You are here: HomeNews2015 04 28Article 356178

Mahama on Fighting Corruption: “I can’t be everywhere”

Read Comments Comments (57)

• Kwame Ata 9 years ago

..and through your officials, Ministers, Regional Ministers, DCEs etc you are Constitutionally obliged to be everywhere at everytime.

Unless you really don't know your job you wouldn't be saying this!

• HUMANISM 9 years ago

HE IS D FACILITATOR OF GARGANTUAN CORRUPTION IN D COUNTRY & A GARGANTUAN THIEF HIMSELF.

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi must go! 9 years ago

Assemble a team of anti corruption police. Pay them well.These can be made up of ghanaians and even foreigners. Let them go around and attempt.to bribe public officials, passport office employees, customs, border agents etc.. ...

• KOFI DEY 9 years ago

HE CAN'T STOP ANYONE FROM STEALING WHEN HE IS THE BIGGEST THIEF.... WITH HIS FAMILY AND FRIENDS

• ADWEN 9 years ago

JD MAHAMA said, "We destroy the moral fibre of this country". Yes, JOHN DRAMANI MAHAMA you've completely destroyed the moral fibre of socio-economy of Ghana.
    1. You refused to declare your assets due to your corrupt and frau ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 9 years ago

GHANA HAS BEEN RAPED BY NDC IDIOTS. WE DO NOT NEED ANY NATIONAL ECONOMIC FORUM, WE NEED A NATIONAL COURT OF JURISDICTION TO PUT MAHAMA AND HIS CABINET ON TRIAL. GHANA'S HOPELESS ECONOMIC SITUATION, TODAY, IS TOTALLY UNACCEPTA ...

• The 9 years ago

Mr Prez Mahama listen to your self again; "“I normally feel very sorry for you when you appear and you are being quizzed …and so one would think that after leaving that uncomfortable situation when you go back you will ta ...

• ATSU, HO 9 years ago

IF THE LEADER HIMSELF WILL NOT BE AN IMPOTER OF GOODS THAT ARE SOLD UNDERGROUND THE FOLLOWING CANNOT DO SAME. BECAUSE THOSE WHO SELL FOR THE LEADER WILL SURE ALSO DO THEIR OWN THING EMPOWERED BY WHAT THE LEADER HAS DONE.

• Azumah Issah 9 years ago

Why did the President ok SADA and GYEEDA cash to be used for NDC campaign-Big hypocrate!!!!!!!!

• OMANBA 9 years ago

Can thieves hold thieves to account?Those who are to hold the corrupt ones accountable are themselves corrupt.That is why corruption is endemic among public officers.Public servants are putting up mansions and live lifestyles ...

• kofi,london 9 years ago

Thief to catch thief?Walahi,never,never.Corruption in the public sevice is union government.It is 'chop make i chop'.

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi must go! 9 years ago

Cheese and rat. Who will win?

• True Talk 9 years ago

The fact that it is under his governance that a new word denoting corruption says it all. Kalabule in the 1970´s and now Kpakpakpa.

• Say the Truth 9 years ago

Is it NOT Manama and his NDC Government that attacked OCCUPY-GHANA when they demanded ACTION AGAINST ALL THAT WOULD BE INDICTED BY AUDITOR GENERAL on CORRUPTION????

• Ken Ntiamoa 9 years ago

"Kwame Nkrumah cannot division himself into twice. That is why he has disappointed me to stand in his legs to declare this library open. So, Library, O-P-E-N!!!!"

• JDiM 9 years ago

If the institutions are solid and managed by competent,qualified and experienced people Ghana will be corruption free.

• John,Tema 9 years ago

Institutions don't work in vacuum,they shd be strengthen.National Identification Numbers for everybody wld have been a good start,then registration of all properties,tax numbers for everybody etc.These things when fused toget ...

• Yebopower 9 years ago

Does any minister report to this Dramani guy? Does his ministers even account anything to him.It appears his ministers are in a free for all fight to grab the last guinea no pig.What a mess.?Is this the beginning of the end o ...

• ghananyi 9 years ago

My brother nobody is in charge of anything. Just steal and steal.its an open for all system.nobody can point accusing finger at anybody . Do what you please. Ku four come and see your Ghana in a helpless situation.

• 2016 9 years ago

In other words what Pres. John Dramani Mahama is trying to say is don't put all the corruption on me, let's spread the NDC gov't's corruption under my watch, around so the Chief Directors, Chief Executives and Chairpersons of ...

• JDiM 9 years ago

Mahama must remove the ,Atugubas,Ayarigas Kokovis,Amegas,Tsegas,Amegahohosand replace with REAL TALENTS instead of his cronies and gangsters

• Joe 9 years ago

Just leave us alone, Mahama. There has been so many corruption that has been reported you the president, especialy the "enkomfem" saga, National Service scheme and many others, yet nothing has been done about it. So do not t ...

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

This is obviously a horrible way of saying the kitchen is too hot. Mahama has never been interested in fighting corruption because e is the number one thief in the country. This is a president who can dispose a national asset ...

• Yaw Nantwi 9 years ago

We have been say that Ghana is overflowing with corruption but our President kept assuring us that he is fighting it and winning the battle. Do you remember how he kept wavering from defending his economic and energy policies ...

• Corruption Buster 9 years ago

Just listen to a corrupt president! How could you be everywhere, every time! We expect your authority to do the job, but you have lost it. If you think that the only way you could rule the country is to be everywhere, every t ...

• HAZOR 9 years ago

President Mahama you think you are fooling Ghanaians with your Kwaku Anansi wisdom and knowledge.President Mahama who do you think you deceiving by pretenting to fight corruption while at the same time you are endorging in fe ...

• COOL HEADS 9 years ago

JOHN MAHAMA is very dangerous indeed,,,,,,he allows his cronies like rlg to dupe the state and then turns around to throw dust into our eyes like we are kids or some buffoons.....john mahama will be voted out in 2016 and all ...

• Chief amankwa 9 years ago

Instead u hide them or reward them with better jobs ,,what do u mean
    And check yourself as well whiles u at it

• Nana Yaw 9 years ago

When you came to power some people were asked to proceed on leave. So I'm sure anyone at post now are those you trust and represent your ideology. We know it's not possible for a human being to be everywhere at the same time ...

• Kweaa DCE 9 years ago

But at least your at the Jubilee house. Stop the corruption and the overspending at the prsidency as well as the wanton staling of your cabinant. And top using the office of the president as the tresury for th NDC party. Maha ...

• BBC! NEWS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

No one has to be everywhere at the same time. You can influence any corner of Ghana with leadership by example!

• MAHAMA IS A THIEF 9 years ago

YOU THE PRESIDENT IS VERY CORRUPT SO YOU BEING EVERYWHERE WOULD HAVE RATHER BEEN WORSE. ONLY THIEVES TRUST YOU.

• Joe 9 years ago

This is what an incompetent leader will say. Sorry folks this country will sink if this Mahama man is not reshuffled

• H. Sokpa 9 years ago

Mahama's bemoaning reminds us of Kutu Acheampong's " ... I'm not God to cause rainfall." As a leader he is expected to have the clout to control and change things. In the opposition, the NDC strongly and rightly criticized th ...

• Gh 9 years ago

You can build a good system that will do the checks for you! Don't be stupid, act!

• GBEWAA 9 years ago

AT KOTOKA AIRPORT, AS IN EVERY PUBLIC BUILDING, AIRLINE STAFF AT THE BAGGAGE WEIGH-IN POINT ASK FOR MONEY FROM PASSENGERS LIKE BEGGARS BEGGING FOR ALMS.

EVERYONE IN GHANA IS EITHER A THIEF OR A BEGGAR FOR ALMS OR BRIBE.

• Asafo Agladza 9 years ago

Hmmmmmmm! But this is a common occurrence at the airport. Do these officials who knew very well that this behaviour of them tarnishes the image of the country yet they have no conscious that actually pricks them.
    The Preside ...

• DR. NKRUMAH 9 years ago

We all know that because of collusion amongst people, uprooting corruption in society has always been impossible.

Neither Man nor Government can fight corruption successful especially in Ghana.

The only way to do so the ...

• DAN 9 years ago

OBAMA HAS TO BE EVERYWHERE FOR USA TO WORK?? DAVID CAMERON HAS TO BE EVERYWHERE FOR THE UK SYSTEM TO WORK.

WHAT A STUPID STATEMENT FOR A PRESIDENT TO MAKE!! HOW NAIVE IS THAT

• Rule of law 9 years ago

TELL THE FINANCE MINISTRY TO STOP PAYING THE ARREARS OF TEACHERS POLITICALLY AND TRIBALISTICALLY LIKE THEY ARE DOING NOW. THE ARREARS OF TEACHERS WHO WERE PAID ONLY THREE MONTHS ARE NOW BEING PAID TRIBALISTICALLY. GOD WILL PU ...

• Ya Boahema 9 years ago

Hey Mr. President, we still remember your statement that you will create 150 millionaires from the north. How will you do this if not through corruption and stealing?

• pp 9 years ago

Foolish President, now you are crying you haven't see nothing yet.

• NANA USA 9 years ago

HOW CAN A CORRUPT MAN FIGHT CORRUPTION???

• mother's child 9 years ago

I agree with the president but he must also remeber the saying that When a fish is rotting it starts from the head.He must stare into the mirror and ask for forgiveness from ghanaians

• JH.New York 9 years ago

Mr President,you are embarrassment to the office of President !
    You don't speak like that.That sounds like either you're a kid(which y're not)
    or you're talking to Kids. No !
    So you don't have to be everywhere
    to stop Co ...

• ben 9 years ago

I sympathise with Mahama, but I think one important duty of the President who cannot be everywhere is to find a way of making his officers know that he is there watching their deals....I think Kuffuor did this very well even ...

• SON OF MAN 9 years ago

THEN QUIT OFFICE AND STOP BEING A SQUARE PEG IN A ROUND HOLE JOHN DRAMA.
    YOUR DAYS ARE NUMBERED.
    WASTED YEARS .

• BALLOT BOX 9 years ago

Of course Mahama can't fight corruption alone, when he is busily sealing his own deals.
    When the Late Atta Mills decided to look into it, before he could say jack, he was driven to a maternity ward for an alleged heart attac ...

• jagadu 9 years ago

Fool! Prosecute them. That's all you have to do. OMG! What a damn ass! This guy needs to go. He is an embarrassment. You are the fucking president.

• Lazy Ant 9 years ago

Mr. President, the problem I see is that you do not appoint people who can help you to be everywhere. You rather appointed friends, relatives, school mates etc friends of your wife, brothers etc who think they owe their appoi ...

• DR. NKRUMAH 9 years ago

We all know that because of collusion amongst people, uprooting corruption in society has always been impossible.

Neither Man nor Government can fight corruption successfully, especially in Ghana.

The only sure way to d ...

• Banza Yaro 9 years ago

What a pathetic answer from the President and Commander in Chief of Ghana. Can't be everywhere but can distribute funds to all corners of everywhere. Mr President, I'm sorry but I still respect you as my President. The fact ...

• Plasma Kote 9 years ago

Chop wherever you can......that has been the norm and it will continue.

It has never been stopped and who can stop it now....???????????????.

They are all in it TOGETHER.

• THE CITIZEN 9 years ago

SO PASS THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION BILL.

SO LET TRANSPARENCY START FROM YOUR OFFICE.

SO HAVE POLICIES IN PLACE THAT WILL BE EVERY WHERE.

• DENTERN 9 years ago

THIS WEAK AND FOOLISH PRESIDENT IS THE SAME GUY WHO EMPLOYS THOSE ACCUSED OF CORRUPTION INTO THE PRESIDENCY. HOW CAN YOU CONTROL CORRUPTION THIS WAY. SO FAR NO PUBLIC OFFICIAL CHARGED DWITH CORRUPTION HAS GONE TO JAIL OR DISM ...

• PLASMA KOTE 9 years ago

This is the problem !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Justman 9 years ago

WE KNOW PRESIDENT CAN'T BE EVERYWHERE AT THE SAME TIME BUT YOU CAN MAKE YOUR INFLUENCE FELT EVERYWHERE AT THE SAME TIME. SET GOOD EXAMPLES.BEWARE NEXT ELECTION NPP WILL DISMANTLE NDC WHEN THEY WIN THE 2016 ELECTION.YOU ARE TO ...