You are here: HomeNews2015 04 16Article 354620

Girl, 13, banished for refusing to undergo FGM

Read Comments Comments (62)

• Ford 9 years ago

You people are still moving backwards whilst others are moving forward.Throw this outmoded practice in the dust bin

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 9 years ago

God said that if your organ is causing you to sin, cut that organ off. Now, wr all know that the clitoris is causing women to be promiscuous. So God-fearing societies obey by cutting off the clitoris. How can that be wrong?

• kwame 9 years ago

@Fiadzoe you are a big fool for still thinking like a barbarian. Prosecute the queen mother in court and incarcerate her as an example for others to end the practice. Protect the little girl from being harmed at all cost.

• GENE 9 years ago

but you will still allow other boys to drill your anus and spray semen in your mouth

• gilbert silver 9 years ago

go and cut off ur penis is dat nt wat men also used in fornicating?

• Koo Nimo 9 years ago

IDIOT!!

• sir azamah 9 years ago

Stupid cut ur own off

• Frank 9 years ago

Your stupidity is known all over the place .Why?

• freedom 9 years ago

These stupid politicians pushing these barbaric practices must be exposed. Clearly education never made a difference to their little brains. When o when will our people accept that not all tradition is good. We have brains to ...

• Afro-America Diasporan 9 years ago

Your remark is senseless and chauvinist. If someone were to mutilate your penis so that you didn't feel any pleasure would you accept it as a Bible-driven solution? If such a practice is okay for the female, in your opinion, ...

• An understanding AA man 9 years ago

All religions were created by men to suppress WOMEN!

• The Mentor 9 years ago

How bout we cut your DICK off? Then you can't rape or hurt females.

• MABEL 9 years ago

ANANE OR WATEVER U CAL YURSELF U MIGHT BE VERY STUPID TU SAY DAT BABARIC TINS.GO ND TEL AL DE COCROACHES N MILIPEDES LADIS IN YUR FAMILY TU GO UNDA CASTRATIN ESPECIALY YUR SUPID MUM ND YUR FOOLISH GIRLFRIEND U IDIOT U IDIOT ...

• nokware 9 years ago

Why remove the clitoris which makes sex enjoyable for women? Without it women are 'dead,women are like pieces of wood.

• hibollah 9 years ago

that queen mother needs to be arreted

• Ford 9 years ago

Why do you want to remove it?When removed the girl in her marriage cannot have the needed pleasure for sex

• Jane 9 years ago

I can't believe that this disgraceful act remains unchallenged by the government. Why are they allowing these barbarians to get away with their Stone Age practices? To make matters worse, this torturous procedure is done with ...

• THINGS FALL APART 9 years ago

Jane, you can say that again. This queenmother is on bail walking on her two
    legs. This case must be transferred to Sunyani and if possible Accra to be to be prosecuted. Mr. President kindly help these poor girls from the w ...

• MABEL 9 years ago

de queen moder shoul be jaild

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

I see! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• JDiM 9 years ago

Stop this barbaric practice is despicable and must be condemned.

• Ama 9 years ago

Omg, this is so sad. I can't imagine the pain those girls are going through. The queenmother is very wicked, she not only banished the girl but also threatened to kill her. Why isn't she in jail by now?

• Agblor 9 years ago

Will you say the same about male circumcision?Or you think the" girl" child is the only one that needs support.

• JDiM 9 years ago

Agblor don't be ignorant male circumcision is scientifically proven to be the best in terms of good hygiene practices

• Ajato 9 years ago

Afloat, don't be a fool, men circumcision was ordained since Adam. Tell me where girl circumcision is ever written. Girl circumcision makes them sexually dead while men circumcision enhances sexual performance.

• Tortimmah Malik 9 years ago

civilisation has not got to them, and still need more public education on FGM. that so called queenmother is very wicked, she doesnt even know her duties as a queenmother.

• GENE 9 years ago

she must feel the pain!

• GROW OF LIBYA 9 years ago

When will these people stop this barbaric act? Infact all those involved have to be sanctioned

• Akwaaba 9 years ago

Travel Travel Travel
    Contact me if you want to travel to US Canada Australia Japan South Korea Dubai and any European country on 0541702098. SPEND SOME HOLIDAYS IN RUSSIA. RUSH NOW !!!!!!

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 9 years ago

Little Johnny sees his mother walk out of the shower and sees her vagina.

He asks her what it is and she embarassed replies, "Oh, that's mommy's black sponge."

A few days later, Johnny spills a glass of milk on the floo ...

• MABEL 9 years ago

oooh dat's an interestin story!!i luv it

• Osei Akoto 9 years ago

What is the difference between male and female circumcision? If it is barbaric and inhumane for one it must be for the other.I asked a Doctor in Wisconsin about this and she defined it as the removal of the foreskin on the cl ...

• Koo Nimo 9 years ago

Osei Akoto are you kortibortor?

• OBIBENYAW 9 years ago

Oh no? Not in this day in age. Shame unto you all.

• Reflex 9 years ago

Am just imaging d sort of insults(comments) we would have been reading if dis act had happened in d north. Oh angels with filthy souls. so these bad acts r not limited to tribes after all, but transverse the whole of Ghana?

• Kwame 9 years ago

It is pure barbarism... get on with the times and stop this stupidity now!!!

• Betina 9 years ago

All Queen Mother in Ghana you will organización a repude más action againt The FGM and the Queen Mothers in Brog - Ahafo that soporta this criminal act .
    Goverment be vigilante if this girl dead send to jil all of then , ...

• Thomas 9 years ago

Are those people still there undealt with?

• RT 9 years ago

How cruel are some people,

• sir azamah 9 years ago

That is barbaric, inhuman, unculture, unGodly. The Queen mother should b arrested and distooled. My home town bawku FGM IS STILL ON GOING. 😭😢

• White Man 9 years ago

U see stupidity if this had happened in the Muslim community her name would have been mentioned to portray that Muslims are like that stupid blood sucking christians Ashawo

• sir azamah 9 years ago

To de minister incharge u are slow in action

• kulah 9 years ago

e queen mother is really evil she is a disgrace to e so call title she is holding wicked woman pls pls protect dis girl

• Yakubu Musah 9 years ago

FGM or whatever proponents want to call it, is not a problem compared to the deep corruption and tribal superiority bullshit which have become traditions and leaving no horizon of hope for the average Ghanaian. Men are being ...

• freedom 9 years ago

Male circumcision has medically supported reasons, such as hygiene and prevents infections in the genitals. Female mutilation causes various medical complications, pain and deprives women of sexual pleasure, which chauvinisti ...

• Prosperity 9 years ago

those people practision it should put fulstop to it,because that place is the most sensitive part for lady's and gentlemen.

• Alhaji A Brutus Germany 9 years ago

How can this stupid queen be arrested when she is a strong NDC supporter?

• Prosperity 9 years ago

Godforbit i will never marry a woman clitory.

• Apunongo Ibrahim Akudugu from Upper E 9 years ago

What a witchet Quuen mother? She deserve to be desinstool.

• Apunongo Ibrahim Akudugu from Upper E 9 years ago

What a witchet Quuenmother? This Quunmother is good fornothing learder. She deserve to be desinstool, for the girls safety.

• Faustina Boadi 9 years ago

Eeiiiii Ghana so when are we going to be civilised a little .Especially our traditional leaders they still believe in the acts .Mmmmmmmmm ,we are sufering

• Dom john kb 9 years ago

God! for give them their abuse. Repent and live

• Samuel 9 years ago

She is a brave girl god love her

• Jonas Ansah 9 years ago

This is the result of ignorance, stupidity, superstition & unhealthy traditional beliefs. People in black Africa should wise up. Backwardness his hampering our development. With practices like this still ongoing we need a lot ...

• ASTERISK 9 years ago

NO JUSTICE FOR THE WEAK OR THE POOR PERIOD. IF NOT WHY SHOULD THESE SO CALLED PEOPLE ARE NOT DEALT WITH ACCORDING TO THE LAW. I AM DISAPPIONTED

• 3dem 9 years ago

here, in todays Ghana, what nonsense!!ns3mfooo....lock them up and throw away the keys!!!

• TRUTH 9 years ago

When it concerns men,it is called circumcision but if it comes to women we are quick to term it 'FGM'. Isn't it time to also consider Male Genital Mutilation(MGM)?.Let's think about it!

• SirRony 9 years ago

stupidity by an uncivilized bunch of cannibals...why

• Yiddana 9 years ago

Madam,
    Your western education should not replace your culture. You may use any mean words you want, but you cannot change people's culture. You need to educate yourself. What is culture?
    At the very least, respect the peopl ...

• Sakina 9 years ago

Hmmm its soo unfortunate!am vry sad about the plight of the innocent young girl

• Sakina 9 years ago

Stakeholders shoud please ensure the safety of the girl and the perpertrators be dealt wit accordingly..x soo inhuman such a pratice shud b banned foreva

• Kobby 9 years ago

The girl needs a protection from the authority,if out of 10 girl needs to under goes the FGM one escape, is a good step.