You are here: HomeNews2015 04 04Article 353080

Ghana Police to implement spot fine

Read Comments Comments (58)

• fkbf 9 years ago

All the money will go into their pocket

• Stupid Nii Armah Aryeh 9 years ago

Now all police officers will be on the road. Nobody will be in the charge office. The police stations are going to be empty. If you stay at the station, your wife will leave you.

• KOLA, INSIDE LONDON. 9 years ago

Another avenue for corruption in the Police force is in the offing. A Ghanaian Police man issuing spot fine? And what makes the Government believe that these fines will be channelled through the court system instead of the Po ...

• Trotro 9 years ago

It is better for the police to issue Ticket to the driver for them to go to the bank and pay it. If the Police is taking money direct, then the police is going to steal all the money when they go road. It will be a nice busin ...

• gretchy 9 years ago

ur absolutely right more bribes and its legal now geeze.Yet dat buggr in charge Mahama reckons he's getting to grip with corruption hahahahaha pigs fly too.There well be sooo many police out there wanting to fill their pocke ...

• THINGS FALL APART 9 years ago

WHY IS THE NDC COPYING EVERYTHING THAT IS DESTROYING NIGERIA?.
    THIS SPOT FINE MENTALITY WAS KNOWN TO THE NDC WHEN THE VICE PRESIDENT VISITED ABUJA, NIGERIA 2 YEARS AGO.
    IT IS PART OF THE CORRUPTION PRACTICES IN NIGERIA THAT ...

• Efo Paapa 9 years ago

Ghana police will soon be named the most corrupted institution in the whole world.

• SARPONG 9 years ago

My friend, you beat me to it. Now the Police has won the lottery. Now they are not going to collect the Ghana one cedi anymore. On the spot fine of at least twenty Ghana cedis is going to be the norm.

Drivers are now in bi ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 9 years ago

A policeman arrested 2 boys yesterday, one for drinking battery acid, the other for eating fireworks. They charged one and let the other one off

• Okukuseku 9 years ago

Sarpong my countryman,decent and law abiding drivers have nothing to fear.The way to beat the Police will be,to drive with discipline and to be lawful.Arbitary stopping of drivers without justification should be challenged.Th ...

• JENNY 9 years ago

Brand new 7,500-9,350 WATTS electric start Champion Generators for sale.

• KOTO 9 years ago

MORE BRIBE.
    MOOO MONEY.

• Create,loot and share. 9 years ago

It is time for more bribes as usual.

• Nana Asamoa 9 years ago

Spot fine is good.the fine money pay derect to bank.and you keep your copy.if this haping police can't not get nothing from driver.so no brab.finish

• Africanus 9 years ago

Thanks Asamoah... I was going to explain it to those who think the police are up to make more money. Rather it diminishes their ability to pocket monies, especially if the fines are pre-determined to match specific offence. S ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

You are joking if you believe what you are saying.

Let's look at this scenario even if the program is implemented as you are saying. Let's assume an infraction of not having an insurance attracts on the spot fine of 100 Gh ...

THEY CANNOT ACCOUNT FOR THE TOLL BOOTH REVENUE,HOW CAN YOU TRUST THEM FOR COLLECTING FINES ON THE SPOT?
    ITS LIKE PUTTING SARDINE BEFORE A HUNGRY CAT.

• IDI AMIN DADA!!!! 9 years ago

IN THE UNLIKELY EVENT OF ANY "SPOT FINE", THUS ME, THE POLICE WILL ASK FOR A BRIBE OF LOWER AMOUNT AND WE SHALL SURELY PAY THE LOWER AMOUNT TO AVOID THE SO-CALLED SPOT FINES! FOR EXAMPLE, IF THE SPOT FINE IS GHC20, WE SHALL B ...

• KT 9 years ago

So now 'we' and the police, who is corrupt? We keep bribing these police officers yet turn around and accused them of corruption.

Policeman"Mr Abudu who are the people with you on your Okada?
    Abudu"Jesus,Mary and Joseph"
    Policeman"Dont you know is overload and you have to pay me 100 Cedis"
    Abudu"You know is dumsor,dumsor and you cannot write 100 cedi ...

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

Ghana Police MTU is now a gold mine. I hope the next recruitment will not be fraught with fraud. I have already drafted my application.

• MANTSE 9 years ago

What do think BRIBERY by the Police is?, A Church Donation or Charitable Contribution? The Police have been 'Practising 'SPOT FINE' since the
    timw of Adam, except ALL was going into their Pockets.

And we are now saying th ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Mantse, now it is being legitimized and the days when the Policeman was happy for Ghana 5 cedis is going to be over.

Now either you pay 20 Ghana cedis to the Policeman or you collect your hundred Ghana cedis ticket and gue ...

• MANTSE 9 years ago

Your GUESS is as GOOD as MINE.

We have NOT BEEN ABLE to do a SINGLE THING RIGHT as a Nation. NOTHING in Ghana is CORRUPTION FREE. Everything is INFESTED to the CORE all the WAY to the TOP of every institution. When we are ...

• Lord Tennison 9 years ago

Spot fines to be imposed and collected by the Police?What role are they going to play:prosecutors,lawyers,judges and cashiers combo?By jove!
    A police officer only issues citations for drivers to go to court and plead their ...

• Atta Kwaku 9 years ago

Ghana Police service is so corrupt that the system will help the enrich themselves at the expense of the state.The spot fine is in Ghana Long time.what are the polise doing when the collect bribe from the drivers?They have in ...

• Banana 9 years ago

This is a very good idea but the fine should not be paid on the spot, as is done in the US...the policeman will pull you over, explain why he stopped you and then issue you a ticket fine for the specific offense. With your dr ...

• Anna 9 years ago

A country where Birth certificates and passports are procured at will trying to control drivers by fines. We need to get the law working in all spheres before trying things which will enrich pockets not the country.

One day, a Man was filling his gas tank at Sarpong Gas Station in Nima; he filled the tank so full that gasoline got on his shirt sleeve; unaware that there was gasoline on his sleeve, he lit a cigarette and his sleeve caugh ...

• GBEWAA 9 years ago

A POLICE MAN CATCHES A MOTORIST OFFNDER AND THREATENS TO ISSUE A SPOT FINE Of SAY GHc5. THE TRAFFIC OFFENDER GIVES A BACKHAND OF SAY GH2.00 TO THE POLICE MAN INSTEAD OF THE GHc5.00 FIXED PENALTY. THE TRAFFIC OFFENDER SAVES GH ...

• Al Hajj AAA-RASHID(OH.USA) 9 years ago

Hahaha!Praise God! Can someone say Amen!

Did I read right? I hope I am not dreaming? This is just a nice way to make these guys rich.

Spot fine in GHANA? Every policeman would love to be on road patrols....lmao

• Director 9 years ago

The system is good but the issue is trust. In the United States where this system works perfectly because of its structure, the driver can go to court to defend if there was any form of unfair treatment or misconduct by the ...

• Ka na wu 9 years ago

Let's face it .How many of current force can read and write knowing what we know now about corrupt recruitment into the Police force regardless of one's credentials and abilities
    Sanitize the Police Force first before rushin ...

• jjp obuasi 9 years ago

THAT IS NONSENSE LAW.YOU ARE GOING TO MAKE THE MTTU MORE RICHER .NKWASEASEM IN HIGHEST DEGREE.

• mumuni 9 years ago

In ghana in looks as if all the policemen are trained jxt to correct money from drivers.it's a shame.

• Dee 9 years ago

We copy everything yet lack the structures to implement them.Laughable!!

• Say the Truth 9 years ago

Haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaabaaa SPOT SPOT SPOT FINES????????

FOR GHANA POLICE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

HAHHAHAHHAHHAHAH OK SPOT CHECK OF 100 CEDIS FOR AN OFFENCE (PAID & GET GHANA GOVT. RECEIPT WHO KNOWS IS NOT FAKE) OR! OR!! OR!!! PAY ...

• truth 9 years ago

Are the police going to use video evidence? If not then the police cannot implement it as charged drivers can can the police to court to counter. Police can only get people with expired papers. Am sorry but these cats should ...

• Latif 9 years ago

Exactly, that's the way to go

• JOHN ASAMOAH 9 years ago

ANOTHER AVENUE FOR CORRUPTION*THEY SHOULD GET OUT OF THE MANGO TREE*27 YRS SHS GRADUATE LOKIN 4 SOMEONE TO DATE*NO MATTER THE TRIBE JUST CAL 0200677434

• Bentum 9 years ago

need to join the Police Service. How are you going to account for the money? In this modern era,where we are trying to encourage the use of less money we encourage drivers to carry more money on them.Where are spot fines the ...

• GBEWAA 9 years ago

GHANA POLICE BOSS IS FROM THE NORTH.

PRESIDENT IS FROM THE NORTH.

WHAT ELSE DO GHANAIANS EXPECT?

• Only in Ghana 9 years ago

Do the police know the traffic rules themselves. How many police drive not using seat belts or ride motor bikes with out helmets.?

• b3 dcop rtd. 9 years ago

All to fully understand especially drivers to only pay what fine is related to what particular offence but not pro rata base.
    Each fine for a specific offence. These should be made public and as part of the education problem ...

• anonymos 9 years ago

Oh ghana, when will these police have common sense?

• kankam, 9 years ago

Another way of reaping money from the innocent Ghanaians.corruption at its peak.we will raised antoa curse on u when u keep the monies for urself.

• adam 9 years ago

then I must divert my course to study police administration. money go flows waaaaaaa

• SHAKA 9 years ago

THE SPOT FINE IS A GOOD IDEA BUT IT SHOULDN'T BE TOO MUCH ELSE IT WILL BREED CORRUPTION. THE FINE SHOULD BE SUCH THAT NO ONE WOULD FIND IT PRUDENT TO PAY HALF OF IT TO THE POLICE TO AVOID PAYING THE FULL FINE. BECAUSE IF IT H ...

• Amen 9 years ago

The system already exist. This is just to formalize the stealng, for the police to rip drivers dry. a thief is always a thief. Is that the only strategy?

• luther king 9 years ago

Legalization of bribe for police?

• Oppong 9 years ago

Opportunities for more graft

• spot 9 years ago

It's already in place wid the bribes they take.

• sly 9 years ago

what nonsense!! what jinx!! mmoaaaa

• Ka na wu 9 years ago

just like road tolls ends up in individual pockets,traffic spot fines is going to be another gimmick to rob Ghanians . RECONSTITUTE THE POLICE SERVICE AND START ALL OVER TO ESTABLISH CREDIBILITY BEFORE GHANA BECOMES JUST A CO ...

• mabel 9 years ago

Pls fellow citizens when such issues comes up let contribute for its implementation than to give negative comments all the time.sometimes i find it funny but its not helping.my suggestion is to pay the fine at the bank ,bring ...

• Anita 9 years ago

Support for Mum and Dad
    Odo Home & Social Care Agency
    Odocare provide Home & Social Care to individuals of all ages with various requirements including care for the elderly and support for families and friends.
    If you are ...

• Nii Nmai,Dallas,TX,U.S.A. 9 years ago

Why ask the cat to watch the fish?
    This guys are said to be the most corrupt people in the nation so why tempt them with this.
    Please, spare the police this agony.

• ck 9 years ago

Good idea. But should be a private administration rather than a Police administration .
    Can easily create 50, 000 new jobs that way.
    In the hands of the police, bribery and corruption will increase and road safety will re ...