IFS, IMANI accuse Terkper of costing Ghana Ghc2.7b

Read Comments Comments (43)

• cha 9 years ago

Is time for new leadership in Ghana mahama havce failed

• OB 9 years ago

leave the man alone!!!

• Mahama ne kotsi 9 years ago

u are very stupid Mahama is destroying the country cant u see? Ofui OB.

• Saint Ghfuo: nyantakyi must GO! 9 years ago

HE SHOULD HAVE STAYED IN US AND WORKED FOR IRS OR WORD BANK. NOT ACTING AS A FINANCE MINISTER. HE IS NOT AN ECONOMIST. HE IS USING GH ECONOMY TO DODGE AND SWERVE TAXES. NOW, YOU KNOW WHY THE BUDGETS ARENNT BALANCING AND THE J ...

• Bafour 9 years ago

Same uneducated idiots Think Fools would cry that I was not mandate of the minister to hedge otherwise country would have gained if the situation were the opposite. Real hypocrisy for not seeing anything positive about Ghana.

• des 9 years ago

you are very right

• MAHAMA LOOT ND SHARE 9 years ago

MAHAMA CHOP ALL AND LEFT BONES TO GHANIANS,TWEAAAAAAAA USELESS MAHAMA IS CORRUPT PERIOD,KWASEA BI NTI

• okletey 9 years ago

Prof Kusi please go and redeem your indebtedness to the Ministry of defence. You were paid monies and you never delivered your promised products

• JJJ 9 years ago

Do we have the capacity for such risk management activity in the country? Remember the hedging or futures trading activities that landed Ashanti Gold Mines into the deep hole and they never recovered.

As the saying goes, ...

• Kwame 9 years ago

SEE THESE FOOLS AGAIN!

• Kobby 9 years ago

There are conditions that should precede every hedging programme. What were the conditions at the time Ghana did hedge? Are the conditions same? I didn't read that in the press briefing

• Kobby 9 years ago

There are conditions that should precede every hedging programme. What were the conditions at the time Ghana did hedge? Are the conditions same? I didn't read that in the press briefing

• Koo Nimo 9 years ago

Hedging is just a term used in shrouding the act of gambling in secrecy. It is sweet if and only if it goes one's way.But if it goes the other way, one finds himself wailing and gnashing ones teeth. Consequently, one would no ...

• Lawyer Nyamekye 9 years ago

Rubbish economics by the chn of npp. Is this also npp strategy? Hedging is not as simple as IFS and IMANI. Cheap party politics and nothing else.

• PEKI TUMU 9 years ago

After the case against Tsikata about hedging why should this Minister expose himself to another hedging?

He is a cautious Minister who has come up with better management of the economy than the NPP gurus

• Efovi 9 years ago

Do we have to appoint magicians,or people who can look info the crystal ball to manage things we don't have control over?Rememeber Tsikata was blamed for hedging and causing financial loss and now Tekper didn't hedge and caus ...

• Analyst 9 years ago

Hedging is a lottery between you and your hedging partner. To hedge our little share of oil being mined in Ghana, means we have reached an agreement with a purchasing partner to sell to him our oil at a certain fixed price ir ...

• A T 9 years ago

You call yourself an Analyst but you obviously don't know what you are talking about. At any given price, there are people willing to buy and others willing to sell. There are traders willing to buy put options and others wil ...

• Sappey-Agboh, Atsiame-Alabohkope 9 years ago

Mr A T hedging and exercising a put option are two different investment tools. We are talking here about hedging that obliges the seller (or buyer) to sell or buy at a set price regardless of future price movements. Therefore ...

• pro ,dr.bonsu 9 years ago

pro is right listing to him, studies many things

• NAT 9 years ago

who made them tink tank or what is that word,

• Akans Prophecies 9 years ago

Wonder why this Terkper is always shooting goals against his own country. Never in our history has a man caused such financial loss to his state. But with Mahama every corruption conceeded is possible. He calls deficits ...

• Sappey-Agboh, Atsiame-Alabohkope 9 years ago

Hold your horses!! Are these two institutions for real? Now which price of oil are we talking about? Is it the price of oil from the Jubilee fields or the price at which Ghana buys oil from the international market? How can w ...

• Boamah 9 years ago

Why didn't IMANI forecast a drop in oil price?

What would they have said if Ghana hedged at $80 dollars, and oil price rose to $150?

IMANI has become a joke.

• Double Edge Sword 9 years ago

hedging is bad? These empty tanks don't know what the hell they want and talking about. Comot ojari.

• Oldsoldier Italy 9 years ago

I hope they are some of NPP lectures no wander!!!

• obodai Tetteh Sai,Assin Foso 9 years ago

Philosophers must rule and not these idiots.They always tell us the economy is good while the masses keep suffering.

• The Independent voice 9 years ago

We need to be circumspect. Hedging can go both ways. We can all be geniuses after the fact but at the time a call has to be made in price direction it is not as easy to call as several factors come into play. If price had mov ...

• yaaasantewaa79@yahoo.com 9 years ago

If any of these guys can rightly foresee the movements in the commodoties market and hedge his or her positions accruately then they can apply to Goldman Sachs for a million dollar a year job. Your actions are what they call ...

• Nii Kwartei 9 years ago

As a net importer of crude oil Ghana is gaining because we are buying crude oil at current world market prices and selling our oil same. The analysts should look at it in both ways and not from the export side alone.

• Kojo 9 years ago

For the first time time on this platform I have to insult IMANI and iFS because they sounded like illiterates.

Are they very familiar with the dynamics of crude oil price volatility and pro- cyclical behavior on the world ...

• john 9 years ago

They have spoilt Mother Ghana. God will ask them to answer

• Ghanaba 9 years ago

think of it...the person buying the oil at the hedged price will one day reap heavily too when prices rebound and you same think tanks will come crying out foul. No need for this hindsight bashing

• From Des UK 9 years ago

Hedging is the worst form of gambling on the commodities,such gold , diamond and oil!Mr Terper is doing the right to avoid needless gambling. In UK they call it speculation. In fact it's pure gambling with our limited resou ...

• araba 9 years ago

daddy dont mine them let them talk.

• Jim wise 9 years ago

Does this boy understand the political economy of this world ? Does he understand the dynamics of oil pricing ? Who says hedging is the solution to ghana's problem ; why did major oil producing countries like Nigeria , Russia ...

• OSAFO 9 years ago

HE IS JUST STUPID. HOW MUCH OIL DOES GHANA PRODUCE? HE DOESN'T UNDERSTAND ECONOMICS.HOW I WISH THE CRUDE OIL PRICE REMAINS MODERATE AND CUDJOE WILL LAUGH AT THE WRONG SIDE OF HIS MOUTH.

• Abigi 9 years ago

What is been talked about is technical not out of the anus. Tell me if you understand Butterfly hedging, put and calls. If you do not then ZIP it up,

• Akwaaba 9 years ago

Travel Travel Travel
    Contact me if you want to travel to US Canada Australia Japan South Korea Dubai and any European country on 0541702098

• Dessy 9 years ago

At the time Ghana was on hedging program on oil market How much was oil price per barrel.. ?It was over 100$/per barrel,, so, there was much money to cover for hedging program. And considering the vulnerability of the oil pr ...

• Victor A. Young 9 years ago

Tweeaaa, Terkper doesn't know kotoo in world economic! He's dazed by world financial/economic trends and just staring at events "toliii" not knowing what to do next, that's why Ghana has lost such an amount of money which cou ...

• c.stephen sackey. 9 years ago

This is a straightforward commodities hedging strategy.
    In any commodities futures market there are parties and counterparties-those who believe in different ditections of the market-the ups and downs.
    They always meet to m ...

• Kofi Mensah 9 years ago

HEDGING IS GAMBLING WITH THE STATE ASSET. THE MINISTER IS BETTER THAN YOU LOT WHO DO NOT UNDERSTAND THAT FOREX TRADING IS GAMBLING WITH THE STATE MONEY. IF IT GOES WRONG YOU WILL BE CALLING FOR HIS HEAD.