You are here: HomeNews2015 03 30Article 352468

Man, 56, marries 9-year-old girl

Read Comments Comments (121)

• SARPONG 9 years ago

This is normal in this part of Ghana. Many of these old fools marry about ten of these young girls. The culture that allows this in the Northern regions and Volta region where Trokosi is a religion should be banned.

Even t ...

• Twum Barimah 9 years ago

This is outrageous. It is a great insult to the Ghanaian community.

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 9 years ago

The stepfather and the supposed husband should both be arrested and prosecuted for child marriage and endangering the life and future of the 9 year old. What stupidity is that custom which allows a nine year old girl to marry ...

• Nyansasem 9 years ago

The journalists in Ghana are something else. They would not tell us her name but will show us her picture.. Amazing!

• NEMESIS RADAR, UK!! 9 years ago

THIS CAN ONLY HAPPEN IN GHANA. WHAT A NATION!

• DEPORT ALL THE FOREIGN MUSLIMS 9 years ago

ALL THOSE MUSLIMS FROM THE NORTH SUPPOSE TO BE KILLED FOR BARBICUE .

• gonja 9 years ago

I heard Mahama's mum was ten when he was born. This is normal for the muslims

• Aba bee 9 years ago

I can't believe this thing still going on in Ghana nine year old girl I don't think she even know how to have a bath I mean real bath .pls allow your daughters to go to school

• TT 9 years ago

Where is this guy who calls himself Ghana at? I want him to come here and defend this nonsense from his people. The idiot is always calling Asante people names.

• Joe Abass 9 years ago

TT Please mind your tongue

• Oppong Kyekyeku 9 years ago

What is the essence of showing the picture of the girl whiles withholding her name?

• 1974 9 years ago

Please am begging government to send development to our area. so that schooling will be attractive to the young ones. This will help educate many for the future so that this shameful behavior will stop. It is going on in the ...

• SCHEMER 9 years ago

It is people like you who can go educate your people. What has government got to do with this when education and for that matter schooling has always been free in that part of Ghana? It is equally rooted in Volta Region who p ...

• Atia paa 9 years ago

They are following the footsteps of their Arab paedophile...Insah Allah!

• TONY,GREENSBORO, NC 9 years ago

Where in the world has this writer been? Asking gov't send development to 'their' area so that education would be attractive. The northern part of Ghana has had free education which is the key to success and development even ...

• Abongo Sisi of Akwatia zongo. 9 years ago

How can Ghana progress with these idiots inlcuded on the voters register. Just give them a bottle of akpeteshi and they will vote for you. Stupid Northern Region.

• J. D Mahama 9 years ago

And these are the kinds idiots who vote for NDC period. No wonder ghana is still standing where we are. Thanks for the nonsense J. J. Rawlings put into these idiots both the ewe trokosi and those in the north head against th ...

• We the people 9 years ago

Oh eye Ampentenshie ña wakum Attia.
    Eye Akomfem ña wamana ko Heaven.
    Praise God Heleluya Amen e.

• Pepe ni 9 years ago

Pls do well to be civil,these practices go on everywhere

• GHANATTA 9 years ago

We have these sickos marrying their own sisters, fucking their daughters and nieces, marrying nine year old girl are in governing positions.Do you see why Ghana is not progressing, but deteriating?

We have these sick NDC p ...

• candy wiafe 9 years ago

the only region that get virtually everything free is the north and it's environment and what does the enitre country get in return, community strife , and stuff like that .the few ones who are highly educated in the north ...

• achimorazo 9 years ago

what has volta got to do with this? you must be on some weed.

• Botha 9 years ago

Ewes do the same. Trokosi is a tradition that permits old men to rape children like this one, that is what he is talking about.

• Baba 9 years ago

Do u think all northeners voted NDC? U bloody fool does Bawumia come from? People like Sarpong will continue to criple NPP.Idiot!!!

• SARPONG 9 years ago

I don't care if you will never vote for Npp. I will not sacrifice the virginity of a nine year old to get a vote from a Northerner.

If your point is to keep me quiet so that fools like you paedophile can continue to rape l ...

• Concerned Ghanaian 9 years ago

Are these people normal at all? Even animals wait for its babies to grow up before engaging in sexual activities.

• CONCERN CITIZEN 9 years ago

How can these idiots rule my AMA GHANA with such mentality. How can a beautiful country like ghana be ruled by such primitive tribe to move forward? My country is ruling by dogs and I priase HON OSAFO MARFO for his bold comme ...

• Kwame 9 years ago

Re:Waa look: God forgive u for ur unguided statement

• Raj 9 years ago

If u are being ruled by a dog, then what are you???

• Trotro 9 years ago

Don't worry, he will be grass-cutter and the person he termed him as dog will go after him in a wild chase.

• Binde-Northern Region 9 years ago

It's better to retract your comment. We in the North do not abuse you as you do to us verbally. Don't forget that in every home there is Mensah

• Mensah 9 years ago

me m3kaa wo, ok

• Abubakari Yakubu 9 years ago

I beg u people don't politicize dis issue I beg waaa

• JK 9 years ago

Are people losing their minds in our country?
    Are there any grown-ups left out there?
    And the older brother of this nine year old killed a sister who protested the union, and was actually trying to do something to stop it? ...

• Yaw 9 years ago

Utter madness.Everybody involve in this,must be brought to face criminal justice to serve as a deterrent.For this won't be the last and please this must be taken serious.
    What's this madness about so called culture we keep t ...

• Boateng 9 years ago

Castrate all the men involved in this crime!

• mahama john 9 years ago

yet all this idiots will vote

• EK 9 years ago

Hmmmmm!!! These are some of the effects of the poverty and lack of education we live in.
    God have mercy,

• Kofi NY 9 years ago

Name withheld, but picture not? Idiots or that's not her picture, if not why put it there

• Peacemaker 9 years ago

Only the colanut shewers will do this in this century.

• Botha 9 years ago

Kwasea, your trokosi people are worse. You hide behind trokosi to molest little girls.

• Kim 9 years ago

Botha or whatever u call yourself, I see you have a personal vendetta against the Anlos of the volta region. When a news is reported, narrow minded folks like you use it as an avenue to exibit your tribal bigotry .

• Botha 9 years ago

Kim, does the Anlos practice trokosi? Doesn't trokosi abuse little girls?

What is the bigotry here if you people abuse children in the name of culture?

• fred 9 years ago

this idiot needs to be dealt with.

• NSEMFOO 9 years ago

Northners behave like animals that's why they are still backward people without common sense.
    I would have committed suicide if i were born TANII
    A 56 YR Old man to get married to a 9 yr old girl? Aaaaah Ntafo} agyimi paaaa

• Issah Salifu 9 years ago

I think u ar speakin out of insanity, these words might come from ur anus and not ur month or brains. If one person or a paticular group of persons does something wrong, as a wise, reasonable and a concerned citizen, go ahead ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 9 years ago

Because Bawumia is looking for power he pretends not to know how Ashantis insult northerners!

Please northerners, avoid NPP because that party does not respect you.

• Raj 9 years ago

You would have been blessed to be born TANII. ofui, opuro, kraman ba like you. If l was born akan l wud have cursed my parents. Adwee gyimi gyimi

• dumsor dumsor 9 years ago

U will never be akan, tanii aboa, you people eat bomb, stop bombing ur self. Ur not ashame of ur self, TANII YE NNIPA apuu tweaa tey.

• wasty. 9 years ago

Go ask re grandfather who made u look like a normal human being. In the olden days u were very, very short n ugly more than santo n hiding under mountains so tani was able to get u out from there n made u normal that is why ...

• Northern Concern 9 years ago

I bet you this 9 year girl will also soon be dead. If she is rescued and still left in the village what do you expect? I appeal to the government to get in there and take this poor girl away from the village and give her a de ...

• PASTOR MANNING 9 years ago

BUT THIS IS RIDICULOUS!!! SILLY MAN!
    if she was my daughter I would slap her!

• Boateng 9 years ago

You will slap the victim after she gone through this horrendous experience?

• Jordan 9 years ago

You are all children of Jakpa.

• Issah Salifu 9 years ago

Incredible!! This is absolutely nonsense in this mordern era, why!

• Akos 9 years ago

Filthy depraved practise ruining the life of a young girl. What nonsense!

• Bribehene 9 years ago

Even a prophet of a religion can marry a 9 yr old lady why not this man

• ebolla boy 9 years ago

i hv read all your comments folks but one thing u guys forget abt this is;their are predominantly muslims who follow mohammed...who married 9year old(aisha) so am not suprise

• Citizen 9 years ago

Even Virgin Mary was 12-14years old when she was betrothed to Joseph (the carpenter)

According to biblical calculations Isaac married 3years old Rebecca who later gave birth to Jacob and Esau.

In ancient times it was n ...

• naf 9 years ago

dis man is wicked, wat! how can u, a 56 yrs old man marry a girl who can be ur child. OOOOO......!!!!!! GHANA, WHY O WHY hmmmmm.........!!!!!!

• moses sackey 9 years ago

what a shame in ghana,56 years old man with a -9 years old girl.

• Terry 9 years ago

Why people of Ghana, have we forgoten about those small girls who go round sleepin with guys all over, or have we asked the sort of life the girl is living, shalow minded people all over the page.

• Makinye 9 years ago

As well as I deem it a bad practise, I see all who bring this into politics as unfortunate people. Politics is totally different from culture. Are we not in this country where a certain tribe up to date bury kings with human ...

• abiola 9 years ago

dat useless idiot brother who killed the sister bcos of that stupid marriage shd face the firing square

• NANA 9 years ago

So when is some of these stupidness going to stop ahhhhh

• yussmont 9 years ago

this man seems boko haramish

• Nnn 9 years ago

yussmont, do you believe the story at all? what do you mean by marriage, that a 9year old will marry? the whole story is bull shit

• Osu Klottey 9 years ago

I blame Northern and Upper Ghana politicians,they don't care about their villages

• Upper Deck 9 years ago

THESE PRIMITIVE OLD CULTURES OF VAGINA MUTILATION, CHILD MARRIAGE, KILLING PEOPLE WHEN A GREAT KING DIES, & SO ON CAN ONLY BE DONE AWAY BY LAWS.THOUGH OUTRAGEOUS AS IT SEEMS ITS BEEN THEIR CULTURE FOR YEARS AND MORE EDUCATION ...

• Boo Denis 9 years ago

dis nt fine
    under age marriage
    victims should be punished according to de law

• Kumfana Y. Yele, TECHIMAN 9 years ago

oh LORD have mercy on us. is unbelievable, all the accomplices should be dealt with meaninglessly. age differential of forty seven years, what a wow. there will be no punishment you can equate it with this crime. simply FIR ...

• Nana Poku 9 years ago

I dont doubt this will happen in the Northern Region.

• BAVEN RICHMOND 9 years ago

Eiiiii Ghana! i think the grandchildren are even older than the girl.God bless the elders who rescued the girl

• Ekow Samuel - Paris. 9 years ago

Is not atal acceptable they should banned it in the Land of Ghana, and again 9 years of age? no!.

• mmmmmmhhhhh????? 9 years ago

when are these people going to be civilizsed????

• ?kofi 9 years ago

Cha!

• We the people 9 years ago

Mr. President do something about this issue,b4 one day The media in The western world would question you. One of these days in your travels To your shame.
    You are also from The North besides being the president of this Backw ...

• Asafo Adjei Bernard Atsu 9 years ago

Oh God help us

• Laar 9 years ago

God have mercy on this
    sick family who still behaves this way in this modern era

• zakaria sharif Tamale 9 years ago

And so why idiot people Ghana is not for
    Ashanti's is for all we Northerners will lead the country to stand for better position.Everything for north is politics OK we taking your note we will divide Ghana in to two.

• Abena 9 years ago

Why are u insulting ndc be matured nd stop e insult

• Aviv 9 years ago

The husband and all those who contracted the marriage are animals, insane and without thinking faculty. How to they expect this old man to make love with this tiny girl?

• KKO 9 years ago

There are some of those paedophiles in Ghana's Parliament today!

• TOM 9 years ago

ntafor has know brains just look at mahama how can 56yrs married 9yrs

• Abdul-Aziz Suale 9 years ago

what a tradition,those involved should be made to face the law.

• NANA AMPEM DARKO 9 years ago

free drinks and guinea fowls for MAHAMA This is what northners do and the stupid MP who said he would beat or kill his wife FOOLS

• Abdul-Aziz Suale 9 years ago

Infact,Ghana belongs to all its citizens n 4 dat matter,no tribe is superior hence,tribal issues should not be involved in ur comments.

• Josephine 9 years ago

very wicked man paaa

• mahama ba 9 years ago

plse somebody help me. what is the origin of ntafo). I think we have to divide ghana into two. is very painful if these people are ruling ghana

• saint kwame from assin foso 9 years ago

the man must be castriated

• patrick johnson, uk 9 years ago

Jail them for life

• Niki 9 years ago

Minister of Education is failing the children of tomorrow by not safeguarding against the welfare of our children. It is only in Ghana that any Minister of Education would endorsed this practice without any safeguarding claus ...

• True Northerner. 9 years ago

We also wish our Northern detractors;most especially the Southerners,to accept that they are all murderers,thieves and cocaine dealers.

THE MAN NEEDS TO BE HANG OR ASS NEEDS TO FUCK BY A HORSE .

• Stone 9 years ago

You would slap a poor girl who has no say?

THEY ARE LUCKY I'M NOT IN GHANA . THOSE GHANAIANS MOTHERFUCKERS MUST KEEP THEIR BALL ROLLING AND I'M READY FOR THEIR FUCKING ASS HOME BOY . MY USSSIE AND AK 47 IS ALWAYS READY ?

• Truth 9 years ago

Let the law of the land deal with them. We're in a civilized world. The best thing you could do is to promise to sponsor the innocent child till she graduates from college. Sell you AK 47

I LOVE TEXAS -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- ...

• Akwaaba 9 years ago

Travel Travel Travel
    Contact me if you want to travel to US Canada Australia Japan South Korea and any European country on 0541702098

• Joe 9 years ago

Stupid culture, Mahama bad culture infiltrated in better culture of good people coursing doomed in the entire country.

• Bostonman redsox 9 years ago

evil

• Obiba Broke 9 years ago

No tribe is superior to the other, we all have our short comings, so try to be respectful.

• HEHEHEHEHEHEHEHEHEHEHEHEH 9 years ago

THIS STUPID OF ALL STUPID BITCHES LAWYERS, WHERE IS SHE? WITH PLENTY MEAT SORROUNDING HER NECK N LEG LIKE MOSQUITO LEGS.AM ANGRY AT HER BCOS SHE IS ANTI MEN,BIASED TOWARDS ME AND IN HER FUCKIN TWISTED BRAIN WANT TO INTRODUCE ...

• EHS 9 years ago

This is why education is so important, I believe most of the people involved are unlearned. Pls set this example to the the Region so everyone will have no excuse what so ever. I thank everyone who is involved in helping this ...

• DESTINY FROM BIMBILLA GHANA 9 years ago

If this is true, the world is going to an end. I wonder hw a 56 year old man will apetite for a nine year old girl. Hmmmmmm.....

• ABI-olA 9 years ago

my landlord is PURE ASANTE BT HE has been sleeping with his own daughters. His has even impregnated the first one .Now he is on the second who might not all dat be older than the 9 old yr girl who has been force into marriag ...

• abigee 9 years ago

No. Goats don't.

• A. Kubi 9 years ago

These foolish cultural practices are way out of the norm. Nine year old being married off to a grandpa at such a tender age? Perhaps they have married off younger girls less than nine years of age before.

• efua 9 years ago

you this ashanti people who cannot speak common english ,always insult those who are helping you. it is the Tanii who always help when you call your presidents without them you can make it.nana didn't know anything that is wh ...

• Gyamfi Adjei 9 years ago

The kingship should may sure the young girl educational life is well ensured and prevented from such illegal marriage

• 3dem 9 years ago

Discourse on this platform is gradually losing substance and increasingly becoming unintelligent tribalistic squabbles.

• kofi 9 years ago

0æqqaqqqaqqa

• vikuba 9 years ago

1. please protect the identity of the girl by taking her picture off social media - to reduce stigmatization.

2. the little girl has to go through psychosocial counseling if she is to recover properly from the trauma and f ...

• time will tell. 9 years ago

Serious may God have mercy, but the face of this girl doesn't look like a 9 years old.

• Kofi Bonsu 9 years ago

This will only happen among the ntafo in Ghana.

• MAHAMA LOOT ND SHARE 9 years ago

EEEEEEI GHANA PAA,HMMMM MAHAMA LOVE THAT ATOPAHENE,MAFIS,JUJU PAD MAHAMA IS A BIG THIEF,FOOOLISH MAN SHAME ON YOU

• kris 9 years ago

is this the 21th century ghana?hmmm mercy

• say it loud 9 years ago

Those people are not muslims so. Ignorant people like ebola boy thought every body in the north is a muslim.

• Ashanti's wat do u tink u are? 9 years ago

?Kofi,wat do u tink u are? let me tell u and those ppl saying stupid tins abt de great Volta Region. Im sure u are one those black dwarf Ashanti's right ?,always in de bush chasing mouse to feed on. Voltarians are very Civili ...

• Adongo 9 years ago

foolish old man, go and married your own children.