You are here: HomeNews2015 03 27Article 352132

Gov’t plans US$30 billion Accra-Kumasi high speed rail

Read Comments Comments (146)

• OHENEBA 9 years ago

This is a bunch of bull crap. Do you know what $30billion is? Which railway system in the world will cost that much for a distance of 170 miles? This stupid government think that all Ghanaians are fools and gullible like thei ...

• HON SHAMO 9 years ago

Nana is a looser he can never win the 2016 election

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

WHAT IS GHANA'S TOTAL GDP? THESE GUYS DONT HAVE A CLUE ABOUT WHAT THEY WANT TO DO....JUST TO CHOP. THE WANT TO CONSTRUCT A RAIL LINE THAT WILL COST ABOUT 62.59% OF GHANA'S 2013 GDP? OH PLS. STOP THE NONSENSE

• Ben 9 years ago

Fools fools fools.yesterday it was $10b hope city,today high speed train $30b and tomorrow. It will be flying cars for all Ghanaians.where is Mahama's boy thief Agambire anyways?Allah will punish Mahama and his boys.

• Saint Ghfuo: nyantakyi must GO! 9 years ago

GYIMIFUO GOVT. THIS INVESTMNT FIRM SPECIALIZES IN REAL ESTATE N INVESTMNT BANKING ADVICE AND SERVICES. NOT TRANSPORTATION OR EVEN ADVISING NATIONAL GOVTS...

• south Africa 9 years ago

The only thing Mahatma government should do is to be very vigilant about the ongoing developments NPPs has pledge to distroy all what's good under Mahama's government. I'm sure they're planning about this one too.

• MICHAEL DUGAN 9 years ago

NOT TRUE THIS EWE ADMINISTRATION WILL NEVER DO SUCH A THING.THEY NEVER HAD ANY GOOD INTENTION TOWARDS AKANS ESPECIALLY ASHANTIS.Watch and see.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

Hahahahahahaha, we need a rocket train to reach Pluto. Think we are fools? $30.00? Where did you sleep last night?

• VICE 9 years ago

just listen to another miserable son of many fathers...

• kyei 9 years ago

thank u mr president.your seat is secured come 2016

• Concerned Citizen 9 years ago

Some people are reacting here like a 3 year old would, who has been promised a private jet by a village farmer.
    Forget about this distraction and let's solve the Dumsor problem and a myriad of other problems first: Waste man ...

• Abu bakar samber 9 years ago

Plz

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

Nana can lose but that will not let me believe in the bullet train @ $30.00 million. Only fools can believe this when the Eastern Corridor has not been completed, Kumasi Accra road is in a mess and Suhum-Asamankese road is Az ...

• silent man 9 years ago

Ali baba and the forty thieves government

• KANAWU? 9 years ago

IS NDC MOVING FROM THE DISTRIBUTION OF LAPTOPS TO HIGH SPEED TRAINS TO WIN VOTES IN 2016? GHANAFUO, YEAGYIMI PAA! WE ARE READY TO SUFFER FOR 7 YEARS AND FALL FOR THESE LIES FROM NDC.

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 9 years ago

You are a fool or mischievously insane to the wit. Now then, let me put it context of understand to a manipulative operative like you. Here we go;

1: The Minister of State in charge of Public-Private Sector Rashid Pelpuo d ...

• rocky Amartey 9 years ago

Very sad that alot of Ghanaians complain about the gift and jump up at the sound of any fund called up. But they as even more clueless than the government. I understand the man's post perfectly well and it's something that ...

• Don Blunt 9 years ago

You must be a sorry Human Being.
    Thank your God that that Minister did not say 'Jesus is arriving in three months'.

Maybe that Pelpuo Minister wants to inform those to whom it may concern, that he has found a collaborator ...

Note it down and see our action soon since it written that action speaks louder than words.

Cheers!

• paa 9 years ago

I feel sad when i read trash like this and feel ashamed as an African that our ministers can talk big and do little.Dr Kwame Nkrumah will continue to weep in his grave for mother Ghana.few days ago i read that many metro mass ...

Do you know what $30 billion is as well? Read the entailed, for Christ sakes.

• hussein 9 years ago

what a bigot headed president and bunch of propaganda team, you can fool all Ntafo and ewes NDC followers of yours , but u cant fool all Ghanaians with this kwaaku ananse stories, wake up if u dreaming and live in real world, ...

• mavis 9 years ago

You are a complete fool to believe and even consider this nonsense

• Kwame 9 years ago

Infact 2015 n talk is still cheap. light sef u no fit do. wht we need is new voters register to vote u out.

• HUMANISM 9 years ago

WHY DON'T YOU GUYS RETURN SOME OF THE LOOT YOU HAVE WRONGFULLY TAKEN, TO PAY FOR YOUR OUTSTANDING DEBT WITH AFRICAN DEVELOPMENT BANK & THE NIGERIAN COMPANY THAT USED TO SUPPLY NATURAL GAS TO VRA. YOU CURRENTLY OWE THEM $120 M ...

• PROMISES, PROMISES! 9 years ago

HAVE YOU FINISHED THE HIGHWAY YET?

• meyaa 9 years ago

Wake up and smell the change is here.from this government.

• Abena 9 years ago

Thanks to the columnist who raise the importance of high speed train in the country.

• United Ghana 9 years ago

That can't be a priority given our low wealth creation, productivity etc. especially as our existing railways are in urgent need of rehabilitation. This govt is living in a fantasy world

• Don Blunt 9 years ago

We can't maintain roads. We can't complete projects that were started by previous governments. We can't supply ourselves with potable water. We can't generate enough electric energy for 25million people and the few industries ...

• Kwame Ata 9 years ago

These people are just a joke!

• Abiba 9 years ago

This is a joke.....or some crazy big mouth idea.

• Yaw Mensah 9 years ago

Only God can save us. I blame those of us abroad

• yentie obiaa 9 years ago

What about the shamefully neglected Accra-Kumasi highway?

• ojay 9 years ago

DAY DREAMERS.FOOLISH IDEAS.WE NEED TO THINK.

• rocky 9 years ago

U are not thinking either

• Yaw Adu-Asare 9 years ago

Test this proposal with a speed rail project from Tema to Accra.

• John,Tema 9 years ago

Do you know the value of US$30 billion?Who in his right sense will give Ghana such an amount for that project?I don't think the Chinese who're capable will even spend that much over that distance.

• Bright 9 years ago

You cannot pave Ashaiman road, fill numerous potholes all over the country and look at the thrash they are dreaming. This is not even a dream it is a hallucination!!!. May be they sniffed some of the Nayele's cocaine

• Kwasipong 9 years ago

Oh masa Bright, I nearly fell off my seat, you're so funny, been laughing and can't control myself.

• Nanayaw 9 years ago

Can we stop this nonsense and do first things first?
    We don't even have good highways connecting our Major cities and you are talking of bullet trains. Those who want to move from Accra to Kumasi in 1.4 hours will fly as th ...

• Rastee 9 years ago

1.4 hours is the maximum transit at a station;not the total travel time

• Foster Ayea 9 years ago

Master these trains runs on electricity just for your information .

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

NDC cannot even complete the highway from Accra to Kumasi, yet "Minister of State in charge of Public-Private Sector Rashid Pelpuo has authorized a private company to work on a $27b bullet train!

Under what strategic plan? ...

• Aikins 9 years ago

That is the mindset of the dogs ruling ghana today Prof.

• Economica 9 years ago

Another Hope City Story spun for the gullible NDC Foolsoldiers.

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

Business Lookup: CHESTERFIELD FARING LTD.
    www.businesslookup.org/chesterfield_faring_ltd
    CHESTERFIELD FARING LTD. is an active business, started NOVEMBER 16, 2012 filed in NEW YORK County, New York.

NYS Entity Type
    DOME ...

• United Ghana 9 years ago

Thank you Prof Lungu for your research. This is the entity they are negotiating with over a $30b deal? Just another big judgement debt being created. Thanks once again for your research

• Don Blunt 9 years ago

For such a bunch of thieves in government, these are the so called perfect partners to dupe any uninformed nation.

What kind of mindset has a genuine Minister to tell his own people such cock and bull story.

• Charlie King Addo 9 years ago

Construction starts in 2017 after Maamah has won by a landslide.
    $29 billion of it would go to judgment depts.
    Ridiculous Ghana.

• Mike frm Ho. 9 years ago

Do you think the good people often Ghana take your promises seriously again ? We are only waiting for 2016 to come so that we can vote you out. High speed train my foot. Since when were you making this very promise ?

• anokware keke 9 years ago

MAHAMA's High Speed TRAIN Running on BATERRIES-Waaaw! OR Is this Just another ploy to go again on SPREE BORROWING? PLS JUST FIX UR DUMSOR & THE ECONOMY PROMISE FIRST.

• Rudy 9 years ago

hank you Mr president i like your idea thats all we need keep the good work doing you are blessed

• Don Blunt 9 years ago

Go hang yourself.

That so called Bank, Chesterfield Ltd does not even have a telephone. No fax, no internet,... nothing!

Go on, and thank your president for using names that you don't know, to steal our money. Maybe you ...

• no name 9 years ago

GHANA would always love to emulate Nigeria. we are experiencing a revolution in our railway sector and Ghana is already copying Nigeria

• rocky 9 years ago

Dumbo just shut up

• Dr.William Acquah 9 years ago

Another empty promise again! When will this stop?

• Helen 9 years ago

Great idea but first things first. Let's do the basic things first. Subsidize rooftop solar systems for households and many other good things can follow...

• Kofi Virginia 9 years ago

Report again when the project actually starts. We have too many of these proposed projects that never see the light of day!

• Kwadwo Amponsah 9 years ago

Always Planning - Oh Ghana

• Manchester 9 years ago

Trust these NDC thieves, always planning how to dip their hands into the National coffers.

• bhono holland 9 years ago

hahahahah the strugling goverment ,cant even light that country,high speed train used electric,ghana has no power .no fuel ,no cleaning water,and need IMF help.this journalist try something difrent my unborn baby knows this i ...

• John 9 years ago

This Chesterfield Faring Ltd is not a credible entity. I spent over 25 years in investment banking in New York, specifically on Wall Street. This transaction is a potential "Judgement Debt" problem. The companies annual reven ...

Really! "You spent over 25 years in investment banking in New York, specifically on Wall Street," you claimed, huh? Well, why don't I put you on the radar to check your status out!

• WHERE ARE THE BRAINS OF GHANA . 9 years ago

CREATE LOOT AND SHARE : THIS A OMPLETE SCAM BY LATRINE BOY JON MAHAMA AND THE NDC CRIMINALS AND THEY IS TO GO ROUND AND BORROW MONEY !!!!!!

• Ghanaman THE REAL 9 years ago

That's all the NDC Govt is good at, blah, blah, blah! Just pie in the sky as usual!! Why don't you give us some concrete action on the ground for a change? Ghanaians only good at noise making!!!

• Captein 9 years ago

Why not open up new areas instead of the same old structures KIA and so on.

• ORIGINAL OBOATANTO 9 years ago

MISPLACED PRIORITIES. HOW MANY GHANAIANS WILL BENEFIT FROM THIS FAST TRAIN SERVICES. THIS GOVERNMENT IS JUST DAFT. LOOK AT THE STATE OF YOUR ROADS. NSAWAM TO ASAMANKESE IN INACCESSIBLE AND SO ARE MANY OTHER ROADS ACROSS THE T ...

• JAMES Y 9 years ago

This gov't should stop playing games with the minds of Ghanaians about things which have remote chance of coming to reality in the immediate future. Considering the way we conduct our politics and economic affairs, it may tak ...

• AGOO 9 years ago

If JDM is even able to start this project, he will be my favorite president after Nkrumah. IDC what the opposition are saying, once I see concrete projects, i am all for you. It is sad a whole government for a ministry respon ...

• palogo 9 years ago

you can't even maintain Roads. W hat a govt!

• Osu Klottey 9 years ago

Pure nonsense,even there is no slow rail service,and they are talking about high speed,see how foolish these politicians are,am still laughing,kwa kwa kwa kwaaaaaaa

• Rastafara"I" 9 years ago

who is funding this, woyome?

• Nima Boy 9 years ago

Talk is cheap

• rocky Amartey 9 years ago

Bless u. Accra and kumasi need serious develop

• Tony 9 years ago

Headless chickens-NDC. Idiotic idea! Stupid thought! Stupid thinking.
    When your GDP is $47.93B you don't spend $30B of it on rail transport not even $5B on rail transport. Headless thoughtless stupidity!

• TYY 9 years ago

You cant even construct a quality road to Kumasi and now you are talking of bullet trains.

• kakabo 9 years ago

Hei propaganda will kill us. $30b in Ghana?. Do you know how much to generate in order to service the interest on $30b. How much is the total value of all transport business in Ghana? How much is the total vaue of all busines ...

• Ghanaba 9 years ago

What at all is wrong with this government? What happened to the HOPE CITY PROJECT? Have you been able to build normal trains in the country for all routes let alone BULLET OR HIGH SPEED TRAINS. NDC govt you guys are disgracin ...

• Don Blunt 9 years ago

Don't worry about the Bullets. They can't even pay for the fuel to run a train from Accra to Kumasi and back.
    But maybe they think the train will be running on electricity, and will still continue when Dumsor strikes in.

Hope city project was a private entity initiative not a governmental one. So please don't go comparing apples in the same basket as oranges.

• Ghanaba 9 years ago

But the government was involved in it, Mahama went ahead to even cut the sod on 04 March 2013. Is Agambire different from current government??? Where is Agambire now?? This same rail project will also come as private entity i ...

Yes, Mahama was invited to cut the sod to initiate the first of it kind ultra-modern yet to be build private city project, that's about it.

• abena 9 years ago

EDIDIE SAKAWA. ASUBATA

• Peter. 9 years ago

You lie bad

• quansy 9 years ago

Is De rails going to be made of gold.do u know what 30 billion is?

• Frank A karikari 9 years ago

We need rocket train to Pluto. Think we are fools.

• Nanaba 9 years ago

Politics!! the only way to make big money, wow lets jump into it. This guys are smart.

• freedom&corruption 9 years ago

my question is what are they going to use to power these trains...electricity I guess....DUM-TRAINS

• Togbe 9 years ago

30 billion for one rail line alone. NDC you are shameless. The whole IMF program is 980 million.

• GHANA MAN 9 years ago

Fools, its a private investment not government's money.

• PK 9 years ago

Ethiopia spent $475million for a brand new fast modern train line run by Ethiopians. Nigerian spent $12billion on similar project only to get locomotives and this was run by China. Now here we are in Ghana spending $30billion ...

• GHANA ONE 9 years ago

It's not Ghana's money, so who cares. Its a foreign investor's money and they decide what to do with it and how much to invest. Even if they say it would cost 1 trillion dollars, its their own money.

• Rob 9 years ago

It is their money, and they are ready to throw it away? Do you think they are fools? Who do you people think you are fooling. Ghana cannot run normal trains. How much more bullet trains.

• Abrantie 9 years ago

Create loot and share as usual.

• GHANA ONE 9 years ago

IT IS NOT GOVERNMENT'S MONEY YOU GOOD FOR NOTHING FOOLS! Most people simply don't get it. Chesterfield Faring Ltd. is a private bank in New York that wants to invest in Ghana, with their own money. You cannot tell someone wha ...

• YIKRA 9 years ago

This looks like another judgement debt on the horizon. The rail will happen but with the right people at the right time.

First deal with all the road networks and the rubbish and the drainage system before starting with ra ...

• ed 9 years ago

Ask your self if New York have high speed rail here? or even any unite state cities has one; before believing story like this.

• GHANA ONE 9 years ago

ED im just assuming if it were true, it's not the governments money so why so much trash talking by many people.

• Ghanaba 9 years ago

Ghana One the government should not unnecessarily raise the expectations of the people with things that will never materialise in the next 50years or more in Ghana

• GHANA ONE 9 years ago

True though my brother. Can we even trust Ghanaweb in the first place? lol

• Ghanaba 9 years ago

You are a very wise man!!! Do you not know that Ghana economy depends on remittances from Ghanaians abroad? Do you also not know that our people back home always calling their relatives and friends to send them money and othe ...

• PK 9 years ago

Ethiopia spent $475million for a brand new fast modern train line run by Ethiopians. Nigerian spent $12billion on similar project only to get locomotives and this was run by China. Now here we are in Ghana spending $30billio ...

• Gabriel Danquah 9 years ago

Please Mr. Pelpuo don't bring another jurgement debt we beg you!!

• Boss 9 years ago

Hahahahahaha, 1st April is just a few days away.

• Annorwuo 9 years ago

The time to research the stories they put out? Does the report who posted this 'strange' story realize what it will take for any govt,to raise such a colossal amount of money?
    Yes I agree with those who say that "April Fool ...

• KO 9 years ago

Useless NDC!

• k.o 9 years ago

Plans??????????????? hahahahahahaa oh
    mine. Another fairy tale.

• GOODMAN 9 years ago

this mahama led ndc government.... ooohhh pathetic
    $30 billion, ???????
    even $billion bail out, see how IMF is stretching you.

Mahama is a total disgrace to presidency in Africa

• ORIGINAL OBOATANTO 9 years ago

THE PROBLEM WE HAVE IN GHANA IS ILLITERACY. THIS OF COURSE GIVES BIRTH TO TRIBALISM. DUE TO TRIBALISM GHANAIANS, NO MATTER HOW EXCELLENT CREDENTIALS ARE AS THE PERFECT PERSON TO MOVE THE COUNTRY FORWARD, FACES THE ONEROUS TA ...

• Nii Nye 9 years ago

It is good to dream big. But please know that there will be a day of reckoning.

• c.stephen sackey 9 years ago

This is of course one of the best news I've read in a while on this site.

And I hope it's for real and not a "GOTV"- get out the vote propaganda.

Hey,somebody has the "vision thing" after all, and the cost? That would o ...

• No Gurantee 9 years ago

CREATE,LOOT AND SHARE LOOMING!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    MR PELPUO,HAVE WE FINISH CONSTRUCTING THE ACCRA-KUMASI DUAL CARRIAGE ROAD?
    THIS WAS STARTED MORE THAN 12 YEARS AGO.
    IF WE CANNOT FINISH WITH ROAD CONSTRUCTION,HOW CAN WE AFFORD SO ...

• Ghanaian 9 years ago

Chesterfield Faring Ltd is an obscure real estate company. Do these give buffoons do any due diligence at all. It has no history in raising such a huge amount of capital. And What a farce!

• Plasma Kote 9 years ago

This is not journalism

• Mo 9 years ago

This kind of projects we want to hear you talking about, come onn Mahama go for it,

• He Goat 9 years ago

A private company in the US is spending $5 billion to repair its existing lines just season and if a new line with the acompanied infrastructure are being built afresh, what is your problem here. Please think of the long tem ...

• He Goat 9 years ago

A private company in the US is spending $5 billion to repair its existing lines just season and if a new line with the acompanied infrastructure are being built afresh, what is your problem here. Please think of the long tem ...

• Sankofa 9 years ago

Let us rehabilitate the existing rail network even as we plan for a high speed rail link between Accra and Kumasi.

• Rob 9 years ago

A city like Accra does not have a train system within the metropolitan area, and they are talking about built trains? The buses are sitting because they do not get repaired. How stupid are we?

• He Goat 9 years ago

• Joe 9 years ago

The private company raised it's own capital fool. It did not borrow money without accounting for it. Companies like that are discipline financially fool.Financial 101, stay discipline..Is Mahama gov't disciple with money? He ...

• He Goat 9 years ago

• Onyansani 9 years ago

What is really wrong with the NDC gov't? Get into your heads that the energy crisis - Dumsor - should be resolved from all possible angles and stop throwing dust into the eyes of Ghanaians who are tired of you. Enough is enou ...

• Michael K. Tettevi 9 years ago

This high speed rail should be placed under ground like that of Calais to Dover.

• AKORA OTENG 9 years ago

This is NOT an idea of NDC. This has been the most significant part of our Infrastructural development on transportation. It is such that Railways are durable and can commute many people and goods safely and fast. It is also ...

• pk 9 years ago

'Think Big', to quote Prof Akosah. Go for it. The route to development is efficient communication networks.

• Yaw Kpekyi 9 years ago

How ridiculous is that. like ostriches with their head in the sand, and their body sticking out, we blind ourselves to the obvious obstacles we can't overcome. we can't provide constant and consistent power to the masses. yet ...

• Mensah 9 years ago

this Government likes building castles in the air-the $10bilion STX Korea housing project, Millennium City project, and now this; Mahama, be serious in your job, and redeem your name.

• ERIC 9 years ago

I WILL BE REALLY GLAND IF THESE PLAN WILL COME ON, THEN IT MEANS THAT GHANA IS MOVING FORWARD

• Yebopower 9 years ago

This Northerner is a night dreamer.No American bank will grant a corrupt country like Ghana this amount of money.Even California which is expected to build a high speed rail system is stuck with the program.This Dumsor minist ...

• tony Atlanta, GA 9 years ago

This is a real estate firm which has a total networth of $$$299 Million. This compay has a revenue of 1 million plus a year. Where and how can they come up $30 billion? I am very disappointed in this MAhama guy and the ndc ...

• Kofi Busia 9 years ago

This is a giant economic and political move. Mahama put your brains to work.

• Diana 9 years ago

Ghanaian do not fell in the trap bcos it bull shit .He is just saying sthg to plz Ghanaian .This president is entertain.

• Diana 9 years ago

Ghanaian do not fell in the trap bcos it bull shit .He is just saying sthg to plz Ghanaian .This president is entertain.

• abongo 9 years ago

30billion from accra to ksi? not accra to niger? this is serious

• Kofi, USA. 9 years ago

$30 billion is even less compared to modern high speed rails across the world.

• alhaji musah 9 years ago

$30 billion?,,,,and they went to the IMF for what? 1.8 km of kumasi airport runway cost 29 million dollars? bunch of thieves and idiots. no one should fund this project. borrow and share politicians. the whites built everythi ...

• MUMU VOTERS 9 years ago

Its a good idea but the bank must spend the money by themselves, don‘t give the money to any minister in Ghana

• The Independent voice 9 years ago

We are unable to complete the Bus Rapid Transport system and now we are jumping to high speed rail at a cost of $ 150 million per mile of rail track ? We are a really strange nation unable to complete one project and start ta ...

• if the lone crusader 9 years ago

A very polished idea whicj should have vome earlier.all the same bravo!fir once upon the time.

• WOJAFFO 9 years ago

Are you kidding me?30 billion? Unbelievable
    $30billion should be able to build an underground railway system from Accra to Bolgatanga.
    Note this fact. The underground channel tunnel that links Britain with the European ...

• chief Atongo 9 years ago

STS housing scheme was about $2 billion.
    Not achieved.... Power ..... still in darkness
    Are we sensible and capable.... black man

• KO 9 years ago

170mile railway line for 30B dollars? May be it was a printing mistake. I don't think even a north south railway line will cost us almost 60% of GDP

• meyaa 9 years ago

PRESIDENT MAHAMA is changing Ghana for good. We love you.