You are here: HomeNews2015 04 25Article 355905

World's happiest country report: Ghana ranks 114

Read Comments Comments (64)

• Peacemaker 9 years ago

Yet he is complaining.

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 9 years ago

With NPP busy spreading doom and gloom creating fear and panic, how can we have a happy population. So long as Nana is alive Ghana will never be a happy country.

Sorry folks! I am on my apio as usual!

• Prince 9 years ago

Mahama must go but Nana Addo is not alternative because he is desperate for the presidency . He has sold his inheritance in UK to support his camping and will use our money to regain the lost inheritance.

• BEN USA. 9 years ago

Then why don't you try your juju on him? Villager, trokosie man.

• Dennis Okyere 9 years ago

You're uncivilised and barbaric to describe Nana Addo as high on weed freely.You would be glad if Nana is your father or uncle,you peacemaker.

• Oristo 9 years ago

Where was Jamaica placed. It will be interesting to note,whether "ganga" is helping or not.

• GHANABA 9 years ago

I am eve surprised we beat Togo and co because Ghanaians will even feel unhappy in HEAVEN, the home of our CREATOR.Never happy, always complaining about others,etc,etc. Tu kwan ne ko hwe.

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

This is going to all the great NDC PARTY sympathizers, as we all knew the true History of UP / NPP and how they chased the founder of this nation (GHANA ) KWAME NKRUMAH with a Bombs throwing, we as NDC supporters must not in ...

• Close Observer 9 years ago

YOU DON'T WANT PEOPLE WHO HAVE PLANS TO BANK MILLIONS OF DOLLARS BEFORE THEY QUIT POLITICS TO LEAD YOU; they won't have time for you, they will be taking care of their own.
    NEITHER DO YOU WANT PEOPLE WHO WILL WEAR LADIES GAR ...

• mutala mohammed 9 years ago

FOOLISH person,you want to fight for n.d.c, while mahama & asiedu nketia has their childeren in dubai and canada, you are a very stupid backward uncivilized person, anyway i dont blame you because you are a fool, indeed AKAN ...

Gen Kotoka was a trokosi who overthrew Nkrumah and renamed the Accra Int Airport after him. He was a traitor and the father of NDC.

• Maxwell 9 years ago

Idiot! this is not about Akuffo Addo. Check the factors used for measuring happiness and if you are not 'half-wit' you will find out that our situation is due to the abysmal performance of the current government.

• KWASI Amoah 9 years ago

Maxwell, the man is describing the character of AKUFO ADDO. Are you in agreement with him or denying?. Please it will do you good to respond to his accusation.

• peaceful citizen 9 years ago

Thanks to Mahama and his NDC for ranking 114th among the world!s happiest country. They still shamelessly proclaim better Ghana agenda.God will punish them all.

Gabon has been churning out more than 250 thousand barrels of oil a day since 1971.Has a population of less than 2 million.Earns $30 billion a year.Ghana earns $50 billion a year for 25 million population yet Gabon is ranked ...

• Vrrydin Huudop 9 years ago

Blind comparison

• Marve 9 years ago

Ghana is not happy because of corruption by government officials . Nigeria has a huge market so they do not feel the impact of corruption

• Marve 9 years ago

Ghana is not happy because of corruption by government officials . Nigeria has a huge market so they do not feel the impact of corruption . If you are a businessman or entrepreneur and you build your mansions no problem . Bu ...

• Peacemaker 9 years ago

Go to drinking spots right now accross the country, u will feel that Ghana is better than the heavens.

• Musah 9 years ago

not surprising since NDC followers are mostly illiterates and brain dead

• Musah 9 years ago

good for Ghanaians

• Joe 9 years ago

How can we be happy with this rampant dumsor?

Ghana sweet even under Mahama

• Riel 9 years ago

I'm not surprised, this country was at one point, the beacon of hope for Africa & now, Mahama has destroy everything for everybody.

• Haba 9 years ago

Ghana was messed by me key face Kuffour

• kweks 9 years ago

Ghana is sweet. people are complaining no money because corruption is been tackled and the easy money is threatened. Cocaine is not flowing waa waa and so the cedi is under pressure. JM keep pushing.It is well

• Akos 9 years ago

You're not serious about your comment. If corruption is being tackle, why would people complain and be bitter? Ghana is the way it is right now because corruption is tolerated and hardly the culprits are persecuted & jailed.

• Vrrydin Huudop 9 years ago

'Wo Maame twe' Your Mother's Cunt

• Nii Lartey Nartey. 9 years ago

Ghana immediately after independence and there after was the most happiest and peaceful country.

How come the mouth piece of Africa's political and socio-economic emancipation now rates among the last happiest counties?

• Snoopy 9 years ago

Some Ghanaians are simply dumb and illiterate. This report was released by the UN and has nothing to do with NPP or Nana. Why blame Nana for this article?

Are you so ignorant to tell us Rawlings was in concert with the CIA? Come on! you cannot be that stupid.Please do not tell your kids this nonsense.Rawlings and the CIA/US were enemies from day one.

• TOWEI 9 years ago

the dont even know their history, this explain the high level of ignorance and insults where do we stand in africa that the will not say oh ghanaweb let see it

• KOO THE BOY 9 years ago

yeap, the number one has all our money, thanks to our leaders.

• Abongo 9 years ago

Hahahaha Nigeria a happy country this is a joke

• Wifey 9 years ago

Mahama and his alibaba thieves must bury their heads in shame. Only the headless and retarded Ghanaians are happy with ndc.

• gweta 9 years ago

though nigerians are not happy too but it means they are happier than other countries..

• Felix Danso 9 years ago

We would be ranked last the next time if this N D C remains to rule Ghana

• Abeeku Mensah 9 years ago

People of Bhutan are happier than most people in civilized, industrialized democratic nations even in their wretched environment and meager annual wages; the people of Bhutan are happy knowing they each get to contribute to ...

• Military Man 9 years ago

"Ghanaians cannot worry about some happiness index; we are happy to be free from Nkrumah just as long as we enjoy our streets flowing with milk and honey promised."

Unless you are trying to be sarcastic, I think you are wa ...

• Obiba Broke 9 years ago

Thank God Canada my country is one of the top five. Ghana belongs to the dogs, a failed state,

• Kwawu Agbemenu 9 years ago

Nigerians happier than Ghanaians? Even with Boko Haram and its murderous rampage, & don't they lead Ghana in corruption and filth? Ah, well, they MUST be easy to satisfy!!

• Offa yaw 9 years ago

You obviously don't know much about these people. They are not bother by so many things and no matter what you say about them they always happy

• Oludare 9 years ago

Thats where you got it wrong. You're yet to deal with your country's problem and still have the gut to talk about Nigeria here. Must you compare yourself with Nigeria whenever you wanna type your bullsh*t?

• migrandad ownedurs 9 years ago

Too bad get over it

• People 9 years ago

From the top 50 to 114 what a sad day for ghana !!!!!!!!!!!!

• truth 9 years ago

Ghana best place to live.

• Victor A. Young 9 years ago

With NDC gov't in power killing the enthusiasm and business spirit of Ghanaians we are lucky not to ranked amongst the very bottom in this survey. It's time for people to boot out this clueless and incompetent gov't out of po ...

• ghanaba 9 years ago

Ghanians are one of the unhappiest people in the world under mahama, shame. they is stake poverty, hunger, disease and dirty in ghana

• Oludare 9 years ago

Nigeria is getting it right and will continue to do so despite all the obstacles and hatred by some foreign media. We're winning the war against Boko Haram, we have voted in a serious president to tackle both corruption and i ...

• okofo 9 years ago

This "happiest" thing is highly relative and does not make much sense or even reflect reality. It's simply BIAS: How could countries whose citizens DEPEND on CREDIT cards (permanent personal debt) be happiest?

How could co ...

• Kosi Ametefe Dogbe 9 years ago

They have all those low temps, high credit cards, large mortgages but enjoy higher living standards. If they die early large life insurances which are mostly non-existent for us

i will take Norway any day versus Mahama's G ...

Olu,
    We are brothers though sometimes we are nasty to each other. I mean what is family for, if we aren't dishing it out to each other from time to time

I am hoping that we will learn from you and throw out this hopeless ...

• Oludare 9 years ago

Kosi, amen and God will continue to bless both Ghana and Nigeria and Africa at large

• Kobina Bosompra 9 years ago

We will sink further down the ladder if NDC remains in Power after 2016. We will carry the whole world.

• Yellow man 9 years ago

If u ve a dead goat as president how do u expect happiness to come knocking at your door.The basic necessities of life is food,clothing and shelter.Ask how many Ghanaians can afford it.How many people eat three square meals a ...

• okofo 9 years ago

Does it have to be 3 square meals per day? If I ate Kenkey and fried fish for my breakfast, so was ok throughout my "lunch" time, but went for my supper, didn't I defy the Euro-centric 3 square meal concept? I agree Mahama is ...

Okofo,
    Why kenkey, I prefer Yoko gari (cement) and fried plantains for breakfast and then cereals 7pm each night

• TOWEI 9 years ago

I am not suprise u call urself yellow indeed u have jaundiced mind. Did K4 give all ghanaians food, clothen and shelter. From ur comments i can see u are really yellow in the head

• Apostle James 9 years ago

?NIGERIAN CUSTOM IMPOUNDED CARS FOR SALES AT CHEAPER
    AND AFFORDABLE PRICE, INTERESTED BUYERS SHOULD PLEASE
    CONTACT OUR MARKETING ZONAL OFFICER CUSTOM Emeka Ayo
    ON(08140061364)
    E.G. Golf2, 3, 4, 5,
    from N200, 000-N400, 00 ...

• Apostle James 9 years ago

?NIGERIAN CUSTOM IMPOUNDED CARS FOR SALES AT CHEAPER
    AND AFFORDABLE PRICE, INTERESTED BUYERS SHOULD PLEASE
    CONTACT OUR MARKETING ZONAL OFFICER CUSTOM Emeka Ayo
    ON(08140061364)
    E.G. Golf2, 3, 4, 5,
    from N200, 000-N400, 00 ...

• Loway 9 years ago

A country is happy when you have peace

• Festus 9 years ago

I'm nt surprised We are ranked by that huge margin ahead of Nigeria who are even being harrassed by these boko haram insurgents. In fact, the source has even been magnanimous. We shd have bn ranked last coz nothing is moving ...

• @@@@@@@@@ 9 years ago

Lights in their pens. Happy in Ghana? Even animals know that hell hole is ghana.No wander these fools use stones as pillows