mayor. Follow this up by visiting Curutiba, Brazil with a delegation, and launching a major tree planting campaign in the city.

• Namiji 9 years ago

Useless award to a useless and heartless man.God will punish u for destroying my business n rendering me jobless

• Esi 9 years ago

An award given by one of the most corrupt and longest ruling African presidents is an achievement?

Why don't we ask the people of Accra whether their mayor deserves the award.

• BOKA 9 years ago

For beating and insulting people on the street? ho ghana

• Emmanuel Pogasty 9 years ago

Congratulation.But let every house in Accra get Toilet facility.Please

• What is on their minds? 9 years ago

Accra is perhaps the dirtiest city I have ever visited, and I have been all over the world. Such useless awards ignores sanitation, lack of it in a city which is the root cause of communicable and other diseases. It is sicken ...

• HUMANISM 9 years ago

IT'S ALL NDC !!!
    THE NDC TELLS YOU, MAHAMA IS THE BEST PRESIDENT GHANA HAS EVER HAD.

GO FIGURE !!!

• Obrefo 9 years ago

It was nothing but a competition to elect the chief thief. Oko is nothing but a tribal minded thief. Africa is a big joke. No wonder the rest of the world doesn't take us serious. If Ok, the fake DR is the best mayor in Afric ...

• Odjah 9 years ago

How can a BRUTE like this who adults drivers in public be ajuged the best Mayour in Africa.well well well this can only happen in AFRICA . SHAME

• hased 9 years ago

Please bring the vision of Korle Lagoon to live again and make it happen.

• Knii 9 years ago

this award would go down in history as the worse mistake ever made and may even qualify to be in theGuinness book of records.Okoe vanderpuije can never be Africa's best mayor.how? those who gave the award should just come to ...

• coolman 9 years ago

we need human zone in Makola market

• Yardman 9 years ago

The Bigger and Filthy the gutters and prevalent the Mosquitoes the More the Promotion. Where in Europe or Americas will a Mayor be promoted at the time when waste are not collected, Cholera is on the rise, Crime and SQUARTER ...

• Dee 9 years ago

And the comedy show continues, oh Africans when will we ever be honest with ourselves.
    Ah well the the prognosis is idiots in a fools paradise dishing out awards to the biggest and baddest Chimp.

• Kofi, USA. 9 years ago

CONGRATULATIONS

• Owura 9 years ago

Which ididots adjudged him the best? Goes to show why the whole of Africa is in shambles.

• David. Tantra. 9 years ago

Why all this obsession with awards??? They shall be known by their fruits.

• David. Tantra. 9 years ago

WHY ALL THIS OBSESSION WITH AWARDS? THEY SHALL BE KNOWN BY THEIR FRUITS!!

• Victor A. Young 9 years ago

Tweaaa! So this "buga-buga" mayor is trying to get people's attention. On what merit? It's funny. When the city is filled with filth bad odor; when people are being molested by the mayor's men, how can he become Africa's best ...

• Ghanaman THE REAL 9 years ago

How serious are we at all in Africa? Oko as best African Mayor?? I suppose, as the saying goes, in a place of blind people, the one eyed joker is King! Keep smiling folks!! There is hope yet!!!

• ugly akufo addo 9 years ago

continue working for JDM

• Kwame Safo 9 years ago

Like seriously?