You are here: HomeNews2015 03 30Article 352333

Asantehene Shouts Tribal Discrimination Without Data?

Read Comments Comments (35)

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

He should talk about that first

• Kenyatta 9 years ago

Rawlings didn't push for it. Kuffour didn't even sniff it. Mills ignored it and Mahama has, so far, buried it somewhere under a pile of paperwork on his desk.

They are all scared about opening a can of worms which could a ...

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

You may have a point, Kenyatta!

• MEBUAFU PAA 9 years ago

How illogic Bannerman could be? Do you data on all the people kilkled by rawlings? how do you create data when you never recorded anything? Do you and Bannerman understand what is meant by SUBTLE DISCRIMNATION?
    We had nepot ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 9 years ago

For those of us at the receiving end and on the barricades for decades now, the outburst from the Asantehene is nothing fresh at all! Just a welcome deja vu I in particular welcome very much. I have been waiting for an opport ...

• Botha 9 years ago

I bet this Dennis Austin is a smelly Anlo trokosi.

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 9 years ago

Your passionate fight for a freedom of information bill in Ghana has earned you a lot of respect on Ghanaweb and in Ghana. And I join others to applaud your efforts. It is unfortunate that so far, no government has done enoug ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

"and in fact its developmental projects will naturally be in favor of those who voted it into power"

Dr SAS, is this something you believe and ascribe to or what you see as normal or something you have come to accept?

I believe, ascribe to and also have come to accept that the reality of the votes does predispose the reality of the projects.

Ideally, this shouldn't be the case, but the realities of our politics confirm my take. I am jus ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

I don't disagree with that reality in Ghana but it shouldn't be like that. It was because of that idea and belief that contributed to the failures of Nkrumah numerous projects politically sited.

In USA, the advancement of ...

I agree.

But you are also assuming that one cannot site projects in one's voting base and get it right. That will be a matter of judgment that can be easily sorted out by a well informed leadership.

But as a politician, ...

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law,
    We've noted your comment about our effort on behalf of the Freedom of Information bill.

The reason the Democrat party lost the Congress and the Senate is more complex than that President Obama ...

Prof Lungu,

Too much weed is affecting your reasoning.

I do not have to babysit you to understand that I refer to the right of the sitting government to appoint officials to political positions. And in fact I would even ...

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law,
    We have never met.

You do not know us.

And yet, you as a lawyer, thinks it is fair enough to claim "Too much weed is affecting (our) reasoning...(and to)...Quit the drug..."

It is now cle ...

My comment on your essay captures the political reality that any government that is voted into power will naturally make political appointments from its base and also site projects in its base.

It is a statement of fact an ...

• KO 9 years ago

SAS!

• Abubakar M. M. Azindoo 9 years ago

Brother Sarpong, with all due respect international airports in any part of Ghana are not meant for Ghanaians in diaspora, let alone "the mostly Akans who form more than 70 percent of Ghanaians abroad..." The airports are for ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

What will the International travellers be travelling to Tamale for when the mostly Akan international travellers can acess the Kotoka International Airport?

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

There is a saying that goes so: If you build it, they will come! In this case, we may need to add, "Eventually", in the manner of a Singapore Fortune Cookie.

So, let's hope so!

ITEM: All of that is what happens when ...

• Megan Dwanafo Ameyaw 9 years ago

Comparing What the Asantehene said to the Ferguson case is just completely stupid. You should of used something less explosive than the Ferguson case. What is up with these useless Ghanaian professor of the today. I feel sorr ...

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

Megan Dwanafo Ameyaw,
    Looks like you did not even read 25% of the essay, before you penned your comments. You may want to hold that "sorry for our childern", while you re-visit the essay. Then, let us know what you really th ...

• KO 9 years ago

Yep!

Then like the other bloke, you had no clue what you read. It is a most brilliant piece by all yardsticks. First class!

Prof. Lungu wrote:

"Another of Mr. Bannerman's statement also had us scratching our head, that "...w ...

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

C.Y. ANDY-K,
    We've been our are just began catching on these comments.

Thanks so much for lending your voice!

Greetings!

• collins gyamfi. 9 years ago

what is wrong with this man,how can u compare tribal issues in ghana to the racial issues in USA.all the issues u raised is pointless and u tend to use big big english for ur article.firstly u need to downgrade ur chosen dict ...

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

collins gyamfi,
    You may want to direct your comments about "watever the king of ashanti said" to Nii Lantey Okunka Bannerman!

With respect to "...downgrade ur chosen diction", we will try to do better next time. That sa ...

Prof. Lungu, you are in big, big trouble:-) I am not quite sure I saw any big word in your piece but I just tried above to save your neck from the wrong accusation being leveled against you.

Can some pple understand that s ...

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

Yes, we are!

Trouble looks for I and I!

We trust we are up to all of that, and then some!

Again, thanks!

• INXS 9 years ago

Pls, Prof Lungu, never forget the fact that Ghana went metric in 1974 under the Acheampong regime. That is 40 years ago which means most Ghanaians under 40 don't know what inches are. If you write for a Ghana centred reading ...

• Sister Souljah 9 years ago

The imbecile SAS is just exhibiting his crass idiocy by calling Lungu a drug addict. If Lungu is a drug addict then SAS is STUPIDITY personified, most of the moron SAS's rantings on this forum have been nothing short of compl ...

• Sister Souljah 9 years ago

INXS your time would have been better spent commenting on the substantive issues raised in the article, than on the pettiness of imperial vs metric measurements.

• INXS 9 years ago

Better to talk of petty issues about his piece than calling him names or insulting him.

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

No problem!

All positive comments have been noted.

Our current professional occupation has us working with engineers, architects, planners, environmental scientists, etc. Typically, drawings and plans are in both meas ...

• KO 9 years ago

Long tiring essay in search of nothing

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

SHARE THE PORK, BE PRESIDENT FOR LIFE, by Charles Oyongo-Obbo

30 March 2015

READ
    ------------------
    SOURCE: www.nytimes.com/2015/03/30/opinion/share-the-pork-be-president-for-life.html?hp&action=click&pgtype=Homepage ...