You are here: HomeNews2015 04 24Article 355832

Asantehene meets Seychelles President

Read Comments Comments (71)

• OB 9 years ago

ENJOY MY FRIEND!!!

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

WHAT?????? WHAT AM I READING OVER HERE?? ISN'T THIS KWABENA AGYAPONG BOY WENT TO THAT REGION DURING THE (EBOLA) OUTBREAK AND DECLARED THAT, THE REGION'S BORDER IS SPREADING (EBOLA) INTO GHANA? AS IF THE REGION IS NOT PART OF ...

• impromptus 9 years ago

Evil smug

• Close Observer 9 years ago

GHANA, YOU DON'T WANT PEOPLE WHO HAVE PLANS TO BANK MILLIONS OF DOLLARS BEFORE THEY QUIT POLITICS TO LEAD YOU; they won't have time for you, they will be taking care of their own.
    NEITHER DO YOU WANT PEOPLE WHO WILL WEAR LAD ...

• Tagoe T 9 years ago

RAWLINGS BROUGHT THE REMAINS OF YAA ASANTEWA TO KUMASI. BUSIA DID NOT DO IT. aKUFFUO ADDO FATHER DID NOT DO IT.
    UNGREATFUL PEOPLE.

• abena-kwabena 9 years ago

Primitive mind! Is JJ not a Ghanaian? Yaa Asantewaa is the pride of Ghana just like Kwame Nkrumah. JJ became "JJ" because he enjoyed the support of many Ghanaians across the country. I'm glad that majority of people in Ghana ...

• kojo ankrah 9 years ago

Mo nhw3 no 3, Osei Tutu Opemsuo Barima a watwa 3po k)k)) de nani muonyam ak) kyer3: ama bi aka asanteman. Ate ananka duro ei! Mo ebunu...Mo 3kodont)!!!

• LARYEAH 9 years ago

WH.....AT!!! PLEASE SPEAK TWI!

• kojo ankrah 9 years ago

Obi nya wo ahenie yi bia, 3nka )p3. Oyoko) abakan, )kokodurofo) Osei Tutu Ababio: Mo anyadom.

• tp 9 years ago

Mor piawooo @ kojo Ankrah

• Amidini 9 years ago

Wise king God give u more knowledge and wisdom

• koffi parker 9 years ago

he is a Ghanaian king not the Ghanaian king.

• Canada 9 years ago

Her comes the inferiority complex minded people coming to talk down on ashanti people. Sorry we have a great history that is know world wide. Sorry we where the most documented african kingdom according to europeans. Sorry th ...

• Nii Lartey Nartey 9 years ago

Ashantes are proud people because of their preserved endowed culture and traditions and every Ghanaian should share their pride for having such historical and culturally powerful Kingdom in our country, Ghana without no trib ...

• Abdul 9 years ago

You're a wiseman. I do agree with you.

• Omanhene (U$A) 9 years ago

The initial announcement of the King's trip to the Seychelles indicated that "he went with his parents and about 50 other chiefs and servants." That was very generous of the British to allow that, although they had no busines ...

• palmwine seller 9 years ago

MASSA THIS IS NO NEWS. WHEN A PRISIONERS SON VISIT WHERE HIS FATHERS WERE KEPT AGAINST THIER WILL I SEE NOTHING FANCY ABOUT IT. PLEASE GIVE US GOOD NEWS AND LEAVE THIS STUPID SMELLY ROTTEN KUMASI ASSES ALONE. WHAT HAS THIS SO ...

• SWEET STACKLEBERG 9 years ago

En shi woh! GOLDEN STOOL ALL THE WAY! BITCH!!

WHAT HAS YOUR SHIT DOG COCK SUCKING MUTHER FUCKING RAT ASS CHIEF DONE APART FROM EAT BOSWA AND HAVE SEX

• Abongo 9 years ago

Heii shut up kotibotor

• Abdul 9 years ago

I wonder if you can differentiate a prisoner from someone exile and forced to live in a foreign country against his will. Nana wasn't a prisoner, he was a brave man who challenged the colonial masters and out of frustration t ...

• MAAME 9 years ago

I think your questions can be most answered if you contact Manhyia. I know just a little that most of them died there and some married and even the King himself married a lady over there and had kids and one of the King's gre ...

• amoah 9 years ago

very interesting questions

i am very curious myself

i wonder if we will ever get the answers

• Oyokonana 9 years ago

Omanhene,
    In answer to some of the questions u posed regarding the exile of the Asantehene and others to the Seychelles, I refer u to: THE HISTORY OF ASHANTI KINGS AND THE WHOLE COUNTRY ITSELF and OTHE WRITINGS -
    by Otumfuo ...

• Oyokonana 9 years ago

Omanhene
    You may get urself a copy of the following book for answers to ur many questions:
    THE HISTORY OF ASHANTI KINGS AND THE WHOLE COUNTRY ITSELF and OTHER WRITINGS
    by Otumfuo, Nana Agyeman Prempeh I
    Edited by: A. Adu ...

• Wisdom 9 years ago

Ghana isn't fit for Human Beings to live in.
    Going to write Exams just to be robbed at gun point?

• Abdul 9 years ago

This happens everywhere, mention one place in the world and I will refere you to ten similar cases, advanced countries inclusive. Crime is everywhere.

• Nzema K 9 years ago

These wicked people now call themselves democrats of all. King Prempeh was arrested and exiled just because he refused to offer the golden stool to British governor of the Gold coast to sit on. In order for him to be freed fr ...

• JDiM 9 years ago

God continuously bless Ashanti Kingdom long live the King long live Ghana

• Kufusan_11 9 years ago

Now if you will only heed the words of Psalm 2, and place your God given authority where it belongs: In the Holy Shemesh Yiswua Ha Msyich KING of Kings and LORD of Lords, then you and your kingdom shall be exalted and reign f ...

• JDiM 9 years ago

Most recognized Kingdom in the universe the Ashanti Kingdom.Thank you Otumfour for making us proud.God bless Nana God bless Ashanti Kingdom Forever.

• School prefect 9 years ago

Keep on deluding yourself. Ashanti empire was know for one thing that's kente and slavery. It's not even among the top 20 most powerful empires in Africa. Axum, Egypt, nubians, meroe, Libyans, Ghana empire, Mali, songhai, eve ...

• proud Ashanti 9 years ago

Where are those empires now? Hatred and envy are serious mental problems. They impede your growth as a person.

• MINOR CASE 9 years ago

Listen to this dwarf . Where are the writings, architecture and the monuments and their benefits. The Asantes have bequeathed to Ghana , Kente and Adinkra cloths. Their language Is Ghana'a language.Don't be a hater. In the D ...

• Concerned 9 years ago

Asantehene shd have sent someone to represent him. A whole Asantehene should not reduce himself to a circus freak for people to come and watch

• JDiM 9 years ago

Otumfour has his ancestors there is also an occasion to meet his families.

• perscoba 9 years ago

Everyone is proud to go back to his origins except madafucker rawlings

• Akoto Abrantie 9 years ago

great king indeed. Nana u've really made every Ghanaian proud. God Bless Otumfuor, God bless Asanteman, God bless Ghana

• amoah 9 years ago

You Mad man

and just where will you place his origin"

• Samuel Ansah ,New York 9 years ago

Mr JDIM why bringing Mr Rawlings into this?It shows how hollow minded person you're . Your level of intelligence is just to the level of a donkey

• BOWONDA 9 years ago

Please Master Ansah, leave the Donkey alone! Don't debase him by comparing him with this ANIMAL who has human skin! The Donkey is more intelligent!

• Kockola 9 years ago

However guess who is benefiting from this strategic decision. Interesting.

• School prefect(proud mande) 9 years ago

Keep on deluding yourself. Ashanti empire was know for one thing that's kente and slavery. It's not even among the top 20 most powerful empires in Africa. Axum, Egypt, nubians, meroe, Libyans, Ghana empire, Mali, songhai, eve ...

• perscoba 9 years ago

Krobeaa Asantekotoko wokum apem aapem beba...Amaokara,assene ,oyokuo,bretuo mayo mo ne yo ...Adansi,amanaman nyinaa ma wo mo!

• OXYGEN 9 years ago

Haha ...Ashanti's don't even recognize other tribes in Ghana to the extent of talking ill about them. But the other tribes are always insulting Ashantis.Is it our fault that you people are insignificant and poor? Keep hating ...

• DEPORT FOREIGN MUSLIMS 9 years ago

DON'T FORGET YOUR CULTURE AND HISTORY . ASHANTI EMPIRE WAS VERY BIG FROM SUDAN ALL THE WAY TO GHANA . YAA ASANTEWAAH DEFEATED THE BRITISH .

• juaben adu opoku 9 years ago

ashantis are bless forever.

• e.a.b 9 years ago

Refund our money for the lease to us

• kwabena asante 9 years ago

E.a.b. Kwasea fool. Do u know the meaning of a lease. Dont u know in Ashanti we don't sell land but lease. If Asantehene sells it outright how will the next generation benefit. If u are a man go for ya money from manhyia

• Kotrihene 9 years ago

Asantehene doesn't own all lands in Ashanti

• Serwaa 9 years ago

Great History, Great Events and Great King of Ashanti, I am very proud of You. God bless you and bless Ghana

• Kofi Lawyer 9 years ago

The assertion that all Ashanti-lands belong to Asantihene is UNTRUE. Before the Ashanti Empire the lands were owned by ABUSUA (Clan) such as Bretuo Aduana, Asona ,etc The colonial masters seized the lands and labelled them go ...

• Samuel Ansah ,New York 9 years ago

What criteria did the Ashanti used to grade themselves as the most important or powerful tribe in Ghana ? That's killing them where ever they find themselves . Strictly speaking no tribe is most superior to the other ...

• Fataw gh 9 years ago

Masa Ashanti's doesn't see themselves as superior to other tribes but is other tribes that see Ashanti's as superior to them that's why they keep hating.asantes are referred to in many diminutive names by different tribes bu ...

• Plasma Kote 9 years ago

Let us see what will come out of the visit.........!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Sanam 9 years ago

This is no news he is just visiting to see for himself where his great grand father went to seek refuge when he was driven from Ghana and he was lucky to be given asylem in that Island just as Nkrumah went into exile when he ...

• PUMA 9 years ago

Eeii skin pain is killing you people. Nobody knows your chiefs and they are not recognised nowhere in the world. Ashantis have history even with those from the northern American islands. Who in this world wants to associate ...

• Abdul 9 years ago

I believe you posted your comment out of jealousy or you don't know the history of the late Asantehene Nana Agyeman Prempeh who was exile by the colonial master. If you have any history of your King post it and let's know bec ...

• Tawiah 9 years ago

The caption is wrong. The picture of Otumfuo in Kente cloth with the President is of Seychelles in Kente. The 2nd picture is the picture of the minister of tourism st something is his name. Please let your journalist do thei ...

• DEPORT FOREIGN MUSLIMS 9 years ago

KNOW YOUR HISTORY . DAGOMBAS WAS PART OF THE ASHANTIS WAR AGAINST THE BRITISH .

• who else 9 years ago

Ooo Awurade!! Asantehene nya nkwa daa!! U make proud!

• tp 9 years ago

Otumfuo!! Nana 1 may u live long Ghana is blessed to have you!

• Ricardo 1 9 years ago

Yes the Guy is Right South Africa has to pay dearly a price for this nonsense. The white South African were Right, for is the Tilapia, comes out of the river, and tells you that the crocodile is dead believe it. They knew who ...

• impromptus 9 years ago

Titanic Tolerant Tribe

• Concern African 9 years ago

This is a sad day for me after hearing the what British people did to the King and his subjects. Revisiting is ok but not necessary. My prayer is : A) no royal article get lost; B) No yentie obia party over there and C)I pray ...

• Nana Boakye Agyemang 9 years ago

May Nyame keep expanding your power and wisdom

• Kay 9 years ago

How many of these folks are coming back with Otumfour??? Tweahhh.

• Kay 9 years ago

When will he visit Canada? Hehehe

• Yaw Yeboah 9 years ago

The exile in 1896, of the late King Prempeh 1, was an important historic event to the Ashanti people because it marked the end of the Empire. Both parents of King Prempeh & his younger brother died in the Seychelles Islands a ...

• yaw 9 years ago

We hsve only one King in Ghana.The rest are chiefs. Whether u like or not it's true. May the Ashanti Kingdom reign forever & ever amen

• afua 9 years ago

All this is bogus he just want to take our gold n sell it, they're all arm robbers.

• Diamond coast construction 9 years ago

Diamond coast construction in Accra is looking for links in out side Ghana.we do general Building and can call for more information.
    00233208871181 on whats up.