You are here: HomeNews2015 03 27Article 352191

Confusion over $29m Kumasi Airport project

Read Comments Comments (67)

• LORD 9 years ago

NPP ALWAYS KICK AGAINST ANY GOOD THING THE PRESIDENT DOES.WHAT KID OF PEOPLE ARE WE LEAVING WITH IN GHANA?

• nii 9 years ago

they see nothing good in others apart from themselves.

• facts 9 years ago

Everything mahama touches fails except one ie. CREATE; LOOT AND SHARE policy meant to make NDC members rich. Here now people from far and near are attacking to bring it down. How can Mahama/NDC win votes this time?

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 9 years ago

AUTHOR: STEVOO-------
    GOD ISNT STUPID LIKE US, WE REAP WHAT WE SOWED,,,,WE SOWED FAKE JUDGEMENT DEBTS, ALMOST ONE BILLION DOLLARS....WE SOWED WOYOME 45 MILLION DOLLARS, WE SOWED WATERVILLE 46 MILLION DOLLARS,.....WE SOWED GY ...

• Senior Wisdom 9 years ago

23.9 million just for asphalting a 1.9km runway will make anybody cringe. I though that was for building a new terminal. Only God knows how Ghana is being raped by this incompetent bunch of politicians!

• Senior Wisdom 9 years ago

Ethiopia is constructing three new airports with an estimated cost of US$ 64.5m. What on God's earth is different in Kumasi that a runway only will cost nearly half that amount

• Concerned 9 years ago

It's frustrating when people like you complain when someone is trying to look out for all of us. If you send your step child to buy kenkey with gh40 and he comes back with two balls and no change claiming things are hard so ...

• BE BOLD 9 years ago

But how do you know the wisdom you are spilling out makes sense to this Nii? All he knows is that Ashantis are not part of his world so everything evil is acceptable in his warped world until he himself becomes a victim of hi ...

• Anane-Appiah, Dormaa-Aduana 9 years ago

Sensible Response. This is not partisan. The work of the opposition is amongst others to provide checks & balances. Accountability is lacking in our part of the world. How can anybody spend about $23 million on the repair of ...

• Brian Williams 9 years ago

Some of you are just STUPID.

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

29 MILLION DOLLARS? ,FOR JUST REHABILITATION? OR A BRAND NEW AIRPORT? INFACT NDCs ARE ARMED ROBBERS AND ONLY A FOOL WILL NEED THEM AGAIN

• Efo Kwaku Canada 9 years ago

Thieves from your village are the people you leave with, the government is subject to accountability to the entire nation, is it wrong to question the balloon prices of NDC? You has proved beyond reasonable doubt that you're ...

• ZED 9 years ago

Lord, raising questions about expenditure is called PROBIT, TRANSPARENCY, AND ACCOUNTABILITY..... THE NDC CORE VALUES....... SO SHUT UP AND LET INTELLIGENT BRAINS MOVE GHANA FORWARD..... STUPID FOOL.... NDC IS REPUTED FOR ST ...

• Omanba Pa, Islington-London! 9 years ago

If you choose mahama as your president then what do you expcting? Ghana "ebi nko moani yie paa" 2016 vote for NDC again!

• Say the TRUTH 9 years ago

LORD: IT IS ONLY THIEVES AND ARMED ROBBERS THAT WILL NOT QUESTION THIS STUPID ESTIMATED AMOUNT FOR THIS VILLAGE AIRPORT (AIR STRIP) THAT NDC CLAIMS TO HAVE COST THEM IN THE REHABILITATION KUMASI AIRPORT!!!

AS JJ THEIR GOD ...

• Abonyinga Tamale 9 years ago

I REGRET VOTING FOR THIEVES

• Kanewu 9 years ago

Ask Dr Anane he knows better.

• J. D Mahama 9 years ago

NDC looting brigade at its best. I have been wondering how on earth would just a mere runway cost $29 million when this money could have built a whole new airport.

• Awonore Bolga 9 years ago

Not knowing they wanted to fill their accounts, money here money there, today they are millioneers, whilest we go hungry

• Concerned 9 years ago

They did not construct a new runway but filled the potholes for $24m

• jaja 9 years ago

chop chop everywhere left right centre and forward

• Efo Kwaku Canada 9 years ago

Looting and share team is on course so just keep quiet, how can we the NDC gets money to raise our office complex, but even though NDC idiots think they are smart there are more wise men and women in Ghana than NDC fools, the ...

• selorm 9 years ago

so you will find nothing wrong with your mason charging you GHC 50 for a cement block even though it's supposed to cost less than 5 cedis??
    Are you people human beings at all? so what's most important to you is not getting y ...

• My Name. 9 years ago

It's heartbreaking every day to hear that Ghana is being duped left and right and when anyone raises an alarm, other wolves come to the attack. I'm wondering whether the attacking wolves are not the original robbers, in the f ...

• James Adams 9 years ago

Why is that when nice people respected people take up leadership duties they become lairs and disrespectful in this country.This work should not cost more than $18m why

• OKESS 9 years ago

JESUS CHRIST $24m for class 10 airport renovation? The NDC needs to be indicted at the International Criminal Court.

• GARY 9 years ago

STATE OF ART AIRPORT

• Airman 9 years ago

29 million. Ebi wo mu.

• k.boateng london 9 years ago

oh no

• nana oyokohene 9 years ago

The airport is in Kwabre Kenyasi therefore Ghanaians should call it Kwabre kenyasi international airport.

• BOATENG 9 years ago

THE AIRPORT IS ON DWABEN LAND, THEREFORE, GHANAIANS SHOULD CALL IT DWABEN INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT.

• NANA 9 years ago

Hmmmmmm can ghana move forward?

• Kwame-Belgium 9 years ago

The NPP is really in a state of confusion. They never take anything good from the NDC because they know all better.

• new.GHANA 9 years ago

None.is.good'..they.are.thieves

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

A ha!

Mr. Freedom of Information (FOI) bill Alban Bagbin is now mad!

It is Mr. FOIB Alban Bagbin who said that Parliament was not the platform to make that request...that is not the avenue to request a break down!

RE ...

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

ITEM: It is the Transport Minister herself who should have presented to Parliament the entire project cost schedule, prior to the meeting with the Ministers!

So, come again, Bagbin-Ativor syndicate!

• frank adjei. 9 years ago

ghanaian leaders has no comitment for the country the coutry is not ripe for civilian rule

• Upper Deck 9 years ago

NOT even §2m was spent,BUT here we are-§29 whooping million dollars before us? NO WONDER "Yien Tie Obiara" was their chosen Rythym! THE FOOLISH TAX PAYERS CASH IS FOLLOWING-WHY NOT.CHOP-CHOP ABi.

• ghanaian 9 years ago

29 million US.DOLLARS or 29 MILLION CEDIS?
    I weep for Ghana . When I come to ghana I will go to the airport and see.
    How much did south Africa used to build O. R.TAMBO ( Johannesburg ) international airport?

• oh oh 9 years ago

South Africa government would do that they would use the money wise so they will use the rest to build house for the poor people and help the poor ghana need war the ndc has create trabalizing to keep the people busy so ...

• Hard Listerners 9 years ago

Anglogold Ashanti has constructed a whole new airport @ the cost of $4 million dollars which has 2 km runway, control tower and arrival and departure halls. ethiopia is building 3 new airports for $64 million dollars. see the ...

• Yari naa from tamale aboabo 9 years ago

Ooo god what is happing now so this is n d c better ghana aganda god should help us in 2016

• Pastor Manning 9 years ago

This is a disgrace to our nations currency!! We are always undermining the cedi.

• kobby kay 9 years ago

when you (npp) collected 5,000 dollars to sell ghana telecom who quention you , thieves afraid of their own shadow

• OLIVIA 9 years ago

NDC STUPIDITY THRO SADA, GYEEDA, SUBAH, FAKE JDGMT DEBTS, ETC HAVE DESTROYED GHANA SO STOP UR USELESS UNSUBSTANTIATED COMPARISONS....FOOOOOOLLLLL

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

Airport for " Ofui's " is always pretty much expensi.

• Abban 9 years ago

Lord gyimii paa nie

• KANAWU KASABA 9 years ago

Ashanti Gold field just built a better new airport from scratch at Obuasi for 5 million dollars.

Rebuilding a new Kotoka shouldn't even cost that much.

Ethiopia is building brand new THREE international airports wi ...

• kwesi attah in exile 9 years ago

This thief are building Manson in heaven from the tax payer money they will die. Very soon so they will go and stay in so they will not listen to anyone

• CHASOR, 9 years ago

I WISH ARM RUBBERS WILL ATTACK THESE GREEDY, CORRUPT AND CROOKS LEADERS OF NDC WHO JUST CAME TO CREATE, LOOT AND SHARE. NO WONDER THEY STARTED THEIR CORRUPT PRACTICES FROM THE VERY FIRST DAY OF TRANSITION ON 7 JAN. 2009

• boka 9 years ago

shame

• nana bosore 9 years ago

NOW U UNDERSTAND WHY MAHAMA AND ASANTEHENE WERE DANCING TO "YENTIE OBIA"

• TWEAA 9 years ago

OPERATION ONE MILLION VOTES IN PROGRESS.

• Dr. Kojo Ababio, USA 9 years ago

Oh NDC what a disgrace! Every opportunity is chop time. And the ladies are worst offenders......Betty Mould...and now Mrs. Ativor! $29million is not a small money.

• agyeman 9 years ago

This is the woman in the thick of the Port deal too. Ei Ayegbe woman minister, you too?

• CL&S 9 years ago

Was it not mahama who said if people wanted to know details of contracts they should go to parliament? Now what is the majority leader saying??

• if the lone crusader 9 years ago

Thieves hasnt god seen you ?a day is coming for sure that gid himself will bail us out i pray .

• National Agenda 9 years ago

How should a government make such stupid ballooned expenditure? Time will Tell.

• Adomako 9 years ago

The books were cooked. Let the true come out please; The amount spent on the runway is insane.

• Kafui Dagasu 9 years ago

You are living with real people who care for the progress of Ghana.
    Where thieves like you and the devil party NDC have No clue of what to do...... Fools who only love darkness.

• Kanewu 9 years ago

Why didnt u do it yourself.You can not bath if somebody baths you your insulting him.

• GBEWAA 9 years ago

GHANA'S USELESS LEADERS HAVE RENDERED NATIONAL CURRENCY, THE CEDI, SO USELESS THAT THEY DENOMINATE EVERY DAMN THING IN US DOLLARS INSTEAD OF GHANA'S CURRENCY, THE CEDI.

WE MIGHT AS WELL WITHDRAW THE CEDI FROM CIRCULATION A ...

• Ghanabiya 9 years ago

BOTH NDC AND NPP HAVE ALL COME TO 'CHOP' GHANA. SO THEY KNOW WHAT EACH OTHER IS DOING.

GHANAIANS ARE HELPLESS IN THE HANDS OF THESE 2 GROUPS OF THUGS.

• Uncle Joe, Vauxhall, London 9 years ago

Oh NDC every opportunity is an avenue for ripping off the ttax payer. How can rehabilitating this small airport cost 29million US dollars when down the road at Obuasi Anglogold Ashanti built a brand new airport - second in te ...

• Bob UK 9 years ago

Women in NDC are all stealers

• Santaclausian, Croydon 9 years ago

A committee of enquiry chaired by JJ Rawlings assisted by reputable retired Justices to dig deep into this matter expeditiously and bring out the true figured involved here. Ghanaians do a lot of shouting but do nothing about ...

• Anane-Appiah, Dormaa-Aduana 9 years ago

ETHIOPIA IS BUILDING THREE BRAND NEW RUNWAYS At a Total cost of $68.5million. Each runway is 2.5km & the costs are:
    RUNWAY 1 (at Hamssa) $22.9million
    RUNWAY 2 (Robe GABA) $24.7 mi
    RUNWAY 3 $20.9 mu