You are here: HomeNews2015 04 08Article 353515

Self-driving cars to arrive in Ghana by 2027

Read Comments Comments (33)

• Saint Ghfuo: nyantakyi must GO! 9 years ago

GH HAS NO STREET NAMES, NO BUILDING NUMBERS. NO VERTICAL AND HORIZONTAL STREETS. SO THE EFFICIENCY OF THESE CARS WONT BE FULLY REALISED IN GH. TO GET FROM POINT A TO B. YOU HAVE TO PROGRAM YOUR ADDRESS OR WHERE YOU ARE GOING ...

• osibisa 9 years ago

This has nothing to do with regional ministers and mayors. This information is presented by Carmudi.com.gh.

• Maclaren 9 years ago

Driving in Ghana is like the fairground dodgems (if ECG is having a good day), but minus skills and plus potholes. Robotic police are a good idea; they don't get hungry at the end of the month.

• Don Blunt 9 years ago

If the writer does not know when 'All fools day' ends

• kabokabo 9 years ago

We dont need those cars for the sake of unemployments

• Tekonline. org 9 years ago

Uber's Hiring Plans (Culled from PC World):

"The most interesting people that Uber is now hiring aren’t drivers: they’re engineers whose innovations may ultimately put those drivers out of work.

The mobile ride-hail ...

• United Ghana 9 years ago

Self-bribing policemen? Please don't put ideas in people's heads ha ha haaaa

• Concerned Citizen 9 years ago

This article is irrelevant to this country. It's like talking about having Magnetic Levitation trains when our railway tracks are now iron scraps.

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi must go! 9 years ago

Dl.you know how self.driving cars operate? It won't move until you tell it where to.Go by inputting an address or.location in its gps.

• Ajit Babu 9 years ago

Think about making Ghana roads drive worthy before jumping to futuristic things. Self driving cars hate pot holes and bad roads!

• ZoRRo 9 years ago

The self driving car assumes that the other drivers and pedestrians are obeyng the traffic laws and will be honest in court. It also assumes that the road is passable and the police oficer attending to an accident will applay ...

• Earl Jones 9 years ago

It is noteworthy that your examples of where self-driving cars are used are all in developed countries with good roads. Unless the roads in Ghana are improved, forget about self-driving cars.

• Kweku Ninsin 9 years ago

Absolute nonsense

• Y B 9 years ago

CLEANSHIELD, Amazing health product for everyone, All Natural Alkaline supplement from US specially and scientifically designed to clean inner Ocean clear stomach toxins, as well as unwonted substances in the body like virus ...

• faceless 9 years ago

Africans are a danger to themselves. .. you don't even understand what is required and you want to implement it? Get the basics right first. ..

• GBEWAA 9 years ago

SELF-DRIVING CARS? THIS CERTAINLY WOULD COME TO GHANA FROM THE CIVILIZED WORLD, NOT FROM GHANA OR KANTANKA.

WHAT ARE GHANA'S UNIVERSITIES THERE FOR? JUST COPYING, PASTING AND PLAGIARIZING OTHERS' WORK FOR DEGREES TO GO INT ...

This is what one student once wrote on Ghanaweb about the purpose of University education. You guessed right, it's all about a PAY-CHECK:

"Every year, there are thousands of students in Ghana and globally who graduate from ...

• Aduie-ba Mohamed 9 years ago

58-good years after INDEs and stiil sleeping in TOTAL DARKNESS"dumsor" & producing NOTHING but IMPORTING even toothpick.LOOK at U & ur Acc-Nsawam-Ksi-Road.Ur so called Motorway-Tema is now with potholes. Cut ur coat to ur si ...

• Mawuli 9 years ago

To drive on what road? Jokers

• Dum-Sor 9 years ago

Whoever wrote this article does not know what he/she is talking about.This Projection date is wrong because Ghana is 50 years behind the developed countries and the develop countries haven got hung on it yet. Don't just choos ...

Already, some cars will tell you when a tire is low or a brake pad is thinning, and remind you in red letters if you don’t do anything about it.

Some luxury models come with anti-collision radar, lane-changing warning s ...

• True Ghanaian 9 years ago

The last time I checked, self driving cars don't know how to negotiate potholes

• Slammer 9 years ago

Absolute nonsense. we dey craze for this country? which kind yeye thing is this. Electricity supply remains an illusion when its the last thing that should be in the world of today and here we are reading a stupid post of sel ...

I would rather worry about having in Ghana "fitters" who are also hard core computer programmers. Those self-driving cars are really computers-on-wheels.

The vehicles are 90 percent software and sophisticated sensors.

• Jimmy 9 years ago

Next we will be told that we will have electronic cars. Ah, but, um, they will have overlooked dumsor! So another crazy idea when the infrastructure is seriously broken.

• doc 9 years ago

big dreams my brothers

• Pastor manning 9 years ago

Those who dream of building castles dont even build a simple house!

Cars will never be self drived in ghana. take my word. it says in the bible!

• DKB 9 years ago

Self driving cars. Ahhh what kind of juju hocus pocus is this? MSHEWWW

• kutuatse 9 years ago

excuse me but when you want to fart please do one that fits your anus, this fart is too big for ghana's ass...lol

• luther king 9 years ago

On which roads? Accra-kumasi or Accra cape coast. Forget it. This is not for Ghana.

• Kpabitey 9 years ago

SOMETIMES YOU HEAR OR READ THINGS LIKE THIS AND ASK IF THESE PEOPLE ARE DREAMING?
    IN A COUNTRY WHERE BASIC THINGS LIKE. WATER AND ELECTRICITY IS A PROBLEM,YOU ASK YOURSELF IF SOMEBODY IS SMOKING SOMETHING .
    A BABY JUST D ...

• ok 9 years ago

Huh!

• syncopa 9 years ago

Ha Ha Ha! Some of these joke projects are released into the public domain by our caring politicians just to help us forget our sorrows.